DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Amendments
Acknowledgment of receiving amendments to the claims, which were received by the Office on 09/08/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In that remarks, applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argues: “For example, Kim discloses three analog reference voltage generating units 601A, 601B, and 601C that the Office seemingly alleges are responsible for generating the previously recited "first ramp signal," "second ramp signal," and "third ramp signal." Office Action, P8-9. Kim discloses in this regard that "the analog reference voltage generating units includes a first reference voltage generator 601A for the blue color pixel, a second reference voltage generator 601B for the green color pixel, and a third reference voltage generator 601C for the red color pixel, each of which generates respective analog reference voltage with a different decline rate." Kim, C2:L56-62 (emphasis added). But amended claim 27 now requires, as previously noted, that "the first signal converting unit, the second signal converting unit, the third signal converting unit, the fourth signal converting unit, and the fifth signal converting unit are configured to convert the first signal, the second signal, the third signal, the fourth signal, and the fifth signal, respectively, into digital signals, using ramp signals having different inclinations." Even assuming the Office's position against prior claim 27 to be reasonable, which Applicant does not concede, Kim does not teach five different analog reference voltage generating units outputting five ramp signals having different decline rates. And because Kim's analog reference voltage generating units respectively correspond to the three colors of pixels included in Kim's pixel array 50, the person of ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to modify Kim's device to include an additional such unit outputting another ramp signal having a different inclination because there are no additional colors in the pixel array 50.”
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim language does not require five ramp signals having five different inclinations. Claim language merely recites “the first signal converting unit, the second signal converting unit, the third signal converting unit, the fourth signal converting unit, and the fifth signal converting unit are configured to convert the first signal, the second signal, the third signal, the fourth signal, and the fifth signal, respectively, into digital signals, using ramp signals having different inclinations”. Therefore, three ramp signals each having a different inclination may be interpreted to be “ramp signals having different inclinations”. Further, the three ramp signals are used by the first to fifth signal converting units to convert the first signal, the second signal, the third signal, the fourth signal, and the fifth signal, respectively, into digital signals.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 and 41 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 39 recites, in lines 11-16, “the fourth region includes a ninth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the ninth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the third photoelectric converting unit in the second direction, the fifth region includes a tenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the tenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the third photoelectric converting unit in the second direction,”.
Examiner suggests amending the limitation to: “the fourth region includes a ninth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the ninth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fourth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction, the fifth region includes a tenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the tenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fifth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction,”
Claim 41 recites, in lines 15-23, “store a seventh digital signal that has been converted from the seventh signal in the second signal converting unit, and store an eighth digital signal that has been converted from the eighth signal in the third signal converting unit, store a ninth digital signal that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, store a tenth digital signal that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit,”
Examiner suggests amending the limitation to: “store a seventh digital signal that has been converted from the seventh signal in the second signal converting unit, [[and]] store an eighth digital signal that has been converted from the eighth signal in the third signal converting unit, store a ninth digital signal that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, and store a tenth digital signal that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first signal converting unit”, “a second signal converting unit”, “a third signal converting unit”, “a fourth signal converting unit”, “a fifth signal converting unit”, “a first generating unit“, “a second generating unit“, “a third generating unit“, “a fourth generating unit“, “a fifth generating unit“ in claims 27-45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6,937,279 B1) in view of Blanquart (US 2012/0307030 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Kim et al. (hereafter referred as Kim) teaches an image sensor (Kim, Fig. 4) comprising:
a semiconductor chip (Kim, Fig. 4, Column 2, Lines 35-40) that includes
a first region including a first photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges (Kim, Fig. 4, pixel array 50, Column 1, Lines 15-19, Column 2, Lines 41-52, A first region may be the upper right third of pixel array 50. A first photoelectric converting unit may be an R pixel/photodiode in the first region.),
a second region including a second photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the second photoelectric converting unit being arranged side by side in a first direction with the first photoelectric converting unit (Kim, Fig. 4, pixel array 50, A second region may be the upper left third of pixel array 50. A second photoelectric converting unit may be a G pixel/photodiode in the second region.), and
a third region including a third photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the third photoelectric converting unit being arranged side by side in a second direction with the first photoelectric converting unit, the second direction intersecting with the first direction (Kim, Fig. 4, pixel array 50, A third region may be the bottom right third of pixel array 50. A third photoelectric converting unit may be a B pixel/photodiode in the third region.);
a fourth region including a fourth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the fourth photoelectric converting unit being arranged side by side in the first direction with the first photoelectric converting unit and the second photoelectric converting unit (Kim, Fig. 4, pixel array 50, A fourth region may be the top middle third of pixel array 50. A fourth photoelectric converting unit may be any of an R, G or B pixel/photodiode in the fourth region.), and
a fifth region including a fifth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the fifth photoelectric converting unit being arranged side by side in the second direction with the first photoelectric converting unit and the third photoelectric converting unit (Kim, Fig. 4, pixel array 50, A fifth region may be the middle right third of pixel array 50. A fifth photoelectric converting unit may be any of an R, G or B pixel/photodiode in the fifth region.);
a wiring layer that includes
a first signal line, to which a first signal based on an electrical charge converted by the first photoelectric converting unit is output (Kim, Fig. 4, A first signal line is the pixel output line connecting the first photoelectric converting unit to its corresponding comparators 603A.),
a second signal line, to which a second signal based on an electrical charge converted by the second photoelectric converting unit is output (Kim, Fig. 4, A second signal line is the pixel output line connecting the second photoelectric converting unit to its corresponding comparators 603A or 603B.), and
a third signal line, to which a third signal based on an electrical charge converted by the third photoelectric converting unit is output (Kim, Fig. 4, A third signal line is the pixel output line connecting the third photoelectric converting unit to its corresponding comparators 603B.);
a fourth signal line, to which a fourth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fourth photoelectric converting unit is output (Kim, Fig. 4, A fourth signal line is the pixel output line connecting the fourth photoelectric converting unit to its corresponding comparator.), and
a fifth signal line, to which a fifth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fifth photoelectric converting unit is output (Kim, Fig. 4, A fifth signal line is the pixel output line connecting the fourth photoelectric converting unit to its corresponding comparator.);
a first signal converting unit for converting the first signal output to the first signal line into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, analog-to-digital conversion unit 60/comparators 603A, Column 2, Lines 53-67, Column 3, Lines 1-29, The first signal converting unit is the comparators 603A connected to the first photoelectric converting unit (red).),
a second signal converting unit for converting the second signal outputted to the second signal line into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, analog-to-digital conversion unit 60/comparators 603A/B, Column 2, Lines 53-67, Column 3, Lines 1-29, The second signal converting unit is the comparators 603A or 603B connected to the second photoelectric converting unit (green).), and
a third signal converting unit for converting the third signal outputted to the third signal line (Kim, Fig. 4, analog-to-digital conversion unit 60/comparators 603B, Column 2, Lines 53-67, Column 3, Lines 1-29, The third signal converting unit is the comparator 603B connected to the third photoelectric converting unit (blue).),
a fourth signal converting unit for converting the fourth signal outputted to the fourth signal line into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, analog-to-digital conversion unit 60/comparators 603A/B connected to the fourth signal line.), and
a fifth signal converting unit for converting the fifth signal outputted to the fifth signal line into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, analog-to-digital conversion unit 60/comparators 603A/B connected to the fifth signal line.),
the first signal converting unit, the second signal converting unit, the third signal converting unit, the fourth signal converting unit, and the fifth signal converting unit are configured to convert the first signal, the second signal, the third signal, the fourth signal, and the fifth signal, respectively, into digital signals, using ramp signals having different inclinations (Kim, Fig. 4, Column 2, Lines 53-67, Column 3, Lines 1-29, Three ramp signals, each having a different inclination, are used by the first to fifth signal converting units to convert the first to fifth signal, respectively, into digital signals.)
However, Kim does not teach a first semiconductor chip that includes the first region, the second region, the third region, the fourth region and the fifth region; a second semiconductor chip that includes the first signal converting unit, the second signal converting unit, the third signal converting unit, the fourth signal converting unit and the fifth signal converting unit; the second semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip; a first connection unit, to which the first signal read out from the first region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip; a second connection unit, to which the second signal read out from the second region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip; and a third connection unit, to which the third signal read out from the third region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip; a fourth connection unit, to which the fourth signal read out from the fourth region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip; and a fifth connection unit, to which the fifth signal read out from the fifth region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip, wherein the first connection unit has a first electrically conductive unit that includes a first electrode electrically connected to the first signal line and a second electrode arranged such that the first electrode and the second electrode face each other in a third direction in which the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip are stacked, the second connection unit has a second electrically conductive unit that includes a third electrode electrically connected to the second signal line and a fourth electrode arranged such that the third electrode and the fourth electrode face each other in the third direction, and the third connection unit has a third electrically conductive unit that includes a fifth electrode electrically connected to the third signal line and a sixth electrode arranged such that the fifth electrode and the sixth electrode face each other in the third direction, the fourth connection unit has a fourth electrically conductive unit that includes a seventh electrode electrically connected to the fourth signal line and an eighth electrode arranged such that the seventh electrode and the eighth electrode face each other in the third direction, and the fifth connection unit has a fifth electrically conductive unit that includes a ninth electrode electrically connected to the fifth signal line and a tenth electrode arranged such that the ninth electrode and the tenth electrode face each other in the third direction.
In reference to Blanquart, Blanquart teaches a first semiconductor chip first substrate 310, Paragraphs 0024 and 0111 that includes
a first region including a first photoelectric converting unit (Blanquart, Fig. 3N, A first region may be the upper right third of the pixel array.),
a second region including a second photoelectric converting unit (Blanquart, Fig. 3N, A second region may be the upper left third of the pixel array.), and
a third region including a third photoelectric converting unit (Blanquart, Fig. 3N , A third region may be the bottom right third of the pixel array. The third photoelectric converting unit may be a pixel in the third region on a different column from the first photoelectric converting unit.);
a fourth region including a fourth photoelectric converting (Blanquart, Fig. 3N, A fourth region may be the top middle third of pixel array.), and
a fifth region including a fifth photoelectric converting unit (Blanquart, Fig. 3N, A fifth region may be the middle right third of pixel array 50. The fifth photoelectric converting unit may be a pixel in the fifth region on a different column from the first and third photoelectric converting units.);
a wiring layer (Blanquart, Fig. 3n-3q, layer of buses 330, Paragraph 0114) that includes
a first signal line, to which a first signal based on an electrical charge converted by the first photoelectric converting unit is output (Blanquart, Fig. 3n-3q, Bus 330 of the first photoelectric converting unit.),
a second signal line, to which a second signal based on an electrical charge converted by the second photoelectric converting unit is output (Blanquart, Fig. 3n-3q, Bus 330 of the second photoelectric converting unit.),
a third signal line, to which a third signal based on an electrical charge converted by the third photoelectric converting unit is output (Blanquart, Fig. 3n-3q, Bus 330 of the third photoelectric converting unit.),
a fourth signal line, to which a fourth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fourth photoelectric converting unit is output (Blanquart, Fig. 3n-3q, Bus 330 of the fourth photoelectric converting unit.), and
a fifth signal line, to which a fifth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fifth photoelectric converting unit is output (Blanquart, Fig. 3n-3q, Bus 330 of the fifth photoelectric converting unit.);
a second semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Fig. 3n, second substrate 311, Paragraphs 0024, 0109 and 0116 and 0120-0121) that includes
a first signal converting unit for converting the first signal outputted to the first signal line into a digital signal (Blanquart, Fig. 3n, support circuit 370, Paragraph 0106, 0109 and 0116, “…supporting circuitry 370a, which may comprise an analog to digital converter 317a…”, A first signal converting unit is a support circuit 370 connected to the first photoelectric converting unit.),
a second signal converting unit for converting the second signal outputted to the second signal line into a digital signal (Blanquart, Fig. 3n, support circuit 370, A second signal converting unit is a support circuit 370 connected to the second photoelectric converting unit.), and
a third signal converting unit for converting a third signal outputted to the third signal line into a digital signal (Blanquart, Fig. 3n, support circuit 370, A third signal converting unit is a support circuit 370 connected to the third photoelectric converting unit.),
a fourth signal converting unit for converting the fourth signal outputted to the fourth signal line into a digital signal (Blanquart, Fig. 3n, support circuit 370, A fourth signal converting unit is a support circuit 370 connected to the third photoelectric converting unit.), and
a fifth signal converting unit for converting the fifth signal outputted to the fifth signal line into a digital signal (Blanquart, Fig. 3n, support circuit 370, A third signal converting unit is a support circuit 370 connected to the fifth photoelectric converting unit.), the second semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q);
a first connection unit, to which the first signal read out from the first region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Paragraphs 0110 and 0121, The first connection unit is the interconnect 321 of the first photoelectric converting unit and the first signal converting unit.);
a second connection unit, to which the second signal read out from the second region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Paragraph 0121, The second connection unit is the interconnect 321 of the second photoelectric converting unit and the second signal converting unit.);
a third connection unit, to which the third signal read out from the third region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, pixel column bus 330 and circuit column bus 340, Paragraph 0121, The third connection unit is the interconnect 321 of the third photoelectric converting unit and the third signal converting unit.);
a fourth connection unit, to which the fourth signal read out from the fourth region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, pixel column bus 330 and circuit column bus 340, Paragraph 0121, The fourth connection unit is the interconnect 321 of the fourth photoelectric converting unit and the fourth signal converting unit.); and
a fifth connection unit, to which the fifth signal read out from the fifth region is output, that electrically connects the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, pixel column bus 330 and circuit column bus 340, Paragraph 0121, The fifth connection unit is the interconnect 321 of the fifth photoelectric converting unit and the fifth signal converting unit.),
wherein
the first connection unit has a first electrically conductive unit that includes a first electrode (Blanquart, Fig. 3p-3q, interconnect 321 of substrate 310) electrically connected to the first signal line and a second electrode (Blanquart, Fig. 3p-3q, Interconnect 321 of substrate 311 corresponding to the first electrode.) arranged such that the first electrode and the second electrode face each other in a third direction in which the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip are stacked (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the first connection unit, Paragraph 0121),
the second connection unit has a second electrically conductive unit that includes a third electrode electrically connected to the second signal line and a fourth electrode arranged such that the third electrode and the fourth electrode face each other in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the second connection unit includes third and fourth electrodes, Paragraph 0121),
the third connection unit has a third electrically conductive unit that includes a fifth electrode electrically connected to the third signal line and a sixth electrode arranged such that the fifth electrode and the sixth electrode face each other in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the third connection unit includes fifth and sixth electrodes, Paragraph 0121),
the fourth connection unit has a fourth electrically conductive unit that includes a seventh electrode electrically connected to the fourth signal line and an eighth electrode arranged such that the seventh electrode and the eighth electrode face each other in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the fourth connection unit includes seventh and eighth electrodes, Paragraph 0121), and
the fifth connection unit has a fifth electrically conductive unit that includes a ninth electrode electrically connected to the fifth signal line and a tenth electrode arranged such that the ninth electrode and the tenth electrode face each other in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the fifth connection unit includes ninth and tenth electrodes, Paragraph 0121).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Kim with the placement of conversion circuits on a separate stacked substrate as seen in Blanquart to reduce the footprint of the imaging device and keeping the pixel array size constant and optimized to the fullest extent possible (Blanquart, Paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 27 (see claim 27 analysis), wherein
at least one of the first and second electrodes is arranged between the first region and the first signal converting unit in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the first connection unit, Paragraph 0121),
at least one of the third and fourth electrodes is arranged between the second region and the second signal converting unit in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the second connection unit, Paragraph 0121),
at least one of the fifth and sixth electrodes is arranged between the third region and the third signal converting unit in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the third connection unit, Paragraph 0121),
at least one of the seventh and eighth electrodes is arranged between the fourth region and the fourth signal converting unit in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the fourth connection unit, Paragraph 0121), and
at least one of the ninth and tenth electrodes is arranged between the fifth region and the fifth signal converting unit in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321 of the fifth connection unit, Paragraph 0121).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 28 (see claim 28 analysis), wherein
the first signal line is arranged between the first region and at least one of the first and second electrodes in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, Paragraph 0129, The CMOS image sensor chip is a back side illuminated substrate. Therefore, wiring layers are located on the frontside opposite the side of incident light. The first region is considered to be the upper region of substrate 310. Pixel column bus 330 is between the top surface and the interconnect 321.),
the second signal line is arranged between the second region and at least one of the third and fourth electrodes in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, The second region is considered to be the upper region of substrate 310. Pixel column bus 330 is between the top surface and the interconnect 321.),
the third signal line is arranged between the third region and at least one of the fifth and sixth electrodes in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, The third region is considered to be the upper region of substrate 310. Pixel column bus 330 is between the top surface and the interconnect 321.),
the fourth signal line is arranged between the fourth region and at least one of the seventh and eighth electrodes in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, The fourth region is considered to be the upper region of substrate 310. Pixel column bus 330 is between the top surface and the interconnect 321.), and
the fifth signal line is arranged between the fifth region and at least one of the ninth and tenth electrodes in the third direction (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, The fifth region is considered to be the upper region of substrate 310. Pixel column bus 330 is between the top surface and the interconnect 321.).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6,937,279 B1) in view of Blanquart (US 2012/0307030 A1) in view of Yang (US 6809769 B1).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 28 (see claim 28 analysis). However, the combination of Kim and Blanquart does not teach wherein each of the first, second, third, fourth and fifth electrically conductive units is composed of copper.
In reference to Yang, Yang teaches electrically conductive units are composed of copper (Yang, Figs. 4-5, connections 405, conductive points 512-513, Column 5, Lines 50-54).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim and Blanquart with the teaching of copper connections as seen in Yang since it is a well-known conductive material and would provide similar and expected results for connecting the substrates.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6,937,279 B1) in view of Blanquart (US 2012/0307030 A1) in view of Mizukura et al. (US 2009/0213251 A1).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 27 (see claim 27 analysis), wherein
the second semiconductor chip (Blanquart, Fig. 3n-q, Support circuits are placed on the support substrate) includes
a first generating unit that generates a first ramp signal that is used for converting the first signal into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, reference voltage generating unit 601A),
a second generating unit that generates a second ramp signal that is used for converting the second signal into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, reference voltage generating unit 601B), and
a third generating unit that generates a third t ramp signal that is used for converting the third signal into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, reference voltage generating unit 601C), and
the first ramp signal, the second ramp signal, and the third ramp signal have different inclinations Column 2, Lines 53-67, Column 3, Lines 1-29).
However, the combination of Kim and Blanquart does not teach a fourth generating unit that generates a fourth ramp signal that is used for converting the fourth signal into a digital signal, and a fifth generating unit that generates a fifth ramp signal that is used for converting the fifth signal into a digital signal, and the first ramp signal, the second ramp signal, the third ramp signal, the fourth ramp signal, and the fifth ramp signal have different inclinations.
In reference to Mizukura et al. (hereafter referred as Mizukura), Mizukura teaches an image sensor with five different color filters (Mizukura, Fig. 10, Paragraphs 0063-0065).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim and Blanquart with the color filter arrangement as seen in Mizukura so that color reproducibility can be improved and color separation noise can be decreased (Mizukura, Paragraph 0043). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a fourth and fifth reference voltage generating unit having analog reference voltage with different decline rate specific to the additional colors (yellow and cyan). Additionally, a fourth photoelectric converting unit may be a yellow pixel in the fourth region and a fifth photoelectric converting unit may be a cyan pixel in the fifth region. Therefore, the limitations “a fourth generating unit that generates a fourth ramp signal that is used for converting the fourth signal into a digital signal, and a fifth generating unit that generates a fifth ramp signal that is used for converting the fifth signal into a digital signal, and the first ramp signal, the second ramp signal, the third ramp signal, the fourth ramp signal, and the fifth ramp signal have different inclinations” would be met.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6,937,279 B1) in view of Blanquart (US 2012/0307030 A1) in view of Shizukuishi (US 2004/0021788 A1) in view of Kishi (US 2013/0033632 A1).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 28 (see claim 28 analysis). However, the combination of Kim and Blanquart does not teach comprising: a third semiconductor chip configured to store a first digital signal that has been converted from the first signal in the first signal converting unit, store a second digital signal that has been converted from the second signal in the second signal converting unit, store a third digital signal that has been converted from the third signal in the third signal converting unit, store a fourth digital signal that has been converted from the fourth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, and store a fifth digital signal that has been converted from the fifth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Shizukuishi, Shizukuishi teaches storing a first digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038) that has been converted from a first signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The first signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a first pixel.),
storing a second digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038) that has been converted from a second signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The second signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a second pixel.), and
storing a third digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038) that has been converted from a third signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The third signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a third pixel.),
store a fourth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038) that has been converted from the fourth signal in the fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fourth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fourth pixel.), and
store a fifth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038) that has been converted from the fifth signal in the fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fifth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fifth pixel.),
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim and Blanquart with the memory circuit as seen in Shizukuishi to allow the image sensor to store one or more frames of images (Shizukuishi, Paragraph 0039).
However, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Shizukuishi does not teach the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Kishi, Kishi teaches a first semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of photoelectric converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 1 (first semiconductor substrate), Paragraphs 0058 and 0080);
a second semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 2 (second semiconductor substrate), Paragraph 0058 and 0080);
a third semiconductor chip that stores the signals that have been converted into digital signals by the signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, column memory 104, Paragraphs 0056), the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 3, Paragraph 0080).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Shizukuishi with the memory substrate as seen in Kishi to reduce the footprint of the image sensor by stacking the memory substrate.
Claim(s) 33-34, 36-37 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6,937,279 B1) in view of Blanquart (US 2012/0307030 A1) in view of Hirota (US 2010/0141812 A1).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 28 (see claim 28 analysis). However, the combination of Kim and Blanquart does not teach wherein the first region includes a sixth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the sixth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the first photoelectric converting unit in the first direction, the second region includes a seventh photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the seventh photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the second photoelectric converting unit in the first direction, the third region includes a eighth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the eighth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the third photoelectric converting unit in the first direction, the fourth region includes a ninth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the ninth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fourth photoelectric converting unit in the first direction, the fifth region includes a tenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the tenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fifth photoelectric converting unit in the first direction, the first signal converting unit converts a sixth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the sixth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, the second signal converting unit converts a seventh signal based on an electrical charge converted by the seventh photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, the third signal converting unit converts a eighth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the eighth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, the fourth signal converting unit converts a ninth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the ninth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, and the fifth signal converting unit converts a tenth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the tenth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal.
In reference to Hirota, Hirota teaches wherein a first region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The first region is the top right third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a sixth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the sixth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to a first photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The first and sixth photoelectric converting unit are Red pixels horizontally adjacent in the first region.),
the second region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The second region is the top left third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a seventh photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the seventh photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the second photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The second and seventh photoelectric converting unit are Green pixels horizontally adjacent in the second region.),
the third region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The third region is the bottom right third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes an eighth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the eighth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the third photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The third and eighth photoelectric converting unit are Blue pixels horizontally adjacent in the third region.),
the fourth region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fourth region is the top middle third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a ninth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the ninth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fourth photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The fourth and ninth photoelectric converting unit are R, G, or B pixels horizontally adjacent in the fourth region.),
the fifth region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fifth region is the right middle third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a tenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the tenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fifth photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The fifth and tenth photoelectric converting unit are R, G, or B pixels horizontally adjacent in the fifth region.),
a first signal converting unit (Hirota, Fig. 1, column processing unit 14, Paragraphs 0101-0102) converts a first and a sixth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the first and sixth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The first signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the first and sixth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.),
a second signal converting unit converts a second and a seventh signal based on an electrical charge converted by the second and the seventh photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The second signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the second and seventh photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.),
a third signal converting unit converts a third and an eighth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the third and the eighth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The third signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the third and eighth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.),
a fourth signal converting unit converts a fourth and a ninth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fourth and the ninth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The fourth signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the fourth and ninth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.), and
a fifth signal converting unit converts a fifth and a tenth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fifth and the tenth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The fifth signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the fifth and tenth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.).
These arts are analogous since they are since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim and Blanquart with the pixel sharing structure (Hirota, Fig. 3) and color filter (Hirota, Fig. 12) to allow for pixel addition of neighboring pixels to increase the frame rate (Hirota, Paragraphs 0121-0122).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota teaches the image sensor according to Claim 33 (see claim 33 analysis), wherein
the sixth signal read out from the first region is output to the first electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The first and sixth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the seventh signal read out from the second region is output to the second electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The second and seventh signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the eighth signal read out from the third region is output to the third electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The third and eighth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the ninth signal read out from the fourth region is output to the fourth electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fourth and ninth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.), and
the tenth signal read out from the fifth region is output to the fifth electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fifth and tenth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota teaches the image sensor according to Claim 33 (see claim 33 analysis), wherein
the first region includes an eleventh photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the eleventh photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the first photoelectric converting unit in the second direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The eleventh photoelectric converting unit is a Red pixel vertically adjacent to the first photoelectric converting unit in the first region.),
the second region includes a twelfth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the twelfth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the second photoelectric converting unit in the second direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The twelfth photoelectric converting unit is a green pixel vertically adjacent to the second photoelectric converting unit in the second region.),
the third region includes a thirteenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the thirteenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the third photoelectric converting unit in the second direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The thirteenth photoelectric converting unit is a blue pixel vertically adjacent to the third photoelectric converting unit in the third region.),
the fourth region includes a fourteenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the fourteenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fourth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The fourteenth photoelectric converting unit is a R, G or B pixel vertically adjacent to the third photoelectric converting unit in the third region.),
the fifth region includes a fifteenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the fifteenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fifth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The fifteenth photoelectric converting unit is a R, G or B pixel vertically adjacent to the third photoelectric converting unit in the third region.),
the first signal converting unit converts an eleventh signal based on an electrical charge converted by the eleventh photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The eleventh photoelectric converting unit is connected to the first signal converting unit),
the second signal converting unit converts a twelfth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the twelfth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The twelfth photoelectric converting unit is connected to the second signal converting unit.),
the third signal converting unit converts a thirteenth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the thirteenth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The thirteenth photoelectric converting unit is connected to the third signal converting unit.),
the fourth signal converting unit converts a fourteenth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fourteenth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fourteenth photoelectric converting unit is connected to the fourth signal converting unit.), and
the fifth signal converting unit converts a fifteenth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fifteenth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Kim, Fig. 4, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fifteenth photoelectric converting unit is connected to the fifth signal converting unit.).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota teaches the image sensor according to Claim 36 (see claim 36 analysis), wherein
the eleventh signal read out from the first region is output to the first electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The first, sixth and eleventh signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the twelfth signal read out from the second region is output to the second electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The second, seventh and twelfth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the thirteenth signal read out from the third region is output to the third electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The third, eighth and thirteenth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the fourteenth signal read out from the fourth region is output to the fourth electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fourth, ninth and fourteenth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.), and
the fifteenth signal read out from the fifth region is output to the fifth electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fifth, tenth and fifteenth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 28 (see claim 28 analysis). However, the combination of Kim and Blanquart does not teach wherein the first region includes a sixth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the sixth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the first photoelectric converting unit in the second direction, the second region includes a seventh photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the seventh photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the second photoelectric converting unit in the second direction, the third region includes a eighth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the eighth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the third photoelectric converting unit in the second direction, the fourth region includes a ninth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the ninth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fourth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction, the fifth region includes a tenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the tenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fifth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction, the first signal converting unit converts a sixth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the sixth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, the second signal converting unit converts a seventh signal based on an electrical charge converted by the seventh photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, the third signal converting unit converts an eighth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the eighth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, the fourth signal converting unit converts a ninth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the ninth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal, and the fifth signal converting unit converts a tenth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the tenth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal.
In reference to Hirota, Hirota teaches wherein a first region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The first region is the top right third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a sixth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the sixth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to a first photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The first and sixth photoelectric converting unit are Red pixels vertically adjacent in the first region.),
the second region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The second region is the top left third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a seventh photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the seventh photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the second photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The second and seventh photoelectric converting unit are Green pixels vertically adjacent in the second region.),
the third region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The third region is the bottom right third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes an eighth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the eighth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the third photoelectric converting unit in the first direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The third and eighth photoelectric converting unit are Blue pixels vertically adjacent in the third region.),
the fourth region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fourth region is the top middle third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a ninth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the ninth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fourth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The fourth and ninth photoelectric converting unit are R, G, or B pixels vertically adjacent in the fifth region.),
the fifth region (Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fifth region is the right middle third of an array with the pattern of Figure 12) includes a tenth photoelectric converting unit that converts light into electrical charges, the tenth photoelectric converting unit being arranged next to the fifth photoelectric converting unit in the second direction (Hirota, Fig. 12, The fifth and tenth photoelectric converting unit are R, G, or B pixels vertically adjacent in the fifth region.),
a first signal converting unit (Hirota, Fig. 1, column processing unit 14, Paragraphs 0101-0102) converts a first and a sixth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the first and sixth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The first signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the first and sixth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.),
the second signal converting unit converts a second and a seventh signal based on an electrical charge converted by the second and the seventh photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The second signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the second and seventh photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.),
the third signal converting unit converts a third and an eighth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the third and the eighth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The third signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the third and eighth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.),
the fourth signal converting unit converts a fourth and a ninth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fourth and the ninth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The fourth signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the fourth and ninth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.), and
the fifth signal converting unit converts a fifth and a tenth signal based on an electrical charge converted by the fifth and the tenth photoelectric converting unit into a digital signal (Hirota, Figs. 1 and 3, The fifth signal converting unit is the column processing unit 14 connected to the fifth and the tenth photoelectric converting unit through the corresponding vertical signal line 19.).
These arts are analogous since they are since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim and Blanquart with the pixel sharing structure (Hirota, Fig. 3) and color filter (Hirota, Fig. 12) to allow for pixel addition of neighboring pixels to increase the frame rate (Hirota, Paragraphs 0121-0122).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota teaches the image sensor according to Claim 39 (see claim 39 analysis), wherein
the sixth signal read out from the first region is output to the first electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The first and sixth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the seventh signal read out from the second region is output to the second electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The second and seventh signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the eighth signal read out from the third region is output to the third electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The third and eighth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.),
the ninth signal read out from the fourth region is output to the fourth electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fourth and ninth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.), and
the tenth signal read out from the fifth region is output to the fifth electrically conductive unit (Blanquart, Figs. 3n-3q, interconnect 321, Hirota, Figs. 3 and 12, The fifth and tenth signals are read by the same vertical signal line and same interconnect 321.).
Claim(s) 35, 38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6,937,279 B1) in view of Blanquart (US 2012/0307030 A1) in view of Hirota (US 2010/0141812 A1) in view of Shizukuishi (US 2004/0021788 A1) in view of Kishi (US 2013/0033632 A1).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota teaches the image sensor according to Claim 34 (see claim 34 analysis). However, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota does not teach comprising: a third semiconductor chip configured to store a first digital signal that has been converted from the first signal in the first signal converting unit, store a second digital signal that has been converted from the second signal in the second signal converting unit, store a third digital signal that has been converted from the third signal in the third signal converting unit, store a fourth digital signal that has been converted from the fourth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, store a fifth digital signal that has been converted from the fifth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, and store a sixth digital signal that has been converted from the sixth signal in the first signal converting unit, store a seventh digital signal that has been converted from the seventh signal in the second signal converting unit, store an eighth digital signal that has been converted from the eighth signal in the third signal converting unit, store a ninth digital signal that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, and store a tenth digital signal that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Shizukuishi, Shizukuishi teaches storing a first digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a first digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a first signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The first signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a first pixel.),
storing a second digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a second digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a second signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The second signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a second pixel.),
storing a third digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a third digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a third signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The third signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a third pixel.),
storing a fourth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fourth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a fourth signal in a fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fourth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fourth pixel.),
storing a fifth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fifth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a fifth signal in a fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fifth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fifth pixel.),
storing a sixth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a sixth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a sixth signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The sixth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the first pixel.),
storing a seventh digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a seventh digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a seventh signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The seventh pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the second pixel.),
storing an eighth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores an eighth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from an eighth signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The eighth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the third pixel.),
store a ninth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a ninth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The ninth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fourth pixel.), and
store a tenth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a tenth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The tenth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fifth pixel.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota with the memory circuit as seen in Shizukuishi to allow the image sensor to store one or more frames of images (Shizukuishi, Paragraph 0039).
However, the combination of Kim, Blanquart, Hirota and Shizukuishi does not teach a third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Kishi, Kishi teaches a first semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of photoelectric converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 1 (first semiconductor substrate), Paragraphs 0058 and 0080);
a second semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 2 (second semiconductor substrate), Paragraph 0058 and 0080);
a third semiconductor chip that stores the signals that have been converted into digital signals by the signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, column memory 104, Paragraphs 0056), the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 3, Paragraph 0080).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim, Blanquart, Hirota and Shizukuishi with the memory substrate as seen in Kishi to reduce the footprint of the image sensor by stacking the memory substrate.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota teaches the image sensor according to Claim 37 (see claim 37 analysis). However, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota does not teach comprising: a third semiconductor chip configured to store a first digital signal that has been converted from the first signal in the first signal converting unit, store a second digital signal that has been converted from the second signal in the second signal converting unit, store a third digital signal that has been converted from the third signal in the third signal converting unit, store a fourth digital signal that has been converted from the fourth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, store a fifth digital signal that has been converted from the fifth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, and store a sixth digital signal that has been converted from the sixth signal in the first signal converting unit, store a seventh digital signal that has been converted from the seventh signal in the second signal converting unit, store an eighth digital signal that has been converted from the eighth signal in the third signal converting unit, store a ninth digital signal that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, and store a tenth digital signal that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, store an eleventh digital signal that has been converted from the eleventh signal in the first signal converting unit, store a twelfth digital signal that has been converted from the twelfth signal in the second signal converting unit, and store a thirteenth digital signal that has been converted from the thirteenth signal in the third signal converting unit, store a fourteenth digital signal that has been converted from the fourteenth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, and store a fifteenth digital signal that has been converted from the fifteenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, the third signal converting unit, the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Shizukuishi, Shizukuishi teaches storing a first digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a first digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a first signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The first signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a first pixel.),
storing a second digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a second digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a second signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The second signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a second pixel.),
storing a third digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a third digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a third signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The third signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a third pixel.),
storing a fourth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fourth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a fourth signal in a fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fourth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fourth pixel.),
storing a fifth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fifth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a fifth signal in a fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fifth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fifth pixel.),
storing a sixth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a sixth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a sixth signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The sixth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the first pixel.),
storing a seventh digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a seventh digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a seventh signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The seventh pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the second pixel.),
storing an eighth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores an eighth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from an eighth signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The eighth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the third pixel.),
store a ninth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a ninth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The ninth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fourth pixel.),
store a tenth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a tenth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The tenth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fifth pixel.),
storing an eleventh digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores an eleventh digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from an eleventh signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The eleventh pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the first pixel.),
storing a twelfth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a twelfth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a twelfth signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The twelfth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the second pixel.),
storing a thirteenth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a thirteenth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a thirteenth signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The thirteenth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the third pixel.),
store a fourteenth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fourteenth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the fourteenth signal in the fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fourteenth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fourth pixel.), and
store a fifteenth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fifteenth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the fifteenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fifteenth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fifth pixel.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota with the memory circuit as seen in Shizukuishi to allow the image sensor to store one or more frames of images (Shizukuishi, Paragraph 0039).
However, the combination of Kim, Blanquart, Hirota and Shizukuishi does not teach a third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Kishi, Kishi teaches a first semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of photoelectric converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 1 (first semiconductor substrate), Paragraphs 0058 and 0080);
a second semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 2 (second semiconductor substrate), Paragraph 0058 and 0080);
a third semiconductor chip that stores the signals that have been converted into digital signals by the signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, column memory 104, Paragraphs 0056), the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 3, Paragraph 0080).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim, Blanquart, Hirota and Shizukuishi with the memory substrate as seen in Kishi to reduce the footprint of the image sensor by stacking the memory substrate.
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota teaches the image sensor according to Claim 40 (see claim 40 analysis). However, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota does not teach comprising: a third semiconductor chip configured to store a first digital signal that has been converted from the first signal in the first signal converting unit, store a second digital signal that has been converted from the second signal in the second signal converting unit, store a third digital signal that has been converted from the third signal in the third signal converting unit, store a fourth digital signal that has been converted from the fourth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, store a fifth digital signal that has been converted from the fifth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, and store a sixth digital signal that has been converted from the sixth signal in the first signal converting unit, store a seventh digital signal that has been converted from the seventh signal in the second signal converting unit, store an eighth digital signal that has been converted from the eighth signal in the third signal converting unit, store a ninth digital signal that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit, and store a tenth digital signal that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit, the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Shizukuishi, Shizukuishi teaches storing a first digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a first digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a first signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The first signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a first pixel.),
storing a second digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a second digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a second signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The second signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a second pixel.),
storing a third digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a third digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a third signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The third signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a third pixel.),
storing a fourth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fourth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a fourth signal in a fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fourth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fourth pixel.),
storing a fifth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a fifth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a fifth signal in a fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The fifth signal converting unit is a signal processing circuit for a fifth pixel.),
storing a sixth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a sixth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a sixth signal in a first signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The sixth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the first pixel.),
storing a seventh digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a seventh digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from a seventh signal in a second signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The seventh pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the second pixel.),
storing an eighth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores an eighth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from an eighth signal in a third signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The eighth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the third pixel.),
store a ninth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a ninth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the ninth signal in the fourth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The ninth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fourth pixel.), and
store a tenth digital signal (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, non-volatile memory area 6, Paragraphs 0038-0038, The memory stores a tenth digital pixel signal.) that has been converted from the tenth signal in the fifth signal converting unit (Shizukuishi, Fig. 1, signal processing circuit 3, Paragraph 0034, The tenth pixel is a pixel converted by the same signal processing circuit as the fifth pixel.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Hirota with the memory circuit as seen in Shizukuishi to allow the image sensor to store one or more frames of images (Shizukuishi, Paragraph 0039).
However, the combination of Kim, Blanquart, Hirota and Shizukuishi does not teach a third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip.
In reference to Kishi, Kishi teaches a first semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of photoelectric converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 1 (first semiconductor substrate), Paragraphs 0058 and 0080);
a second semiconductor chip that includes the plurality of signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 2 (second semiconductor substrate), Paragraph 0058 and 0080);
a third semiconductor chip that stores the signals that have been converted into digital signals by the signal converting units (Kishi, Fig. 9, column memory 104, Paragraphs 0056), the third semiconductor chip being stacked with the first semiconductor chip (Kishi, Fig. 9, area 3, Paragraph 0080).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim, Blanquart, Hirota and Shizukuishi with the memory substrate as seen in Kishi to reduce the footprint of the image sensor by stacking the memory substrate.
Claim(s) 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6,937,279 B1) in view of Blanquart (US 2012/0307030 A1) in view of Kanzaki et al. (US 2009/0153709 A1).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Kim and Blanquart teaches the image sensor according to Claim 27 (see claim 27 analysis). However, the combination of Kim and Blanquart does not teach an imaging apparatus comprising the image sensor according to Claim 27.
In reference to Kanzaki et al. (hereafter referred as Kanzaki), Kanzaki teaches an imaging apparatus comprising an image sensor (Kanzaki, Figs. 1-2, Paragraphs 0023 and 0027).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Kim and Blanquart with the teaching of using the image sensor in an imaging apparatus as seen in Kanzaki to allow a user to use the image sensor.
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Kanzaki teaches the image sensor according to Claim 42 (see claim 42 analysis), comprising an image processing unit that performs an image processing to a first digital signal that has been converted from the first signal in the first signal converting unit (Kanzaki, Fig. 2, CPU 20, Paragraphs 0032-0033).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Kanzaki teaches the image sensor according to Claim 42 (see claim 42 analysis), comprising an attaching unit to which an optical system that emits light to the image sensor is attached (Kanzaki, Fig. 1, lens 12, Paragraphs 0004-0005 and 0050).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Kim, Blanquart and Kanzaki teaches the image sensor according to Claim 42 (see claim 42 analysis), comprising the optical system (Kanzaki, Fig. 2, lens 12, Paragraph 0029).
Conclusion
/WESLEY J CHIU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639