Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: For claims 1 and 12, the limitation of “at least three electrical contacts electrically insulated from the interface layer” is not supported by the specification.
The term interface layer with respect to “electrical contacts electrically insulated from the interface layer“ is used in below paragraphs of instant specification:
Paragraph [0034] explicitly discloses: The electrical contact elements 121, 123, 125 may be respectively in electrical contact with the first and second light emitting elements 111, 113 via a lead frame, which may be embedded in interface layer 101 and electrically insulating layer 103 and therefore not visible in the figures.
This is considered to mean that the electrical contacts 121,123 and 125 electrically contact the light emitting elements through a lead frame, wherein the lead frame maybe embedded in interface layer 101 and maybe embedded in the electrically insulating layer 103.
For the above reason, the specification does not disclose “electrical contacts electrically insulated from the interface layer”.
Therefore, the amendment is not supported by the specification and is considered as new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5,6,8-14, 19 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 20160035952, cited previously) in view of Lin (US 9324697 B1, cited previously) and Kaihotsu (US 2010/0244731, cited previously) and further in view of Osterwald (US 20180218957 A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Yamada teaches (an automative lighting system for claim 12, see [0004] in Yamada) a lighting device (Fig.10a,10b,8a,8b) comprising: an electrically insulating layer 201 (same as 101, ceramics and [0175]) having a top surface ;the electrically insulating layer comprising a mounting portion (step portion on which LEDs 204 ,[0211] are disposed) and a connection portion (wherein 220c is disposed) adjacent the mounting portion; at least one first light emitting element (204) disposed on the mounting portion of the electrically insulating layer and configured to emit light of a first color via a light-emitting top surface of the at least one first light emitting element ([0292]); at least one second light emitting element (second LED 204) disposed on the mounting portion of the electrically insulating layer and configured to emit light of a second color ([0292]) via a light-emitting top surface of the at least one second light emitting element, and a lead frame103 ([0233]) in the connection portion of the electrically insulating layer and comprising electrical contacts 103 each having a top surface exposed from the top surface of the electrically insulating layer.
Yamada does not teach the electrically insulating layer having a thermal conductivity of more than 10 W/(m*K).
However, Yamada already teaches the insulating layer as ceramic ([0290]) and it is well known in the art to have ceramic materials of over 10 W/(m*K) of thermal conductivity and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the material with the thermal conductivity of more than 10 W/(m*K) the device of Yamada, in order to achieve heat dissipation.
Yamada does not teach at least one first light emitting element and the second light emitting embedded in the mounting portion of the electrically insulating layer; the first and second light emitting element being completely exposed from a top surface of the lighting device and a lead frame embedded in the connection portion of the electrically insulating layer.
Lin teaches an LED light emitting element (230b, see in Lin: (15) Referring back to the light emitting layer 230b, and 240 which is phosphor layer) embedded in the mounting portion and being completely exposed from a top surface of the lighting device and a lead frame 260 (see in Lin: both a top surface 260a and bottom surface 260b of the electrical conductors 260) embedded in the connection portion of the electrically insulating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use embedding technique for disposing LEDs and wiring in an LED device in order to save space.
Yamada in view of Lin does not teach at least three electrical contacts each having a top surface completely exposed from the top surface of the lighting device; the connection portion of the electrically insulating layer comprising at least three electrical contacts, the at least three electrical contacts being electrically insulated from the interface layer (see Objection to Specification). It is well known in the art to use two or at least 3 electrical contacts as disclosed in Koihitsu (K1, K2 and A in Fig.1) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use at least 3 electrical contacts as disclosed in Koihitsu, in the device of Yamada in view of Lin in order to connect the anode and cathode lines ([0048] in Koihitsu).
Further although Yamada in view of Lin and Koihitsu does not teach explicitly teach the lead frame comprising at least three electrical contacts each having a top surface completely exposed from the top surface of the lighting device; however Koihitsu teaches the three electrical contacts (a,k1,k2 in Fig.9-10) exposed from the top surface of the lighting device and that are connected to the electrical wiring/lead frame (75,76 in Fig.9-10) at the bottom of the LEDs; therefore a person of ordinary skill would understand that the lead frame/wiring are disposed within/embedded in the substrate in order to save space.
Yamada in view of Lin and Koihitsu does not teach an interface layer comprising a metal material that make up at least substantially an entire bottom surface of the lighting device, the electrically insulating layer being disposed on the interface layer and the at least three electrical contacts being insulated from the interface layer.
However, formation of partial or whole metallic layers at the base of an LED lighting device is a design choice, and use of partial or whole metallic base layers for LED devices are well known in the art.
Osterwald teaches an LED lighting device:
an interface layer 101 (base plate 101) comprising a metal material ([0026]) that make up at least substantially an entire bottom surface of the lighting device, the electrically insulating layer 102 ([0052]) being disposed on the interface layer and there is an electrical connecting substrate 120/220 (see lead 150 connected to 120 and [0060]) on the top surface and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use metallic plate at the entire base of the LED device, which is insulated (by 102 in Osterwald) from the top electrical substrate (120/220 in Osterwald), such that and the at least three electrical contacts (from Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu) being insulated from the interface layer in order to achieve expanded heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 19, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches a
method of producing a lighting device comprising: providing an interface layer comprising a metal material that makes up at least substantially an entire bottom surface of the lighting device; disposing an electrically insulating layer on the interface layer, the electrically insulating layer having a top surface and a thermal conductivity of more than 10 W/(m*K), the electrically insulating layer comprising a mounting portion and a connection portion adjacent the mounting portion; embedding at least one first light emitting element in the mounting portion of the electrically insulating layer such that the first light emitting element is arranged to emit light of a first color via a light-emitting top surface of the first light emitting element, the light-emitting top surface of the at least one first light emitting element being completely exposed from a top surface of the lighting device; embedding at least one second light emitting element in the mounting portion of the electrically insulating layer such that the second light emitting element is configured to emit light of a second color via a light-emitting top surface of the at least one second light emitting element, the light-emitting top surface of the at least one second light emitting element being completely exposed from the top surface of the lighting device; providing a lead frame that comprises at least three electrical contacts; embedding the lead frame in the connection portion of the electrically insulating layer such that a top surface of each of the at least three electrical contacts is completely exposed from the top surface of the lighting device; and electrically coupling the at least three electrical contacts to at least one of the at least one first light emitting element or the at least one second light emitting element, the at least three electrical contacts being electrically insulated from the interface layer. (see rejection in claim 1 above, as the scope of claims 1 and 12 are the same).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device wherein the first color is different from the second color ([0292] in Yamada).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, wherein a thickness of the connection portion is smaller than a thickness of the mounting portion between the interface layer the electrically insulating layer (Fig.8(a) and 10 of Yamada).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, wherein the mounting portion and the connection portion are adjacent each other forming a step at a transition from the connection portion to the mounting portion (Fig.8(a) and 10 of Yamada).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, wherein the at least three electrical contacts each comprise an essentially planar contact portion arranged on the electrically insulating layer within the connection portion (Fig.1 of Koihitsu in the combined structure of Yamada in view of Lin and Koihitsu).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, wherein the at least one first light emitting element and the at least one second light emitting element are adjacent to each other, such that the respective light-emitting top surfaces of the at least one first light emitting element and the at least one second light emitting element are arranged in a common plane (from the combined structure of Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, wherein: to the at least one first lighting element comprises a single first light emitting element, the at least one second lighting element comprises a single second light emitting element, two of the three electrical contacts are respectively electrically coupled to a corresponding one of the single first light emitting element and the single second light emitting element, and one of the at least three electrical contact elements is electrically coupled to both of the single first light emitting element and the single second light emitting element (see connection ends k1 , k2 and A in Fig.1 in Kaihotsu).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, wherein the at least three electrical contacts comprise at least a first, a second, a third and a fourth electrical contact, the at least one first light emitting element being electrically coupled to the first and the second electrical contacts, and the at least one second light emitting element being electrically coupled to the third and the fourth electrical contacts (see the first, second , third and fourth contact elements below in Kaihotsu)
Regarding claim 13, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, further comprising at least one optical element configured to shape a beam of light emitted from the at least one first light emitting element and the at least one second light emitting element ([0151] that is lens 108 in Yamada).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada in view of Lin and Koihitsu teaches the lighting device, further comprising a controller configured to respectively control at least one of the at least one first light emitting element or the at least one second light emitting element to be turned at least one of ON or OFF in accordance with at least one predetermined mode of operation ([0054]- [0062] in Kaihotsu).
Regarding claim 22, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the lighting device, wherein the electrically insulating layer comprises a ceramic material ([0007], [0113], [0120], [0175] and [0290] in Yamada).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lin,Koihitsu and Osterwald and further in view of Toner (US 20020154379, cited previously)
Regarding claim 15, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the first color is a white color ([0004] in Yamada and Abstract of Koihitsu), and controller for the LED light colors ([0054]-[0062] in Koihitsu) but does not explicitly teach the predetermined mode of operation comprises a daytime running mode in which the controller is configured to turn ON the at least one first light emitting element and turn OFF the at least one second light emitting element.
Toner teaches controller for LED lights in automobiles based on the day time ([0022], [0026], [0155], [0197]- [0202], [0205], [0206], [0284]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the control module as disclosed in Toner in the device of Yamada in view of Lin and Koihitsu, in order to control brightness ([0202]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald and further in view of Stadler (US 20130127612, cited previously)
Regarding claim 16, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the second color is an amber color (yellowish shade in Abstract of Kaihotsu), but does not teach the predetermined mode of operation comprises a turn- signal mode in which the controller is configured to periodically turn ON and OFF the at least one second light emitting element and turn OFF the at least one first light emitting element.
Stadler teaches group of flashing signals and OFF signals for turn-signal operation in order to achieve perceiving ([0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the control module as disclosed in Stadler in the device of Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald, in order to control brightness ([0202]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald and further in view of Wonghong (US 20180050631, cited previously)
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches a cyan color (blue/ bluish shade in Abstract of Kaihotsu), but does not teach the predetermined mode of operation is a first autonomous driving mode in which the controller is configured to turn ON the at least one first lighting element and turn OFF the at least one second light emitting element (for claim 17) and the predetermined mode of operation comprises a second autonomous driving mode in which the controller is configured to turn OFF the at least one first light emitting element and turn ON the at least one second light emitting element (for claim 18).
Wonghong teaches an LED that is turned off while another is turned ON using a controller [0047], [0045]- [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the control module as disclosed in Wonghong for use in autonomous mode in the device of Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald, in order to dynamically control the LED driving configuration ([0006] in Wonghong).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald and further in view of Reiherzer (US 20160133610 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 21, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the lighting device, wherein the thermal conductivity of the electrically insulating layer is more than 100 W/(m*K). Rejherzer teaches the thermal conductivity of the electrically insulating layer is more than 100 W/(m*K) ([0033] in Reiherzer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the material as disclosed in Reiherzer, in the device of Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald in order to improve heat dissipation.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald and further in view of Lin2 (US 20150311414, cited previously, hereinafter Lin2, cited previously)
Regarding claim 21, Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the lighting device the electrically insulating layer is less than or equal to 0.5 mm thick.
Lin2 teaches the insulating layer is less than or equal to 0.5mm thick (see in [0046] in Lin with reference to Figure 5A-5C: the width of the insulating region 2 is about 75˜300 μm, and the height of the insulating region 2 is at least 18 μm, also see in [0046] of Lin: “The insulating layer 4 is filled in the insulating region 2”, and therefore the insulating layer 4 fills in the height of insulation region 2 which has height of at least 18 micrometers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the size as disclosed Lin2, in the device of Yamada in view of Lin, Koihitsu and Osterwald in order to form a compact lighting device.
Other art
(cited previously): US 20090140633, US 8508141, US 20100320928
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 8/16/23 is acknowledged, however they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims, wherein Osterwald teaches an interface metallic layer that is insulated on its top by an insulating layer 102, and wherein the electrical contacts are formed by an electrical substrate 220 on top surface of the device.
Further the decision of the board did not address the objection to specification nor any of the rejections. Therefore, the rejections still hold and further even more, a new prior art Osterwald is used in order to provide further clarification.
Furthermore, from the portions of the board decision as shown below, it was indicated that, if the examiner had done the 112(a) written description, then the board thinks they would have affirmed it, especially also because no remarks were indicated on the rejection, in the board’s decision. This is considered to mean that the rejection did not have any issues by the board.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875