DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 3, 5, 6, 13 and 15 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 12 are amended.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-12, and 14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villeneuve (US 2017/0155225) in view of Kawazu (US 2020/0412993), Wang (US 2018/0277030) and He (CN 104,333,964)
Regarding Claim 1, Villeneuve teaches a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system comprising: a light generator configured to irradiate a laser to an object disposed in a blind section of the LIDAR system [0014-16; 0051; 0094-95; 0103-05; 0109; 0116; 0139]; the laser having a wavelength area (range) of 250 nm to 11 um [0054; 0091-97]; a light receiver configured to sense light reflected from the object [#140 of Fig 1; 0049]; a receiver configured to receive a signal that is converted into an electric signal in the light receiver [0049-51; 0057; 0061-62; 0075; 0182]; a feedback control system comprising a comparator configured to repeat feedback control operation including determining whether the signal corresponds to a voltage value which is equal to or greater than a predetermined reference [0115; 0211-0219]; a controller and comparator are coupled through an internal communication channel [0049-52; 0057; 0060-62; 0067] and in response to a flag a controller configured to control a pulse width of the laser according to the determination of the comparator [#150 of Fig 1; 0049-51; 0060; 0062; 0075; 0094; 0139; 0211; 0214] -and, an output unit configured to output a pulse signal toward an internal communication channel [0049-52; 0057; 0060-62; 0067]; a pulse comparator configured to compare the pulse signal passing with a predetermined reference voltage [0217]; a determination unit configured to determine whether the pulse signal is attenuated based on the comparison; and a de-emphasis unit configured to determine whether the pulse signal is modulated based on the determination [0049-52; 0057; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094-5; 0101-05; 0109; 0115-6; 0139-41; 0182; 0207-08; 0211-19; 0290]. Villeneuve implies but does not explicitly teach to transmit a flag representing that the voltage value which is less than the predetermined reference to the controller until the voltage value of the laser becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference based on the control, when the comparator stops transmitting the flag when the voltage value becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference, and wherein the absence of the flag is used to terminate the feedback control operation [0049-51; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094; 0101; 0139; 0207-08; 0211; 0214; 0290]. Kawazu teaches to transmit a flag representing that the voltage value …wherein when the comparator stops transmitting the flag when the voltage value becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference, and wherein the absence of the flag is used to terminate the feedback control operation [0252; 0395] (Error flag XERP set to 1 when voltage VDDL < VthH and XERP set to 0 when VDDL > VthH). He teaches a feedback control system comprising a comparator configured to adjust and terminate the laser pulse width modulation and to repeat feedback control operation including determining whether the signal corresponds to a voltage value which is equal to or greater than a predetermined reference [Claims 1, 6, and 9; 0002-03; 0006; 0013; 0024; 0034-35; 0038] and voltage value becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference, and wherein when the comparator stops transmitting the flag when the voltage value becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference, and wherein the absence of the flag is used to terminate the feedback control operation [0002-03; 0006; 0013; 0024; 0034-35; 0038]. Wang teaches continuous flag transmission (continuous error feedback and correction) [0064]. It would have been obvious to modify the system and method of Villeneuve to include whether voltage value exceeded/came in under a reference threshold and transmitting in order to maximize signal-to-noise ratio but avoid saturation of the imaging pixels.
Regarding Claim 12, Villeneuve discloses a control method using a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system [0014-16; 0051], comprising: irradiating a laser to an object disposed in a blind section of the LIDAR system [0014-16; 0051; 0094-95; 0103-05; 0109; 0116; 0139]; the laser having a wavelength area (range) of 250 nm to 11 um [0054; 0091-97]; receiving a signal reflected from the object [0049-51; 0057; 0061-62; 0075; 0182]; repeating feedback control operation determining whether the received signal corresponds to a voltage value which is equal to or greater than a predetermined reference [0115; 0211-0219]; a controller and comparator are coupled through an internal communication channel [0049-52; 0057; 0060-62; 0067] and, in response to a flag controlling a pulse width of the laser irradiated to the object according to the determination of the voltage value of the signal [#150 of Fig 1; 0049-51; 0060; 0062; 0075; 0094; 0139; 0211; 0214] - and, controlling a pulse width, … outputting a pulse signal toward an internal communication channel [0049-52; 0057; 0094-95]; comparing the pulse signal passing the internal communication channel with a predetermined reference voltage [0271]; determining whether the pulse signal is attenuated based on the comparison; and determining whether the pulse signal is modulated based on the determination… [0049-52; 0057; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094-5; 0101-05; 0109; 0115-6; 0139-141; 0176; 0182; 0207-08; 0211-19; 0290]. Villeneuve implies but does not explicitly teach to transmit a flag representing that the voltage value which is less than the predetermined reference to the controller… when the comparator stops transmitting the flag when the voltage value becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference, and wherein the absence of the flag is used to terminate the feedback control operation [0049-51; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094; 0101; 0139; 0207-08; 0211; 0214; 0290]. Kawazu teaches to transmit a flag representing that the voltage value which is less than the predetermined reference to the controller until the voltage value … when the comparator stops transmitting the flag when the voltage value becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference, and wherein the absence of the flag is used to terminate the feedback control operation [0252; 0395] (Error flag XERP set to 1 when voltage VDDL < VthH and XERP set to 0 when VDDL > VthH). He teaches a comparator configured to repeat feedback control operation including determining whether the signal corresponds to a voltage value which is equal to or greater than a predetermined reference [Claims 1, 6, and 9; 0002-03; 0006; 0013; 0024; 0034-35; 0038] and when the comparator stops transmitting the flag when the voltage value becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined reference, and wherein the absence of the flag is used to terminate the feedback control operation [0002; 0006; 0024; 0034-35; 0038]. Wang teaches continuous flag transmission (continuous error feedback and correction) [0064]. It would have been obvious to modify the system and method of Villeneuve to include whether voltage value exceeded/came in under a reference threshold and transmitting in order to maximize signal-to-noise ratio but avoid saturation of the imaging pixels.
Regarding Claim 2, Villeneuve also teaches wherein the controller is configured to control an output power of the light generator through pulse width modulation [0049-54; 0099-0105; 0115; 0123].
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Villeneuve also teaches wherein the controller is configured to increase the pulse width of the laser and re-irradiated with the increased width to the object [0049-51; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094; 0101; 0139; 0207-08; 0211; 0214; 0290]. He also teaches this limitation in [0002; 0006; 0024; 0034-35; 0038].
Regarding Claim 7, Villeneuve also teaches wherein when it is determined that the pulse signal is attenuated, the de-emphasis unit is configured to perform amplitude modulation for a rising edge of the pulse signal [0049-51; 0057; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094-5; 0101-05; 0109; 0115-6; 0139; 0182; 0207-08; 0211-19; 0290].
Regarding Claim 8, Villeneuve also teaches wherein the pulse comparator is configured to: output a comparison result of a high level when the pulse signal is less than the reference voltage; and output a comparison result of a low level when the pulse signal is equal to or greater than the reference voltage [0049-51; 0057; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094-5; 0101-05; 0109; 0115-6; 0139; 0182; 0207-08; 0211-19; 0290]. Kawazu also teaches this limitation in [0252; 0395].
Regarding Claim 9, Villeneuve also teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to: determine that the pulse signal is attenuated when receiving the comparison result of the high level from the pulse comparator; determine that the pulse signal is in a normal state when receiving the comparison result of the low level from the pulse comparator; and activate the de-emphasis unit when it is determined that the pulse signal is attenuated [0049-51; 0057; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094-5; 0101-05; 0109; 0115-6; 0123; 0125; 0136; 0139; 0182; 0207-08; 0211-19; 0290]. Kawazu also teaches this limitation in [0252; 0395].
Regarding Claim 10, Villeneuve also teaches wherein the de-emphasis unit further comprises: a de-emphasis circuit connected to an output terminal of the output unit; a NOR gate [0211-19; 0323-25] configured to transmit an enable signal for activating the de-emphasis circuit when it is determined that the pulse signal is attenuated according to the determination; and a delay control connected to at least one input terminal of the NOR gate to delay and transmit input data that is input into the determination unit [0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094-5; 0101-05; 0109; 0115-6; 0139; 0182; 0207-08; 0211-19; 0290].
Regarding Claim 11, Villeneuve also teaches wherein the de-emphasis circuit is configured to perform pulse width modulation of the pulse signal [0049-51; 0057; 0060-62; 0067; 0075; 0094-5; 0101-05; 0109; 0115-6; 0123; 0125; 0136; 0139; 0182; 0207-08; 0211-19; 0290].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s amendments appear to only be including a wavelength range (applicant uses the word “area” but the office interprets “area” to normally mean the environment or area or space in which the laser is emitted, while the “range” is the span of wavelengths that the laser is emitted – the office uses the latter interpretation). Primary reference Villeneuve teaches in [0054] and [0091] – [0097] and others about various ranges of emitted wavelengths from the laser(s). As such, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645