DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over to Sen et al., (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20200104275 A1) in view of Kapur et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20080025289 A1) and Jau et al., (US 2020/0029458), currently sited 02/05/2025 in IDS, and Byers et al., (US 2020/0125529), previously sited as prior art in IDS, 09/20/21, and in further view of Gibb et al., (US 10,996,892), currently sited in IDS on 04/23/26.
As per claim 1, Sen teaches a system (Fig.1), comprising:
a first server (Figs. 1 and 5, target computing platform, 150 or other computing devices, [0074]), comprising:
a stored-program processing circuit (Figs. 1 and 5, controller, 582, note code/data 586),
a network interface circuit (Fig. 5, lines [0074], network interface, 550),
a cache-coherent switch (cache-coherent interface ([0015], These are examples of the types of interconnection and/or switches disclosed by Sen “..some interconnects and fabrics such as Intel compute express line (CXL)”), note cache coherent interconnect for accelerators, Fig. 1a, [0032] “remote direct memory access (RDMA)…CXL…Cache Coherent Interconnect for Accelerators (CCIX)..”, further note [0032-0074]), and
a first memory module (Figs. 1 and 5, memory subsystem, 520, memory controller, 522, [0074]).
Sen does not explicitly disclose the first memory module is connected to the cache-coherent switch, the cache-coherent switch is connected to the network interface circuit, and the stored-program processing circuit is connected to the cache-coherent switch.
Kapur discloses a cache-coherent switch (Figs.1 and 2, a cache coherent interconnect (CCl) port 102); wherein:
the first memory module is connected to the cache-coherent switch (a connection between memory controller 105(1)-105(N)),
the cache-coherent switch is connected to the network interface circuit (Kapur teaches a server-linking switch which is a connection between a cache coherent interconnect (CCl) port 102 and one or more peripheral interconnects (e.g., 135, 136, and 130); [0030-0031]; Figs.1 and 2, The IOH 115 may include a cache coherent interconnect (CCl) port 102 connected to the processor 101, one or more peripheral interconnects (e.g., 135, 136, and 130), datapath (DP) logic 102 (e.g., switch) to route transactions between the processor 101, I/O devices 104 (e.g., 195, 196, 190) and any internal agents (e.g., 140, 145, 150)),
and the stored-program processing circuit is connected to the cache-coherent switch ([0030-0031] ,Figs.1 and 2, Each processor may include a memory controller, memory controllers 105(1)-105(N), and each may be coupled to a corresponding system memory 110(1)-110(N).).
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Kapur‘s electronic system, for use in a workstation or server, for controlling traffic flow and ordering of packet data between peripheral devices such as network interface controller, storage interface to modify Sen’s system with Kapur. Doing so would simplify the processing operations and the apparatus provides an ordering and transaction flow for the packet processing engine, thus ensuring correct operation both within and external to the packet processing engine/virtualization engine (Kapur, [0020-0021]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Neither Sen or Kapur does not specifically teach the stored-program processing circuit and the network interface circuit being connected to the first memory module via the cache-coherent switch.
Jau discloses a first memory device (e.g., one of memory devices 442); and a second switch (e.g., top rack switch (TOR) 114) connected to the first server ([0031]; the TOR 114 is connected to the processing server 120 through the smart NIC card130 via a network link; see again [0031] - Jau’s second switch corresponds to the claimed network interface circuit), wherein the first memory device is connected to the first switch ( via a first interface [e.g., physical PCle 422 – Jan’s first switch corresponds to stored-program processing switch), and the first switch is connected to the second switch (Jau’s second switch corresponds to the network interface circuit) via a second interface different from the first interface (see again [0031]; the smart NIC card 130 is connected to the TOR114 via a network link).
Sen-Kapur and Jau are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, computer architecture and memory management. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sen-Kapur before him or her, to modify Sen-Kapur’s device incorporating Jau’s first switch and second switch (Jau’s second switch corresponds to the network interface circuit) connected to the first memory device wherein via a second interface different from the first interface (see again [0031]; the smart NIC card 130 is connected to the TOR114 via a network link) because doing so would add and expand the flexibility of Sen-Kapur by having a plurality of network switches when identifying data stored in Jau’s node memories 442.
Neither Sen nor Kapur nor Jan does not specifically teach wherein the cache-coherent switch is configured to support a cache coherent memory protocol.
Nonetheless, Byers discloses a controller being configured to communicate between a cache coherent interface and a memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034] with a “RDMA interface modules 24” (coherent switch) and inter-socket coherency bus ([0028], [0029] – supports memory protocol).
Sen-Kapur-Jau and Byers are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, computer architecture and memory management. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sen-Kapur-Jau before him or her, to modify Sen-Kapur-Jau’s device incorporating Byers’ “RDMA interface modules 24” and inter-socket coherency bus ([0028], [0029]). The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to implement an RDMA interface module on a multi-socket motherboard over a coherency supported interface and transmitting the data from the RDMA interface module on an RDMA link to a server in an RDMA domain (Byers [0013]) without significantly loading either computer's operating system thereby freeing up resources and facilitates faster data transfer and low-latency networking (Byers [0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Byers with Sen-Kapur-Jau to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
However, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers does not expressly teach “the cache coherent memory protocol being configured to support cache coherence and connections to the first memory module.” Gibb discloses a type of acceleration platform that use cache coherent interconnect (CCIX) (col. 1, lines 34-37, CCIX is a well-known chip-to-chip interconnect standard designed to enable cache-coherent communication) to interface with PCIe bus via drivers that are specific to the particular software and hardware platform utilized for this acceleration in data centers. (col. 1, lines28-40).
Gibb discloses a PCIe switch (* cache-coherent switch from applicant’s claim 1, col. 5, lines 66-67, col. 6, lines 4-10 – teaches PCIe accelerators ) that transmits ( via coherent memory protocol - a type of acceleration platform that use CCIX, col. 1, lines 34-37, CCIX is a well-known chip-to-chip interconnect standard designed to enable cache-coherent communication) data to and from RDMA NIC (*note network interface circuit from applicant’s claim 1) connects to a memory module (204, NVMe, col. 6, lines 39-43, * note first memory module from applicant’s claim 1) via the RDMA NIC (*note network interface module) being connected to the first memory module via the cache-coherent switch. (Gibb, col. 10, lines 10-16)
Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers and Gibb are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor,
computer architecture and memory management. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers
before him or her, to modify Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers’s device incorporating Gibb’s PCIe cache-coherent communication switch implementing a ‘cache coherent memory protocol being configured to support cache coherence” via RDMA NIC (*note network interface module) and ‘connections to a first memory module’ (NVMe, col. 6, lines 39-43, via Memory 420, Fig. 4 or Memory 520, Fig. 5). The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to further implement an acceleration process associated with the received first memory (NVM, 420, Fig. 4, or Fig. 5, 520) module and doing this acceleration function at the hardware accelerator would generate result data without significantly loading either computer's operating system thereby freeing up resources and facilitates faster data transfer. (Gibbs, col.2, lines 21-24) Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Gibbs with Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 2, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches further comprising a second memory module connected to the cache-coherent switch, wherein the first memory module comprises volatile memory and the second memory module comprises persistent memory. Kapur discloses a cache-coherent switch (Figs.1 and 2, a cache coherent interconnect (CCl) port 102); wherein: the first memory module is connected to the cache-coherent switch (a connection between memory controller 105(1)-105(N)), the cache-coherent switch is connected to the server-linking switch (a connection between a cache coherent interconnect (CCl) port 102 and one or more peripheral interconnects (e.g., 135, 136, and 130); [0030-0031]; Figs.1 and 2, The IOH 115 may include a cache coherent interconnect (CCl) port 102 connected to the processor 101, one or more peripheral interconnects (e.g., 135, 136, and 130), datapath (DP) logic 102 (e.g., switch) to route transactions between the processor 101, I/O devices 104 (e.g., 195, 196, 190) and any internal agents (e.g., 140, 145, 150)), and the stored-program processing circuit is connected to the cache-coherent switch ([0030-0031] ,Figs.1 and 2, Each processor may include a memory controller, memory controllers 105(1)-105(N), and each may be coupled to a corresponding system memory 110(1)-110(N). Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034])
As per claim 3, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches wherein the cache-coherent switch is configured to virtualize the first memory module and the second memory module. (Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031], Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034])
As per claim 4, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches wherein the first memory module comprises flash memory, and the cache-coherent switch is configured to provide a flash translation layer for the flash memory. (Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031], Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034])
As per claim 5, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches wherein the cache-coherent switch is configured to: monitor an access frequency of a first memory location in the first memory module; determine that the access frequency exceeds a first threshold; and copy the contents of the first memory location into a second memory location, the second memory location being in the second memory module. (Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031], Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034])
As per claim 6, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches wherein the second memory module comprises high bandwidth memory (HBM). (Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031])
As per claim 7, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches wherein the cache-coherent switch is configured to maintain a table for mapping processor-side addresses to memory-side addresses. (Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031])
As per claim 8, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches further comprising: a second server, and a network switch connected to first server and the second server. (Figs. 1 and 2, Kapur teaches a cache coherent interconnect (CCI) port 102, Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034])).
Claims 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over to Sen et al., (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20200104275 A1) and Kapur et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20080025289 A1) and Jau et al., (US 2020/0029458), currently sited 02/05/2025 in IDS, and Byers, and Gibb, and in further view of Devireddy (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20200412798 A1), all previously sited above.
As per claim 9, Sen-Kapur-Jau- Byers in further view of Gibb teaches does not expressly teach wherein the network switch comprises a top of rack (ToR) Ethernet switch. Devireddy teaches a plurality of racks 210 that may include one or more top-of-rack (TOR) switches 215, [0025-0029])
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Devireddy‘s system teaches that includes a TOR CXL switch, for use in a workstation or server, for controlling traffic flow and ordering of packet data between peripheral devices such as network interface controller, storage interface to modify the Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb. Doing so would simplify the processing operations and the apparatus provides an ordering and transaction flow for the packet processing engine in order to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031])
As per claim 10, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb-Devireddy teaches wherein the cache-coherent switch is configured to receive remote direct memory access (RDMA) requests, and to send RDMA responses. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031], Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034])
As per claim 11, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb-Devireddy teaches wherein the cache-coherent switch is configured to receive the remote direct memory access (RDMA) requests through the ToR Ethernet switch and through the network interface circuit, and to send RDMA responses through the ToR Ethernet switch and through the network interface circuit. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031], Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034]))
As per claim 12, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb-Devireddy teaches wherein the cache coherent memory protocol is cache-coherent switch is configured to support a Compute Express Link (CXL) protocol. (Devireddy‘s system teaches that includes a TOR CXL switch, for use in a workstation or server, Sen teaches the use of CXL switch [0015])
As per claim 13, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb-Devireddy teaches wherein the first server comprises an expansion socket adapter, connected to an expansion socket of the first server, the expansion socket adapter comprising: the cache-coherent switch; and a memory module socket, the first memory module being connected to the cache-coherent switch through the memory module socket. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031], Byers discloses the controller being configured to communicate between the cache coherent interface and the memory interface (note ‘supervisor 37’ that communicates via ‘high speed interconnect 40’ between cache coherent interface ‘coherent bus interface 32’ and ‘memory interface controller 31,’ Fig. 3, [0033-0034])
As per claim 14, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb-Devireddy teaches wherein the memory module socket comprises an M.2 socket. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031])
As per claim 15, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb-Devireddy teaches wherein the network interface circuit is on the expansion socket adapter. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031])
As per claim 16, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb-Devireddy teaches a method for performing remote direct memory access in a computing system (Sen, note cache coherent interconnect for accelerators, Fig. 1a, [0016, 0031-0032] “remote direct memory access (RDMA)…CXL…Cache Coherent Interconnect for Accelerators (CCIX)..”, further note [Sen - 0015, 0016, 0031-0074]; or Byers’ “RDMA interface modules 24” and inter-socket coherency bus (Byers - [0003], [0013], [0028-0029]), the computing system comprising: a first server (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers) and a second server (Sen, “..servers or other computing devices,” Fig. 5, [0074]), the first server comprising: a stored-program processing circuit (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers – note rejection for claim 1), a network interface circuit (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers – note rejection for claim 1), a cache-coherent switch (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers – note rejection for claim 1) configured to support a cache coherent memory protocol (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb – note rejection for claim 1), and a first memory module (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers – note rejection for claim 1), the first memory module being connected to the stored-program processing circuit via the cache-coherent switch (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers – Gibb note rejection for claim 1), the cache coherent memory protocol being configured to support a cache coherence and connections to the first memory module, (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers – Gibb note rejection for claim 1), the method comprising: receiving, by the cache-coherent switch (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb – note rejection for claim 1, Devireddy), a remote direct memory access (RDMA) request (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb– note rejection for claim 1, Sen, [0016, 0031-0032, 0074], Byers [0003], [0013], [0028-0029]), and sending, by the cache-coherent switch, a RDMA response (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb– note rejection for claim 1, Sen, [0016, 0031-0032, 0074], Byers [0003], [0013], [0028-0029]). Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb and Devireedy are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, computer architecture and memory management. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gib before him or her, to modify Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb’s device incorporating Devireddy. Doing so would simplify the processing operations and the apparatus provides an ordering and transaction flow for the packet processing engine in order to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031])
As per claim 17, Sen-Kapur-Byers-Jau-Gibb-Devireddy wherein: the computing system further comprises an Ethernet switch, and the receiving of the RDMA request comprises receiving the RDMA request through the Ethernet switch. Devireddy teaches a plurality of racks 210 that may include one or more top-of-rack (TOR) switches 215, [0025-0029]) Further, the combination of Sen-Kapur-Byers teaches that the cache-coherent switch is configured to receive the remote direct memory access (RDMA) requests through the ToR Ethernet switch (Devireddy) and through the network interface circuit, and to send RDMA responses through the ToR Ethernet switch and through the network interface circuit. It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, include Devireddy‘s system teaches that includes a TOR CXL switch, for use in a workstation or server, for controlling traffic flow and ordering of packet data between peripheral devices such as network interface controller, storage interface to modify the Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb.
As per claim 18, Sen-Kapur-Byers-Jau-Gibb-Devireddy teaches further comprising: receiving, by the cache-coherent switch (Sen, transmitting data between the device and network, 550, [0074], Fig. 5), a read command, from the stored- program processing circuit, for a first memory address, translating, by the cache-coherent switch, the first memory address to a second memory address switch (Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb – note rejection for claim 1, Devireddy, a remote direct memory access (RDMA) request, Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb – note rejection for claim 1, Sen, [0016, 0031-0032, 0074], Byers [0003], [0013], [0028-0029]), and sending, by the cache-coherent switch, a RDMA response - Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb – note rejection for claim 1, Sen, [0016, 0031-0032, 0074], Byers [0003], [0013], [0028-0029]), and retrieving, by the cache-coherent switch (cache-coherent invalidating Sen -[0112]), data from the first memory module at the second memory address. Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb and Devireedy are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, computer architecture and memory management. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gib before him or her, to modify Sen-Kapur-Jau-Byers-Gibb’s device incorporating Devireddy. Doing so would simplify the processing operations and the apparatus provides an ordering and transaction flow for the packet processing engine in order to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1. (Devireddy [0025-0029], Sen [0032-0074], Kapur [0020-0031])
As per claim 19, Sen-Kapur-Byers-Jau-Gibb-Devireddy teaches further comprising: receiving data, by the cache-coherent switch (Sen, transmitting data between the device and network, 550, [0074], Fig. 5), storing, by the cache-coherent switch (Sen - [0030]), the data in the first memory module, and sending, by the cache-coherent switch, to the stored-program processing circuit, a command for invalidating (Sen -[0112]) a cache line.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R.I .Hi(c). In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tammara Peyton whose telephone number is (571) 272-4157. The examiner can normally be reached between 8:30- 6:00 from Monday to Thursday, (I am off every first Friday), and 7:30- 4:00 every second Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor Henry Tsai can be reached on (571)272-4176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Any inquiry of a general nature of relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272- 2100.
/TAMMARA R PEYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184 June 4, 2026