DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of claim 2, it is believed the word --of-- is missing before “at least”.
In line 2 of claim 21, it is believed the word “a” should be removed before “first edge”.
In line 3 of claim 21, it is believed “an adjacent” should be changed to --the adjacent--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbaugh, Sr. (US Pat 4,893,862) in view of Nordstrom (US Pat 5,046,690), and Stabenau (US Pat 8,210,477).
Regarding claim 1, Hollenbaugh, Sr. discloses a plurality of cargo floor liners capable of protecting an aircraft cargo hold that has a floor and sidewalls extending from the floor, the cargo floor liner comprising: a first and second floor liners 116, 118 each having a liner body having a central portion 116, 118 and a perimeter portion 144, 146, 148, 150, 152 around the central portion 116, 118 (see Figure 9; Col. 4, line 56-Col. 5, line 3), the liner body configured to removably cover and protect the floor of the cargo hold (see Col. 3, lines 39-48), the perimeter portion having opposing front and rear edge portions and side edge portions extending between the front and rear edge portions; a raised border 112, 114, 120, 122, 124 projects projecting away from the liner body central portion 116, 118 along at least a portion of the perimeter portion 144, 146, 148, 150, 152 of the liner body; a plurality of projections 154 extending away from the central portion 116, 118 of the liner body and being spaced apart to define a plurality of recesses configured to capture liquid or debris and prevent the liquid or debris from contacting the floor of the cargo hold, wherein the front or rear edge portions of the liner body is configured to be connected to a rear or front edge portion of a similarly configured adjacent cargo floor liner to retain the adjacent cargo floor liners together (see Figure 9; Col. 5, lines 12-19), wherein a first edge of the first liner 118 is releasably connected an adjacent second edge of the second liner 116 to substantially fully cover and protect the floor of the cargo hold between the first and second liners (see Figure 9; Col. 4, lines 56-62; Col. 5, lines 12-19). An aircraft is a type of vehicle and the cargo liner could be used in a cargo hold of the aircraft in the same manner as it is used in a cargo compartment of an automobile.
Hollenbaugh, Sr. fails to disclose the central portion of the liner body has one or more anchor openings configured to provide access to one or more anchor points on the floor of the cargo hold, the anchor opening having a bottom flange positioned atop the floor of the cargo hold and extending radially inward toward the respective anchor point, and a sealant that sealably connects the bottom flange to the floor and blocks fluid and debris from getting under the cargo liner via the anchor openings; the second liner body has a plurality of projections extending away from the central portion of the liner body; and the side edge portions are configured to be sealably connected to the sidewalls of the cargo hold.
Nordstrom discloses a cargo liner for protecting an aircraft cargo hold that has a floor and sidewalls, the cargo floor liner comprising: a liner body having a central portion 5 and side edge portions 7 sealably connected to the sidewalls 2B of the cargo hold (see Figure 1; Col. 2, line 53-Col. 3, line 17).
Stabenau discloses a cargo floor liner for protecting an aircraft cargo hold that has a floor and sidewalls extending from the floor, the cargo floor liner comprising: a liner body 14 (see Figures 1-3; Col. 3, lines 45-49), the liner body 14 configured to removably cover and protect the floor 11 of the cargo hold (see Figures 1-3; Col. 3, lines 45-65; Col. 4, lines 13-18), wherein the liner body 14 having one or more anchor openings 26 configured to provide access to one or more anchor points 15 on the floor 11 of the cargo hold (see Figures 3-6; Col. 5, lines 1-7, 23-30), the anchor opening 26 having a bottom flange 25 positioned atop the floor 11 of the cargo hold and extending radially inward toward the respective anchor point 15, and a sealant 25a that sealably connects the bottom flange 25 to the floor 11 and blocks debris from getting under the cargo liner 14 via the anchor openings 26 (see Figures 5-6; Col. 5, lines 1-8, 46-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cargo floor liner of Hollenbaugh, Sr. to protect an aircraft cargo hold and sealably connect the side edge portions to the sidewalls of the cargo hold, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Nordstrom, to use a cost effective and proven protective device while ensuring liquid or debris does not affect the surface of the cargo area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include anchor openings in the central portion of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, to provide access to anchor points on the floor of the cargo hold, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Stabenau, to provide a means for securing cargo while protecting the floor of the cargo hold from liquid or debris.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a bottom flange in the anchor openings of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau, such that the bottom flange is positioned atop the floor and extends radially inward toward the respective anchor point and a sealant connects the bottom flange to the floor, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Stabenau, to provide a means for securing cargo while protecting the floor of the cargo hold from debris.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the second body liner of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, to have a plurality of projections extending away from the central portion of the liner body and being spaced apart to define a plurality of recesses, with a reasonable expectation of success, to capture liquid or debris and prevent the liquid or debris from contacting the floor of the cargo hold, as taught by Hollenbaugh, Sr..
Regarding claim 2, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 1, wherein the recesses of at least the first liner 118 include a plurality of first recesses, and wherein a portion of the plurality of projections 154 are adjacent to one or more portions of the raised border 120, 122, 124 to define one or more second recesses 156 adjacent the perimeter portion 148, 150, 152, wherein the one or more second recesses are configured to capture and block liquid or debris from the floor of the cargo hold (see Figures 9-11; Col. 4, line 56- Col. 5, line 29).
Regarding claim 3, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 2, wherein the first recesses 154 are in fluid communication with the second recesses 156 (see Figures 9-11; Col. 5, lines 19-32).
Regarding claim 9, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 1.
Hollenbaugh, as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, fail to disclose each liner comprises side flaps coupled to side edge portions, wherein each of the side flaps extends laterally away from the raised border and is configured to extend along and cover a portion of a respective one of the sidewalls of the cargo hold.
A second embodiment of Hollenbaugh, Sr. discloses a cargo liner 410 that discloses side flaps 430, 432 coupled to side edge portions 414, 416, 418, wherein each of the side flaps 430, 432 extend laterally away from the raised border 422, 424 and is configured to extend along and cover a portion of a respective one of the sidewalls 438 of the cargo hold 440 (see Figure 22; Col. 6, lines 31-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the side edge portions of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, of each liner with side flaps that extend laterally away from the raised border, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Hollenbaugh, Sr., to ensure that the liner is properly sealed to the sidewall of the cargo hold.
Regarding claim 11, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and a second embodiment of Hollenbaugh, Sr., discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 9.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and a second embodiment of Hollenbaugh, Sr., fails to disclose the side flaps are removably attached to the liner body and can be separated from the liner body.
A second embodiment of Hollenbaugh, Sr. discloses a cargo liner 410 that discloses side flaps 430, 432 coupled to side edge portions 414, 416, 418, wherein each of the side flaps 430, 432 extend laterally away from the raised border 422, 424 and is configured to extend along and cover a portion of a respective one of the sidewalls 438 of the cargo hold 440 (see Figure 22; Col. 6, lines 31-38). The side flaps 430, 432 are removably attached to the liner body 410 by the raised border 422, 424 (see Col. 6, lines 37-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct side flaps of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and a second embodiment of Hollenbaugh, Sr., to be removably attached to the liner body, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Hollenbaugh, Sr., to make the cargo liner easier to remove when not in use or when cleaning is required.
Regarding claim 21, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the cargo floor liners of claim 1, wherein the first edge of the first liner 118 is sealably connected to an adjacent second edge of the second liner 116 (see Figures 10-11 and annotated Figure 11 below; Col. 5, lines 12-19), wherein the side edge portions of the first and second cargo floor liners 116, 118 are sealably connected to the side walls of the cargo hold (see Figures 9-11; Col. 5, lines 12-19).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, in view of Maxim, Jr. (US Pat 5,114,774).
Regarding claim 5, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 1.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, fails to disclose an absorbent material removably retained within one or more of the plurality of recesses.
Maxim, Jr. discloses a liner body 40 having a central portion 44 and a perimeter portion 43 having a front and rear edge portions and side edge portions; a raised border 42 projecting away from the central portion 44 along at least a portion of the perimeter portion of the liner body (see Figures 6 and 9; Col. 5, line 49- Col. 6, line 6). The central portion 44 includes an absorbent material 41 used to absorb and retain liquid to reduce the incidence of slipping or skidding (see Figures 9-11; Col. 1, lines 55-61; Col. 5, line 50- Col. 6, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an absorbent material to be removably retained in the plurality of recesses of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, with a reasonable expectation of success, to absorb and retain any liquid or debris in the cargo hold in order to reduce the incidence of skidding or slipping, as taught by Maxim, Jr..
Regarding claim 6, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice and Maxim, Jr., discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 5.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice and Maxim, Jr., fails to disclose the absorbent material has a shape and size substantially corresponding to one or more of the plurality of recesses.
Maxim, Jr. discloses a liner body 40 having a central portion 44 and a perimeter portion 43 having a front and rear edge portions and side edge portions; a raised border 42 projecting away from the central portion 44 along at least a portion of the perimeter portion of the liner body (see Figures 6 and 9; Col. 5, line 49- Col. 6, line 6). The central portion 44 includes an absorbent material 41 used to absorb and retain liquid to reduce the incidence of slipping or skidding (see Figures 9-11; Col. 1, lines 55-61; Col. 5, line 50- Col. 6, line 3). The absorbent material 41 has a size and shape corresponding to a recess formed by the raised border 42 (see Figures 6-9; Col. 5, lines 50-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the absorbent material of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice and Maxim, Jr., to have a shape and size substantially corresponding to one or more of the plurality of recesses, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure that fluid or debris collected by absorbent material is retained and the incidence of slipping or skidding is reduced, as taught by Maxim, Jr..
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice and Maxim, Jr., in view of Kobe et al. (US Pat 6,610,382).
Regarding claim 7, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice and Maxim, Jr., discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 5.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice and Maxim, Jr., fails to disclose the absorbent material has an uppermost surface positioned below an uppermost surface of the plurality of projections.
Kobe et al. disclose a liner 80 having with slip control properties having a plurality of projections 86 that form a plurality of recesses 82 (see Figures 5A-B; Col. 5, lines 42-45). The plurality of recesses 82 contain an absorbent material 88 having an uppermost surface below the uppermost surface of the projections 86 and keeps the surface of the projections 86 dry (see Col. 5, lines 42-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position an uppermost surface of the absorbent material of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice and Maxim, Jr., below an uppermost surface of the plurality of projections, with a reasonable expectation of success, to keep the uppermost surface of the projections dry retaining liquid in the recesses to prevent slipping, as taught by Kobe et al..
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, in view of Yang (US Pat 8,967,697).
Regarding claim 13, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 1.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, fails to disclose a portion of the liner body's perimeter portion of each liner comprises an angled ramp configured to slope to the cargo floor and define a ramped transition between the cargo floor and upper surfaces of the projections.
Yang discloses a cargo floor liner 100 for protecting an aircraft cargo hold that has a floor and sidewalls extending from the floor, the cargo floor liner comprising: a liner body 10 having a central portion 20 and a perimeter portion 30 around the central portion 20, the liner body configured to removably cover and protect the floor of the cargo hold, the perimeter portion having opposing front and rear edge portions and side edge portions extending between the front and rear edge portions (see Figures 1A-C; Col. 4, lines 23-39); a raised border 40 projecting away from the central portion 20 along at least a portion of the perimeter portion 30 of the liner body 10 (see Figures 1A-B, 5B); a plurality of projections 70 extending away from the central portion 20 of the liner body 10 and being spaced apart to define a plurality of recesses configured to capture liquid or debris and prevent the block liquid or debris from contacting the floor of the cargo hold (see Figures 5A-B; Col. 4, lines 40-51; Col. 6, lines 7-17), wherein the central portion 20 of the liner body 10 having one or more anchor openings 52 configured to provide access to one or more anchor points on the floor of the cargo hold (see Figure 7B; Col. 6, lines 30-33); and wherein the side edge portions are configured to be sealably connected to the sidewalls of the cargo hold. A portion of the liner body's 10 perimeter portion 30 comprises an angled ramp configured to slope to the cargo floor and define a ramped transition between the cargo floor and upper surfaces of the projections 70 (see Figures 1A-B; Col. 4, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the perimeter portion of each liner of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, to comprise an angled ramp configured to slope to the cargo floor and define a ramped transition between the cargo floor and upper surfaces of the projections, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Yang, to make loading of the cargo space easier, particularly when using carts or other wheeled devices.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, in view of Stata (US Pat 3,390,912).
Regarding claim 14, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 1.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, fails to disclose the plurality of projections are hollow.
Stata discloses a floor protector 14 having a central portion 35 with a perimeter portion 21 and a raised border 33. The central portion has a plurality of projections 40 that are hollow and form a plurality of recesses 39 (see Figures 1 and 3; Col. 3, lines 11-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the plurality of projections of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, with a reasonable expectation of success, to reduce the cost of production and reduce the weight of the cargo floor liner, as taught by Stata.
Claims 15-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, in view of Kobe et al..
Regarding claim 15, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 1.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, fails to disclose fillers within the projections, wherein the projections are not hollow.
Kobe et al. disclose a liner 50 having with slip control properties having a plurality of projections 56 that form a plurality of recesses. The plurality of projections 56 contain a filler 52 used to stiffen the projections 56 to provide structural stability (see Figure 3; Col. 5, lines 20-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the plurality of projections of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, with a filler, with a reasonable expectation of success, to stiffen the projections and provide structural stability, as taught by Kobe et al..
Regarding claim 16, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, disclose the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 1.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, fail to disclose a cover top sheet positioned over at least a portion of the central portion of the liner body and covering one or more of the projections.
Kobe et al. disclose a liner 80 having with slip control properties having a plurality of projections 86 that form a plurality of recesses (see Figures 5A-B; Col. 5, lines 42-45). The plurality of recesses contain an absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet”, and additional projections 82 having an uppermost surface covered by the absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet” (see Figure 5A; Col. 5, lines 42-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cover top sheet positioned over at least a portion of the central portion of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom and Stabenau twice, and one or more of the projections, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a means of absorbing liquid or debris and protecting the cargo hold, as taught by Kobe et al..
Regarding claim 17, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and Kobe et al., discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 16.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and Kobe et al., fails to disclose the cover top sheet is radially inward of the raised border, wherein the cover top sheet does not cover the recesses adjacent to the raised border.
Kobe et al. disclose a liner 80 having with slip control properties having a plurality of projections 86 that form a plurality of recesses (see Figures 5A-B; Col. 5, lines 42-45). The plurality of recesses contain an absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet”, and additional projections 82 having an uppermost surface covered by the absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet” (see Figure 5A; Col. 4, lines 9-14; Col. 5, lines 42-51). The absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet”, is radially inward of the border 90 and does not cover recesses adjacent to the border 90 of the liner 80 (see Figure 5A; Col. 5, lines 42-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the cover top sheet of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and Kobe et al., radially inward of the raised border so that it does not cover the recesses adjacent to the raised border, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Kobe et al., to allow excess water to drain near the raised border.
Regarding claim 18, Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and Kobe et al., discloses the plurality of cargo floor liners of claim 16.
Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and Kobe et al. fails to disclose the cover top sheet is permanently affixed over the central portion of the liner body and atop a plurality of the projections connected to the central portion of the liner body.
Kobe et al. disclose a liner 80 having with slip control properties having a plurality of projections 86 that form a plurality of recesses (see Figures 5A-B; Col. 5, lines 42-45). The plurality of recesses contain an absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet”, and additional projections 82 having an uppermost surface covered by the absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet” (see Figure 5A; Col. 4, lines 9-14; Col. 5, lines 42-51). The absorbent material 88, or “cover top sheet”, is permanently bonded to the liner 80 using an adhesive (see Col. 4, lines 42-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to permanently affix the cover top sheet of Hollenbaugh, Sr., as modified by Nordstrom, Stabenau twice, and Kobe et al., over the central portion and a plurality of the projections, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Kobe et al., to ensure the integrity of the liner is maintained while still maintaining the ability to absorb liquid and debris.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed January 21, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-18, and 21 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hollenbaugh, Sr. (US Pat 4,893,862), Nordstrom (US Pat 5,046,690), and Stabenau (US Pat 8,210,477).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612