DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,809,037. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the structure required by the claims is substantially the same with some minor differences including rearrangement of claim language among independent and dependent claims or omission of elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheets Jr., hereafter Sheets, US Patent Publication No. 2017/0205196.
Regarding claim 1, Sheets discloses a weapon-mounted laser aiming device (100) comprising: a frame (16); a laser element (10 is disclosed as the laser module which includes 40, 50, 20, 60 and 30) movably connected to the frame ([0022]); a mechanical coupler (in as much as the applicant discloses a “mechanical coupler” for adjusting the laser, so does Sheets as 130, 140. The specification describes a screw as adjusting the position of the laser diode and therefore a screw, like that of Sheets, meets the limitation of a mechanical coupler) connected to the frame and operably connected to the laser element to establish an aiming direction of the laser element based on a position of the mechanical coupler ([0022-0025]); a front cradle (30 of the laser module/element is held in front cradle 32) and rear cradle (broadly, yet reasonably, 80 is considered a rear cradle which contacts the laser element 10 at the housing 20 and acts to hold the laser element in place at the rear end) contacting the laser element ([0027-0028]); and an elastomeric restraint element (210 is a spring which, as disclosed in [0020], is made of polymer) being positioned on a cover element (150 as disclosed in [0024]) removably attached to the frame (via screw as shown in figure 3) in a position diagonally opposed to the adjustor (shown in figures 4 and 5 for example, the adjustor 140 is diagonally across from the spring 210).
Regarding claim 2, Sheets further discloses the cover element is lateral to the laser element (shown in figures 4 and 5)
Regarding claim 3, Sheets further discloses the cover element is opposed to the adjustor (diagonally opposed as shown in figures 4 and 5)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s argument that Sheets does not disclose a mechanical coupler, the examiner is not persuaded. As best understood by the examiner, the mechanical coupler is intended to establish an aiming direction of the laser. The specification clearly discloses adjustment screws being used as the structure to obtain this function. Therefore, the screws of Sheets broadly, yet reasonably meet the limitations of a mechanical coupler. Furthermore, the limitation of a mechanical coupler is a very broad limitation which does not require very specific structure at all.
In response to the applicant’s argument that element 80 of Sheets is not a cradle, the examiner is not persuaded. the arguments state that element 80 is not a rigid, non-movable structure; however, the claims merely require a rear cradle contacting the laser. Element 80 of Sheets meets the structural and functional limitations of a cradle as claimed. Figures 2-4 show element 80 contacting the rear of the laser. Furthermore, at a minimum, paragraphs [0023-0025] and [0027-0028] disclose the laser being contacted by 80.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DERRICK R MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641