DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending:
1, 3-6, 8-11, 13, 25-35
Withdrawn:
NONE
Rejected:
1, 3-6, 8-11, 13, 25-35
Amended:
1, 13, 27
New:
NONE
Independent:
1, 13, 27
Claim Interpretation
Instant independent claim 1 is drawn to an aluminum alloy powder “for manufacturing a three-dimensional aluminum alloy part by a powder bed fusion additive manufacturing process”, which refers to an intended use for said aluminum alloy powder. Independent claims 13 and 27 contain a similar limitation.
Independent claim 1 as amended recites the limitation “when said aluminum alloy is heated to a first temperature… said aluminum alloy is capable of transitioning from a liquid phase to a multiphase system…” [emphasis added] which is a conditional limitation. Certain properties (presence of liquid and solid) are present under the condition: “when said aluminum alloy is heated to a first temperature”; however, said claim never mentions a step of heating. The examiner points out the instant claim does not recite or imply a product-by-process step of heating. For the purposes of this action, the claims are being given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, i.e. this phrase is being interpreted to mean that the claimed properties are present conditionally (when in said condition), in other words, that the claimed product is capable of exhibiting said property under certain specified conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13, 25-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al (US 2015/0337423, hereinafter Martin’423) in view of teaching reference “ASM Handbook Vol. 2B” pp. 432-438.
Martin’423 teaches aluminum alloy 7075 powder microparticles coated with Zr hydride nanoparticles (Fig. 4, [0034]), which enhance sintering during consolidation [0051] (such as consolidation into a solid article by additive manufacturing [0028]). More particularly concerning the alloying ranges of 7075, the ASM Handbook Vol. 2B p.432, Table 1 teaches that 7075 includes (in wt%): 5.1-6.1% Zn, 2.1-2.9% Mg, 1.20-2.0% Cu, ≤0.40% Si, ≤0.50% Fe, 0.18-0.28% Cr, ≤0.20% Ti, ≤0.30 Mn, ≤0.20 Ti with the balance aluminum, which overlaps the claimed alloying ranges of Cu, Mg, Si, Mn, Ti, and Al (claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 27, 28, 33, 34).
Concerning amended claims 1, 13, 27, the Zr hydride nanoparticles taught by Martin’423 meet the Markush group selection of Zr, and therefore meet the instant grain-refining element limitation. More particularly, though hydrides have been removed from the Markush group of grain refining elements, Zr is present in that Markush group. Because claims 1, 13, and 27 are drawn to one or more of Zr, Ta, Nb, W, oxides, nitrides, carbides, borides, or aluminides, and because Martin’423 teaches Zr hydride which includes Zr, Martin’423 meets the instant limitation. Martin’423 teaches said Zr hydrides are dispersed on the surface of an aluminum alloy powder [0072-0073] in an amount of ≥0.25wt% [0021], which overlaps the instantly amended claimed minimum of 0.5vol%.
Concerning the limitation “when said aluminum alloy is heated to a first temperature… said alloy is capable of transitioning from a liquid phase to a multiphase system…” because Martin’423 teaches an overlapping alloy powder composition, then substantially the same thermodynamic phase change transitions are expected from the alloy powder of Martin’423, when the claimed conditional heating takes place (see “Claim Interpretation” section above), as for the instant invention.
Therefore, because Martin’423 teaches an overlapping Al alloy with Zr grain-refining nanoparticles, and because the claimed physical properties are expected to result by virtue of the combination of said overlapping composition together with consolidating by additive manufacturing [0028, 0144], it is held that Martin’423 has created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the range, including the claimed range, from the broader range disclosed in the prior art, because the prior art finds that said composition in the entire disclosed range has a suitable utility. Additionally, "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d at 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Concerning claims 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 27, 28, 33, 34, see above discussion of composition. Concerning claim 30, the amount taught by Martin’423 of 2.1% Mg is considered to fall within the scope of the claimed “about 2 wt%” of Mg.
Further concerning claim 11, which recites the limitation “wherein said multiphase system includes said solution of liquid phase aluminum, said solid phase of silicon particles, and another solid phase of iron-containing intermetallic particles dispersed throughout said liquid phase aluminum…”, because Martin’423 teaches an overlapping alloy powder composition, then substantially the same thermodynamic phase change transitions are expected from the alloy powder of Martin’423, when the claimed conditional heating takes place (see “Claim Interpretation” section above), as for the instant invention.
Concerning claims 25, 26, 35, as stated above, Martin’423 teaches aluminum alloy 7075 powder microparticles coated with Zr hydride nanoparticles (Fig. 4, [0034]), which meets the recited limitation of “chemically…disposed on surfaces of said particle of said aluminum alloy powder”.
Concerning claims 6, 8, 10, 29, 31, and 32, Martin’423 broadly teaches a matrix powder microparticle selected from aluminum and aluminum alloys, including aluminum alloys with one or more of Mg, Si, and Cu (see Martin’423 at claims 12 and 13), and therefore the broad disclosure of Martin’423 is held to meet the claimed alloying additions of Mg, Si, and Cu.
Overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the range, including the claimed range, from the broader range disclosed in the prior art, because the prior art finds that said composition in the entire disclosed range has a suitable utility. Additionally, "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d at 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Applicant has not clearly shown specific unexpected results with respect to the prior art of record or criticality of the instant claimed range (wherein said results must be fully commensurate in scope with the instantly claimed ranges, etc. see MPEP 716.02 d).
Response to Arguments/Amendment
In the response filed 7/16/24 applicant amended claims 1, 13, and 27, and submitted various arguments traversing the rejections of record. No new matter has been added.
Applicant’s argument that the instant claims are allowable because the prior art does not teach or suggest selecting a grain refining element from one or more of Zr, Ta, Nb, W, oxides, nitrides, carbides, borides, or aluminide, has not been found persuasive. As set forth above, the Zr hydride nanoparticles taught by Martin’423 meet the Markush group selection of Zr, and therefore meet the instant grain-refining element limitation. More particularly, though hydrides have been removed from the Markush group of grain refining elements, Zr is present in that Markush group. Martin’423 teaches Zr hydride, which contains Zr, and therefore Martin’423 meets the instant limitation.
The examiner agrees that the instantly amended claims are not obvious in view of Hou (who teaches vol% oxides outside the amended range) or Shiina (who teaches vol% Zr outside the amended range).
The closest prior art to amended claims 6, 8, 10, 29, 31, and 32 is held to be Martin’423. As discussed supra, Martin’423 broadly teaches a matrix powder microparticle selected from aluminum and aluminum alloys, including aluminum alloys with one or more of Mg, Si, and Cu (see Martin’423 at claims 12 and 13), and therefore the broad disclosure of Martin’423 is held to meet the claimed alloying additions of Mg, Si, and Cu. With respect to the broad teaching of overlap taught by the prior art, applicant has not clearly shown specific unexpected results with respect to the prior art of record or criticality of the instant claimed range.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE WYSZOMIERSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/J.C.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1733 11/21/24