DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 11, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 remain pending in the application. Claim 12 was previously cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “the pawl is configured to: disengage the rack prior to when the arm is moved backward” in lines 1-2 is a recitation of new matter. Claim 5 requires that the pawl disengages the rack before the arm is retracted. This conflicts with the limitation of Claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, which requires that the end of the pawl disengages the rack in response to retracting of the arm (Claim 1, lines 8-10). The disclosure as originally filed does not provide support for an embodiment in which the disengagement of the pawl from the rack is caused both by the retraction of the arm as required by claim 1 and also occurs before the retraction of the arm as required by claim 5. The disclosure states “As shown in FIG. 14, the arm 1108 is a moved in a direction 1402 back toward the power source 1106. The pawl 1110 is shaped so as to rotate in a direction 1404 as the arm 1108 is moved in the direction 1402. As a result, the pawl 1110 is disengaged from the rack 1102. The rack 1102 therefore does not move and remains stationary as the arm 1108 is moved backwards (e.g., in the direction 1402)” [0060], corresponding to the embodiment of claim 1, with the retraction of the arm causing the pawl to rotate to disengage from the rack. The disclosure also states “After the arm 1108 is fully extended, the arm 1108 can be operated to move back to its original position (e.g., retracted back toward the power source 1106). The position of the rack 1102 can be maintained by having the pawl 1110 disengage the rack 1102 prior to the arm 1108 moving in a direction back toward the power source 1108 [0055], corresponding to the embodiment of claim 5, with the pawl disengaging the rack prior to retraction of the arm. However, there is no disclosure of the pawl being configured to disengages from the rack prior to the retraction of the arm as required by claim 5, while also the retraction of the arm causing the disengagement of the pawl form the rack as required by claim 1 from which claim 5 depends.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the pawl is configured to: rotate away and disengage from the rack prior to when the arm is moved” in lines 1-2 is a recitation of new matter. Claim 6 requires that the pawl disengages the rack before the arm is moved/retracted. This conflicts with the limitation of Claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, which requires that end of the pawl disengages the rack in response to retracting of the arm (Claim 1, lines 8-10). The disclosure as originally filed does not provide support for an embodiment in which the disengagement of the pawl from the rack is both caused by the retraction of the arm as required by claim 1 and also occurs before the movement of the arm as required by claim 6. The disclosure in paragraph [0060] describes the embodiment of claim 1, with the retraction of the arm causing the pawl to rotate to disengage from the rack. The disclosure in paragraph [0055] describes the embodiment of claim 6, with the pawl disengaging the rack prior to retraction of the arm. However, there is no disclosure of the pawl being configured to rotate away and disengage from the rack prior to movement of the arm as required by claim 6, while also the retraction of the arm causing the disengagement of the pawl form the rack as required by claim 1 from which claim 6 depends.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “the pawl, prior to the arm retracting, is configured to disengage the rack” in line 2 is a recitation of new matter. Claim 17 requires that the pawl disengages the rack before the arm is retracted. This conflicts with the limitation of Claim 1, from which claim 17 depends, which requires that the end of the pawl disengages the rack in response to retracting of the arm (Claim 1, lines 8-10). The disclosure as originally filed does not provide support for an embodiment in which the disengagement of the pawl from the rack is both caused by the retraction of the arm as required by claim 1 and also occurs before the retraction of the arm as required by claim 17. The disclosure in paragraph [0060] describes the embodiment of claim 1, with the retraction of the arm causing the pawl to rotate to disengage from the rack. The disclosure in paragraph [0055] describes the embodiment of claim 17, with the pawl disengaging the rack prior to retraction of the arm. However, there is no disclosure of the pawl being configured to disengage the rack prior to retraction of the arm as required by claim 17, while also the retraction of the arm causing the disengagement of the pawl form the rack as required by claim 1 from which claim 17 depends.
Claims 5-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “the pawl is configured to: disengage the rack prior to when the arm is moved backward” in lines 1-2 in combination with the limitation of “an end of the pawl is configured to rotate relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage itself from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack in response to retracting the arm,” of claim 1, lines 8-10 renders claim 5 indefinite. Claim 5 requires that the pawl disengages the rack before the arm is retracted. This conflicts with the limitation of Claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, which requires that the retraction of the arm causes the pawl to rotate and disengage from the rack (Claim 1, lines 8-10). It is unclear how the disengagement of the pawl from the rack is both caused by the retraction of the arm and also occurs prior to the retraction of the arm. The disclosure states “As shown in FIG. 14, the arm 1108 is a moved in a direction 1402 back toward the power source 1106. The pawl 1110 is shaped so as to rotate in a direction 1404 as the arm 1108 is moved in the direction 1402. As a result, the pawl 1110 is disengaged from the rack 1102. The rack 1102 therefore does not move and remains stationary as the arm 1108 is moved backwards (e.g., in the direction 1402)” [0060], corresponding to the embodiment of claim 1, with the retraction of the arm causing the pawl to rotate to disengage from the rack. The disclosure also states “After the arm 1108 is fully extended, the arm 1108 can be operated to move back to its original position (e.g., retracted back toward the power source 1106). The position of the rack 1102 can be maintained by having the pawl 1110 disengage the rack 1102 prior to the arm 1108 moving in a direction back toward the power source 1108” [0055], corresponding to the embodiment of claim 5, with the pawl disengaging the rack prior to retraction of the arm. Therefore, it is unclear how the pawl can be configured to disengage from the rack prior to the retraction of the arm as required by claim 5, while also the retraction of the arm causing the disengagement of the pawl form the rack as required by claim 1 from which claim 5 depends.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the pawl is configured to: rotate away and disengage from the rack prior to when the arm is moved” in lines 1-2 in combination with the limitation of “an end of the pawl is configured to rotate relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage itself from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack in response to retracting the arm,” of claim 1, lines 8-10 renders claim 6 indefinite. Claim 6 requires that the pawl disengages the rack before the arm is moved/retracted. This conflicts with the limitation of Claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, which requires that the retraction of the arm causes the pawl to rotate and disengage from the rack (Claim 1, lines 8-10). It is unclear how the disengagement of the pawl from the rack is both caused by the retraction of the arm and also occurs before the retraction of the arm. The disclosure in paragraph [0060] describes the embodiment of claim 1, with the retraction of the arm causing the pawl to rotate to disengage from the rack. The disclosure in paragraph [0055] describes the embodiment of claim 6, with the pawl disengaging the rack prior to movement/retraction of the arm. Therefore, it is unclear how the retraction of the arm causes the pawl to rotate to disengage from the tooth as required by claim 1, while also the pawl rotates and disengages from the rack/tooth prior to the retraction of the arm as required by claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “the pawl, prior to the arm retracting, is configured to disengage the rack” in line 2 in combination with the limitation of “an end of the pawl is configured to rotate relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage itself from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack in response to retracting the arm,” of claim 1, lines 8-10 renders claim 17 indefinite. Claim 17 requires that the pawl disengages the rack before the arm is retracted. This conflicts with the limitation of Claim 1, from which claim 17 depends, which requires that the retraction of the arm causes the pawl to rotate and disengage from the rack (Claim 1, lines 8-10). It is unclear how the disengagement of the pawl from the rack is both caused by the retraction of the arm and also occurs before the retraction of the arm. The disclosure in paragraph [0060] describes the embodiment of claim 1, with the retraction of the arm causing the pawl to rotate to disengage from the rack. The disclosure in paragraph [0055] describes the embodiment of claim 17, with the pawl disengaging the rack prior to retraction of the arm. Therefore, it is unclear how the retraction of the arm causes the pawl to disengage the tooth as required by claim 1, while also the pawl disengages from the rack/tooth prior to the retraction of the arm as required by claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeffrey (US 20020029018) in view of Gerondale et al. (US 20040210200).
Regarding claim 1, Jeffrey discloses an on-body drug delivery system (user-wearable device 10 having dispensing device 100), comprising:
an adhesive layer configured to adhere the on-body drug delivery system to skin of a patient (“The dispensing device 100 is shown in FIGS. 3A-D as enclosed within a flattish multi-compartment carrier 10 alongside a battery 170 and control electronics 180…the whole may be worn by the user, say strapped in place and/or secured by adhesive.” [0037]);
a reservoir (pre-loaded cartridge 120) configured to contain a liquid drug (drug contents 126; Figure 3A);
a plunger (piston 125) configured to seal an end of the reservoir (Figure 1A; “The hub 117 is in an all-round reduced throat part 121 of the cartridge 120 from its main drugs etc dose-containing part 122 that is sealed off by a piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]);
a rack (piston-rod 140) having a plurality of teeth (“The piston-rod 140 has a lengthwise row or rack of ratchet-tooth 143” [0033]) and coupled to the plunger (“A preferred piston-rod is shown in FIGS. 2C, D as being of two-part form of which…part 140B engages the cartridge piston 125” [0034]), wherein the rack is configured to move the plunger within the reservoir (“Movement of the piston 125 is driven by piston-rod 140” [0034]; Figures 1A-1C);
an arm (pawl-carrier 150) having a pawl (pawl 153) configured to engage the rack (“The piston-rod 140 has a lengthwise row or rack of ratchet-tooth 143 to cooperate with pawl 153 on arm 154 extending from end-flanging 155 of the pawl carrier 150.” [0033]),
wherein an end of the pawl is configured to, while the rack remains stationary, disengage itself from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack in response to retracting the arm (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means.” [0006]; “The piston-rod 150 is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9. The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein the pawl is deflected away/disengaged from the tooth on the return stroke and the rod 140 remains stationary due to latch 159), wherein the rack remains stationary after an end of the pawl is disengaged from the tooth (“Another abutment 158 within the holder body serves to control one-way flexing of a latching member 159 for the ratchet- teeth 143.” [0035], wherein the rod 140 remains stationary due to latching member 159); and
a power source (solenoid 110 powered by battery 170 and return spring 156) configured to extend and retract the arm (“The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 [140] is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9.” [0036]), wherein extending the arm causes the plunger to expel an amount of the liquid drug (“piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]; “Movement of the piston 125 is driven by piston-rod 140” [0033]; “At least the preferred two-part piston-rod 140A, B of FIGS. 2C, D allows positive tolerance on ratchet action up to almost a second tooth pitch of movement without affecting accuracy of movement of the cartridge piston 125 by precisely one tooth pitch for each energisation of the solenoid 110” [0036]; Figures 1A-1B) and retracting the arm causes the pawl to move relative to the rack while the rack remains stationary (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward, the pawl 153 deflects away/moves relative to the stationary ratchet teeth 143 of the rack).
Jeffrey fails to explicitly disclose wherein an end of the pawl is configured to rotate relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage the pawl from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack in response to retracting the arm.
Gerondale teaches a drug delivery system (injection/aspiration device 10) comprising: a reservoir (syringe 12); a plunger (piston 24); a rack (plunger rack 28) having a plurality of teeth (plunger rack teeth 62) and coupled to the plunger (“A plunger rack 28 is…coupled to the piston 24 at a front end 30 thereof” [0021]), wherein the rack is configured to move the plunger within the reservoir (“moving the plunger rack 28 in a forward direction, indicated by arrow 38 in FIG. 3, causing the piston 24 to eject discrete doses of medication from the syringe body 20 through the needle 14” [0022]; Figure 3); an arm (control rod 50 of manually operated control 34) having a pawl (pawl 54) configured to engage the rack (Figures 2-3), wherein an end of the pawl is configured rotate relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage itself from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack in response to retracting the arm (Figures 2-3; “an injecting pawl 54 is pivot 56 mounted to an end 58 of the rod” [0024]; “Reverse movement of the button 48 and rod from the position shown in FIG. 3 to a neutral position, shown in FIG. 2, causes the injecting pawl to ride over the teeth 62.” [0026]; Noted that “disengage the pawl from a tooth” has been interpreted as releasing the connection between the pawl and tooth such that that pawl and tooth can be moved relative to each other and the rack 28 does not move as the rod 50 retracts to the neutral position due to the pawl riding over the teeth); and wherein extending the arm causes the plunger to expel an amount of the liquid drug (“injecting pawl 54 is pivot 56 mounted to an end 58 of the rod and is limited in rotation so that forward motion of the button 48 from a neutral position, as shown in FIG. 2, causes the injecting pawl 54 to engage plunger rack teeth 62…movement of the button forward in a direction of the arrow 38 causes a limited or discrete movement of the plunger rack and piston thereby causing a discrete measured dose of medicament to be ejected through the needle 14.” [0024-0025]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the on-body drug delivery system of Jeffrey to include that the end of the pawl is configured to rotate relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage itself from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack in response to retracting the arm based on the teachings of Gerondale to ensure that extension of the arm causes the pawl to engage with and push the rack, while also allowing the pawl to ride over the teeth when the arm is retracted in order to deliver repeated discrete doses (Gerondale [0024-0027]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the arm (pawl-carrier 150) is sized such that extension of the arm is in a direction parallel to movement of the rack (“The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 [140] is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9.” [0036]; Figures 1A-1B) and an amount of extension of the arm corresponds to the amount of the liquid drug expelled (“At least the preferred two-part piston-rod 140A, B of FIGS. 2C, D allows positive tolerance on ratchet action up to almost a second tooth pitch of movement without affecting accuracy of movement of the cartridge piston 125 by precisely one tooth pitch for each energisation of the solenoid 110.” [0036]; “piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the arm (pawl-carrier 150) has a length (Figure 1A) enabling the amount of the liquid drug expelled by the plunger to be a desired amount of the liquid drug when a corresponding amount of the length of the arm is extended (“The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 [140] is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9…At least the preferred two-part piston-rod 140A, B of FIGS. 2C, D allows positive tolerance on ratchet action up to almost a second tooth pitch of movement without affecting accuracy of movement of the cartridge piston 125 by precisely one tooth pitch for each energisation of the solenoid 110.” [0036]; “piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the power source is operable to move the arm backward in a direction away from the plunger (“The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143…The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plunger (piston 125) is configured to expel a portion of a liquid drug (drug contents 126) stored in the reservoir when moved in a linear direction (“piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]; “The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 [140] is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9…At least the preferred two-part piston-rod 140A, B of FIGS. 2C, D allows positive tolerance on ratchet action up to almost a second tooth pitch of movement without affecting accuracy of movement of the cartridge piston 125 by precisely one tooth pitch for each energisation of the solenoid 110.” [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a controller (control electronics 180) coupled to the power source (solenoid 110 powered by battery 170), wherein the controller is operable to control the power source (“Energisation pulses to the solenoid 110 come from a clock source 182, which may be a standard clock/watch quartz crystal chip, through dose-interval selection circuitry 183 set according to requirements of successive dosing of a patient” [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the controller is further operable to: track movement of the arm; and maintain a count of a number of times the arm is moved to expel the liquid drug (“In operation, a counter 181 serves to count the number of incremental movements of the cartridge piston 125 corresponding to successful operations of the solenoid 110. Energisation pulses to the solenoid 110 come from a clock source 182, which may be a standard clock/watch quartz crystal chip, through dose-interval selection circuitry 183 set according to requirements of successive dosing of a patient, feasibly intendedly settable differently for each particular patient.” [0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Jeffrey discloses a method for expelling a liquid drug from an on-body drug delivery system (user-wearable device 10; “piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]), comprising:
extending by a power source (solenoid 110 powered by battery 170 and return spring 156) an arm (pawl-carrier 150) coupled to a pawl (pawl 153) that is engaged with a rack (piston-rod 140 having ratchet-teeth 143) in a first direction (“The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 [140] is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9.” [0036]), wherein the arm is driven by the power source in response to a control signal from a controller (control electronics 180) from an initial position (Figures 1A-1B) to a final position (“Energisation pulses to the solenoid 110 come from a clock source 182, which may be a standard clock/watch quartz crystal chip, through dose-interval selection circuitry 183 set according to requirements of successive dosing of a patient” [0038]; wherein the final position in when the pawl is driven by one pitch: “drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9.” [0036]);
in response to extending the arm, expelling a dose of the liquid drug from a drug container (pre-loaded cartridge 120) of the on-body drug delivery system by a plunger (piston 125) coupled to the rack (“A preferred piston-rod is shown in FIGS. 2C, D as being of two-part form of which…part 140B engages the cartridge piston 125” [0034]; “piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]; “Movement of the piston 125 is driven by piston-rod 140” [0033]; “At least the preferred two-part piston-rod 140A, B of FIGS. 2C, D allows positive tolerance on ratchet action up to almost a second tooth pitch of movement without affecting accuracy of movement of the cartridge piston 125 by precisely one tooth pitch for each energisation of the solenoid 110” [0036]; Figures 1A-1B);
in response to retracting the arm by the power source in a second direction opposite the first direction (“The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward under the force of the spring 156, the pawl 153 deflects away/avoids the ratchet teeth 143), disengaging an end of the pawl from at least a tooth of a plurality of teeth of the rack (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward, the pawl 153 deflects away/disengages from the ratchet teeth 143), wherein the rack remains stationary after the end of the pawl is disengaged from the tooth (“Another abutment 158 within the holder body serves to control one-way flexing of a latching member 159 for the ratchet- teeth 143.” [0035], wherein the rod 140 remains stationary due to latching member 159);
in response to retracting the arm in the second direction, moving the pawl relative to the rack while the rack remains stationary (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward, the pawl 153 deflects away/moves relative to the stationary ratchet teeth 143); and
stopping retracting of the arm in the second direction upon return to the initial position (Figures 1A-1B) in preparation for expelling a following dose of the liquid drug (“The flanging 155 of the pawl carrier 150 is also shown acted upon by a return spring 156 acting from an abutment ring 157 of or suitably fixed in the holder body 101.” [0035]; “The piston-rod 150 is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9. The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036]; Figures 1A-1B showing the pawl-carrier 150 with its flanging 155 have retracted back to their initial position).
Jeffrey fails to explicitly teach in response to retracting the arm in the second direction, rotating the end of the pawl relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage the pawl from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack.
Gerondale teaches method for expelling a liquid drug from an drug delivery system (injection/aspiration device 10; Figures 2-3) comprising: extending an arm (control rod 50 of manually operated control 34) coupled to a pawl (pawl 54) that is engaged with a rack (plunger rack 28) in a first direction from an initial position (Figure 2) to a final position (Figure 3); in response to extending the arm, expelling a dose of the liquid drug from a drug container (syringe 12) of the drug delivery system by a plunger (piston 24) coupled to the rack (“injecting pawl 54 is pivot 56 mounted to an end 58 of the rod and is limited in rotation so that forward motion of the button 48 from a neutral position, as shown in FIG. 2, causes the injecting pawl 54 to engage plunger rack teeth 62…movement of the button forward in a direction of the arrow 38 causes a limited or discrete movement of the plunger rack and piston thereby causing a discrete measured dose of medicament to be ejected through the needle 14.” [0024-0025]); in response to retracting the arm in a second direction opposite the first direction, rotating the end of the pawl relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage the pawl from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack (Figures 2-3; “an injecting pawl 54 is pivot 56 mounted to an end 58 of the rod” [0024]; “Reverse movement of the button 48 and rod from the position shown in FIG. 3 to a neutral position, shown in FIG. 2, causes the injecting pawl to ride over the teeth 62. The injecting pawl 54 again engages the teeth 62 as the button 48 is moved forward again in the direction of arrow 38.” [0026]; The rack 28 does not move as the rod 50 retracts to the neutral position due to the pawl riding over the teeth. Noted that “disengage the pawl from the rack” has been interpreted as releasing the connection between the pawl and rack such that that pawl and rack can be moved relative to each other); and stopping retracting of the arm in the second direction upon return to the initial position in preparation for expelling a following dose of the liquid drug (“the injecting pawl 54 again engages the teeth 62 as the button 48 is moved forward again in the direction of arrow 38.” [0026]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for expelling a liquid drug from an on-body drug delivery system of Jeffrey to include In response to retracting the arm in the second direction, rotating the end of the pawl relative to the arm while the rack remains stationary to disengage the pawl from a tooth of the plurality of teeth of the rack based on the teachings of Gerondale to ensure that extension of the arm causes the pawl to engage with and push the rack, while also allowing the pawl to ride over the teeth when the arm is retracted in order to deliver repeated discrete doses (Gerondale [0024-0027]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Jeffrey teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: re-engaging the rack by the pawl (pawl 153) when the arm stops retracting in the second direction (Figure 1B showing the pawl-carrier 150 in its initial position with the pawl 153 engaged with a tooth of the ratchet teeth 143).
Regarding claim 13, modified Jeffrey teaches the method of claim 10, wherein extending the arm (pawl carrier 150) in the first direction further comprises: advancing the plunger (piston 125) toward an end of the drug container (“The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 [140] is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9…At least the preferred two-part piston-rod 140A, B of FIGS. 2C, D allows positive tolerance on ratchet action up to almost a second tooth pitch of movement without affecting accuracy of movement of the cartridge piston 125 by precisely one tooth pitch for each energisation of the solenoid 110.” [0036]; Figures 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 14, modified Jeffrey teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: activating the power source (solenoid 110 powered by battery 170) coupled to the arm (pawl carrier 150) to deliver the dose of the liquid drug by causing the power source to extend the arm (“piston 125 capable of being forced down the main part 122 to unload the drugs etc contents 126.” [0030]; “The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 [140] is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9…At least the preferred two-part piston-rod 140A, B of FIGS. 2C, D allows positive tolerance on ratchet action up to almost a second tooth pitch of movement without affecting accuracy of movement of the cartridge piston 125 by precisely one tooth pitch for each energisation of the solenoid 110.” [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Jeffrey teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: after returning to the initial position (Figure 1B), reactivating the power source to deliver the following dose of the liquid drug by causing the power source to extend the arm to expel the following dose of the liquid drug (“Preferred toothed pawl means is linearly driven, conveniently repeatedly by simple linear solenoid means” [0006]; “Energisation pulses to the solenoid 110 come from a clock source 182, which may be a standard clock/watch quartz crystal chip, through dose-interval selection circuitry 183 set according to requirements of successive dosing of a patient” [0038]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the pawl is configured to be pulled by the arm when the power source retracts the arm (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward under the force of the spring 156, the pawl 153 deflects away/avoids the ratchet teeth 143).
Regarding claim 18, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: an angle of the rack pushes the pawl away as the arm retracts (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; Figures 1A-1B showing that the sloped angle of each tooth of the ratchet teeth 143 allows for the pawl 153 to be deflected).
Regarding claim 19, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the pawl (pawl 153) is spring loaded (via spring 156) to avoid the rack (ratchet teeth 143 on piston-rod 140) as the arm (pawl carrier 150) retracts (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward under the force of the spring 156, the pawl 153 deflects away/avoids the ratchet teeth 143).
Regarding claim 20, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the power source (solenoid 110 powered by battery 170 and return spring 156) is a motor or a linear actuator (“a linear solenoid 110 having a fixed coil 111 and reciprocably movable core 112.” [0030], wherein the linear solenoid 110 is a linear actuator because it is an actuator that creates linear motion) operable to extend and retract the arm (“The core 112 of the solenoid 110 engages the pawl carrier 150 in each drive pulse energisation of the coil 111, and drives the pawl carrier 150 with its pawl 153 by at least one pitch of the ratchet teeth 143. The piston-rod 150 is correspondingly moved and latched at 158/9. The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein the power source as a whole is the combination of the solenoid 110 and the return spring 156, which cooperate to extend and retract the pawl carrier 150).
Claims 5-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeffrey (US 2002/0029018) in view of Gerondale et al. (US 20040210200) as applied in claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Kirk et al. (US 20130331771).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the end of the pawl is configured to: disengage the rack when the arm is moved backward (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward, the pawl 153 deflects away/disengages from the ratchet teeth 143).
Modified Jeffrey fails to explicitly teach the end of the pawl is configured to disengage the rack prior to when the arm is moved backward.
Kirk teaches a drug delivery system (fluid dispensing device 20) comprising: a rack (actuating member 92) having a plurality of teeth (teeth 112); an arm (trigger 86) having a pawl (pawl 108); and wherein the end of the pawl end (portion of pawl 108 engaged with teeth 112) is configured to disengage the rack prior to when the arm is moved backward (“A release arm 114, which is coupled with the pawl 108, is accessible to the surgeon such that rearward biasing of the release arm 114 (i.e., toward the trigger 86), with or without a trigger pull, rotates the pawl 108 against the bias of the second torsion spring 110 and rotates the pawl 108 about the pawl pin 106 to withdraw the pawl 108 from the linear array of teeth 112 (FIG. 3C).” [0033]; Figure 3C showing the pawl 108 disengages teeth 112 prior to the trigger 86 moving back to its first, retracted position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the on-body drug delivery system of Jeffrey to include the end of the pawl is configured to disengage the rack prior to when the arm is moved backward based on the teachings of Kirk to allow the rack of the drug delivery system to be reset to the original, rearward starting position, such as when the reservoir is refilled (Kirk [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the end of the pawl is configured to: rotate away and disengage from when the rack (piston-rod 140) when the arm (pawl-carrier 150) is moved (“The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward, the pawl 153 rotates away from the ratchet teeth 143 as it deflects away).
Modified Jeffrey fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pawl is configured to rotate away and disengage from the rack prior to when the arm is moved.
Kirk teaches a drug delivery system (fluid dispensing device 20) comprising: a rack (actuating member 92) having a plurality of teeth (teeth 112); an arm (trigger 86) having a pawl (pawl 108); and wherein the end of the pawl end (portion of pawl 108 engaged with teeth 112) is configured to rotate away and disengage from the rack prior to when the arm is moved (“A release arm 114, which is coupled with the pawl 108, is accessible to the surgeon such that rearward biasing of the release arm 114 (i.e., toward the trigger 86), with or without a trigger pull, rotates the pawl 108 against the bias of the second torsion spring 110 and rotates the pawl 108 about the pawl pin 106 to withdraw the pawl 108 from the linear array of teeth 112 (FIG. 3C).” [0033]; Figure 3C showing the pawl 108 disengages teeth 112 prior to the trigger 86 moving back to its first, retracted position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the on-body drug delivery system of Jeffrey to include the end of the pawl is configured to rotate away and disengage from the rack prior to when the arm is moved based on the teachings of Kirk to allow the rack of the drug delivery system to be reset to the original, rearward starting position, such as when the reservoir is refilled (Kirk [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Jeffrey teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the pawl (pawl 153) is configured to: disengage the rack (piston-rod 140) through rotation of the end of the pawl (end of pawl 153; “The pawl means may move the actuator in its drive stroke, or on its return stroke, and will usually deflect for its stroke not driving the actuator means” [0006]; “The pawl carrier 150 is returned by the spring 156 at the end of each energisation pulse for the solenoid coil 111.” [0036], wherein as the pawl carrier 150 returns backward, the pawl carrier 150 and pawl 153 together rotate away and disengage from the ratchet teeth 143 as they deflect away).
Jeffrey fails to explicitly teach the pawl, prior to the arm retracting, is configured to disengage the rack through the rotation of the end of the pawl.
Kirk teaches a drug delivery system (fluid dispensing device 20) comprising: a rack (actuating member 92) having a plurality of teeth (teeth 112); an arm (trigger 86) having a pawl (pawl 108); and wherein the pawl, prior to the arm retracting, is configured to disengage the rack through the rotation of the end of the pawl (“A release arm 114, which is coupled with the pawl 108, is accessible to the surgeon such that rearward biasing of the release arm 114 (i.e., toward the trigger 86), with or without a trigger pull, rotates the pawl 108 against the bias of the second torsion spring 110 and rotates the pawl 108 about the pawl pin 106 to withdraw the pawl 108 from the linear array of teeth 112 (FIG. 3C).” [0033]; Figure 3C showing the pawl 108 disengages teeth 112 prior to the trigger 86 moving back to its first, retracted position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the on-body drug delivery system of Jeffrey to include the pawl, prior to the arm retracting, is configured to disengage the rack through the rotation of the end of the pawl based on the teachings of Kirk to allow the rack of the drug delivery system to be reset to the original, rearward starting position, such as when the reservoir is refilled (Kirk [0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that currently amended claims present limitations similar to those presented in the claims filed June 03, 2024 and similarly rejected in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 08/14/24.
Regarding the argument that there is not motivation to combine the teachings Jeffrey (US 2002/0029018) with the teachings of Kirk et al. (US 20130331771) (Remarks, page 7-8), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Jeffrey requires that the pawl must deflect to disengage from one tooth to then re-engage with the next tooth position. Kirk also discloses that the pawl engages a tooth, then deflects to re-engage with next tooth (Kirk [0030]). Kirk then additionally discloses that the pawl can be rotated to fully disengage from the rack regardless of the positioning of the arm, while still allowing the pawl to reengage the rack via the torsion spring 110 (Kirk [0029], [0033]). Both Jeffrey and Kirk disclose that the rack, arm, and pawl form a one-way rachet mechanism (Jeffrey: “Preferred incremental drive transmission means is of ratchet-type. Intermittently driven toothed pawl means can serve for movement of toothed actuator means in a one-way and non-returnable incremental manner” [0006] and Kirk: “the pawl 108 is designed as a one-way ratchet” [0033]). Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the pawl of Jeffrey to be configured to rotate relative to the arm to disengage the rack based on the disclosure of Kirk, which teaches a similar one-way rachet mechanism, to allow the rack of the drug delivery system to be reset to the original, rearward starting position, such as to refill the reservoir (Kirk [0033]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEAH J SWANSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783