DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: For clarification purposes, Examiner believes that where the claims mention “fixed” they should recite “fixed and stationary”. Examiner believes that where the claims mention “integral inclined product supporting surface” they should recite “a separate but integrally connected inclined product supporting surface”. Such would distinguish the invention from bases with slopped upper surfaces. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the drive mechanism of the product retrieval assembly " in line 25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that it should be stated prior that the drive mechanism is of the product retrieval assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 21, 22, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka et al. (US 6,520,604 – hereinafter Yasaka) in view of Ardern et al. (US 2011/0068116 – hereinafter Ardern), JP 4263858 (hereinafter JP-426), and Perkins et al. (WO 2008045472 A2 – hereinafter Perkins).
Re Claims 1, 21, 22, and 26:
Yasaka discloses a vending machine, comprising: a housing (2) defining a product storage area (4) and a delivery portal (7); an advancing assembly (31, 24) within the product storage area configured to advance a product (S), wherein the advancing assembly (31, 24) comprises: an axle (small diameter spur gear) having a coupling (31); a conveyor belt (26) rotatable about the axle (small diameter spur gear) (see Fig. 5); and a pusher (24) secured to the conveyor belt (26) and configured to push the product (S) as the conveyor belt (26) rotates; and a delivery mechanism (at 42, at 43) configured to convey the product (S) from the product storage area (4) to the delivery portal (7), comprising: an x-y mechanism (42); and a product retrieval assembly (43) movable by the x-y mechanism (42), wherein the product retrieval assembly (43) is configured to be at least partially received in the delivery portal (7), and the product retrieval assembly (43) comprises a cup (43) comprising a base (near 45b), wherein the base includes an inclined product supporting surface (see Fig. 4 – sloping base section that’s in front of member 49), a drive mechanism (48) configured to engage the coupling (31) of the advancing assembly (31, 24) to drive the conveyor belt (26) to advance the product (S) into the cup (43) (see Figs. 1-21), wherein the drive mechanism (48) of the product retrieval assembly (43) comprises a gear train, and a sensor (51) (see Figs. 1-9B) , but fails to teach a horizontal base with an integral inclined product supporting surface and an integral sidewall, configured to receive the product from the advancing assembly, wherein the integral sidewall extends upwards from the horizontal base and from the integral inclined product supporting surface such that the integral inclined product supporting surface, the horizontal base, and the integral sidewall are fixed relative to the product retrieval assembly, a movable arm, wherein the gear train extends onto the movable arm and the movable arm is configured to rotate about an axis from a stowed position to an extended position to engage a gear of the gear train with the coupling of the advancing assembly and a sensor arranged on the horizontal base and configured to detect the product within the cup.
Ardern teaches a sensor (171) arranged on a horizontal base and configured to detect a product within a cup (see paragraph [0028]). Re Claim 22: Ardern teaches wherein the sensor is further configured to detect removal of the product from the product retrieval assembly (see paragraph [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern to provide an alternative recognized sensing system for determining when product is located on a belt or bottom of a cup, so as to assure that the product is completely within the cup.
JP-426 teaches a movable arm (46) (see Figs. 10 and 11), wherein a gear train (43, 44, 45) extends onto the movable arm (46) and the movable arm (46) is configured to rotate about an axis (46a) from a stowed position (see Fig. 14a) to an extended position (see Figs. 14b-15b) to engage a gear (43) of the gear train (43, 44, 45) with a coupling (33) of an advancing assembly. Re Claim 26: JP-426 teaches wherein the axis (46a) is horizontal (see Figs. 1-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern and JP-426 to provide an alternative technique for moving an output gear into position allowing for a bucket member to remain in a desired position.
Perkins teaches a horizontal base (215) with an integral inclined product supporting surface (219) and an integral sidewall (140, 222), configured to receive a product (24) from an advancing assembly, wherein the integral sidewall (140, 222) extends upwards from the horizontal base (215) and from the integral inclined product supporting surface (219) such that the integral inclined product supporting surface (219), the horizontal base (215), and the integral sidewall (140, 222) are fixed relative to a product retrieval assembly (see Figs. 6 and 7). Re Claim 21: Perkins teaches wherein the integral sidewall (140, 222) defines an opening for receiving the product into the cup, and the integral inclined product supporting surface (219) of the cup slopes downwardly from the opening (Examiner notes that the surface slopes downwardly whether the opening is located in the front or the side of the device) (see Figs. 6 and 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern, JP-426, and Perkins to provide an alternative bucket formation design as known within art, from a finite number of designs as indicated by Perkins.
Further Re Claim 3:Yasaka discloses wherein the axle (small diameter spur gear) and the coupling (31) are arranged at a front end of the advancing assembly (31, 24)).
Further Re Claim 4:
Yasaka discloses wherein the drive mechanism (48) of the product retrieval assembly (43) comprises a motor (47a, 47b) (see col. 12 lines 19-42).
Further Re Claims 6:
Yasaka discloses a user interface (9) for receiving a user input corresponding to a selection of a product (see col. 8 lines 38-56), and a control unit (control circuit) in communication with the user interface and the delivery mechanism, such that the control unit operates the delivery mechanism to retrieve the product based on the user input (see col. 8 lines 38-56).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, JP-426, and Perkins and further in view of Vazquez et al. (US 2020/0043272 – hereinafter Vazquez).
Re Claim 2:
Yasaka in view of Ardern, JP-426, and Perkins discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach wherein the x-y mechanism comprises a horizontal guide, a vertical guide arranged perpendicularly to the horizontal guide and movable along the horizontal guide, and wherein the product retrieval assembly is movable along the vertical guide.
Vazquez further in view teaches wherein a x-y mechanism comprises a horizontal guide (1300), a vertical guide (1110) arranged perpendicularly to the horizontal guide and movable along the horizontal guide, and wherein a product retrieval assembly (300) is movable along the vertical guide (see paragraphs [0048-0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka in view of Ardern, JP-426, and Perkins with that of Vazquez to provide an arrangement for moving a device in an x-y manner for facilitating a dispensing process.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, JP-426, and Perkins and further in view of Smith et al. (US 2020/0082369 – hereinafter Smith).
Re Claim 8:
Yasaka in view of Ardern, JP-426, and Perkins discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach wherein the sensor comprises a capacitive sensor.
Smith teaches wherein a sensor comprises a capacitive sensor (see paragraphs [0069 and 0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka in view of Ardern, JP-426, and Perkins with that of Smith to provide a particular sensor for a particular usage as recognized as art equivalents within the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, JP 4263858 (hereinafter JP-426), and Perkins.
Re Claims 9:
Yasaka discloses a delivery mechanism (at 42, at 43) for a vending machine, comprising: an x-y mechanism (42); and a product retrieval assembly (43) movable by the x-y mechanism (42) in an x-direction and in a y-direction that is perpendicular to the x-direction, wherein the product retrieval assembly comprises: a cup (at 43) for receiving a product (S); wherein the cup (43) comprises a base (near 45b); a drive mechanism (48) comprising a motor (47a, 47b) and a gear train configured to drive an advancing assembly (31, 24) on which the product (S) is positioned to advance the product (S) into the cup (43) (see Figs. 1-21), wherein the drive mechanism (47a, 47b) is arranged below the base of the cup (43) (see Fig. 4 at 47b), and the gear train is arranged on a side of the product retrieval assembly (43) (see Fig. 4) (see Figs. 1-9B) (see col. 12 lines 19-42), but fails to teach a horizontal base with an integral inclined product supporting surface and an integral sidewall, configured to receive the product from the advancing assembly, wherein the integral sidewall extends upwards from the horizontal base and from the integral inclined product supporting surface such that the integral inclined product supporting surface, the horizontal base, and the integral sidewall are fixed relative to the product retrieval assembly, a sensor arranged on the horizontal base of the cup and configured to detect the product within the cup, and wherein if fails to specifically teach wherein the drive mechanism is arranged below the horizontal base of the cup, and wherein the drive mechanism further comprises a movable arm configured to rotate about an axis from a stowed position to an extended position to engage a gear of the gear train with a coupling of the advancing assembly, and wherein the gear train extends onto the movable arm.
Ardern teaches a sensor (171) arranged on a horizontal base and configured to detect a product within a cup (see paragraph [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern to provide an alternative recognized sensing system for determining when product is located on a belt or bottom of a cup, so as to assure that the product is completely within the cup.
Kenmochi teaches wherein a drive mechanism (7c, link attached to 7c2, 7c4) is arranged below a base of the cup (Examiner additionally notes that drive units 7c extend all the way to below the base, thus, they are arranged below the base of the cup), and wherein the drive mechanism (7c4) further comprises a movable arm (7c2) configured to (move from a) stowed position to an extended position (see Figs. 7-9) to engage a gear (at 7c4) of the gear (mechanism) with a coupling (4f) of the advancing assembly (see Figs. 7-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern and Kenmochi to provide an arrangement of parts as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, for, the reversal of components in a prior art reference, where there is no disclosed significance to such reversal, is a design consideration within the skill of the art.
JP-426 teaches wherein a drive mechanism further comprises a movable arm (46) (see Figs. 10 and 11) configured to rotate about an axis (46a) from a stowed position (see Fig. 14a) to an extended position (see Figs. 14b-15b) to engage a gear (43) of a gear train (43, 44, 45) with a coupling (33) of an advancing assembly, and wherein the gear train (43, 44, 45) extends onto the movable arm (46) (see Figs. 7-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern, Kenmochi, and JP-426 to provide an alternative technique for moving an output gear into position allowing for a bucket member to remain in a desired position.
Perkins teaches a horizontal base (215) with an integral inclined product supporting surface (219) and an integral sidewall (140, 222), configured to receive a product (24) from an advancing assembly, wherein the integral sidewall (140, 222) extends upwards from the horizontal base (215) and from the integral inclined product supporting surface (219) such that the integral inclined product supporting surface (219), the horizontal base (215), and the integral sidewall (140, 222) are fixed relative to a product retrieval assembly (see Figs. 6 and 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern, Kenmochi, JP-426 and Perkins to provide an alternative bucket formation design as known within art, from a finite number of designs as indicated by Perkins.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, JP-426, and Perkins and further in view of Vazquez et al. (US 2020/0043272 – hereinafter Vazquez).
Re Claims 10 and 24:
Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, JP-426, and Perkins discloses the device of claim 9 (including moving after sensing), but fails to specifically teach wherein the x-y mechanism comprises a horizontal guide, a vertical guide arranged perpendicularly to the horizontal guide and movable along the horizontal guide, and wherein the product retrieval assembly is movable along the vertical guide.
Vazquez further in view teaches wherein a x-y mechanism comprises a horizontal guide (1300), a vertical guide (1110) arranged perpendicularly to the horizontal guide and movable along the horizontal guide, and wherein a product retrieval assembly (300) is movable along the vertical guide (see paragraphs [0048-0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, JP-426, and Perkins with that of Vazquez to provide an arrangement for moving a device in an x-y manner for facilitating a dispensing process.
Claim(s) 14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins.
Re Claims 14 and 17-19:
Yasaka discloses a method for dispensing a product in a vending machine, comprising: moving a product retrieval assembly (43) comprising a cup (43) and a drive mechanism (48) to a location of an advancing assembly (31, 24) on which the product (S) is arranged; wherein the cup (43) comprises a base product supporting surface (near 45b); engaging a coupling (31) of the advancing assembly (31, 24) via the drive mechanism (48) of the product retrieval assembly (43); advancing the advancing assembly (31, 24) by driving the advancing assembly (31, 24) with the drive mechanism (48) of the product retrieval assembly (43) to move the product (S) from the advancing assembly (31, 24) into the cup (43) of the product retrieval assembly (43) by conveying the product to a front end of the product retrieval assembly and moving the product retrieval assembly (43) and the product (S) to a delivery portal (7) of the vending machine (see Figs. 1-21), but fails to teach a horizontal base with an integral inclined product supporting surface and an integral sidewall, configured to receive the product from the advancing assembly, wherein the integral sidewall extends upwards from the horizontal base and from the integral inclined product supporting surface such that the integral inclined product supporting surface, the horizontal base and the integral sidewall are fixed relative to the product retrieval assembly, and wherein the advancing assembly comprises a conveyor belt on which the product rests; detecting the product received within the cup via a sensor arranged on a horizontal base of the cup, and wherein engaging the coupling comprises moving a movable arm of the product retrieval assembly from a stowed position to an extended position in which a gear of the drive mechanism engages the coupling of the advancing assembly, and to move the product from the advancing assembly into the cup of the product retrieval assembly by conveying the product to a front end of the product retrieval assembly with a conveyor belt;
Ardern teaches detecting a product received within a cup via a sensor (171) arranged on a base of the cup, (see paragraph [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern to provide an alternative recognized sensing system for determining when product is located on a belt or bottom of a cup, so as to assure that the product is completely within the cup.
Kenmochi teaches wherein the advancing assembly comprises a conveyor belt (4d) on which product rests, engaging a coupling comprises moving a movable arm (7c2) of the product retrieval assembly (7) from a stowed position to an extended position in which a gear (at 7c4) of the drive mechanism (7c4) engages the coupling (4f) of the advancing assembly (see Figs. 7-9), and to move the product from the advancing assembly into the cup of the product retrieval assembly by conveying the product to a front end of the product retrieval assembly (7) with a conveyor belt (4d) (see Figs. 1-21). Re Claim 17: Kenmochi discloses ceasing operation of the drive mechanism when the product is detected in the cup by the sensor of the product retrieval assembly (see paragraphs [0066-0068]. Re Claim 19: Kenmochi discloses retrieving a location of the selected product from a memory that stores product location information, and moving the product retrieval assembly to the location (see paragraph [0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern and Kenmochi to protect parts from potential damage while a bucket is moving.
Perkins teaches a horizontal base (215) with an integral inclined product supporting surface (219) and an integral sidewall (140, 222), configured to receive a product (24) from an advancing assembly, wherein the integral sidewall (140, 222) extends upwards from the horizontal base (215) and from the integral inclined product supporting surface (219) such that the integral inclined product supporting surface (219), the horizontal base (215), and the integral sidewall (140, 222) are fixed relative to a product retrieval assembly (see Figs. 6 and 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka with that of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins to provide an alternative bucket formation design as known within art, from a finite number of designs as indicated by Perkins.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins and further in view of Jafa et al. (US 10,490,014 – hereinafter Jafa).
Re Claim 15
Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins discloses the device of claim 14, but fails to teach wherein moving the product retrieval assembly to the location of the product comprises: moving a vertical lead screw along a horizontal screw; moving the product retrieval assembly along the vertical screw to the location of the product.
Jafa teaches moving a product retrieval assembly to a location of a product comprises: moving a vertical lead screw along a horizontal screw; moving the product retrieval assembly along the vertical screw to the location of the product (see Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins with that of Jafa to provide an alternative x-y mechanism for moving products within a vending machine as known within the art.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins, and further in view of Vazquez et al. (US 2020/0043272 – hereinafter Vazquez).
Re Claims 24:
Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins discloses the device of claim 14 (including moving after sensing), but fails to specifically teach wherein moving the product retrieval
assembly and the product to the delivery portal comprises moving the product retrieval
assembly and the product to the delivery portal when the product is detected within the cup by the sensor.
Vazquez further in view teaches wherein moving the product retrieval assembly and the product to the delivery portal comprises moving the product retrieval assembly and the product to the delivery portal when the product is detected within the cup by the sensor (see paragraph [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins with that of Vazquez to provide an arrangement for moving a device in an x-y manner for facilitating a dispensing process.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins, and further in view of JP-426.
Re Claim 25
Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins, discloses the device of claim 14, but fails to teach wherein moving the movable arm of the product retrieval assembly from the stowed position to the extended position comprises rotating the movable arm about an axis, and wherein the gear train extends onto the movable arm.
JP-426 further in view teaches wherein moving a movable arm (46) of a product retrieval assembly from a stowed position (see Fig. 14a) to an extended position (see Figs. 14b-15b) comprises rotating the movable arm (46) about an axis (46a) , and wherein a gear train (43, 44, 45) extends onto the movable arm (46) (see Figs. 1-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Yasaka in view of Ardern, Kenmochi, and Perkins, with that of JP-426 to provide an alternative technique for moving an output gear into position allowing for a bucket member to remain in a desired position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jafa teaches placing sensors in a various locations (see col. 9 line 49 to col. 10 line 9). Zhang et al. (US 2021/0264715) – shows a bucket with a door (315) which extends through a delivery opening of a vending machine (see Fig. 2).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651