Claims 1-3,5-9,11-14 are presented for examination.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, 5,6,7,8, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pincu et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2006/0082222; hereinafter “Pincu”; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action) in view of Vassallo et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2006/0103504; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action)
Regarding claims 1, 7, Pincu discloses, A system for use in monitoring a data center environment, comprising:
a power distribution unit that receives power from first and second power sources and distributes power to rack mounted equipment[ “..rack mounted telecommunication equipment according the principle of the current invention, comprising a rack 10 securing a plurality of power supplies 100, a management module 110, a power sourcing device 120..”, 0059;” First power shelf 210 acts as a first power source and second power shelf 220 acts as a second power source..”, 0066; ( i.e the power supplies with the management module corresponds to the power distribution unit)], said power distribution unit including a power distribution unit communications module [ “The active management module 110 is in communication with each of the modules drawing power from power supplies 100, such as power sourcing device 120, power managed module 140, switch 150 and switch having on board power supply 200, and obtains an indication of the power requirements from each of the modules…”, 0067; “Power over Ethernet (PoE) ....”, 0005; 0071;“A data connection is exhibited between management module 110 and each power manager 320…”, 0075; “management module 110 further receives data regarding the priority level of each port to which a PD requesting power may be attached...”, 0076 ; ( i.e the management module included in the power distribution unit corresponds to the power distribution unit communications module )];
the at least one intelligent rack mounted device, said at least one intelligent rack mounted device including a device communications module for virtually communicating with said power distribution unit via said at least one power distribution unit communications module[ “The active management module 110 is in communication with each of the modules drawing power from power supplies 100, such as power sourcing device 120, power managed module 140, switch 150 and switch having on board power supply 200, and obtains an indication of the power requirements from each of the modules. Power is allocated to each of the modules according to pre-defined criteria, and the modules are operative to draw power in accordance with the allocation..”, 0067; Fig. 4A; “..System 400 comprises a plurality of power supplies 100 each exhibiting a status indicator signal 405, and a current indicator 410; a management module 110; a PoE device 420; a switch having on board power supply 200; and a PoE enabled switch 450. PoE device 420 comprises a hot swap controller 305, a power meter 310, a power manager 320..”, 0071; Fig.4A; (i.e . each of the PoE managed module corresponds to an intelligent rack mounted device. The Power manager of the respective PoE managed module corresponds to a device communications module communicating virtually with the management module )] so as to enable monitoring of one or more defined conditions via said intelligent rack mounted device and said power distribution unit[ “..pre-defined criteria..”, 0067;”.. in the event of a failure of one or more power supply 100, management module 110 responsive to the change in the respective status indicator 405 is operable to look up the appropriate actions in the pre-stored power scenario table, and broadcast a scenario number to each power manager 320. The use of a look up table and pre-transmitted scenarios enables management module 110 ...”, 0077; “Each power manager 320 is preferably operable to receive a power budget from management module 110 and to control the operation of the respective operating circuit 330, 460 in accordance with the received budget. Thus, power manager 320 functions as a local power budget supervisor..”, 0078; 0081; Fig.4B ]; wherein said defined conditions include a first, power-related condition comprising one of energy usage, and power quality in a data center[“Status indicators 405 output status information regarding respective power supplies 100, and are received by management module 110. Current indicators 410 output information regarding the output current of respective power supplies 100, and are received by management module 110..”, 0076;” in the event of a failure of one or more power supply 100, management module 110 responsive to the change in the respective status indicator 405 is operable to look up the appropriate actions in the pre-stored power scenario table, and broadcast a scenario number to each power manager 320. The use of a look up table and pre-transmitted scenarios enables management module 110 and power managers 320 to react insufficient time so as to reduce consumption thereby limiting the amount of time for which an overload condition may be present. 0077; Table 1; (i.e., defining conditions related to power quality by detecting the output current of the power supplies and power supply failures and the energy usage by detecting over load conditions)] and a second status -related condition comprising one of security status and environmental status [ “ embodiment each status indicator 405 comprises information regarding at least one of a power good signal of the respective power supply 100, a temperature of the respective power supply 100 and a stress level of the respective power supply 100. Status indicator 405 is illustrated as a separate data connection from each power supply 100..”, 0074; 0125];
However, Pincu does not expressly disclose said power distribution unit including a power distribution unit communications module for communicating with devices external to the rack and external to the rack mounted equipment, via a data network communications protocol, wherein the power distribution unit communications module is located external to the rack and external to the rack mounted equipment and said data network communications protocol allows virtual connectivity to at least one intelligent rack mounted device; said intelligent rack mounted device virtually communicating with said power distribution unit via said power distribution unit communications module using said data network communications protocol.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. a smart power distribution apparatus for locating and tracking electrical equipment and controlling power availability ), Vassallo teaches ,
power distribution unit [ “.."intelligent" power source device, e.g., power strip 50”, 0023] including a power distribution unit communications module for communicating with devices external to the rack and external to the rack mounted equipment, via a data network communications protocol, wherein the power distribution unit communications module is located external to the rack and external to the rack mounted equipment [ “..The power strip 50 is connected to a main power grid where the equipment is located through its main AC power lines 32. A communication system including a network interface 37, e.g., an Ethernet interface, is provided with the power strip 50 that enables high speed communication with a remotely located control device 75, embodied as a workstation or server 83..”, 0023; “controller 75 implements the layers of the software TCP/IP stack provided with the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), e.g., SNMPv1, SNMPv2c, or SNMPv3, that is used to communicate with the microcontroller device 55 of the power strip device directly over high speed communications path 80 which may be a fiber optic cable, coaxial cable..”, 0024; “the asset tracking software in the automated track mode will continuously poll each power strip sourcing a rack mount enclosure, system or room full of electrically-powered equipment.”, 0037; Fig.1 ( i.e the power strip provides power to the electrical equipment ( located in a rack / system / room) is external to the rack and communicates with the remotely located control device external to the rack/ system via network interface using a network communications protocol. The network interface of the power strip corresponds to the power distribution unit communications module)] and said data network communications protocol allows virtual connectivity to at least one intelligent rack mounted device [ “A communication system including a network interface 37, e.g., an Ethernet interface, is provided with the power strip 50 ..”, 0023; “the message communicated by the controller may comprise a one byte TCP/IP message addressed to one power-strip 50 at a time. The power strip(s) 50 will respond with the electrical data that it has collected (e.g., current and voltage per phase), identification data, and an inventory. The identification data indicates to the controller's polling program the power strip type and location information such as where it is located in a cabinet or enclosure ..”, 0034; ( i.e the power strip including the ethernet interface which is located outside the rack obtains the current/ voltage from the devices in the rack and communicates to the controller . Hence the Ethernet interface of the power strip provides virtual connectivity with the rack mounted device)];
intelligent rack mounted device virtually communicating with said power distribution unit via said power distribution unit communications module using said data network communications protocol [0023;0034; ( i.e the electricaly powered devices of the rack virtually communicate the current/ voltage via the respective pods to the power distribution strip through the ethernet interface.)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pincu with Vassallo. Vassallo’s teaching of a power distribution apparatus to remotely track and locate the equipment assets / inventory will substantially improve Pincus’s system” to locate systems in need of upgrade, repair or relocation, and further can verify that the correct equipment was moved and that it was moved to the correct location” [0038] by identify the devices connected to power strip without any human intervention.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Pincu discloses wherein said power is distributed to said rack mounted equipment comprise a power strip[“..a power strip 50..”, 0057] .
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Pincu discloses a controller, in communication with said power distribution unit via a data network, for receiving information from said power distribution unit regarding said defined conditions[ “.. a PoE managing circuit 470, management module 110 communicating the received priority setting to PoE managing circuit 470 via the respective power manger 320..”, 0078; Fig. 4A; 0076-0077; Table 1].
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Pincu discloses , wherein said controller is further operative for controlling operation of said data network in relation to said defined conditions[0076-0078; 0099; Table 1] .
Claims 3, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pincu et.al. in view of Vassallo as applied to claims 1, 7 further in view of Ewing et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2007/0130243; hereinafter “Ewing”)
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Pincu discloses wherein at least one said intelligent rack mounted device comprises an intelligent plug strip that implements power monitoring and switching functionality[“..a power strip 50 ..”, 0059;0071; Fig.2B; Fig.4A ( i.e each of the PoE managed module comprising a plug strip and supplying power to PoE managed modules and management module via the power supply 100. Therefore, comprising an intelligent plug strip)].
However, Pincu, Vassallo does not expressly disclose an intelligent plug strip that implements power monitoring and switching functionality.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. power management and electrical power distribution to devices through a plurality of power outputs associated with the power management device housing ), Ewing teaches ,
an intelligent plug strip that implements power monitoring and switching functionality [ “ A power manager 708, e.g., like outlet strips 100 and 200 of FIGS. 1, 2A, and 2B, is used to monitor and control the operating power supplied to a plurality of computer-based appliances 714 associated with a network interface controller (NIC) 716.”, 0117; “reverse, voltage, current, and temperature readings collected by the sensor 710 are collected by the remote power manager 724 and encoded by the protocol stack 722 into appropriate data packets 726. Locally, a keyboard 728 can be used to select a variety of readouts on a display 730, and also to control the relay-switch 712.”, 0120; Fig.7 ( i.e. implementing power monitoring and switching functionality via the relays)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pincu in view of Vassallo with Ewing. Ewing’s teaching of a network remote power management outlet strip with several independently controllable power outlet sockets will substantially enhance Pincu in view of Vassallo’s system by providing separate digital displays for each monitored and measured load and infeed current by measuring the respective outlet socket load current and independently control the power supplied to the devices .
Claims 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pincu in view of Vassallo as applied to claims 1, 7 further in view of Nguyen (U.S Patent Application Publication 2009/0031051)
Regarding claims 13, 14, Pincu, Vassallo discloses the limitations outlined in Claims 1, 7.
However, Pincu, Vassallo does not expressly disclose wherein the virtual connectivity occurs via a virtual USB bus.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. A multi-server computing system includes a plurality of server modules mounted in an enclosure and managing each of the server modules by the remote management system using a single communication address) , Nguyen teaches , virtual connectivity occurs via a virtual USB bus [0006; “OA 200 is connected to the system power supplies 212a-212n and to a power meter 213a-213n within each power supply via USB interconnect 202b. This allows OA 200 to observe and control power usage of the entire system 100 and to report this to management system 220. “, 0029; “FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a large installation of rack systems 100(1)-100(n) connected to a single management system 220. As discussed above, IP network may be a wide area network if management system 220 is located remotely from the data center that contains rack systems 100(1)-100(n). In another embodiment, management system 220 is located within the data center that houses rack systems 100(1)-100(n) and is then a local area network. In either embodiment, each OA 200(1)-200(n) need only be assigned one IP address so that set up and configuration of the data center is simplified. Within each rack system 100(1)-100(n), all of the servers and other monitored devices are interconnected via USB 202(1)-202(n) respectively. Each maintenance command sent by management system 220 is routed to the appropriate OA 200(1)-200(n) with the IP address for that particular OA. Once a maintenance request is received at the appropriate rack system, the OA sends the request to the designated server using USB addressing.”, 0031; “ To further simplify maintenance of the datacenter, each OA may be equipped with a wireless USB receiver 400(1)-400(n), respectively..”, 0031; 0040;Fig.3, 4; (i.e providing virtual connectivity via USB interface)] .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pincu in view of Vassallo with Nguyen. Nguyen’s teaching of managing each of the server modules by the remote management system using a single communication address will substantially improve Pincu in view of Vassallo’s system to simplify the set up and configuration of the data center by using USB address of the designated server.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the amended limitations as setforth in the above rejection.
The new claims 13, 14 are rejected as setforth in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mimran et al.,U.S Patent Application Publication 2008/0012423, teaches a USB (universal serial bus) adaptor device having a plurality of USB connector ports attached thereto. More particularly, the USB adaptor device is used in the pre-wiring of any office or home in order to have wall outlets and/or floor outlets available for charging of peripheral electronic devices.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GAYATHRI SAMPATH whose telephone number is (571)272-5489. The examiner can normally be reached on Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/GAYATHRI SAMPATH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2176
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176