DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-8, and 17 are pending in this office action.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on August 8th, 2025. The Applicant’s remark and amendments to the claims were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last office action, claims 1 and 8 has been amended. Claims 9-16 have been canceled. As a result, claims 1, 3-8, and 17 are pending in this office action.
Applicant’s argument filed on August 8th, 2025, with respect to claims 8-9, and 15 as being directed to being abstract idea have overcome the invention. The rejection have been withdrawn due to the arguments filed on August 8th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to 35 U.S.C 101 rejection have been considered and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-7, filed August 8th, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 8, and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO 2006/100587 issued to Jose QUENA et al. (hereinafter as “QUENA”) in view of U.S Patent 6,824,051 issued to Reddy et al. (hereinafter as "Reddy") in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0067705 issued to BOCCON-GIBOD et al. (hereinafter as "BOCCON-GIBOD").
Regarding claim 1, QUENA teaches a method for enabling content distribution from a first end-user device to a second separate end-user device ((QUENA: Pg. 7, lines 22-24; For example, the processing elements can include one or more processing elements associated with one or more rights issuers 22 and/or content providers 23, one of each being shown in FIG. 1. Pg. 10, lines 6-8; More particularly, as shown in FIG. I, processing elements such as media servers 36 and/or media players 38 can be coupled to the home network 34, and thus the terminal 10 via the AP 30 {Examiner correlates the first end-user device as the media servers and the second end-user device as the media players}), the first end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption (QUENA: Pg. 10, lines 15-20; The media servers 36 can comprise any of a number of different devices capable of providing content acquisition, recording, storage and/or sourcing capabilities. For example, in accordance with the DLNA architecture, the media servers can comprise set-top boxes (STBs), personal video recorders (PVRs), PCs, stereo and home theaters that include non-volatile memory (e.g., music servers), 20 broadcast tuners, video and imaging capture devices ( e.g., cameras, camcorders, etc.)) {Examiner correlates the first end-user device as the media server}),
the second end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption and communicably connected to the first end-user device (QUENA: Pg. 10, lines 6-8; More particularly, as shown in FIG. I, processing elements such as media servers 36 and/or media players 38 can be coupled to the home network 34, and thus the terminal 10 via the AP 30. Pg. 10, lines 22-24; The media players 38 can likewise comprise any of a number of different devices capable of providing content playback and rendering capabilities. Pg. 10, lines 26-28; the media players can comprise television monitors, stereo and home theaters, printers, multimedia mobile terminals, wireless monitors and/or game consoles. Pg. 12, lines 29-31; The mobile terminal also comprises a user interface including a..a display 62, and a user input interface...allows the mobile terminal to receive data. {Examiner correlates the second-end user device as the media player}), the method comprising the first end-user device (QUENA: Pg. 10, lines 15-20; The media servers 36 can comprise any of a number of different devices capable of providing content acquisition, recording, storage and/or sourcing capabilities. For example, in accordance with the DLNA architecture, the media servers can comprise set-top boxes (STBs), personal video recorders (PVRs), PCs, stereo and home theaters that include non-volatile memory (e.g., music servers), 20 broadcast tuners, video and imaging capture devices ( e.g., cameras, camcorders, etc):
receiving, content and computer program script from a content source (QUENA: Pg. 10, lines 32-33; Similarly, one or more media servers are capable of downloading content from a terminal via the home network and the AP. Pg. 17, lines 1-2; content stored by one or more storage entities may be visible to the control point via a content directory service. Pg. 17, lines 16-18; providing information about the rights and renewal of the allowed use of the content item, or otherwise obtaining such information from a respective rights issuer 22. Pg. 18, lines 5-8; The content can also be associated with DRM system information from which a remote UI server bound to the DRM system protecting that content should the access rights be updated and/or transferred to another network entity {Examiner correlates the media server (first end-user device) downloading (receiving) content form a terminal (a constant source) and providing information about the rights and renewal…of the content item…respective rights issuer}),
said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content (QUENA: Pg. 17, lines 21-25; the rendering control of the rendering entity attempts to access the selected item from content storage 88 of the storage entity 82...Before rendering the selected item at the rendering entity, the rendering control verifies access rights of the rendering entity to thereby access. Col 18, lines 1-5; In such instances, the access rights or rights object of a content item defines the permissions and constraints for use of the item. Thus, the rendering control can verify that the selected item has an associated rights object and, if so, that the rights object includes a permission for the rendering entity to render the selected item);
receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content (QUENA: Pg. 16, lines 3-5; For example, the user entity and storage entity can comprise one or more media servers 36 within a home network 34, while the rendering entity comprises a media player 38 within the home network and the DRM entity comprises a terminal 10 capable of operating within the home network…the rendering entity comprises a media player 38. Pg. 16, lines 21-23; the rendering control of the rendering entity attempts to access the selected item from content storage 88 of the storage entity 82 {Examiner correlates the storage entity as the first end-user device receiving a request from the rendering entity (second end-user device) where the rendering entity attempts to access the selected item from the storage entity (first end-user device) (See pg. 16, lines 4-5: storage entity can comprise one or more media servers…the rendering entity comprises a media player)});
transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script (QUENA: Pg. 10, lines 29-33; one or more media servers 36 are capable of storing content capable of being rendered by one or more media players 38, and/or downloaded by a terminal 10. Similarly, one or more media servers are capable of downloading content from a terminal via the home network and the AP. Pg. 13, lines 6-8; As indicated above, the mobile terminal 10 can also include one or more means for sharing and/or obtaining data, such as from AP(s) 30, user processor(s) 32, media server(s) 36, media player(s) 38 or the like. Pg. 17, lines 21-25; the rendering control of the rendering entity attempts to access the selected item from content storage 88 of the storage entity 82...Before rendering the selected item at the rendering entity, the rendering control verifies access rights of the rendering entity to thereby access (See pg. 16, lines 4-5: storage entity can comprise one or more media servers…the rendering entity comprises a media player)).
Although, QUENA teaches a receiving, content and computer program script from a content source, said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content (See QUENA: Pg. 10, lines 32-33; Similarly, one or more media servers are capable of downloading content from a terminal via the home network and the AP. Pg. 17, lines 1-2; content stored by one or more storage entities may be visible to the control point via a content directory service. Pg. 17, lines 16-18; providing information about the rights and renewal of the allowed use of the content item, or otherwise obtaining such information from a respective rights issuer 22. Col 18, lines 1-5; In such instances, the access rights or rights object of a content item defines the permissions and constraints for use of the item. Thus, the rendering control can verify that the selected item has an associated rights object and, if so, that the rights object includes a permission for the rendering entity to render the selected item). QUENA does not explicitly teach receiving, content and computer program script from a content source, said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located;
However, Reddy teaches receiving, content and computer program script from a content source (Reddy: Col 6, lines 16-19; DRM system 100 facilitates issuance of a license as well as monitoring and maintenance of end users 114 that are authorized to access and use protected content 108. Col 6, lines 34-37; In addition, as previously noted, “content” can be a human readable or computer readable content, a text file, a code, a document, an audio file, a video file, a digital multimedia file, or any other content. Col 7, lines 7-9; Client 106 receives software 103 package from activation server 102, receives protected content 108 and license 116 associated thereto from content server 104, and allows one or more end user 114 to access protected content 108 for which end user 114 is authorized),
said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located (Reddy: Col 7, lines 16-20; Thus, content server 104 of DRM system 100 is provided with an access list managing device such as access list manager 120 that maintains access list 123 stored in database 122. Access list 123 is associated to protected content 108 and comprises identifications of end users 114, who are authorized to access and use protected content 108.
Col 10, lines 10-36; The following metadata may be added to protected content 108 during its creation by content preparation application 214:
Content identifier: a unique ID for the content.
Publisher or creator identifier: a unique ID for the publisher or creator of the content.
Secondary content identifier: A number assigned by the publisher or storefront. This typically is a catalog ID that is used by distribution point. This number is associated with content identifier.
Content server URL: A URL where licenses are obtained through license server
Col 13, lines 42-47; client 106 tries to connect to a URL that is specified in the currently active, opened protected content. This URL could lead to any Service Such as an on-line Store offering related content for Sale, or a connection to a users group discussing a similar or related topic);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify QUENA (teaches a method for enabling content distribution from a first end-user device to a second separate end-user device, the first end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption, the second end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content….receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script) with the teachings of Reddy (teaches receiving, content and computer program script from a content source
said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in providing better security in preventing unauthorized use and allowing only authorized user to access the protected content (See Reddy: Col 7, lines 62-65). In addition, the references (QUENA and Reddy) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as QUENA and Reddy are directed to accessing a web device and determining the permission of the content .
QUENA does not explicitly teach providing the computer program script or a derivation of the computer program script to the second end-user device; in response to providing the computer program script, receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; providing, in response to the request, to the second end-user device, access to the content according to the at least one permission; and subsequently, transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script.
However, BOCCON-GIBOD teaches providing the computer program script or a derivation of the computer program script to the second end-user device (BOCCON-GIBOD: [0057]-[0058]; Packaged content 104 can be delivered to the user together with license 106 in a single package or transmission 113, or in separate packages or transmissions received from the same or different sources. a determination 120 as to whether to grant the user access to content previously obtained or requested by the user. [0214]; The packager then creates a control object with a control program…that allows the “play” action to take place if and only if the user node is reachable from the PC or device node that is requesting the action. [0123]: When the control program has finished executing, it provides an output (e.g., in a preferred embodiment, an ExtendedStatusBlock) that may, for example, be used by the calling application to determine whether a request has been granted. (a) a given user's node must be reachable from the device on which the request to play the content was made, and (b) the current date must be after a specified date);
in response to providing the computer program script (BOCCON-GIBOD: [0057]-[0058]; Packaged content 104 can be delivered to the user together with license 106 in a single package or transmission 113, or in separate packages or transmissions received from the same or different sources. a determination 120 as to whether to grant the user access to content previously obtained or requested by the user. [0079]; a control to be written that allows permission to access protected content based on the condition that a node is reachable from the device where the application that requests access to the protected content is executing. [0116]; control program's routines that need to be performed by the host application upon or after the use of the content key it is requesting), receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content (BOCCON-GIBOD: [0213]; In such an embodiment, when the user wished to play content on a new device, the user's PC software would access…and use it to create a new link for that device (e.g., a link from the new device to the user's node 1602 a)) [0219]; When the user tries to play the content 1702, the software 1714 recognizes that there is no valid link object linking the local PC node with the node of the user who owns the content {Examiner correlates the second-end user device (PC) as the user that wishes to play the content on the new device}),
providing, in response to the request, to the second end-user device, access to the content according to the at least one permission (BOCCON-GIBOD: [0058]; a determination 120 as to whether to grant the user access to content previously obtained or requested by the user. [0084]; comprising content license 306, load and execute a control program associated with content 308, and permission to perform the action will be granted or denied based on the result returned by the control program. Permission will typically require that some conditions be met, such as the condition that a node be reachable. [0214]; creates a control object with a control program…that allows the “play” action to take place if and only if the user node is reachable from the PC or device node that is requesting the action {Examiner correlates the PC node as the second end-user device that requesting the content from the user node (first end-user device) where the content is protected by a license that includes permission in order to access the content}); and
subsequently, transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script (BOCCON-GIBOD: [0084]; comprising content license 306, load and execute a control program associated with content 308, and permission to perform the action will be granted or denied based on the result returned by the control program. [0123]: (a) a given user's node must be reachable from the device on which the request to play the content was made, and (b) the current date must be after a specified date. [0214]; a control object with a control program…that allows the “play” action to take place if and only if the user node is reachable from the PC or device node that is requesting the action. [0217]; This feature would allow a user 1700 to take his content 1702 to a friend's PC 1704, log in to that PC 1704 for a period of time, and play the content 1702 on the friend's PC 1704. [0219]; The file containing the content 1702 and license 1708 is transferred to the friend's PC 1704 {Examiner correlates the content being transferred from user (first end-user device) to the friend’s PC (second end-user device) in accordance to the computer program script (license). The license has control objects with a control program that include rules and condition that govern the use of the protect content}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify QUENA (teaches a method for enabling content distribution from a first end-user device to a second separate end-user device, the first end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption, the second end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content….receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script) with the teachings of Reddy (teaches receiving, content and computer program script from a content source, said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located) with the further teachings of BOCCON-GIBOD (teaches providing receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; providing, in response to the request, to the second end-user device, access to the content according to the at least one permission…to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in providing better results in securing data by verifying data before being granted permission (See BOCCON-GIBOD: [0084]). In addition, the references (QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD are directed to accessing a web device and determining the permission of the content .
Regarding claim 8, the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and QUENA further teaches further comprising: determining, at the first end user device, whether the request is in accordance with the at least one permission (QUENA: Pg. 15, lines 10-15; The control point can thereafter control transfer of the selected content from the selected storage entity to the selected rendering entity for rendering by the respective rendering entity. In this regard, the storage entity can include a content storage 88, such as a memory entity, for storing content. In turn, the rendering entity includes a rendering control 90, such as a software application, for directing the rendering entity to render the selected content. Pg. 16, lines 3-4; For example, the user entity and storage entity can comprise one or more media servers 36. Pg. 18, lines 1-5; the access rights or rights object of a content item defines the permissions and constraints for use of the item. Thus, the rendering control can verify that the selected item has an associated rights object and, if so, that the rights object includes a permission for the rendering entity to render the selected item).
Regarding claim 17, the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and QUENA further teaches an end-user device configured to carry out the method of claim 1 (QUENA: Pg. 7, lines 22-24; For example, the processing elements can include one or more processing elements associated with one or more rights issuers 22 and/or content providers 23, one of each being shown in FIG. 1. Pg. 10, lines 6-8; More particularly, as shown in FIG. I, processing elements such as media servers 36 and/or media players 38 can be coupled to the home network 34, and thus the terminal 10 via the AP 30).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO 2006/100587 issued to Jose QUENA et al. (hereinafter as “QUENA”) in view of U.S Patent 6,824,051 issued to Reddy et al. (hereinafter as "Reddy") in view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0067705 issued to BOCCON-GIBOD et al. (hereinafter as "BOCCON-GIBOD") in further view of Non-Patent Literature. “THE CRYPTOLOPE LIVEU PRODUCT”, IBM CRYPTO LIVE. GENERAL INFORMATION GUIDE issued to XP002908144 (hereinafter as “XP0029”).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD does not explicitly teach further comprising translating, at the first end-user device, the computer program script to generate the derivation of the computer program script.
XP0029 teaches further comprising translating, at the first end-user device, the computer program script to generate the derivation of the computer program script (XP0029: pg 16, Cryptolope Clearing Center: The Cryptolope Clearing Center generates and transmits keys for accessing Cryptolope objects. The key server portion of the Clearing Center manages use of the encryption and decryption keys used for accessing content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify QUENA (teaches a method for enabling content distribution from a first end-user device to a second separate end-user device, the first end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption, the second end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content….receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script) with the teachings of Reddy (teaches receiving, content and computer program script from a content source, said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located) with the teachings of BOCCON-GIBOD (teaches providing, to the second end-user device, access to the content according to the at least one permission; and providing the computer program script or a derivation of the computer program script to the second end-user device) to further include the teachings of XP0029 (translating, at the first end-user device, the computer program script to generate the derivation of the computer program script). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better results in securing data by checking metadata permission (See XP0029: Pg. 21, lines 13-15). In addition, the references (QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and XP0029) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and XP0029 are directed to accessing a web device and determining the permission of the content.
Regarding claim 6, the modification of QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and XP0029 teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and XP0029 further teaches translating the computer program script comprises at least one of: interpreting the computer program script to instructions executable by the first end-user device (XP0029: pg. 19, Chapter 3. Using Cryptolope Live!, Launch the Cryptolope Builder script from your application. In a topology file, specify the location of the content and other Cryptolope-related information (such as certificates, the Buy page to display in order to interest end users in buying the content, and so forth) to the Builder. Deliver the Cryptolope object (via your Web server) to the end user. {See pg 16, Cryptolope Clearing Center: The Cryptolope Clearing Center generates and transmits keys for accessing Cryptolope objects. The key server portion of the Clearing Center manages use of the encryption and decryption keys used for accessing content});
adapting at least one of the permission(s) to at least one requirement of the first end-user device (XP0029: pg 16, Cryptolope Clearing Center: As end users request access to various encrypted content, the Clearing Center receives the requests and determines whether to provide the decryption keys based on any business rules to be applied); and
storing the at least one updated permission in a permission storage of the first end- user device (XP0029: pg 16, Cryptolope Clearing Center: You can track information on when content has been accessed and by whom (based on your specifications for logging at the Clearing Center). The Clearing Center writes to logs (flat files used as input to a database) that can be used as audit trails or to interface with additional systems).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO 2006/100587 issued to Jose QUENA et al. (hereinafter as “QUENA”) in view of U.S Patent 6,824,051 issued to Reddy et al. (hereinafter as "Reddy") in view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0067705 issued to BOCCON-GIBOD et al. (hereinafter as "BOCCON-GIBOD") in further view of WO International Patent Publication 03/019334 A2 issued to Timothy Feldman et al. (hereinafter as "Feldman").
Regarding claim 3, the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD do not explicitly teach the computer program script comprises at least one application programming interface function associated with a permitted playback behavior of the content.
FELDMAN teaches the computer program script comprises at least one application programming interface function associated with a permitted playback behavior of the content (FELDMAN: pg. 67, lines 10-12; CKCMD_PLAY returns the content of the file encrypted with the play session key. Other than the encryption of content, CKCMD_PLAY is functionally equivalent to DFS_READFILE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify QUENA (teaches a method for enabling content distribution from a first end-user device to a second separate end-user device, the first end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption, the second end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content….receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script) with the teachings of Reddy (teaches receiving, content and computer program script from a content source, said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located) with the teachings of BOCCON-GIBOD (teaches providing, to the second end-user device, access to the content according to the at least one permission; and providing the computer program script or a derivation of the computer program script to the second end-user device) to further include the teachings of FELDMAN (teaches the computer program script comprises at least one application programming interface function associated with a permitted playback behavior of the content). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better results in securing data by checking metadata permission (See FELDMAN: pg. 65, lines 4-5). In addition, the references (QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and FELDMAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and FELDMAN are directed to accessing a web device and determining the permission of the content.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD do not explicitly teach the computer program script comprises information defining temporal constraint(s) or access of the content.
FELDMAN teaches the computer program script comprises information defining temporal constraint(s) or access of the content (FELDMAN: Pg. 38, lines 25-27; Any copies from media with a limited number of copies using the CKDRM copy function 330 share the qualities of the original copy in that they are playable in any player. The copies, however, may not themselves be copied. A content provider optionally specifies the number of copies that may be made from an original).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify QUENA (teaches a method for enabling content distribution from a first end-user device to a second separate end-user device, the first end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption, the second end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content….receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script) with the teachings of Reddy (teaches receiving, content and computer program script from a content source, said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located) with the teachings of BOCCON-GIBOD (teaches providing, to the second end-user device, access to the content according to the at least one permission; and providing the computer program script or a derivation of the computer program script to the second end-user device) to further include the teachings of FELDMAN (teaches the computer program script comprises information defining temporal constraint(s)…limiting the use…or access of the content). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better results in securing data by checking metadata permission (See FELDMAN: pg. 65, lines 4-5). In addition, the references (QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and FELDMAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and FELDMAN are directed to accessing a web device and determining the permission of the content.
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO 2006/100587 issued to Jose QUENA et al. (hereinafter as “QUENA”) in view of U.S Patent 6,824,051 issued to Reddy et al. (hereinafter as "Reddy") in view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0067705 issued to BOCCON-GIBOD et al. (hereinafter as "BOCCON-GIBOD") in further view of U.S Patent 6,948,070 issued to Ginter et al. (hereinafter as "Ginter").
Regarding claim 7, the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of QUENA, Reddy, and BOCCON-GIBOD does not explicitly teach the computer program script is programmed in a scripting language, an embeddable language, or an extension language.
Ginter teaches the computer program script is programmed in a scripting language, an embeddable language, or an extension language (Ginter: Col 133, lines 30-32; FIG. 20 shows an example of a VDE content object structure 880. Generally, content objects 880 include or provide information content. This “content” may be any sort of electronic information. Col 243, lines 55-63; The DTD describes one or more data elements (MDE, UDE, or other related data elements) that may contain a natural language description of the function of that item. These natural language descriptions provide a language independent, human readable description for each item. Collections of items (for example, a BUDGET method) can be associated with natural language text that describes its function and forms a term of an electronically specified and enforceable contract {See also Col 86, lines 43-44; data elements (“DTDs” 1108) associated with the executable code}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify QUENA (teaches a method for enabling content distribution from a first end-user device to a second separate end-user device, the first end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content for end-user consumption, the second end-user device comprising at least one output actuator for outputting content….receiving a request from the second end-user device to access the content; transmitting, in response to the request, the content from the first end-user device to the second end-user device in accordance with the computer program script) with the teachings of Reddy (teaches receiving, content and computer program script from a content source, said computer program script for defining or enforcing at least one permission to use or access the content and comprising a content resolution function to determine a resource identifier associated with the content and enabling the content to be located) with the teachings of BOCCON-GIBOD (teaches providing, to the second end-user device, access to the content according to the at least one permission; and providing the computer program script or a derivation of the computer program script to the second end-user device) to further include the teachings of Ginter (teaches the computer program script is programmed in a scripting language, an embeddable language, or an extension language). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better results in efficient access to electronic information and other transaction management implementations to greatly improved the flexibility in the use of secured information (See Ginter: Col 3, lines 44-50). In addition, the references (QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and Ginter) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as QUENA, Reddy, BOCCON-GIBOD, and Ginter are directed to accessing a web device and determining the permission of the content.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2003/0046578 issued to Brown et al. (hereinafter as “Brown”) teaches providing access information on a computer where the access information is associate access right information granting user control to the access content accordingly.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2006/0020556 issued to Jan Hakan Hamnen (hereinafter as “Hamnen”) teaches distributing electronic content from a content creator to an end-user according to the license token granted to the user to provide proper authorization.
U.S Patent 9,251,164 issued to Doshi et al. (hereinafter as “Doshi”) teaches using a database to access content stored outside of the database based on observing the reference identifier.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
11/20/2025
/ANDREW N HO/Examiner
Art Unit 2169
/SHERIEF BADAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2169