DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/10/2025 has been entered and accepted. The amendment with regard to the 112 rejection has been accepted and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that ‘Blackmore does not disclose or suggest at least the features of "a two- segmented detector configured to detect a state of the powder bed before melting is performed based on differences in an amount of backscattered electrons incident on the two-segmented detector,"’ (Applicant’s Remarks filed 07/10/2025). However, Paragraph 42 of Sutcliffe suggests that comparisons between various readings of detectors for monitoring the powder bed is done such as to perform quality control and identify differences between process spectra and unmelted powder regions of the powder bed. Paragraph 36 of Sutcliffe further suggests that the feedback data is collected pre-melting. Paragraphs 63-66 of BLACKMORE (US 20150037601 A1) teach of backscatter detectors which detect a difference in backscattered electrons and/or electromagnetic radiation as a result of an electron beam interacting with the powder layer and based on whether the electron beam interacts with a solidified or unsolidified region. This indicates that backscattered electrons are known to be an acceptable substitute for electromagnetic radiation in determining the status of a powder bed. Given that Figure 6 and Paragraph 100 of SUTCLIFFE teaches that the detected signal from backscattered electrons changes based on the type of material being raster scanned across, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have converted the detected backscattered electrons into process spectra during the pre-melt such that differences between the process spectra and the unmelted powder layers can be identified (SUTCLIFFE Paragraph 42) while minimizing the number of components needed. A full rejection can be found below.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “before a melting step is performed based on difference in an amount of backscattered electrons incident on the two-segmented detector” should be “before a melting step is performed based on a difference in an amount of backscattered electrons incident on the two-segmented detector”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUTCLIFFE (US 20200215810 A1) in view of BLACKMORE (US 20150037601 A1), Yamada (US 20150314389 A1), Lobastov (US 20190283169 A1), and Miura (US 20030202449 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SUTCLIFFE (US 20200215810 A1) teaches a three-dimensional powder bed fusion additive manufacturing apparatus comprising:
a base plate on the powder stand (Figure 1 Paragraph 84, powder bed 53 and fused layers 52 on substrate 51 which is positioned on build platform 50);
a powder supplier configured to supply a powder sample onto the base plate to laminate a powder layer (Figure 1 Paragraph 86, powder feeder 31 uniformly deposits the powder on the top of substrate 51);
a beam generator configured to generate an electron beam to be irradiated to the powder layer (Figure 1 Paragraphs 84-85, electron filament generates a primary electron beam which is accelerated toward the powder bed);
a controller configured the powder supplier and the beam generator (Paragraphs 85-86, host machine process controller 20 controls the powder deposition and sets the energy of the emitted electrons from electron filament 11) to irradiate the electron beam to a powder bed that is an uppermost layer of the powder layer and perform melting on a two-dimensionally shaped region (Paragraph 86, host machine process controller 20 commands primary electron beam to melt selective regions on powder bed; Figure 4 Paragraphs 83 and 95, EBAM process is formed in a layer by layer manner) in which a shaped model is sliced by one layer to shape a three-dimensionally shaped object (Paragraphs 86-87, host machine process controller 20 causes 3d data to be divided into asset of successive 2D cross sections slices by the host machine to create design data usable for the fabrication process);
a two-segmented detector (Figure 3, plurality of feedback signal-capturing surfaces each marked by reference number 201 can be seen forming device 200; Paragraph 92, corresponding feedback signal-capturing surfaces which signify that there are at least two signal-capturing surfaces to capture backscattered electrons)1 configured to detect a state of the powder bed (Figures 2 and 4 Paragraph 95, pre-melt monitoring to verify the quality of the powder deposition) before melting is performed (Paragraph 36, apparatus is equipped with an inclusion of feedback sensors such as to enable in situ monitoring and feedback control wherein feedback data is collected from the processing area during the pre-melting) based on differences in an amount of backscattered electrons incident on the two-segmented detector (Paragraph 14, feedback signal-capturing surface which detects imaging electrons from the build surface; Paragraphs 92, device 200 captures feedback electron signals which include backscattered electrons), the two-segmented detector configured to detect a backscattered electron that is generated when the powder bed is scanned with the electron beam that has been generated by the beam generator (Paragraph 11, primary electrons from the electron beam are raster scanned across a region of interest of a powder bed and scatter back as backscattering electrons), and wherein the two-segmented detector is configured to:
detect that the state of the powder bed (Figures 2 and 4 Paragraph 95, pre-melt monitoring to verify the quality of the powder deposition) is normal (Figure 4, when the power layer is within specification; Paragraph 92, backscattering electrons are captured by device 200 such as to provide a feedback signal; Paragraph 100, monitoring system monitors the EBAM process by comparing the feedback electron signal obtained with a suitable set of reference feedback electron data) in a case where there is no difference between the a image signal and a second image signal, at a timing when the three-dimensionally shaped object is not exposed from the power bed and detect the state of the powder bed is not normal in case where there is a difference between the first image signal and second image signal (Paragraph 19, monitoring controller is configured for receiving and interpreting backscattered electrons to assess to quality of the deposition of the powder bed within the process area and also for assessing the chemical composition within the processing area; Paragraph 36, process artifacts collected include backscattered electrons; Paragraph 42, in situ process monitoring is used for quality control by composition analysis and include combination of processes to compare the process spectra with other process spectra obtained by in situ measurements and identification of the differences in process spectra such as to identify differences and defects in the unmelted region of the powder bed).
While SUTCLIFFE does not explicitly teach that the signals are “backscattered image signals” nor that backscattered electrons are converted into process during the process of comparing process spectra with other process spectra obtained by in situ measurements such as to identify differences between the process spectra and the unmelted powder regions of a powder bed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to also convert the backscattered electrons into process spectra such as to analyze a composition of a powder bed in situ. This would have been done as Paragraphs 63-66 of BLACKMORE (US 20150037601 A1) teach of backscatter detectors which detect a difference in backscattered electrons and/or electromagnetic radiation as a result of an electron beam interacting with the powder layer and based on whether the electron beam interacts with a solidified or unsolidified region. This indicates that backscattered electrons are known to be an acceptable substitute for electromagnetic radiation in determining the status of a powder bed. Given that Figure 6 and Paragraph 100 of SUTCLIFFE teaches that the detected signal from backscattered electrons changes based on the type of material being raster scanned across, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have converted the detected backscattered electrons into process spectra during the pre-melt such that differences between the process spectra and the unmelted powder layers can be identified (SUTCLIFFE Paragraph 42) while minimizing the number of components needed.
SUTCLIFFE fails to teach:
a shaping box comprising a table and a cylindrical unit continuous with the table, the table comprising a through hole in the center of the table, the cylindrical unit comprising a cylindrical hole, wherein the cylindrical unit has a shape along a peripheral edge of the through hole of the table;
a shaping box securing unit for securing the shaping box to a vacuum container;
a powder stand comprising a contour corresponding to the shape of the cylindrical hole of the cylindrical unit;
a seal member interposed between the powder stand and an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical unit that seals between an upper part and a lower part of the powder stand, wherein the seal member is slidably in contact with an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical unit;
a driving unit configured to move the powder stand and the base plate in a vertical direction within a pit;
a controller configured to control the driving unit,
wherein the two-segmented detector comprises a first detector connected to a first current amplifier and a second detector connected to a second current amplifier, and wherein the two-segmented detector is configured to:
obtain a first backscattered electron image signal based on a first signal from the first current amplifier and a second backscattered electron image signal based on a second signal from the second current amplifier at a timing when the three-dimensionally shaped object is not exposed from the powder bed, before the melting is performed; and
Yamada (US 20150314389 A1) teaches a machine and method for additive manufacturing, wherein:
a shaping box (Figure 4 Paragraphs 87-92, box support body 66A and first shaping box 3A) comprising a table (Figure 4 Paragraphs 87-92, box support body 66A) and a cylindrical unit continuous with the table (Paragraph 50, shaping box is formed cylindrically with both ends in an axial direction open; Paragraph 50, outer flange portion 16 provided on an upper end of the cylinder portion 15), the table comprising a through hole in the center of the table (Paragraph 91, shaping box is placed in hole of box support body), the cylindrical unit comprising a cylindrical hole (Paragraph 50, shaping box is formed cylindrically with both ends first shaping box 3A), wherein the cylindrical unit has a shape along a peripheral edge of the through hole of the table (Paragraph 50, shaping box is formed cylindrically with both ends in an axial direction open);
a shaping box securing unit for securing the shaping box to a vacuum container (Figure 5 Paragraphs 87-91, outer flange portions of first shaping box 3A are placed on chuck member 68);
a powder stand comprising a contour corresponding to the shape of the cylindrical hole of the cylindrical unit (Paragraph 55, stage 4 is formed into a shape corresponding to a shape of the cylinder hole of the cylindrical portion);
a seal member interposed between the powder stand and an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical unit that seals between an upper part and a lower part of the powder stand (Paragraph 56, seal member 21 is in slidable contact with an inner wall surface of the cylinder portion 15), wherein the seal member is slidably in contact with an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical unit (Paragraph 74, sliding of the seal member 21 on the inner surface of the cylinder portion 15 of the shaping box 3);
a driving unit configured to move the powder stand and the base plate in a vertical direction within a pit (Paragraph 96, deck elevating mechanism elevates/moves the deck along the vertical direction);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUTCLIFFE with Yamada and have the shaping box be formed in a cylindrical shape and associated with a vacuum chamber. This would have been done to provide a three-dimensional additive manufacturing method from which the completed shaped object can be taken out without straining the shaping chamber and a three-dimensional additive manufacturing method (Yamada Paragraph 17).
SUTCLIFFE modified with Yamada fails to teach:
a controller configured to control the driving unit,
wherein the two-segmented detector comprises a first detector connected to a first current amplifier and a second detector connected to a second current amplifier, and wherein the two-segmented detector is configured to:
obtain a first backscattered electron image signal based on a first signal from the first current amplifier and a second backscattered electron image signal based on a second signal from the second current amplifier at a timing when the three- dimensionally shaped object is not exposed from the powder bed, before the melting is performed; and
Lobastov (US 20190283169 A1) teaches a method for monitoring and controlling build quality during electron beam manufacturing, wherein:
a controller configured to control the driving unit (Paragraph 34, controller 20 controls the actuator 26)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUTCLIFFE with Lobastov and have the controller control an actuator for moving the build platform. This would have been done so that the controller can provide adjustments to the actuator upon detection of defects in the melt pool and on received backscattered electrons upon (Lobastov Paragraph 40).
SUTCLIFFE modified with Lobastov fails to teach:
wherein the two-segmented detector comprises a first detector connected to a first current amplifier and a second detector connected to a second current amplifier, and wherein the two-segmented detector is configured to:
obtain a first backscattered electron image signal based on a first signal from the first current amplifier and a second backscattered electron image signal based on a second signal from the second current amplifier at a timing when the three- dimensionally shaped object is not exposed from the powder bed, before the melting is performed; and
Miura (US 20030202449 A1) teaches a detection apparatus for an electron beam irradiation apparatus, comprising:
wherein the two-segmented detector is configured to:
obtain a first backscattered electron image signal based on a first signal from the first current amplifier and a second backscattered electron image signal based on a second signal from the second current amplifier at a timing when the three- dimensionally shaped object is not exposed from the powder bed, before the melting is performed (Figure 11 Paragraphs 22-23, deflection electrons of the incident electron beam 102 to the specimen 103 are detected by divided semiconductors 108A and 108B which are amplified by amplifiers 122A and 122B to obtain a composite image 124 and rugged image 125),
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUTCLIFFE with Miura and have the deflection electrons be amplified by amplifiers. This would have been done to obtain an image of the processing area based on the deflected electrons.
Regarding claim 4, SUTCLIFFE as modified further teaches the three-dimensional powder bed fusion additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
in a case of determining that the state of the powder bed is not normal from a detection result of the two-segmented detector, the controller is further configured to cause the powder supplier to laminate the powder layer again to shape a current layer (Figure 4, pre-melt monitoring deposits the powder layer again if the layer is not within specification).
Regarding claim 5, SUTCLIFFE as modified further teaches the three-dimensional powder bed fusion additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein
a space for shaping a shaped object (Figure 1 Paragraph 84, area above substrate 51 is used to deposit powder and forming the three-dimensional object) and for determining whether or not the state of the powder bed is normal is provided in a region of the powder bed to which the electron beam is irradiated (Figure 2 Paragraph 92, backscattering electrons reflected from powder bed 53 are measured to determine normality; Figure 1 Paragraph 84, powder bed 53 is irradiated by electron beam 15 and is positioned upon substrate 51),
wherein the two-segmented detector is configured to detect the state of the powder bed after the melting is performed (Paragraph 96, post-melting monitoring via electronic imaging of the process area A is carried out to verify fabricated part geometry again based on electron signal received by feedback signal-capturing surface 201), and
wherein the controller is configured to shape the three-dimensionally shaped object, in a case of determining that the state of the powder bed is normal from a detection result of the two-segmented detector (Figure 1 Paragraph 86, three-dimensional 3d object is formed by progressively forming and cooling a liquid melt zone into fused layers on substrate 51; Figure 4 Paragraph 96, pre-melt monitoring is followed by step 402 when the layer is within specification of melting selective areas of the powder bed).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUTCLIFFE (US 20200215810 A1) in view of BLACKMORE (US 20150037601 A1), Yamada (US 20150314389 A1), Lobastov (US 20190283169 A1), and Miura (US 20030202449 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of KITAMURA (US 20180147653 A1).
Regarding claim 6, SUTCLIFFE as modified further teaches the three-dimensional powder bed fusion additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 4.
SUTCLIFFE fails to teach:
a mask cover configured to shield the powder layer when the beam generator irradiates the electron beam to the powder bed, and wherein the mask cover comprises:
an opening part configured to allow the electron beam to pass through; and
a mask part configured to cover a periphery of a region in the powder bed to which the electron beam is irradiated.
KITAMURA (US 20180147653 A1) teaches of a three-dimensional shaping apparatus, comprising:
a mask cover (charge shield 107) configured to shield the powder layer when the beam generator irradiates the electron beam to the powder bed (Paragraph 52, charge shield covers the metal powder when the electron beam irradiates the powder), and
wherein the mask cover (charge shield 107) comprises:
an opening part configured to allow the electron beam to pass through (Paragraph 48, charge shield 107 has a rectangular shape and has an inside opening matching the shape of the shaping plate); and
a mask part configured to cover a periphery of a region in the powder bed to which the electron beam is irradiated (Figure 1 Paragraph 52, charge shield 107 covers a periphery of the powder bed which is irradiated by the electron beam).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUTCLIFFE with KITAMURA and use a mask cover to shield the powder layer during process. This would have been done to effectively prevent a charge-up of an unsintered region (KITAMURA Paragraph 18).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUTCLIFFE (US 20200215810 A1) in view of BLACKMORE (US 20150037601 A1), Reese (US 20180117851 A1), and Miura (US 20030202449 A1).
Regarding claim 10, SUTCLIFFE (US 20200215810 A1) teaches a three-dimensional powder bed fusion additive manufacturing method (Figure 4) comprising:
a squeegeeing step for supplying, by a powder supplier, a powder sample onto a base plate to laminate a powder layer (Figure 1 Paragraph 86, powder feeder 31 uniformly deposits the powder on the top of substrate 51);
a transmitting step for transmitting a first signal to a two-segmented detector (Figure 5A), wherein a backscattered electron image signal is obtained based on the first signal and the second signal (Paragraph 92, captured feedback signal is transmitted from inside the vacuum chamber to a location external by means of current);
a powder-heat step for irradiating, by a beam generator (Figure 1 Paragraphs 84-85, electron filament generates a primary electron beam which is accelerated toward the powder bed), a beam to a powder bed (Paragraph 85, electron beam 15 is converted into heat upon interaction between beam 15 and powder bed 53) that is an uppermost layer of the powder layer to heat a surface of the powder bed (Figure 2, electron beam irradiates the liquid melt zone at the uppermost layer of the powder layer);
a powder bed checking step for detecting, by the two-segmented detector, a state of the powder bed after the powder-heat step (Figures 2 and 4 Paragraph 96, post-melt monitoring via electronic imaging of the processing area) and before a melting step is performed (Paragraph 36, feedback is collected pre-melting) based on difference in an amount of backscattered electrons incident on the two-segmented detector (Paragraph 19, monitoring controller is configured for receiving and interpreting backscattered electrons to assess to quality of the deposition of the powder bed within the process area and also for assessing the chemical composition within the processing area; Paragraph 36, process artifacts collected include backscattered electrons; Paragraph 42, in situ process monitoring is used for quality control by composition analysis and include combination of processes to compare the process spectra with other process spectra obtained by in situ measurements and identification of the differences in process spectra such as to identify differences and defects in the unmelted region of the powder bed; see explanation below), wherein the powder bed checking step for detecting the state of the powder bed comprises:
scanning, with an electron beam generated by the beam generator, the powder bed with a low emission current (Paragraph 11, primary electrons from the electron beam are raster scanned across a region of interest of a powder bed and scatter back as backscattering electrons) that enables detection of a backscattered electron (Paragraph 100, backscattered electrons are reflected from the processing area and detected);
detecting, by the two-segmented detector (Figure 3, plurality of feedback signal-capturing surfaces each marked by reference number 201 can be seen forming device 200; Paragraph 92, corresponding feedback signal-capturing surfaces which signify that there are at least two signal-capturing surfaces)2, a backscattered electron (Paragraph 14, feedback signal-capturing surface which detects imaging electrons from the build surface) that is generated when the powder bed is scanned with the electron (Paragraph 11, primary electrons from the electron beam are raster scanned across a region of interest of a powder bed and scatter back as backscattering electrons); and
determining, by a controller, whether the powder bed is normal based on detecting the backscattered electron (Paragraph 96, post melt electronic imaging is used to assess the quality of the solidified melted surface by quantifying related topographical features and quality of the powder deposition; Figure Paragraph 97, the quality of the processing areas are compared with the preset specifications to determine if the powder bed is normal or not; Figure 4, when the power layer is within specification; Paragraph 92, backscattering electrons are captured by device 200 such as to provide a feedback signal; Paragraph 100, monitoring system monitors the EBAM process by comparing the feedback electron signal obtained with a suitable set of reference feedback electron data), wherein the state of the powder bed is normal (Figures 2 and 4 Paragraph 95, pre-melt monitoring to verify the quality of the powder deposition; Figure 4, when the power layer is within specification; Paragraph 92, backscattering electrons are captured by device 200 such as to provide a feedback signal; Paragraph 100, monitoring system monitors the EBAM process by comparing the feedback electron signal obtained with a suitable set of reference feedback electron data) when there is no difference in an amount of the backscattered electrons incident on the two- segmented detector, at a timing when the three-dimensionally shaped object is not exposed from the powder bed, wherein the state of the powder bed is not normal when there is a difference in the amount of the backscattered electrons incident on the two-segmented detector (Paragraph 19, monitoring controller is configured for receiving and interpreting backscattered electrons to assess to quality of the deposition of the powder bed within the process area and also for assessing the chemical composition within the processing area; Paragraph 36, process artifacts collected include backscattered electrons; Paragraph 42, in situ process monitoring is used for quality control by composition analysis and include combination of processes to compare the process spectra with other process spectra obtained by in situ measurements and identification of the differences in process spectra such as to identify differences and defects in the unmelted region of the powder bed); and
While SUTCLIFFE does not explicitly teach that the signals are “backscattered image signals” nor that backscattered electrons are converted into process during the process of comparing process spectra with other process spectra obtained by in situ measurements such as to identify differences between the process spectra and the unmelted powder regions of a powder bed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to also convert the backscattered electrons into process spectra such as to analyze a composition of a powder bed in situ. This would have been done as Paragraphs 63-66 of BLACKMORE (US 20150037601 A1) teach of backscatter detectors which detect a difference in backscattered electrons and/or electromagnetic radiation as a result of an electron beam interacting with the powder layer and based on whether the electron beam interacts with a solidified or unsolidified region. This indicates that backscattered electrons are known to be an acceptable substitute for electromagnetic radiation in determining the status of a powder bed. Given that Figure 6 and Paragraph 100 of SUTCLIFFE teaches that the detected signal from backscattered electrons changes based on the type of material being raster scanned across, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have converted the detected backscattered electrons into process spectra during the pre-melt such that differences between the process spectra and the unmelted powder layers can be identified (SUTCLIFFE Paragraph 42) while minimizing the number of components needed.
the melting step for irradiating the beam to the powder bed to melt (Paragraph 85, heat generated by beam 15 is used to melt selective regions within EBAM processing area A) a two- dimensionally shaped region in which a shaped model is sliced by one layer to shape a three- dimensionally shaped object (Paragraphs 86-87, host machine process controller 20 causes 3d data to be divided into asset of successive 2D cross sections slices by the host machine to create design data usable for the fabrication process), in a case where the powder bed that is normal is determined in the powder bed checking step (Figure 4 Paragraph 96, when the power layer is within specification the method moves onto the step of the electron beam carrying out melting), wherein:
in a case where the powder bed that is not normal is determined in the powder bed checking step (Figure 4 Paragraph 96, powder layer is not within specification), an after-heat step for irradiating, by the beam generator, a beam to a current powder bed to heat the current powder bed to shape a current layer is performed (Paragraph 101, pre-heating the processing area is performed before fabrication begins with the monitoring of the pre-heating being performed on a layer by layer basis; Figure 4 Paragraphs 95 and 97, correction actions are carried out if the process specifications are not met which include adjusting process parameters), and after the after-heat step, the squeegeeing step, the powder-heat step, and the powder bed checking step are performed again (Paragraph 84, build platform moves downward upon the completion of one layer to allow a successive powder bed layer to be deposited onto the newly completed layer by the powder deposition system; Figure 4 Paragraph 95, the process shown in Figure 4 which includes the squeegeeing/powder-heat/powder bed checking steps are for a single layer which means that the process is repeated for each layer in the successive layers of the processing).
SUTCLIFFE fails to teach:
a transmitting step for transmitting, by a current amplifier connected to a two- segmented detector, a first signal from a first current amplifier connected to a first detector, and a second signal from a second current amplifier connected to a second detector, wherein a backscattered electron image signal is obtained based on the first signal and the second signal;
an after-heat step for irradiating, by the beam generator, a beam to a current powder bed to heat the current powder bed to shape a current layer is performed
Reese (US 20180117851 A1) teaches localized heating to improve interlayer bonding in 3D printing, wherein:
an after-heat step for irradiating, by the beam generator, a beam to a current powder bed to heat the current powder bed to shape a current layer is performed (Paragraph 131, preheating is accomplished using energy beam melting by defocusing the energy beam and rapidly scanning it over the deposited first layer and or second layer before fusion is induced)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUTCLIFFE with Reese and preheated the powder bed after depositing the powder of each layer before melting by scanning a defocused energy beam across the surface. This would have been done to reduce undesirable shrinkage of the powder (SUTCLIFFE Paragraph 58).
In SUTCLIFFE modified with Reese, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a step of heating the powder bed with a laser beam when the powder layer is not normal as SUTCLIFFE teaches repeating the pre-melt process when the layer is not within specification, which would include the preheating of the powder step after the deposit powder layer step as taught by Reese.
SUTCLIFFE as modified with Reese fails to teach:
a transmitting step for transmitting, by a current amplifier connected to a two- segmented detector, a first signal from a first current amplifier connected to a first detector, and a second signal from a second current amplifier connected to a second detector, wherein a backscattered electron image signal is obtained based on the first signal and the second signal;
Miura (US 20030202449 A1) teaches a detection apparatus for an electron beam irradiation apparatus, comprising:
a transmitting step for transmitting, by a current amplifier connected to a two- segmented detector, a first signal from a first current amplifier connected to a first detector, and a second signal from a second current amplifier connected to a second detector, wherein a backscattered electron image signal is obtained based on the first signal and the second signal (Figure 11 Paragraphs 22-23, deflection electrons of the incident electron beam 102 to the specimen 103 are detected by divided semiconductors 108A and 108B which are amplified by amplifiers 122A and 122B to obtain a composite image 124 and rugged image 125);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUTCLIFFE with Miura and have the deflection electrons be amplified by amplifiers. This would have been done to obtain an image of the processing area based on the deflected electrons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 The Office further notes that using a plurality of detectors it is known in the art to facilitate capturing backscatter at different angles and so that the type, size, and depth of any abnormalities found can be identified and determined as evidenced by Paragraphs 49-52 of Harding (US 20180193947 A1).
2 The Office further notes that using a plurality of detectors it is known in the art to facilitate capturing backscatter at different angles and so that the type, size, and depth of any abnormalities found can be identified and determined as evidenced by Paragraphs 49-52 of Harding (US 20180193947 A1).