DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, there is no support for a downwardly projecting lip, lip is downwardly projecting when the packaging apparatus is fully assembled and thus it constitutes new matter. It is noted that the original disclosure discloses a lip but does not describe the direction of the lip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, due to the lack of written description of a downwardly projecting lip, it is unclear what a downwardly projecting lip projects from. It is not clear where the starting reference of the lip is such that it projects downward. It is further unclear what the packaging apparatus fully assembled is since applicant does not define what this state of being fully assembled. In addition, it is unclear if the at least one protrusion forming a leg is part of the mould forming the top and bottom or whether the top and bottom comprises the at least one protrusion as recited. In particular, it is unclear whether this protrusion is part of the intermediate product of the mould or whether this protrusion is part of the final product of the top and bottom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2011/0174657 to Barnett.
Regarding claim 1, Barnett discloses a packaging apparatus (Fig 1) comprising a top (20) configured for receipt of a payload therein and including a downwardly projecting lip (A, Fig 3 below) around a perimeter of top, wherein the lip is downwardly projecting when the packaging apparatus is fully assembled (Fig 1), a bottom (15) configured for receipt of the payload therein and formed as counterpart to top, a locking mechanism (19a, 19b) to lock the top (20) to the bottom (15), wherein the top (20) and bottom (15) can be formed from the same mould including at least one protrusion (25) forming a leg externally of the packaging apparatus (Fig 1) and simultaneously a void for storage internally of the packaging apparatus (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Barnett further discloses bottom (15) nestable within the top (20) since it has the structure as recited (€0016).
Regarding claim 3, Barnett further discloses wherein lip (A, Fig 3 above) is disposed around the perimeter of a lower edge of the top (20), facing the bottom (15) when packaging apparatus is fully assembled (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Barnett further discloses lip (A, Fig 3 above) covers the top (20) and the bottom (15) meet (Fig 1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Barnett further discloses the apparatus capable of functioning with the payload as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 12, Barnett further discloses bottom (15) is provided with a ledge (A, Fig 4 below) disposed on upper edge of the bottom (15) which contacts the top (20) at junction between top and bottom (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 13, Barnett further discloses top (20) and bottom (15) are formed with at least one compartment for placement of a payload (each of interior of Figs 2 and 3 define a compartment).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett in view of US 2009/0065514 to Vovan.
Regarding claim 5, Barnett teaches the apparatus of claim 4 but does not teach lip make the apparatus waterproof and/or airtight by sealing the junction between top and bottom. However, Vovan discloses a packaging apparatus (Fig 1) and in particular discloses lip (30) with sealing material (42) to make waterproof/airtight by sealing top and bottom. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate sealing material to Barnett lip as suggested by Vovan in order to seal the container.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that support for the downwardly projecting lip is described in fig 1 and paragraph 0047. Applicant asserts that the written description describes the lip of the top preserved during final assembly. However, the lip being preserved does not equate to the lip projecting downwardly from top to bottom when the apparatus is fully assembled.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, Barnett discloses top and bottom having at least one protrusion that forms a leg externally and a void internally that can be used for storage.
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735