DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13, 15-18 and 20-24 are presented for examination.
The claims and only the claims form the metes and bounds of the invention. “Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969)” (MPEP p 2100-8, c 2, I 45-48; p 2100-9, c 1, l 1-4). The Examiner has full latitude to interpret each claim in the broadest reasonable sense. The Examiner will reference prior art using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. However, the Examiner welcomes any suggestion(s) Applicants may have on moving prosecution forward. The Examiner’s contact information is in the Conclusion of this office action.
Applicant argues:
While Tse does disclose both local and cloud-based conversion pathways, it does not
disclose or suggest concurrent, feature-based partitioning and simultaneous routing of the document to both a local conversion engine and a cloud-based converter as recited in the claims.
…
This architecture enables parallel processing for speed and efficiency, not sequential
decision-making as in Tse. Thus, Applicant's claim recites a technological improvement in document conversion throughput and fidelity not taught or suggested by Tse.
In response, the Examiner submits:
The instant claims do not appear to recite limitation(s) that require the specific feature of “concurrent, feature-based partitioning and simultaneous routing of the document to both a local conversion engine and a cloud-based converter”.
Even though an architecture that enables “parallel processing” may improve speed and efficiency in document conversation, the instant claims do not appear to recite limitation(s) that require such parallel processing.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues:
Tse's decision making is binary, and depending on need, only one category of converter is selected. There is no provision to deconstruct the document, split it, and send one split version to one converter, and another to another. Clearly, as shown
above, Tse is inapposite and teaches away from Applicant's claim 1.
In response, the Examiner submits:
Tse does disclose the limitations of based on the analysis, de-construct the analyzed document or file in the first format (Tse: at least ¶0034; “in analyzing the document 107, the logic on or processing modules implemented in the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107” and “more particularly, the analyzing logic or modules can examine the document 107 to determine the features of the document, such as those discussed herein. In embodiments, a content parser module, application, or algorithm can identify the features of the document 107”; note: de-construct performed by parser) into: a first block comprising the identified locally convertible features to a second format and a second block comprising the identified locally non-convertible features to a second format (Tse: at least ¶0007 further discloses “the processor is configured to perform actions comprising comparing the content level to the intended quality level, and determining, based on the comparison, where to convert the document into the printable format”; ¶0027 further discloses “executable code configured to determine whether to convert the document 107 locally”; ¶0049 further discloses “the lookup table can specify either a local or cloud-based conversion based on the content level and the intended quality level” and “if the conversion decision complies with the security policy (440, Yes), then the processing module can initiate a local conversion of the document into a printable format”; ¶0029 further discloses “features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others” and “… other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; ¶¶0030 & 0031 also disclose “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107” and “cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents”; ¶0042 further discloses “if an application on the mobile device 105 determines that the document 107 should be converted locally, and specifically on the print engine 110, then the mobile device 105 can be configured to transmit the document 107 to the print engine 110 for conversion on the print engine 110. Further, for example, if an application on the print engine 110 determines that the document 107 should be converted in the cloud-based network 115 (for example, after the print engine 110 receives the document 107 from the mobile device 105), then the print engine 110 can be configured to transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115 for conversion in the cloud-based network 115”; note: according to ¶0017 of Applicant’s specification, “High level structural blocks in an embodiment includes headers, footers, text blocks, images, clip-art, etc.” where comments can be text blocks; Tse’s feature(s) can be block(s));
via a local conversion engine: convert the first block of the de-constructed document or file in the first format to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either "level one" or "level two," as discussed herein. As a result, the output files from these converter(s) can sometimes not reflect the rendering intent of the document 107” and “local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document”);
via a network interface: route the second block of the de-constructed document or file in the first format, to a cloud-based converter for conversion to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “if the conversion decision application determines that the document 107 is to be converted in the cloud-based network 115, then the processing module 112 can transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115”; where ¶0003 explains that “however, local conversion drivers lack the processing power necessary to handle and/or accurately convert all of the features of the document”; ¶0031 and ¶0050 also explain “for example, a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document” and “in contrast, if the security policy overrides the conversion decision (450, No), then the processing module can initiate a conversion, in a cloud-based network, of the document into a printable format”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115”; ¶0039 also gives an example of “if the intended quality level is "Presentation" and the document content level is "Level B," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place in the cloud-based network 115”).
The limitations of “deconstruct the document, split it, and send one split version to one converter, and another to another” is not recited in the instant claims. In particular, there is no recitation of “split” or “split version” in the instant claims.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues:
Horikawa' s "Unbundling" relates to format interconversion for procedure data as
Horikawa teaches reversing a format conversion using stored management information (Col. 9, Lines 8-14 ), specifically in the context of procedural document management. The "unbundling" operation in Horikawa pertains to retrieving and re-separating previously merged text data during inverse conversion.
In contrast, the present claims recite unbundling as part of a post-conversion handling
of reconstructed documents, not tied to any format-inversion or procedural document model. Furthermore, Horikawa' s system does not teach or suggest merging feature-specific conversion outputs and then unbundling them for display or print formatting, as required by the claims.
In response, the Examiner submits:
Contrary to Applicant’s allegation above, Horikawa does disclose unbundle the re-constructed document or file in the second format (Horikawa: at least Col. 9 Lines 8-14; “when the procedure generation processing portion 4 inversely converts the internal format of a document stored in the procedure document storage file 7 into an external format by using the management information stored in the procedure management information file 6, text data merged by a procedure can be separated into several parts or a plurality of parts of text data stored and merged”).
The instant claims fail to recite limitation(s) that require “unbundling” that is a part of “a post-conversion handling of reconstructed documents, not tied to any format-inversion or procedural document model”.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 15-18 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended Claims 1, 7, 13 and 18 recite “re-construct the de-constructed document or file in the second format, which re-construct comprises merging the first block converted to the second format by the local conversion engine with the second block received from the cloud-based converter in the second format”.
While Applicant’s original specification teaches merging of features (see at least ¶0016, 0024 of Applicant’s original specification: “these received features are then merged with the features converted to the second desired format by the converter within the computer-automated system” and “for merging the features received over the network in the desired second format with the features converted to the second desired format”), it does not appear to teach or implicitly teach the claimed feature of “re-construct the de-constructed document or file in the second format, which re-construct comprises merging the first block converted to the second format by the local conversion engine with the second block received from the cloud-based converter in the second format”.
Claims 2-6, 8-12, 15-17 and 20-24 depend from Claims 1, 7, 13 and 18, and are rejected for the same reason(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Amended Claims 4-6, 10-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended Claims 4 and 10 recite “determine a single or plurality of format features comprised in the document or file”, “determine the single or plurality of format features locally convertible to the second format” and “determine the single or plurality of format features locally non-convertible to the second format”.
It is not clear how the same “single or plurality of format features” can be both locally convertible to the second format and locally non-convertible to the second format.
Claims 5-6 and 11-12 depend from Claims 4 and 10, and are rejected for the same reason(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the wireless communication device is configured to: route the second block to the cloud-based converter for conversion the second format”. “For conversion the second format” is incomprehensible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-13, 15-18 and 20-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2013/0111335 by Tse et al. (“Tse”) in view of US Patent 7,724,249 by Horikawa et al. (“Horikawa”).
As to Claim 1, Tse teaches a computer-automated system comprising a processing unit (Tse: at least ¶0007; “the system comprises a processor”; ¶0026 also discloses “a processor 130”); a memory element coupled to the processing unit (Tse: at least ¶0026; “a memory 140, such as electronic random access memory, or other forms of transitory or non-transitory computer readable storage mediums”)
a means for communicating over a wired or wireless network (Tse: at least ¶0027; “a wireless communication module 135, such as a wired or wireless data connection, which in turn communicates with a network 155, such as GSM, CDMA, and/or the like, as well as the Internet or other public or private networks”); and
wherein the computer-automated system is configured to: via an assessment engine, analyze a document or file in a first format to identify locally convertible and locally non-convertible features of the document or file (Tse: at least ¶0032; “processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107, as well as an intended quality level, to determine whether the document 107 should be converted locally or remotely”; ¶0003 explains that “however, local conversion drivers lack the processing power necessary to handle and/or accurately convert all of the features of the document”);
based on the analysis, de-construct the analyzed document or file in the first format (Tse: at least ¶0034; “in analyzing the document 107, the logic on or processing modules implemented in the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107” and “more particularly, the analyzing logic or modules can examine the document 107 to determine the features of the document, such as those discussed herein. In embodiments, a content parser module, application, or algorithm can identify the features of the document 107”; note: de-construct performed by parser) into: a first block comprising the identified locally convertible features to a second format and a second block comprising the identified locally non-convertible features to a second format (Tse: at least ¶0007 further discloses “the processor is configured to perform actions comprising comparing the content level to the intended quality level, and determining, based on the comparison, where to convert the document into the printable format”; ¶0027 further discloses “executable code configured to determine whether to convert the document 107 locally”; ¶0049 further discloses “the lookup table can specify either a local or cloud-based conversion based on the content level and the intended quality level” and “if the conversion decision complies with the security policy (440, Yes), then the processing module can initiate a local conversion of the document into a printable format”; ¶0029 further discloses “features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others” and “… other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; ¶¶0030 & 0031 also disclose “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107” and “cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents”; ¶0042 further discloses “if an application on the mobile device 105 determines that the document 107 should be converted locally, and specifically on the print engine 110, then the mobile device 105 can be configured to transmit the document 107 to the print engine 110 for conversion on the print engine 110. Further, for example, if an application on the print engine 110 determines that the document 107 should be converted in the cloud-based network 115 (for example, after the print engine 110 receives the document 107 from the mobile device 105), then the print engine 110 can be configured to transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115 for conversion in the cloud-based network 115”; note: according to ¶0017 of Applicant’s specification, “High level structural blocks in an embodiment includes headers, footers, text blocks, images, clip-art, etc.” where comments can be text blocks; Tse’s feature(s) can be block(s));
via a local conversion engine: convert the first block of the de-constructed document or file in the first format to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either "level one" or "level two," as discussed herein. As a result, the output files from these converter(s) can sometimes not reflect the rendering intent of the document 107” and “local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document”);
via a network interface: route the second block of the de-constructed document or file in the first format, to a cloud-based converter for conversion to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “if the conversion decision application determines that the document 107 is to be converted in the cloud-based network 115, then the processing module 112 can transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115”; where ¶0003 explains that “however, local conversion drivers lack the processing power necessary to handle and/or accurately convert all of the features of the document”; ¶0031 and ¶0050 also explain “for example, a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document” and “in contrast, if the security policy overrides the conversion decision (450, No), then the processing module can initiate a conversion, in a cloud-based network, of the document into a printable format”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115”; ¶0039 also gives an example of “if the intended quality level is "Presentation" and the document content level is "Level B," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place in the cloud-based network 115”);
wherein the computer-automated system is further configured to: receive, from the cloud based converter, the second block of the de-constructed document or file, in the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “the cloud-based network 115 can convert the document 107 into an appropriate printable format, and transmit a converted document 310 to the print engine 110”; ¶0031 also discloses “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”);
--re-construct the de-constructed document or file in the second format, which re-construct comprises merging the first block converted to the second format by the local conversion engine with the second block received from the cloud based converter in the second format (Tse: at least ¶0029; “another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others” and “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; ¶0042 further discloses “if an application on the mobile device 105 determines that the document 107 should be converted locally, and specifically on the print engine 110, then the mobile device 105 can be configured to transmit the document 107 to the print engine 110 for conversion on the print engine 110. Further, for example, if an application on the print engine 110 determines that the document 107 should be converted in the cloud-based network 115 (for example, after the print engine 110 receives the document 107 from the mobile device 105), then the print engine 110 can be configured to transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115 for conversion in the cloud-based network 115”; note: level three is the result of merging level one format features and level two format features; converted document would comprise merged features; claim does not specify first block is not received from cloud converter; claim no longer requires re-construct of merged first block and second block; re-construct is a process comprising merging);
decode a file-level metadata associated with the document or file in the second format (Tse: at least ¶0048; “perform a content parsing algorithm on the document to determine a content level of the document” and “the content level can be assigned based on a defined feature support characteristics map, or based on other metrics”; ¶0029 discloses “features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others” and “other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; note: content level as metadata); and
display or print the re-constructed document or file in the second format based on the decoded file level metadata (Tse: at least ¶0029; “another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others” and “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: level three is the result of merging level one format features and level two format features; converted document would comprise merged features; result of merging printed or displayed).
Tse does not explicitly disclose, but Horikawa discloses unbundle the re-constructed document or file in the second format (Horikawa: at least Col. 9 Lines 8-14; “when the procedure generation processing portion 4 inversely converts the internal format of a document stored in the procedure document storage file 7 into an external format by using the management information stored in the procedure management information file 6, text data merged by a procedure can be separated into several parts or a plurality of parts of text data stored and merged”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the teachings of Tse and Horikawa before them at the time the present invention was made to incorporate Horikawa’s feature of unbundle the re-constructed document or file in the second format (Horikawa: at least Col. 9 Lines 8-14) with the system disclosed by Tse.
The suggestion/motivation would have been to perform “… converting text data in various formats created by another device” and “merging the resultant data using procedures to store, manage, edit, check, and transmit them” (Horikawa: at least Col. 2 Lines 8-11).
Claim 7 (a method claim) corresponds in scope to Claim 1, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 13 (a device claim) corresponds in scope to Claim 1, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 18 (a method claim) corresponds in scope to Claim 1, and is similarly rejected.
As to Claim 2, Tse and Horikawa teach the system of claim 1 wherein the computer-automated system is a wireless communication device (Tse: at least ¶¶0024-0025; “a mobile device 105”; ¶0017 explains that “a "mobile device" can refer to any type of device or resource configured for mobile or remote usage or operation such as, for example, a cellular phone, smart phone … ”), and the assessment engine and the local conversion engine are configured to analyze (Tse: at least ¶0032; “processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107, as well as an intended quality level, to determine whether the document 107 should be converted locally or remotely”), convert, and process the document or file locally (Tse: at least ¶0030; “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either "level one" or "level two," as discussed herein. As a result, the output files from these converter(s) can sometimes not reflect the rendering intent of the document 107” and “local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document”).
As to Claim 3, Tse and Horikawa teach the system of claim 1 wherein the computer-automated system is a mobile phone (Tse: at least ¶¶0024-0025; “a mobile device 105”; ¶0017 explains that “a "mobile device" can refer to any type of device or resource configured for mobile or remote usage or operation such as, for example, a cellular phone, smart phone …”), and the mobile phone comprises the assessment engine, the local conversion engine, and the network interface (Tse: at least ¶¶0027, 0030, 0032; “wireless communication module 135, such as a wired or wireless data connection” and “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112” and “processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document”), configured to analyze (Tse: at least ¶0032; “processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107, as well as an intended quality level, to determine whether the document 107 should be converted locally or remotely”), convert (Tse: at least ¶0030; “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either "level one" or "level two," as discussed herein. As a result, the output files from these converter(s) can sometimes not reflect the rendering intent of the document 107” and “local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document”), and route document blocks for local and cloud-based processing (Tse: at least ¶0030; “decision of whether to convert the document 107 locally (e.g., a conversion on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, or the processing module 112) or remotely (e.g., in the cloud-based network 115)”).
As to Claim 4, Tse and Horikawa teach the computer automated system of claim 1 wherein the assessment engine of computer automated system is further configured to:
determine a single or plurality of format features comprised in the document or file (Tse: at least ¶0034; “the analyzing logic or modules can examine the document 107 to determine the features of the document, such as those discussed herein. In embodiments, a content parser module, application, or algorithm can identify the features of the document 107” and “the analyzing logic or modules can assign a content level to the document 107 based on the features of the document 107”; ¶0035 further discloses “For example, the possible content levels can be "Level A," "Level B," and "Level C." More particularly, the "Level A" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level one" converter level; the "Level B" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level two" converter level; and the "Level C" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level three" converter level”);
determine the single or plurality of format features locally convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”); and
determine the single or plurality of format features locally non-convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”); and
de-construct the document or file into the first block comprising the determined single or plurality of format features locally convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”), and the second block comprising the determined features locally non-convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”).
As to Claim 5, Tse and Horikawa teach the computer-automated system of claim 4 wherein the computer-automated system is further configured to: route the first block to the local conversion engine comprised in the computer-automated system (Tse: at least ¶0019; “the logic can compare the content level of the document to the intended quality level specified by the user to determine whether the document should be converted locally (e.g., on the mobile device, print engine, or another local resource) or in a cloud-based network” where ¶0035 explains “the content levels of the document 107 can be any type of level or characterization associated with the complexity of the features or content of the document 107. For example, the possible content levels can be "Level A," "Level B," and "Level C." More particularly, the "Level A" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level one" converter level; the "Level B" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level two" converter level”; note: converting locally means routing or sending to a converter comprised in the computer-automated system - ¶0029 discloses “the converters on or in the mobile device 105” that reads on “a converter comprised in the computer-automated system”); and
convert the routed first block to the second format using the local conversion engine (Tse: at least ¶0027; “processor 130 can also communicate with a converter 144 that can be configured to convert documents into printable formats, or other formats, as discussed herein”; ¶0030 further discloses “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; ¶0039 also discloses “for example, as shown in FIG. 2, if the intended quality level is "Functional" and the document content level is "Level A," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place locally (e.g., on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, or the processing module 112)”; note: routed or sent to local converter).
As to Claim 6, Tse and Horikawa teach the computer-automated system of claim 4 wherein the computer automated system is further configured to: route the second block to the cloud-based converter for conversion to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “if the conversion decision application determines that the document 107 is to be converted in the cloud-based network 115, then the processing module 112 can transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115”; where ¶0030 explains that “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶0031 and ¶0050 also explain “for example, a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document” and “in contrast, if the security policy overrides the conversion decision (450, No), then the processing module can initiate a conversion, in a cloud-based network, of the document into a printable format”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115”; ¶0039 also gives an example of “if the intended quality level is "Presentation" and the document content level is "Level B," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place in the cloud-based network 115”);
receive, from the cloud-based converter, the second block, converted to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “the cloud-based network 115 can convert the document 107 into an appropriate printable format, and transmit a converted document 310 to the print engine 110”; ¶0031 also discloses “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: converted document from cloud-based converter would contain the routed features; note: features are received along with document(s));
merge the received second block converted to the second format by the cloud-based converter, with the first block converted to the second format by the local conversion engine (Tse: at least ¶0029; “another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others” and “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: level three is the result of merging level one format features and level two format features; converted document would comprise merged features); and
display or print the re-constructed document or file, in the second format (Tse: at least ¶0043; “once the document 107 has been converted to a printable format by the appropriate entity of the environment 100, then that entity can be configured to transmit or otherwise provide the converted document to the print engine 110 for printing”).
As to Claim 8, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 7 wherein the computer-automated system is a wireless communication device (Tse: at least ¶¶0024-0025; “a mobile device 105”; ¶0017 explains that “a "mobile device" can refer to any type of device or resource configured for mobile or remote usage or operation such as, for example, a cellular phone, smart phone … ”), and the assessment engine and the local conversion engine, are configured to analyze (Tse: at least ¶0032; “processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107, as well as an intended quality level, to determine whether the document 107 should be converted locally or remotely”), convert, and process the document or file locally (Tse: at least ¶0030; “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either "level one" or "level two," as discussed herein. As a result, the output files from these converter(s) can sometimes not reflect the rendering intent of the document 107” and “local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document”).
As to Claim 9, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 7 wherein the computer-automated system is a mobile phone (Tse: at least ¶¶0024-0025; “a mobile device 105”; ¶0017 explains that “a "mobile device" can refer to any type of device or resource configured for mobile or remote usage or operation such as, for example, a cellular phone, smart phone … …”), and the mobile phone comprises the assessment engine, the local conversion engine, and the network interface (Tse: at least ¶¶0027, 0030, 0032; “wireless communication module 135, such as a wired or wireless data connection” and “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112” and “processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document”), configured to analyze (Tse: at least ¶0032; “processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107, as well as an intended quality level, to determine whether the document 107 should be converted locally or remotely”), convert (Tse: at least ¶0030; “converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either "level one" or "level two," as discussed herein. As a result, the output files from these converter(s) can sometimes not reflect the rendering intent of the document 107” and “local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document”), and route document blocks for local and cloud-based processing (Tse: at least ¶0030; “decision of whether to convert the document 107 locally (e.g., a conversion on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, or the processing module 112) or remotely (e.g., in the cloud-based network 115)”).
As to Claim 10, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 7 further comprising: reading the document (Tse: at least ¶0022; “user can use the mobile device 105 to access one or more documents 107 stored on or otherwise available on the mobile device 105. For example, the user can download or open a word-processed document attached to an email”; ¶0034 further discloses “in analyzing the document 107, the logic on or processing modules implemented in the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107” and “more particularly, the analyzing logic or modules can examine the document 107 to determine the features of the document, such as those discussed herein. In embodiments, a content parser module, application, or algorithm can identify the features of the document 107”; note: accessing or opening a file or document as reading a file or document) or file in the first format by the assessment engine;
determining, by the assessment engine, a single or plurality of format features comprised in the document or file (Tse: at least ¶0034; “the analyzing logic or modules can examine the document 107 to determine the features of the document, such as those discussed herein. In embodiments, a content parser module, application, or algorithm can identify the features of the document 107” and “the analyzing logic or modules can assign a content level to the document 107 based on the features of the document 107”; ¶0035 further discloses “For example, the possible content levels can be "Level A," "Level B," and "Level C." More particularly, the "Level A" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level one" converter level; the "Level B" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level two" converter level; and the "Level C" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level three" converter level”);
determining the single or plurality of format features locally convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”); and
determining the single or plurality of format features locally non-convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”);
de-constructing the document or file into the first block comprising the determined single or plurality of format features locally convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”), and the second block comprising the determined features locally non-convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”).
As to Claim 11, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 10 further comprising: routing the first block to a local conversion engine comprised in the computer-automated system (Tse: at least ¶0019; “the logic can compare the content level of the document to the intended quality level specified by the user to determine whether the document should be converted locally (e.g., on the mobile device, print engine, or another local resource) or in a cloud-based network” where ¶0035 explains “the content levels of the document 107 can be any type of level or characterization associated with the complexity of the features or content of the document 107. For example, the possible content levels can be "Level A," "Level B," and "Level C." More particularly, the "Level A" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level one" converter level; the "Level B" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level two" converter level”; note: converting locally means routing or sending to a converter comprised in the computer-automated system - ¶0029 discloses “the converters on or in the mobile device 105” that reads on “a converter comprised in the computer-automated system”); and
converting the routed first block to the second format using the local conversion engine (Tse: at least ¶0027; “processor 130 can also communicate with a converter 144 that can be configured to convert documents into printable formats, or other formats, as discussed herein”; ¶0030 further discloses “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; ¶0039 also discloses “for example, as shown in FIG. 2, if the intended quality level is "Functional" and the document content level is "Level A," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place locally (e.g., on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, or the processing module 112)”; note: routed or sent to local converter).
As to Claim 12, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 11 further comprising: routing the second block to the cloud-based converter for conversion to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “if the conversion decision application determines that the document 107 is to be converted in the cloud-based network 115, then the processing module 112 can transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115”; where ¶0030 explains that “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶0031 and ¶0050 also explain “for example, a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document” and “in contrast, if the security policy overrides the conversion decision (450, No), then the processing module can initiate a conversion, in a cloud-based network, of the document into a printable format”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115”; ¶0039 also gives an example of “if the intended quality level is "Presentation" and the document content level is "Level B," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place in the cloud-based network 115”);
receiving from the cloud-based converter, the second block, converted to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “the cloud-based network 115 can convert the document 107 into an appropriate printable format, and transmit a converted document 310 to the print engine 110”; ¶0031 also discloses “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: converted document from cloud-based converter would contain the routed features; note: features are received along with document(s));
merging the received second block converted to the second format by the cloud-based converter, with the first block converted to the second format by the local conversion engine (Tse: at least ¶0029; “another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others” and “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: level three is the result of merging level one format features and level two format features; converted document would comprise merged features); and
displaying or printing the re-constructed document or file in the second format (Tse: at least ¶0043; “once the document 107 has been converted to a printable format by the appropriate entity of the environment 100, then that entity can be configured to transmit or otherwise provide the converted document to the print engine 110 for printing”; note: printed features are displayed).
As to Claim 15, Tse and Horikawa the wireless communication device of claim 13 wherein the wireless communication device is further configured to: determine by the assessment engine, a single or plurality of format features comprised in the document or file (Tse: at least ¶0034; “the analyzing logic or modules can examine the document 107 to determine the features of the document, such as those discussed herein. In embodiments, a content parser module, application, or algorithm can identify the features of the document 107” and “the analyzing logic or modules can assign a content level to the document 107 based on the features of the document 107”; ¶0035 further discloses “For example, the possible content levels can be "Level A," "Level B," and "Level C." More particularly, the "Level A" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level one" converter level; the "Level B" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level two" converter level; and the "Level C" content level can correspond to a document that has features from the "level three" converter level”);
determine if any of the single or plurality of format features are locally convertible to the second format by the local conversion engine (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”); and
determine if any of the single or plurality of format features are locally non-convertible to the second format by the local conversion engine (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”); and
de-construct the document or file into the first block comprising the determined single or plurality of format features locally convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”), and the second block comprising the determined features locally non-convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”), wherein the second block is routed to the cloud-based converter for conversion (Tse: at least ¶0046; “if the conversion decision application determines that the document 107 is to be converted in the cloud-based network 115, then the processing module 112 can transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115”; where ¶0003 explains that “however, local conversion drivers lack the processing power necessary to handle and/or accurately convert all of the features of the document”; ¶0031 and ¶0050 also explain “for example, a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document” and “in contrast, if the security policy overrides the conversion decision (450, No), then the processing module can initiate a conversion, in a cloud-based network, of the document into a printable format”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115”; ¶0039 also gives an example of “if the intended quality level is "Presentation" and the document content level is "Level B," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place in the cloud-based network 115”).
As to Claim 16, Tse and Horikawa teach the wireless communication device of claim 15 wherein the wireless communication device is configured to: convert, by the local conversion engine, the first block to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0027; “processor 130 can also communicate with a converter 144 that can be configured to convert documents into printable formats, or other formats, as discussed herein”; ¶0030 further discloses “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; ¶0039 also discloses “for example, as shown in FIG. 2, if the intended quality level is "Functional" and the document content level is "Level A," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place locally (e.g., on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, or the processing module 112)”; note: local conversion means wireless conversion performed by communication device).
As to Claim 17, Tse and Horikawa teach the wireless communication device of claim 15 wherein the wireless communication device is configured to: route the second block to the cloud-based converter for conversion the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “if the conversion decision application determines that the document 107 is to be converted in the cloud-based network 115, then the processing module 112 can transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115”; where ¶0030 explains that “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶0031 and ¶0050 also explain “for example, a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document” and “in contrast, if the security policy overrides the conversion decision (450, No), then the processing module can initiate a conversion, in a cloud-based network, of the document into a printable format”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115”; ¶0039 also gives an example of “if the intended quality level is "Presentation" and the document content level is "Level B," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place in the cloud-based network 115”);
receive, over the network, from the cloud-based converter, the second block, converted to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “the cloud-based network 115 can convert the document 107 into an appropriate printable format, and transmit a converted document 310 to the print engine 110”; ¶0031 also discloses “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: converted document from cloud-based converter would contain the routed features; note: features are received along with document(s));
merge the received second block converted to the second format by the cloud-based converted, with the first block converted to the second format by the wireless communication device (Tse: at least ¶0029; “another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others” and “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: level three is the result of merging level one format features and level two format features; converted document would comprise merged features); and
display or print the re-constructed document or file, in the second format (Tse: at least ¶0043; “once the document 107 has been converted to a printable format by the appropriate entity of the environment 100, then that entity can be configured to transmit or otherwise provide the converted document to the print engine 110 for printing”; note: printed features are displayed).
As to Claim 20, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 18 further comprising: reading, by the assessment engine, the document (Tse: at least ¶0022; “user can use the mobile device 105 to access one or more documents 107 stored on or otherwise available on the mobile device 105. For example, the user can download or open a word-processed document attached to an email”; ¶0034 further discloses “in analyzing the document 107, the logic on or processing modules implemented in the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be configured to analyze the document 107” and “more particularly, the analyzing logic or modules can examine the document 107 to determine the features of the document, such as those discussed herein. In embodiments, a content parser module, application, or algorithm can identify the features of the document 107”; note: accessing or opening a file or document as reading a file or document) or file in the first format;
determining, by the assessment engine, if any of the single or plurality of format features are locally convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”);
determining if any of the single or plurality of format features are locally non-convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”); and
de-constructing the document or file into the first block comprising the determined single or plurality of format features locally convertible to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”), and the second block comprising the determined features locally non-convertible to the second format for routing to a cloud-based converter (Tse: at least ¶0030; “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶¶0030-0031 further disclose “a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document. Therefore, the rendered version of the file may prove unsuitable” and “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein” where ¶0029 explains that “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; note: features not present (lack) in the output by local converter(s) are non-convertible – examples include “comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”).
As to Claim 21, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 20 further comprising: converting, by the local conversion engine, the first block to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0027; “processor 130 can also communicate with a converter 144 that can be configured to convert documents into printable formats, or other formats, as discussed herein”; ¶0030 further discloses “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some … of the features or contents of the document 107” and “… converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can be those classified as either “level one" or “level two” where ¶0029 explains that “one level of converter ("level one") can support features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others. Further, another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; ¶0039 also discloses “for example, as shown in FIG. 2, if the intended quality level is "Functional" and the document content level is "Level A," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place locally (e.g., on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, or the processing module 112)”).
As to Claim 22, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 20 further comprising: routing the second block to the cloud-based converter (Tse: at least ¶0046; “if the conversion decision application determines that the document 107 is to be converted in the cloud-based network 115, then the processing module 112 can transmit the document 107 to the cloud-based network 115”; where ¶0030 explains that “the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112 can accurately or properly convert some, but not all, of the features or contents of the document 107”; ¶0031 and ¶0050 also explain “for example, a Powerpoint.RTM. presentation file or an Excel.RTM. spreadsheet in a printable format, when output by a local converter (e.g. the converter(s) on the mobile device 105, the print engine 110, and/or the processing module 112) can lack some of the features or the original, underlying document” and “in contrast, if the security policy overrides the conversion decision (450, No), then the processing module can initiate a conversion, in a cloud-based network, of the document into a printable format”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115”; ¶0039 also gives an example of “if the intended quality level is "Presentation" and the document content level is "Level B," then the conversion table 200 indicates that the conversion should take place in the cloud-based network 115”);
receiving, from the cloud-based converter, the second block, converted to the second format (Tse: at least ¶0046; “the cloud-based network 115 can convert the document 107 into an appropriate printable format, and transmit a converted document 310 to the print engine 110”; ¶0031 also discloses “in contrast, the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: converted document from cloud-based converter would contain the routed features; note: features are received along with document(s));
merging the received second block converted by the cloud-based converter, in the second format with the first block converted to the second format by the local conversion engine (Tse: at least ¶0029; “another level of converter ("level two") can support the features of the level one converter, plus other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others” and “an additional level of converter ("level three") can support the features of both the level one and level two converters, plus other features such as, for example, comments, track changes, add-ins/plug-ins, and/or other”; ¶0031 further discloses “converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be configured to convert most or all of the features or contents of the document 107 (e.g., the converter in the cloud-based network 115 can be that classified as "level three," as discussed herein)”; note: level three is the result of merging level one format features and level two format features; converted document would comprise merged features); and
displaying or printing the re-constructed document or file in the second format (Tse: at least ¶0043; “once the document 107 has been converted to a printable format by the appropriate entity of the environment 100, then that entity can be configured to transmit or otherwise provide the converted document to the print engine 110 for printing”; note: printed documents or files are displayed).
As to Claim 23, Tse and Horikawa teach the computer-automated system of claim 1, wherein the computer-automated system is further configured to:
locate, within the document or file, a component that comprises the file level metadata (Tse: at least ¶0019; “analyze the document to determine a content level of the document”; note: content level as metadata); and
decode the file-level metadata, wherein decoding comprises decomposing the document or file into blocks of a page, or pages of the document or file (Tse: at least ¶0048; “perform a content parsing algorithm on the document to determine a content level of the document” and “the content level can be assigned based on a defined feature support characteristics map, or based on other metrics”; ¶0029 discloses “features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others” and “other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; note: parsing includes decomposing document into parts; “pictures, background, word art” can be blocks of a page).
As to Claim 24, Tse and Horikawa teach the method of claim 7, further comprising: locating, within the document or file, a component that comprises the file-level metadata (Tse: at least ¶0019; “analyze the document to determine a content level of the document”; note: content level as metadata); and
decoding the file level metadata, wherein decoding comprises decomposing the document into blocks of a page and pages of the document (Tse: at least ¶0048; “perform a content parsing algorithm on the document to determine a content level of the document” and “the content level can be assigned based on a defined feature support characteristics map, or based on other metrics”; ¶0029 dislcoses “features such as, for example, breaks, fonts, bullets and numbering, page setup, Powerpoint.RTM. alignment, fields and columns, paragraph formats, and/or others” and “other features such as, for example, XLS print, XLS charts, pictures, background, word art, and/or others”; note: parsing includes decomposing document into parts; “pictures, background, word art” can be blocks of a page).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Huen Wong whose telephone number is (571) 270-3426. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday (10:30AM EST - 6:30PM EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Charles Rones can be reached on (571) 272-8065. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300 for regular communications and after final communications.
/H .W./
Examiner, AU 2168
29 October 2025
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168