DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/1/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 9, 12-15, 31-37, 54, 57-60, 117-119, and 122-123 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/3/2025 and 12/1/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 123 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 123,
Line 1-2 recites “a second opening”. Claim 123 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 and claim 123 do not require a first opening. The second opening of claim 123 is the only opening currently claimed in claim 123 and claim 1. It is unclear due to the opening being referred to as a second opening if a first opening is also required. For examination purposes Examiner construes “a second opening” to be a second opening of the annular wall and for a first opening to also be required. Examiner suggests replacing “a second opening” in line 1-2 of claim 123 with “an opening” and replacing all other instances of “the second opening” in claim 123 with “the opening” if only one opening is required or alternatively additionally required a first opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 12-15, and 122 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mosebach (U.S. PG publication 20170021103).
In regard to claim 1,
Mosebach discloses a drug delivery device (figure 1A, item 1; paragraph [0078] and [0157]) comprising:
a housing (figure 1A, item 2.1);
a drug storage container (figure 1A, item 3; paragraph [0078] and [0157]) fixed relative to the housing (paragraph [0105]; Examiner notes since item 3 is fixed relative to item 2, and item 2 includes item 2.1 as supported by paragraph [0078] therefore item 3 is fixed relative to housing 2.1) and including an interior surface (see figure 1A) and a stopper (figure 1A, item 6) slidable along the interior surface (paragraph [0078]);
a biasing member (figure 1A, item 9; paragraph [0081]);
a plunger (figure 1A, item 10) operably coupled to the biasing member (paragraph [0081]) and configured to:
selectively rotate from an initial rotational position (position of plunger when item 7 is in the first extended position described in paragraph [0110]) to a second rotational position (position of plunger when item 7 is in the retracted position and the plunger has rotated as described in paragraph [0110]) under a biasing force exerted by the biasing member (paragraph [0110]), and
translate linearly in a distal direction to drive the stopper through the drug storage container after rotating from the initial rotational position to the second rotational position (paragraph [0113]); and
a plunger guide (figure 1A, item 2.2) fixed relative to the housing (see figure 1A; paragraph [0092]) and having an annular wall (see figure 4 wherein item 2.2 has an annular wall comprising item 2.3), the plunger being disposed at least partially within the plunger guide (see figure 1A and [0087]),
wherein the plunger comprises a cam follower (cam follower 10.2 on plunger 10; see figure 8) and the plunger guide comprises a cam (cam 2.11 on plunger guide 2.2; see figure 6 and figure 4) formed by a proximally facing surface of the annular wall (see figure 4 and 8 wherein the cam is formed by a proximally facing surface of the annular wall), the proximally facing surface being sloped (see figure 8),
wherein the biasing force of the biasing member is configured to urge the cam follower to slide along the proximally facing surface to urge the plunger to rotate from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position (paragraph [0110]).
In regard to claim 2,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, the biasing member being disposed at least partially within the plunger (see figure 1A; paragraph [0081]).
In regard to claim 3,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 2, the biasing member comprising a compression spring (see figure 1A; paragraph [0081]).
In regard to claim 4,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 3, wherein the plunger is configured to translate linearly in the distal direction while rotating from the initial rotational position to the second rotational position (item 10.2 translates along 2.11 in the distal direction while rotating from the initial rotational position to the second rotational position; paragraph [0110], see figure 8 wherein item 2.11 is angled and enables movement of item 10.2 in the distal direction).
In regard to claim 9,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the cam follower is formed by at least one projection extending outwardly from the plunger (see figure 4; paragraph [0090]).
In regard to claim 12,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, comprising:
a releaser member (see portion of item 7 shaded in annotated figure 17B below which includes item 7.1) operably coupled to the plunger (paragraph [0110]; Since item 7 is operably coupled to the plunger, the portion of item 7 construed as the releaser member is operably coupled to the plunger) and configured to selectively rotate relative to the housing (item 7.1. of the releaser member is configured to selectively rotate relative to the housing 2.1 as item 7.1 can deflect inward as discussed in paragraph [0084]), wherein each of the plunger and the plunger guide is disposed at least partially within the releaser member (see figure 1A and 1B); and
a guard (see annotated figure 17B below) moveably positioned adjacent to an opening (see opening at the distal end of item 2.1) in the housing (see figure 1A) and operably coupled to the releaser member (see annotated figure 17B and paragraph [0110]).
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated figure 17B)]
In regard to claim 13,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 12, wherein the guard has an extended position (see figure 17A: first extend position FEP; paragraph [0107]) wherein the guard extends at least partially through the opening in the housing (see figure 17A) and a retracted position (see figure 18A: first retracted position; paragraph [0109]) wherein the guard is positioned away from the extended position toward the housing (paragraph [0109]; see figure 18A).
In regard to claim 14,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 13, wherein the releaser member is prevented from rotating in at least one rotational direction when the guard is in the extended position (paragraph [0110]; the releaser member is prevented from rotating in at least one rotational direction relative to plunger 10 when the guard is in the extended position), and wherein the releaser member is allowed to rotate in the at least one rotational direction when the guard is in the retracted position (paragraph [0110]; the releaser member is allowed to rotate in the at least one rotational direction relative to the plunger when the guard is in the retracted position).
In regard to claim 15,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 14, wherein moving the guard from the extended position to the retracted position allows the releaser member and the plunger to rotate jointly when the plunger rotates from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position under the biasing force exerted by the biasing member (paragraph [0110]; Examiner notes moving the guard from the extended position to the retracted position allows the plunger to rotate from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position under the biasing force exerted by the biasing member; Examiner further notes the releaser member would also be allowed to rotate by the movement of the guard and force exerted by the biasing member).
In regard to claim 122,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Opening )]
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the plunger guide comprises an opening (see figure 6 above) formed in the annular wall, and wherein the proximally facing surface defines a portion of the periphery of the opening (see figure 6 above).
Claims 1-4, 9, 12-15, and 122-123 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dasbach (U.S. PG publication 20210162133).
In regard to claim 1,
Dasbach discloses a drug delivery device (see figure 1D, item 1 and figure 15A-15E, item 12 and paragraph [0128] wherein the drug delivery device 1 has the plunger release mechanism 12 shown in figure 15A) comprising:
a housing (figure 1D, item 2.1);
a drug storage container (figure 1D, item 3) fixed relative to the housing (paragraph [0102]) and including an interior surface (see figure 1D) and a stopper (figure 1D, item 6) slidable along the interior surface (paragraph [0083] and [0086]);
a biasing member (figure 1D, item 9);
a plunger (figure 1D, item 10) operably coupled to the biasing member (paragraph [0086]) and configured to:
selectively rotate (paragraph [0129]) from an initial rotational position (see position shown in figure 15B) to a second rotational position (see position shown in figure 15D) under a biasing force exerted by the biasing member (paragraph [0133] and [0135]), and
translate linearly (paragraph [0136]) in a distal direction to drive the stopper through the drug storage container after rotating from the initial rotational position to the second rotational position (paragraph [0136]); and
a plunger guide (figure 15A-15D, item 2.2) fixed relative to the housing (paragraph [0096]) and having an annular wall (see figure 15A-15D), the plunger being disposed at least partially within the plunger guide (see figure 15A-15D and 1D),
wherein the plunger comprises a cam follower (figure 15A-15D, item 10.2) and the plunger guide comprises a cam (figure 15A-15D, item 2.11) formed by a proximally facing surface of the annular wall (see figure 15A-15D), the proximally facing surface being sloped (see figure 15A-15D),
wherein the biasing force of the biasing member is configured to urge the cam follower to slide along the proximally facing surface to urge the plunger to rotate from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position (paragraph [0135]).
In regard to claim 2,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, the biasing member being disposed at least partially within the plunger (see figure 1D).
In regard to claim 3,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 2, the biasing member comprising a compression spring (see figure 1D and paragraph [0092]).
In regard to claim 4,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 3, wherein the plunger is configured to translate linearly in the distal direction while rotating from the initial rotational position to the second rotational position (item 10.2 translates along 2.11 in the distal direction while rotating from the initial rotational position to the second rotational position, see figure 15A-15D wherein item 2.11 is angled and enables movement of item 10.2 in the distal direction).
In regard to claim 9,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the cam follower is formed by at least one projection extending outwardly from the plunger (see figure 4).
In regard to claim 12,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, comprising:
a releaser member (see figure 9B below where the releaser member is construed as the portion of item 7 that is not labeled as the guard) operably coupled to the plunger (paragraph [0094]) and configured to selectively rotate relative to the housing (item 7.1. of the releaser member is configured to selectively rotate relative to the housing 2.1 as item 7.1 can deflect inward as discussed in paragraph [0089]), wherein each of the plunger and the plunger guide is disposed at least partially within the releaser member (see figure 1D); and
a guard (see figure 9B below) moveably positioned adjacent to an opening in the housing (see figure 1D) and operably coupled to the releaser member (see figure 9B below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 9B)][AltContent: textbox (Releaser member )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Guard )][AltContent: connector]
In regard to claim 13,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 12, wherein the guard has an extended position wherein the guard extends at least partially through the opening in the housing (see figure 1D and paragraph [0106]; first extended position) and a retracted position wherein the guard is positioned away from the extended position toward the housing (paragraph [0106], retracted position).
In regard to claim 14,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 13, wherein the releaser member is prevented from rotating in at least one rotational direction when the guard is in the extended position (paragraph [0107]), and wherein the releaser member is allowed to rotate in the at least one rotational direction when the guard is in the retracted position (paragraph [0107]).
In regard to claim 15,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 14, wherein moving the guard from the extended position to the retracted position allows the releaser member and the plunger to rotate jointly when the plunger rotates from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position under the biasing force exerted by the biasing member (paragraph [0107]; Examiner notes moving the guard from the extended position to the retracted position allows the plunger to rotate from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position under the biasing force exerted by the biasing member; Examiner further notes the releaser member would also be allowed to rotate by the movement of the guard and force exerted by the biasing member).
In regard to claim 122,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Opening)]
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the plunger guide comprises an opening formed in the annular wall (see figure 15C above), and wherein the proximally facing surface defines a portion of the periphery of the opening (see figure 15C above).
In regard to claim 123,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First opening)][AltContent: textbox (Second opening)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect]
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein a second opening (see figure 15C above) is formed in the annular wall distal to the proximally facing surface (see figure 15C), the second opening being configured to receive the cam follower after the plunger rotates to the second rotational position (see figure 15D; paragraph [0135]) and allow the cam follower to translate linearly in the distal direction through the second opening without further rotation of the plunger (see figure 15D; paragraph [0135]).
Claims 31-37, 54, and 57-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garson (U.S. PG publication 20200101230).
In regard to claim 31,
Garson discloses a drug delivery device (figure 1 and 2, item 100; paragraph [0029]: wherein a medicament is delivered) comprising:
a housing (figure 2, item 118) having an opening (see opening at distal end which item 124 and 122 are received in);
a drug storage container (figure 2, item 200) including a delivery member (see needle in figure 2) having an insertion end (end which pierces the skin) configured to extend at least partially through the opening (see figure 2; paragraph [0048]: “the syringe may be fixed in relation to the injection device 100 and the force applied by the user when pushing the auto-injector 100 onto the injection site may insert the needle into the injection site”);
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Plunger biasing member)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Guard )][AltContent: connector]
a guard (see figure 1 above) moveably positioned adjacent to the opening (paragraph [0047]);
a plunger (figure 1 and 3A, item 106) moveable in a distal direction to expel a drug from the drug storage container through the delivery member (paragraph [0049]);
a plunger biasing member (pip of the locking shroud 122; paragraph [0047] and [0049]; Examiner notes the plunger biasing member biases the plunger to rotate); and
a releaser member (figure 2, item 116 and 114) operably coupled to the guard and the plunger (paragraph [0031]), wherein the releaser member includes a recess (internal track of item 116 disclosed in paragraph [0049] which receives a lug of the plunger) configured to receive a projection extending radially outwardly from the plunger (lug of the plunger disclosed in paragraph [0049]; see also paragraph [0031]), and wherein the releaser member is configured to rotate from an initial rotational position (position before rotation occurs) to a second rotational position (position after rotation occurs) under a biasing force exerted by the plunger biasing member (paragraph [0047] and [0049]).
In regard to claim 32,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 31, wherein the guard has an extended position (see position shown in figure 2) wherein the guard extends at least partially through the opening in the housing (see figure 2) and a retracted position (position when item 122 has been at least initially retracted as described in paragraph [0047]) wherein the guard is positioned away from the extended position toward the housing (paragraph [0047]).
In regard to claim 33,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 32, wherein the releaser member is prevented from rotating from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position when the guard is in the extended position (see paragraph [0033], and [0046]-[0047]; Examiner notes the releaser member cannot rotate when the guard is in the extended position. The cap 124 must be removed and the guard must be displaced before the releaser member can rotate), and wherein the releaser member is allowed to rotate from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position when the guard is in the retracted position (paragraph [0046]-[0047]; Examiner notes the releaser member rotates when the guard has been initially retracted and continues to rotate until the guard is fully retracted).
In regard to claim 34,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 33, wherein moving the guard from the extended position to the retracted position allows the releaser member and the plunger to rotate jointly when the releaser member rotates from the initial rotational position to the second rotational position under the biasing force exerted by the plunger biasing member (paragraph [0047] and [0049]).
In regard to claim 35,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 34, comprising a guard extension (figure 2, item 110; Examiner notes item 110 is construed as a guard extension as it is an extension and functions to guard components as it surrounds components. Examiner notes item 110 also extends via other components from the guard), wherein the releaser member is disposed at least partially within the guard extension (see figure 2 and 3A).
In regard to claim 36,
[AltContent: textbox (Second Projection )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect]
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 35, comprising a first projection (figure 5, item 307) extending outwardly from the releaser member (see figure 5) and a second projection (see figure 5 above) extending inwardly from the guard extension (see figure 5; Examiner notes the guard extension is a 3D structure and extends inward), wherein the first projection and the second projection engage one another to retain the releaser member in the initial rotational position (see figure 5; paragraph [0042]).
In regard to claim 37,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 36, wherein the second projection slides out of engagement with the first projection to allow the releaser member to rotate away from the initial rotational position toward the second rotational position when the guard is in the retracted position (paragraph [0042] and [0054]).
In regard to claim 54,
Garson discloses a drug delivery device (figure 1 and 2, item 100; paragraph [0029]: wherein a medicament is delivered) comprising:
a housing (figure 2, item 118) having an opening (see opening at distal end which item 124 and 122 are received in);
a drug storage container (figure 2, item 200) including a delivery member (see needle in figure 2) having an insertion end (end which pierces the skin) configured to extend at least partially through the opening (see figure 2; paragraph [0048]: “the syringe may be fixed in relation to the injection device 100 and the force applied by the user when pushing the auto-injector 100 onto the injection site may insert the needle into the injection site”);
a plunger (figure 1 and 3A, item 106),
a plunger biasing member (figure 2, item 112) initially retained in an energized state (see figure 2; paragraph [0029]), wherein releasing the plunger biasing member is configured to drive the plunger in a distal direction to expel a drug from the drug storage container through the delivery member (paragraph [0029] and [0049]);
an indicator (figure 3a, item 114 which includes lug 307; paragraph [0040]) having an initial position (see position shown in figure 3A) wherein the indicator retains the plunger biasing member in the energized state (see figure 3A wherein the indicator functions to retain the plunger biasing member in the energized state as item 112 is coupled to an end of item 114. As item 112 is between item 114 and 106, the indicator and plunger retain the plunger biasing member in the energized state when in the initial position; Examiner notes the claim does not specify how the plunger biasing member is retained via the indicator or how/if the plunger biasing member is released from the energized state), and a second position (position where item 307 has moved rearward in channel 312 to produce an audible sound as disclosed in paragraph [0054]-[0055]) proximal to the initial position (see figure 5 when item 307 is more proximal to the initial position once it moves rearward) wherein the indicator generates an audible signal indicating an end of drug delivery (paragraph [0055]); and
a second biasing member (figure 2, item 120, 122, and 116) configured to bias the indicator in a proximal direction (paragraph [0047] and [0053]-[0054]; Examiner notes item 120, 122, and 116 collective form the second biasing member. Item 122 is pushed back against item 120 which causes item 116 to rotate and bias the indicator in a proximal direction).
In regard to claim 57,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 54, wherein the second biasing member includes a compression spring (figure 2, item 120).
In regard to claim 58,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 54, comprising a cam (figure 5, item 311) and a cam follower (figure 5, item 307), wherein the indicator includes the cam follower (see figure 5 and paragraph [0040]).
In regard to claim 59,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 58, wherein a biasing force of the second biasing member urges the cam follower against the cam to urge the indicator to rotate relative to the housing (paragraph [0047] and [0053]-[0054]).
In regard to claim 60,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 59, wherein the indicator, when moving from the initial position to the second position, rotates relative to the housing and translates linearly in the proximal direction (paragraph [0053]-[0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 117 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosebach (U.S. PG publication 20170021103) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yie (U.S. PG publication 20170275370).
In regard to claim 117,
Mosebach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the drug storage container is filled or pre-filled with a drug (paragraph [0078], [0148], and [0157]-[0161]; Examiner notes the drug can be used for treatment of diabetes mellitus or complications associated with diabetes mellitus).
Mosebach is silent as to and wherein the drug comprises one of: a drug containing a human IgG1 kappa antibody, a drug containing a small interfering RNA (siRNA) that lowers lipoprotein(a), a drug containing erenumab, etanercept, Tezepelumab, efavaleukin alfa, evolocumab, and a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist.
Yie, which is concerned with treatments for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0001] and [0008]), teaches wherein the drug comprises one of a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist (paragraph [0009], [0505] and [0409]: wherein the drug is contained in a pre-filled syringe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the drug within the drug storage container of Mosebach with a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist, as taught by Yie, for the purpose of employing a more beneficial treatment for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0008]-[0010] of Yie).
Claim 117 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasbach (U.S. PG publication 20210162133) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yie (U.S. PG publication 20170275370).
In regard to claim 117,
Dasbach discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the drug storage container is filled or pre-filled with a drug (paragraph [0076], [0083], [0151]-[0155]; Examiner notes the drug can be used for treatment of diabetes mellitus or complications associated with diabetes mellitus).
Dasbach is silent as to and wherein the drug comprises one of: a drug containing a human IgG1 kappa antibody, a drug containing a small interfering RNA (siRNA) that lowers lipoprotein(a), a drug containing erenumab, etanercept, Tezepelumab, efavaleukin alfa, evolocumab, and a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist.
Yie, which is concerned with treatments for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0001] and [0008]), teaches wherein the drug comprises one of a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist (paragraph [0009], [0505] and [0409]: wherein the drug is contained in a pre-filled syringe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the drug within the drug storage container of Dasbach with a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist, as taught by Yie, for the purpose of employing a more beneficial treatment for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0008]-[0010] of Yie).
Claims 118-119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garson (U.S. PG publication 20200101230) as applied to claim 31 and 54 above, further in view of Yie (U.S. PG publication 20170275370) as evidenced by Mosebach (U.S. PG publication 20170021103)
In regard to claim 118,
Garson discloses the drug delivery device of claim 31, wherein the drug storage container is filled or pre-filled with the drug (paragraph [0002]-[0004] and [0029]).
Garson is silent as to wherein the drug comprises one of: a drug containing a human IgG1 kappa antibody, a drug containing a small interfering RNA (siRNA) that lowers lipoprotein(a), a drug containing erenumab, etanercept, Tezepelumab, efavaleukin alfa, evolocumab, and a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist.
Yie, which is concerned with treatments for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0001] and [0008]), teaches wherein the drug comprises one of a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist (paragraph [0009], [0505] and [0409]: wherein the drug is contained in a pre-filled syringe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the drug within the drug storage container of Garson with a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist, as taught by Yie, for the purpose of employing a beneficial treatment for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0008]-[0010] of Yie). Examiner notes as the drug delivered in Garson is not specified (paragraph [0001] of Garson), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that many different drugs could be delivered depending on the desired treatment result and as further evidenced by Mosebach which supports that a drug delivery device similar to Garson could be used to deliver a drug to treat diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0157]-[0161] of Mosebach).
In regard to claim 119,
Garson discloses the drug drug delivery device of claim 54, wherein the drug storage container is filled or pre-filled with the drug (paragraph [0002]-[0004] and [0029]).
Garson is silent as to wherein the drug comprises one of: a drug containing a human IgG1 kappa antibody, a drug containing a small interfering RNA (siRNA) that lowers lipoprotein(a), a drug containing erenumab, etanercept, Tezepelumab, efavaleukin alfa, evolocumab, and a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist.
Yie, which is concerned with treatments for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0001] and [0008]), teaches wherein the drug comprises one of a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist (paragraph [0009], [0505] and [0409]: wherein the drug is contained in a pre-filled syringe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the drug within the drug storage container of Garson with a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist, as taught by Yie, for the purpose of employing a beneficial treatment for diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0008]-[0010] of Yie). Examiner notes as the drug delivered in Garson is not specified (paragraph [0001] of Garson), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that many different drugs could be delivered depending on the desired treatment result and as further evidenced by Mosebach which supports that a drug delivery device similar to Garson could be used to deliver a drug to treat diabetes mellitus (paragraph [0157]-[0161] of Mosebach).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9-11, filed 12/1/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 31-37 over Mosebach have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 in regard to Garson have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As detailed above, claim 1 has not been rejected over Garson. Since Applicant has amended claim 1 to remove the limitation “wherein an opening is formed in the annular wall distal to the proximally facing surface, the opening being configured to receive the cam follower after the plunger rotates to the second rotational position and allow the cam follower to translate linearly in the distal direction through the opening without further rotation of the plunger”, Mosebach now discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. Additionally, in view of the amendments changing the scope of claim 1 and claim 122-123, claim 1 has also been rejected over Dasbach (U.S. PG publication 20210162133). Applicant states on page 13 of the arguments filed 12/1/2025 that claim 31 is a dependent claim of claim 1. Claim 31 however is an independent claim and not dependent on claim 1. Garson discloses the limitations of claim 31 as detailed above. No specific arguments regarding claim 31 and Garson have been provided other than that claim 31 depends on claim 1. As claim 31 does not depend on claim 1, these arguments are not found to be persuasive. Applicant argues in regard to claim 54 that Garson fails to disclose a second biasing member configured to bias the indicator in a proximal direction. This argument is not found to be persuasive since as detailed above item 120, 122, and 116 collective form the second biasing member. Item 122 is pushed back against item 120 which causes item 116 to rotate and bias the indicator in a proximal direction as disclosed in paragraph [0047] and [0053]-[0054]. Applicant’s arguments that the dependent claims are allowable because they depend on an allowable independent claim are not found to be persuasive as the independent claims have not been found allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785