DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the papers filed September 18, 2026. Applicant’s remarks have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put the application in condition for allowance. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn. This action is made FINAL.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 9-38 are currently pending.
Claims 10-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 19, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Till (Blood April 26, 2012 Vol 119 Number 17 pages 3940-3950) in view of Fan (US 2018/0230225 Pub 8/16/2018) Meissner (US 2019/0309259 Pub 10/10/2019 and Filed 11/8/2017), and Payne (US 2017/0051035 Pub 2/23/2017). This rejection is further evidenced by Wang (“High-throughput primer and probe design” Real-Time PCR 1 (2006) pages 93-106).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3 Till teaches modifying T cells with a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR). Till teaches that CD20-specific T cells were generated as previously described. Patient PBMCs were activated with OKT3 and IL-2, and 4 days later were electroporated with the L29.19.1 plasmid, which encodes a Leu16 (murine anti–human CD20) scFv fused to a human IgG1 CH2-CH3 hinge, CD4 transmembrane, intracellular CD28 (with mutated dileucine motif) and CD137 (4-1BB) costimulatory domains, and CD3ζ, under the control of the CMV immediate-early promoter, hereafter denoted as the αCD20-28-BB-ζ CAR, as well as a neomycin resistance gene under the control of an SV40 promoter (page 3940, col 1). Till teaches that the CAR transgene was detected by performing quantitative PCR using a primer amplifying a 113bp fragment spanning the junction of CD137 domain and adjacent CD3ζ chain (forward primer: 5′-GAAGAAGGAGGATGTGAACT-3′, reverse primer: 5′-TCCTCTCTTCGTCCTAGATT-3′, probe: 5′-FAM-AGGGCCAGAACCAGCTCTATAA-TAMRA-3′) (page 3940, col 2). FAM is a fluorophore and TAMRA is a fluorescence quencher. It is noted that the term “kit" used in claim 3 has been broadly interpreted to mean a collection of reagents. It is a property of the primers and probes of Till that they will bind to the CD137/ CD3ζ junction of a chimeric antigen receptor comprising a CD137 domain and a CD3ζ domain.
Till does not specifically teach a probe and primer set comprising a probe consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10 and at least one label attached to the probe; a first primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 11; and a second primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12.
However Fan discloses numerous CARs that comprise intracellular CD28, CD137, and CD3ζ (see Table 4). In particular Fan discloses SEQ ID NO: 175, a portion of which is shown below. The primers and probes of Till are shown underlined. It is noted that the forward primer of Till spans the junction of CD137 domain and adjacent CD3ζ chain shown in all caps. Additionally the claimed primers and probes are shown in bold. It is noted that the reverse primer of the present claims (SEQ ID NO: 12) spans the junction of CD137 domain and adjacent CD3ζ chain shown in all caps.
ttcgcagcct atcgctccaa acggggcaga aagaaactcc tgtatatatt caaacaacca 840
tttatgagac cagtacaaac tactcaagag gaagatggct gtagctgccg atttccagaa 900
gaagaagaag gaggatgtga ACtgagagtg aagttcagca ggagcgcaga cgcccccgcg 960
tacaagcagg gccagaacca gctctataac gagctcaatc taggacgaag agaggagtac 1020
gatgttttgg acaagagacg tggccgggac cctgagatgg ggggaaagcc gagaaggaag 1080
aaccctcagg aaggcctgta caatgaactg cagaaagata agatggcgga ggcctacagt 1140
gagattggga tgaaaggcga gcgccggagg ggcaaggggc acgatggcct ttaccagggt 1200
ctcagtacag ccaccaagga cacctacgac gcccttcaca tgcaggccct gccccctcgc 1260
tga 1263
Additionally Meissner discloses an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 237,090) that consists of nucleotides 2-21 of SEQ ID NO: 10.
SEQ ID NO:10 2 CTTCTGGAAATCGGCAGCTA 21
||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 237,090 1 CTTCTGGAAATCGGCAGCTA 20
Meissner also discloses an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 242,181) that consists of nucleotides 3-22 of SEQ ID NO: 11.
SEQ ID NO: 11 3 AGTACAAACTACTCAAGAGG 22
||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 242181 1 AGTACAAACTACTCAAGAGG 20
Further Payne discloses an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 23) that comprises the full length of SEQ ID NO: 12.
SEQ ID NO: 12 1 GCTGAACTTCACTCTCAGTT 20
||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 23 26 GCTGAACTTCACTCTCAGTT 7
While the prior art does not teach a probe and primer set comprising a probe consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10 and at least one label attached to the probe; a first primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 11; and a second primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12, it was well known in the art at the time of the invention that transgene integration into a CAR T cell could be quantitated by PCR using a primer pair and probe set comprising a primer that spans the junction of a CD137 domain and adjacent CD3ζ (see teachings of Till). As evidenced by the prior art of Wang, the parameters and objectives involved in the selection of primers and probes for PCR were known. For example Wang teaches guidelines for designing primers and probes including primer length, GC content, 3’melting temperature, amplicon size, etc. (see pages 93-97). Wang further discloses primer and probe design tools such as Primer3, Primer Express, and Premier Biosoft International (pages 104-105). As evidenced by Wang, designing primer pairs and probes which are equivalent to those recited by the claims is considered routine experimentation. A skilled artisan having knowledge of the sequence of the junction of the CD137 domain and adjacent CD3ζ (as disclosed by Fan) would have it found it “obvious to try” the primers and probe recited in the claimed method because the artisan would have had a finite number of identified, predictable, sequence options for the primers and probe. Further the skilled artisan would have recognized the parameters and objectives involved in the selection of primers and probes. Thus the prior art is replete with guidance and information necessary to permit the ordinary artisan to design primers and probes for the detection of transgene integration into a CAR T cell. Thus, for the reasons provided above, modifying the primers and probes disclosed in the prior art to arrive at probe consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10 and at least one label attached to the probe; a first primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 11; and a second primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
5. Claims 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Till (Blood April 26, 2012 Vol 119 Number 17 pages 3940-3950) in view of Fan (US 2018/0230225 Pub 8/16/2018), Meissner (US 2019/0309259 Pub 10/10/2019 and Filed 11/8/2017) and Payne (US 2017/0051035 Pub 2/23/2017) as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of Fahey (US 2011/0251091 Pub 10/13/2011). Note the rejection of claim 3 was further evidenced by Wang (“High-throughput primer and probe design” Real-Time PCR 1 (2006) pages 93-106).
The teachings of Till, Fan, Meissner, and Payne are discussed above.
The combined references do not teach a kit that comprises an array that comprises the probe (clm 5). The combined references do not teach the array is a multi-well plate (clm 6). The combined references do not teach a kit further comprising a reference gene probe and reference gene primers (clm 9).
However Fahey teaches a kit comprising primers and probes for detecting expression of a gene. Fahey teaches that the kit can also include primers and probes for detecting particular control nucleic acid sequences. Fahey teaches that the probes and/or primers can be provided on a microarray or can be provided in separate vials or wells of an assay plate (e.g., a microtiter plate) (para 0118).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Till, Fan, Meissner, and Payne by placing the nucleic acids in a multi-well plate in the kit as suggested by Fahey. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to put the nucleic acids in a multi-well plate because such plates were known in the art and were routinely used in the art when performing amplification reactions. Further it would have been obvious to additionally include primers and probes for detecting a control nucleic acid (reference gene) since Fahey teaches that expression level controls (such as constitutively expressed genes) can be used to evaluate the efficiency of cRNA preparation (para 0104).
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Till (Blood April 26, 2012 Vol 119 Number 17 pages 3940-3950) in view of Fan (US 2018/0230225 Pub 8/16/2018), Meissner (US 2019/0309259 Pub 10/10/2019 and Filed 11/8/2017), and Payne (US 2017/0051035 Pub 2/23/2017) as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of Ying (Nature Medicine Vol 25 June 2019 pages 947-953), GenBank (Accession EF649953 pub 7/23/2007) and Bretelle (US 2010/0075306 Pub 3/25/2010). This rejection is further evidenced by Wang (“High-throughput primer and probe design” Real-Time PCR 1 (2006) pages 93-106).
The teachings of Till, Fan, and Meissner are discussed above.
The combined references do not teach that the kit further comprises a primer pair and probe for detecting hALB.
However Ying teaches performing qPCR analysis of CAR T cell expression. Ying teaches that a pair of Scorpion primers targeting a specific fragment of the CAR sequence spanning the junction of 4-1BB and CD3ζ was used to determine the copy number of the CAR construct in PBMCs. The human albumin gene (ALB) was used as an endogenous reference for final sample normalization (page 954, col 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Till, Fan, and Meissner by including primers and a probe for hALB gene as suggested by Ying. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to include primers and a probe for hALB in a kit comprising primers and a probe for a CAR-T cell for the benefit of being able to use hALB to normalize CAR-T. .
The combined references do not teach a kit further comprising a hALB probe consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 22 and at least one label attached to the probe; a first hALB primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 23; and a second hALB primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 24 (clm 7). The combined references do not teach that the probe is labeled with a fluorophore or fluorescence quencher (clm 7).
Additionally GenBank discloses the homo sapiens albumin (ALB) gene, complete coding sequence, a portion of which is shown below. The claimed primers and probes are shown in bold.
16501 tataattgca taaaatttag ctatagaaag ttgctgtcat ctcttgtggg ctgtaatcat
16561 cgtctaggct taagagtaat attgcaaaac ctgtcatgcc cacacaaatc tctccctggc
16621 attgttgtct ttgcagatgt cagtgaaaga gaaccagcag ctcccatgag tttggatagc
16681 cttattttct atagcctccc cactattagc tttgaaggga gcaaagttta agaaccaaat
Further Bretelle discloses an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 16) that comprises nucleotides 3-25 of SEQ ID NO: 22.
SEQ ID NO: 22 3 GGAGAGATTTGTGTGGGCATGAC 25
|||||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 16 26 GGAGAGATTTGTGTGGGCATGAC 4
Bretelle also discloses an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 14) that comprises nucleotides 1-18 of SEQ ID NO: 23.
SEQ ID NO: 23 1 TCATCTCTTGTGGGCTGT 18
||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 14 5 TCATCTCTTGTGGGCTGT 22
While the prior art does not teach a probe and primer set comprising a probe consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 22 and at least one label attached to the probe; a first primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 23; and a second primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 24, it was well known in the art at the time the invention how to design primers and probes for detecting the hALB gene. As evidenced by the prior art of Wang, the parameters and objectives involved in the selection of primers and probes for PCR were known. For example Wang teaches guidelines for designing primers and probes including primer length, GC content, 3’melting temperature, amplicon size, etc. (see pages 93-97). Wang further discloses primer and probe design tools such as Primer3, Primer Express, and Premier Biosoft International (pages 104-105). As evidenced by Wang, designing primer pairs and probes which are equivalent to those recited by the claims is considered routine experimentation. A skilled artisan having knowledge of the sequence of the hALB (as disclosed by GenBank) would have it found it “obvious to try” the primers and probe recited in the claimed method because the artisan would have had a finite number of identified, predictable, sequence options for the primers and probe. Further the skilled artisan would have recognized the parameters and objectives involved in the selection of primers and probes. Thus the prior art is replete with guidance and information necessary to permit the ordinary artisan to design primers and probes for the detection of hALB. Thus, for the reasons provided above, modifying the primers and probes disclosed in the prior art to arrive at probe consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 22 and at least one label attached to the probe; a first primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 23; and a second primer consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 24 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further it would have been obvious to label the probe with fluorescein and a quencher as taught by Till for the benefit of being able to detect PCR products.
Response To Arguments
7. In the response the Applicants traversed the rejection under 35 USC 103 over the combination of Till, Fan, Meissner, and Payne (as evidenced by Wang). The Applicants argue that the rejection is based on an insufficient obvious to try analysis.
In the response (pages 11-12) the Applicants argue that the obvious rejection is based on an insufficient obvious to try analysis because the rejection fails to articulate a recognized problem or need in the art. The response states that Till is directed to, in part, confirming the integration of anti-CD20 CAR-T cells by performing quantitative PCR using a primer amplifying a 113 bp fragment spanning the junction of CD137 domain and adjacent CD3ζ chain. The Applicants argue that because the primer set of Till worked for its intended use there was no problem in the art. They argue that a POSA, requiring a probe and primer set directed toward the CD137/ CD3ζ junction of a CAR-T cell, would have simply used the exact sequences taught by Till. Thy argue that regarding optimization, given that the probe and primer set taught by Till worked, there is no need for further optimization and a POSA would not be motivated to design a new probe and primer set.
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The fact that the primers of Till worked for their intended use does not mean that there was no need to develop additional primers and probes that were capable of amplifying this particular junction. In fact it is routine for different labs/groups to develop their own primer/probe sets for detection of a particular target sequence. One of my skills in art would have been motivated to continue to design additional primers and probes for the benefit of optimizing the method of detecting the CAR transgene.
In the response (pages 12-13) the Applicants argue that the obviousness rejection is based on an insufficient obvious to try analysis because there is an exceptionally large number of possible solutions. The Applicants argue that there are over 830 million possible primer and probe combinations. This vast number is the result of numerous factors involved in primer and probe design, including but not limited to primer length, GC content, melting temperature, target position within the sequence, and orientation (whether the forward or reverse primer spans the junction), among other factors. They further argue that due to the sheer volume of possible combination, the POSA would not have been lead the claimed sequence set consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 10, 11, and 12 without some form of explicit guidance from the prior art.
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. In the instant case, the nucleic acid sequence of the CD137/ CD3ζ junction was known in the prior art. It is noted that the Wang teaches that a typical amplicon size is in the range of 100-250 bp. A skilled artisan having knowledge of the junction and the sequence flanking the junction and would have had a finite number of predictable sequence options for primers and probes which can amplify and detect a 100-250 bp amplicon comprising the CD137/ CD3ζ junction. Even if the list of possibilities is long, a long list of options is still considered a finite list.
In the response (pages 13-14) the Applicants argue that the obviousness rejection is based on an insufficient obvious to try analysis because the rejection fails to articulate a reasonable expectation of success. They argue that the probe of Till is substantially different from the claimed probe and Till’s forward primer spans the junction, whereas in the claims the reverse primer that spans the junction. They argue that in Fan the claimed SEQ ID NOs: 10 and 12 are present only in reverse complement form and that the skilled artisan would not know how to reverse and/or inverse them to make them functional. They argue that Meissner discloses oligonucleotides that partially overlap with the claimed probe (SEQ ID NO: 10) and forward primer (SEQ ID NO: 11). However, Meissner does not teach or suggest using these sequences in the context of detecting the CD137/ CD3ζ junction. Similarly, Payne discloses an oligonucleotide that includes SEQ ID NO: 12 (reverse primer) as part of a longer 34-nucleotide fragment used for cloning the CD3ζ domain. They argue that Wang only provides general principles and guideline from primer design and does not offer any specific guidance on selecting sequences required for detecting the CD137/ CD3ζ junction.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. It is noted that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but at least some degree of predictability is required. The Examiner is unpersuaded by Applicants assertion that a skilled artisan would not have had a reasonable expectation of successfully arriving at the claimed primers and probe. Till discloses performing PCR accords the junction using a forward primer that overlaps the junction. Fan discloses the nucleic acid sequence of the junction. Meissner discloses an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 237,090) that consists of nucleotides 2-21 of SEQ ID NO: 10 and an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 242,181) that consists of nucleotides 3-22 of SEQ ID NO: 11. Payne discloses an oligonucleotide (SEQ ID NO: 23) that comprises the full length of SEQ ID NO: 12. Wang discloses the parameters and objectives involved in the selection of primers and probes for PCR and design tools such as Primer3, Primer Express, and Premier Biosoft International (pages 104-105). These disclosures when read in combination provide evidence that a skilled artisan at the time of the invention would have a reasonable expectation of success at developing the claimed primers and probe. Applicants have not considered that skill in the art at the time of the invention, was very high. Applicants have not established that it was beyond the skill of the ordinary artisan to design the claimed primers and probe in view of the disclosure of the relevant sequences, the guidance in the prior art, and the available primer design software.
In the response (pages 15-16) the Applicants address the additional rejections. Regarding Claims 5, 6, and 9 the Applicants argue that Fahey does not make up for the deficiencies in Till, Fan, Meissner, and Payne (as evidenced by Wang). Regarding Claim 7 the Applicants argue that Ying, GenBank and Bretelle do not make up for the deficiencies in Till, Fan, Meissner, and Payne (as evidenced by Wang). They further argue that neither Ying, GenBank nor Bretelle discloses a hALB probe and primer set that consists of the nucleotide sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 22, 23, and 24.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The Applicants arguments regarding what is missing in Till, Fan, Meissner, and Payne (as evidenced by Wang) have been fully addressed above. The response to Applicants arguments, as set forth above, applies equally to these grounds of rejection. Further Applicants are reminded that this is a 103 rejection and a combination of references is being relied upon to show that the probes/primer consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 22-24 are obvious in view of the prior arts of record.
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA HANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682