DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub No. 2018/0119354 to Brent in view of JP-2011-224915 to Muto.
Brent teaches a method of forming a papermaking fabric comprising forming a web-contacting layer by printing a polymer material such as a combination of thermoset resins such as polyurethane, UV curable polymer and/or photopolymer in a pattern using a method of 3D printing such as selective laser sintering or polyjet and curing such as by UV-curing (Brent, abstract, paragraphs [0033], [0045], [0057]). Brent teaches laminating the web-contacting layer to a woven fabric (Id., paragraph [0036], [0076], [0083], [0088]-[0089]). Brent teaches that the laminating step may include laser welding or adhesive (Id., paragraphs [0078], [0081]). Brent teaches that the bonds may be spaced apart (pattern such as stripes or dots) (Id., paragraphs [0079-[0080]). Brent teaches that the thermosetting polymer forms tiles of various shapes (strips) which may be aligned off axis from the MD and/or CD directions which meets the limitation of spirally winding the strips onto the woven fabric (Id., paragraphs [0041]-[0043], fig. 3, 8-9). Brent teaches that the papermaking fabric is continuous, endless or seamless which necessarily includes seamed belts which results in a seam between the first and second ends of the thermosetting polymer layer, aligned off axis from the MD direction and wherein structures of each end overlap to form the seam (Id., paragraph [0033]).
Brent does not appear to teach that the thermosetting polymer is printed onto a non-stick film prior to curing. However, Muto teaches a transfer sheet for use in forming cured thermosetting and urethane-based resin layers (Muto, paragraph [0017]). Muto teaches that the transfer sheet is preferably a biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film (Id., paragraph [0015]). Muto teaches that such a film has solvent resistance and stable releasability (Id.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the method of forming a papermaking fabric of Brent and to utilize a biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film as a transfer sheet when forming and curing the thermosetting polymer layer, motivated by the desire to form a conventional multilayer papermaking fabric utilizing a transfer sheet having solvent resistance and stable releasability allowing for better performance, reusability and cost savings.
Regarding the amount of photopolymer included, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to adjust, vary and optimize the range, such as a 50/50 blend of the two components, motivated by the desire to form a conventional papermaking fabric based on the totality of the teachings of the prior art combination.
Regarding the bond length, it should be noted that the length of the bond is a result effective variable. As bond length increases, the material exhibits improved bonding strength at the expense of weight, cost, bulk and rigidity. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the bond length since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the present invention one would have been motivated to optimize the bond length in order to both maximize bond strength and flexibility while minimizing cost, bulk and weight.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent in view of Muto as applied to claims 1-12 above, in view of US Pub No. 2008/0230198 to Spence.
Regarding Claim 13
The prior art combination does not appear to teach the use of lock and key structures in forming the seam of the papermaking fabric. However, Spence teaches an industrial papermaking belt providing a fully interlocking lock and key structured seam which minimizes any potential mechanical or hydraulic sheet marking (Spence, abstract, fig. 1-10). Spence teaches that the interlocking seam provides an easier and less time-consuming installation (Id., paragraph [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the papermaking belt of the prior art combination and to utilize a seam comprising lock and key elements as taught by Spence, motivated by the desire to form a conventional papermaking belt having reduced sheet marking while providing easier and more cost-effective installation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments including the Affidavit of August 18, 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT TATESURE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786