DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims received on 8/6/2025 have been entered, and that no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues on page 8-9 in the filing on 8/6/2025 that “none of the cited references teaches or suggests ‘receiving a hyperlink associated with a media content item via the input display region in the second user interface that includes the plurality of user-selectable elements corresponding to a plurality of connected user profiles and the input display region configured to receive the media content item for sharing with the plurality of connected user profiles,’ as recited in amended claim 1.”
Response to Argument 1: Respectfully, the combination of Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the above. Lieb teaches receiving a hyperlink associated with a media content item via the input display region in the second user interface with web page links in sent messages: “a device can determine when a recipient user has viewed the shared album images, e.g., via the image application sending the indication, via the recipient user following a web page link …web page viewing can be detected by providing the links in the sent messages as unique links [Lieb 0045].” The second user interface [Lieb Fig. 10-14] shows user selectable elements corresponding to a plurality of connected user profiles [Fig. 10-12, elements 1002]. The second user interface [Lieb Fig. 10-14] also shows the input display region configured to receive the media content item for sharing with the plurality of connected user profiles [Lieb Fig. 13-14 show an input display region that has received an image as media content. Additionally, there is a text area (element 1402) that receives text input, which is capable to receive text hyperlinks].
Applicant argues that “Lieb only discusses determining whether images were viewed by users based on the recited “second user interface.” However, Lieb 0045 not only discusses determining whether images were viewed, but Lieb 0045 also discusses creating a message that includes hyperlinks associated with a media content item: “a device can determine when a recipient user has viewed the shared album images, e.g., via the image application sending the indication, via the recipient user following a web page link …web page viewing can be detected by providing the links in the sent messages as unique links [Lieb 0045].” What’s happening in Lieb 0045 is that the links to the images are unique to each recipient. That’s how a device can determine when a recipient user (among many recipients) have viewed the shared album images.
Furthermore, it is noted that the claims do not require “how” the link is associated with a media content item. Merely sending a link that determines whether the images were viewed or not, is also a link that is associated with the images.
This meets the claim limitations as currently claimed, and Applicant's Argument 1 filed on 8/6/2025 is moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendment and/or not persuasive. Applicant’s remaining statements regarding the remaining independent and dependent claims are moot or not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-13, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieb et al. (US Patent Application 2017/0093780; hereinafter Lieb) in view of Sarafa et al. (US Patent Application 2018/0241871; hereinafter Sarafa), in view of Forlenza et al. (US Patent Application US 20060265454 A1; hereinafter Forlenza).
As to independent claim 1, Lieb teaches “A method comprising:
generating, by a messaging system, a first user interface on a first device (Lieb Fig. 9, Para 0179), the first user interface including a first user-selectable icon (Lieb Para 0180 - the user selects the sharing control 906 which has been displayed in response to the user selecting one or more images);
receiving indication of user selection of the first user-selectable icon from the first device (Lieb Para 0180 - The selection of this control 906 commands the device to share the selected image(s));
causing a display of a second user interface on the first device, the second user interface including a plurality of user-selectable elements and an input display region (Lieb Fig. 10-14 as “a second user interface.” Fig. 10-12 shows user selectable elements 1002, and Fig. 13-14 show an input display region that has received an image as media content), each of the plurality of user-selectable elements corresponding to a connected user profile (Lieb Para 0183 -any or all of which can be selected by user input as suggested recipient users for a shared album that includes the images selected in interface 800. In this example, each suggested recipient user 1002 is associated with a different communication channel (e.g., different communication modality)) and including an avatar representation of a user associated with the connected user profile (Lieb Fig. 10 includes an image of each user), a name of the user (Lieb Fig. 10 includes a name of each user), and a current status of the user (Lieb 0183 and Fig. 10 show a current status of user 1008 being on the same network service; a current status of user 1012 being capable of communicating over SMS; and a current status of user 1016 on the same network service without a specific app. Note2: instant specification paragraph [10085] mentions a current status, but does not disclose what type of status or what the status means), the input display region being configured to receive a media content item for sharing with one or more connected user profiles (Lieb Fig. 10-14 as “a second user interface.” Fig. 10-12 shows user selectable elements, and Fig. 13-14 show an input display region that has received an image as media content);
receiving a hyperlink associated with a media content item via the input display region in the second user interface (i.e. a device can determine when a recipient user has viewed the shared album images, e.g., via the image application sending the indication, via the recipient user following a web page link…web page viewing can be detected by providing the links in the sent messages as unique links [Lieb 0045] note: images received in the input display region also contain a web page link. Note2: the links to the images are unique to each recipient. That’s how a device can determine when a recipient user (among many recipients) have viewed the shared album images) that includes the plurality of user-selectable elements corresponding to a plurality of connected user profiles and the input display region configured to receive the media content item for sharing with the plurality of connected user profiles (Lieb Fig. 10-14 as “a second user interface.” Fig. 10-12 shows user selectable elements 1002, and Fig. 13-14 show an input display region that has received an image as media content. Additionally, there is a text area (element 1402) that receives text input, which is capable to receive text hyperlinks. Sending links (that are associated with images) in messages are also taught in Lieb 0045, see above. It is noted that the term “second user interface” does not limit the invention to a single static screen (e.g. Lieb Fig. 10-14 as “a second user interface”). Neither do the claims require that the user-selectable elements and the input display region be displayed concurrently);…
based on receiving the indication of user selection of the first user-selectable element associated with the first connected user profile and the second user-selectable element associated with the second connected user profile via the second user interface, respectively transmitting a message that includes the hyperlink (i.e. providing the links in the sent messages as unique links (e.g., URLs) [Lieb 0045]) as a private message to a second device associated with the first connected user profile and to a third device associated with the second connected user profile, the private message being transmitted to the second device and the third device via a communication channel (Lieb 0075, Fig. 2, 10, 24, 26 - In block 216, a sharing message is sent to each recipient user in the set of recipient users using a communication channel associated with that recipient user… multiple of the recipient users may be associated with different types of communication channels… the message can include… a preview of one or more images of the shared album (e.g., preview images corresponding to album images, and/or a subset of the album images); Lieb 0133, Fig. 6 - If the selected recipient user has such an account, then in block 610 the sending user device creates an email sharing message including a link and a preview; Lieb 0139, Fig. 6 - If the selected recipient user does not have an account… the selected recipient user uses an email communication channel – Examiner interprets “communication channel” to be a communication modality. For example, emails are a communication channel/modality. Examiner notes that from Fig. 10 a plurality of users can be selected. From Fig. 10 and Fig. 6, each user may have a different communication channel, for example “recipient has account 608,” and “recipient using email 612”. From Fig. 6, in both communication channels, an email with media is sent. From Fig. 24, emails are one-on-one conversations. Thus, each conversation is a private message that includes media)…”
Lieb does not appear to teach explicitly:
“receiving, via the second user interface, indication of user selection of a first user-selectable element associated with a first connected user profile and a second user-selectable element associated with a second connected user profile from the plurality of user-selectable elements;”
However, Sarafa teaches in the same field of endeavor:
“receiving a… media content item…in the second user interface (Sarafa Fig. 1C, 1E, Para 0085 - selecting the interactable element 108 may cause a camera interface to be displayed, as shown in FIG. 1C. Para 0099 - capturing or selecting media (e.g., as was done in FIG. 1C) may cause a sharing interface 132 to be displayed, as shown in FIG. 1E. The sharing interface 132 may include a first portion 134 allowing the sending user to transmit the media as ephemeral content to a selected group of users in the sender's contacts list – Examiner notes that camera icon 108 is on the sharing interface 132, the second user interface)…;
receiving, via the second user interface, indication of user selection of a first user-selectable element associated with a first connected user profile and a second user-selectable element associated with a second connected user profile from the plurality of user-selectable elements (Sarafa Fig. 1E, Para 0101 - Selection elements 140-i may be provided in connection with each potential entity with whom the media may be shared. Upon selecting the selection elements 140-i, the selection elements may be updated to indicate that the entity has been selected for inclusion; Para 0106 - When the media is transmitted as ephemeral content using the ephemeral content sharing option of the first portion 134 as shown in FIG. 1E, the media may appear in the receiving users' ephemeral content interfaces 106 (FIGS. 1B and 1D). When the media is shared to a group or individual, the media may appear as a message in a conversation between the sending user and the group or individual – Examiner notes that a user can select recipients by selecting a recipient button – 140-2, 140-3, 140-4);”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Lieb at the time of filing, to modify a method for sharing images and image albums over a communication network disclosed by Lieb to include the concept of receiving content via a second user interface as taught by Sarafa to provide a more/better control of media content when sending messages to users [Sarafa, Para 0063].
One of the ordinary skill in the art wanted to be motivated to include the concept of receiving content via a second user interface as taught by Sarafa to provide a more/better control of media content when sending messages to users [Sarafa, Para 0063].
Lieb and Sarafa are silent regarding a communication channel “provided by the messaging system.”
Forlenza teaches “causing a display of a second user interface on the first device, the second user interface including a plurality of user-selectable elements…, each of the plurality of user-selectable elements corresponding to a connected user profile (i.e. the sender selects the recipients of his/her message (step 802). In one embodiment, the recipients are listed in an invitation window. In a preferred embodiment, group names along with the list of individuals from that group indented underneath it are shown in the invitation window. The message is then sent while simultaneously opening a separate chat window for each recipient of the message at the sender's location (step 804) [Forlenza 0051, Fig. 8])…
receiving, via the second user interface, indication of user selection of a first user-selectable element associated with a first connected user profile and a second user-selectable element associated with a second connected user profile from the plurality of user-selectable elements (i.e. the sender selects the recipients of his/her message (step 802). In one embodiment, the recipients are listed in an invitation window. In a preferred embodiment, group names along with the list of individuals from that group indented underneath it are shown in the invitation window. The message is then sent while simultaneously opening a separate chat window for each recipient of the message at the sender's location (step 804) [Forlenza 0051, Fig. 8]);
based on receiving the indication of user selection of the first user-selectable element associated with the first connected user profile and the second user-selectable element associated with the second connected user profile via the second user interface, respectively transmitting a message… as a private message to a second device associated with the first connected user profile and to a third device associated with the second connected user profile, the private message being transmitted to the second device and the third device via a communication channel provided by the messaging system (i.e. the sender selects the recipients of his/her message (step 802). In one embodiment, the recipients are listed in an invitation window. In a preferred embodiment, group names along with the list of individuals from that group indented underneath it are shown in the invitation window. The message is then sent while simultaneously opening a separate chat window for each recipient of the message at the sender's location (step 804) [Forlenza 0051, Fig. 8]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Lieb and Sarafa to include the feature of having the ability to broadcast over a communication channel provided by the messaging system as disclosed by Forlenza.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit “for providing improved functionality within instant messaging systems [Forlenza 0015],” because “current IM applications include a lack of a broadcast and close feature. No easy way exists to broadcast and open private chats, the invite window isn't as usable as it could be, and no way exists to queue broadcasts to off-line people [Forlenza 0014].”
As to dependent claim 2, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 1.
Sarafa further teaches: wherein the receiving the indication of selection of the first user- selectable element and the second user-selectable element from the plurality user-selectable elements is subsequent to receiving the media content item via the second user interface [Fig. 1E].
As to dependent claim 3, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 1.
Sarafa teaches in the same field of endeavor: wherein the second user interface comprises a transmission user-selectable icon, the transmission user-selectable icon including a text indicator [Fig. 1E – Examiner notes that “Send” is displayed].
As to dependent claim 7, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 3.
Lieb further teaches: further comprising:
in response to receiving indication of user selection of the transmission user-selectable icon, generate a third user interface includes a plurality of conversation display regions [Fig. 13, Para 0190 - the interface 1300 can be displayed in response to the user selecting the "next" control 1204 of interface 1000 as shown in FIG. 12; Para 0191 - If multiple images are selected to be shared, multiple images can be displayed in display area 1304. In addition, a message field 1306 can be included in interface 1300 to receive user input that provides a message associated with the shared album that is being created or added to by the selected image 902].
As to dependent claim 8, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 7.
Lieb further teaches: further comprising:
wherein the plurality of conversation display regions comprises a first conversation display region corresponding to a first private messaging user interface associated with the first connected user profile [Fig. 14, Para 0192 - the sharing user has input a message 1402 in the message field 1306].
As to dependent claim 10, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 1.
Sarafa further teaches: generating a first private messaging user interface that includes the message of time-limited access to facilitate a first private conversation with a first user corresponding to the first connected user profile; and
generating a second private messaging user interface that includes the message of time- limited access to facilitate a second private conversation with a second user corresponding to the second connected user profile [Para 0120 - The original sender of the ephemeral content and the user that replied to the ephemeral content may, alternatively or in addition, see the original message 146 and the reply 160 in a separate one-on-one conversation in a separate conversation interface 144 distinct from the group conversation].
As to independent claim 11, the claim is a system claim which implements the methods recited in claim 1. Accordingly, the claim is rejected on the same ground as the corresponding claim.
As to dependent claims 12-13, the claims are system claims which implement the methods recited in claims 2-3, respectfully. Accordingly, the claims are rejected on the same ground as the corresponding claims.
As to dependent claims 17-18, the claims are system claims which implement the methods recited in claims 7-8, respectfully. Accordingly, the claims are rejected on the same ground as the corresponding claims.
As to independent claim 20, the claim is a medium claim which implements the methods recited in claim 1. Accordingly, the claim is rejected on the same ground as the corresponding claim.
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieb in view of Sarafa, in view of Forlenza, further in view of Ahmed et al. (US Patent Application 2015/0172238; hereinafter Ahmed).
As to dependent claim 4, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 3.
Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza do not appear to teach: modifying the text indicator in response to the indication of user selection of the one or more user-selectable elements.
However, Ahmed teaches in the same field of endeavor: further comprising:
modifying the text indicator in response to the indication of user selection of the one or more user-selectable elements [Fig. 22, Para 0101 – The user can use select buttons 2240 to select friends and use send button 2250 to send the message to the selected friends – Examiner notes that if a user selects a different number of friends, “Send to 3 friends” would change to “Send to X number of friends].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Lieb, Sarafa, Forlenza and Ahmed at the time of filing, to modify a method for sharing images and image albums over a communication network disclosed by Lieb and a method for displaying an ephemeral content message taught by Sarafa to include the concept of sharing content on devices with reduced user actions taught by Ahmed to enhance their social experience (e.g., interacting with friends, co-workers, family, etc.) by using the system and processes of the present invention, which allows sharing content with less actions and time [Ahmed, Para 0017].
One of the ordinary skill in the art wanted to be motivated to include the concept of sharing content on devices with reduced user actions taught by Ahmed to enhance their social experience (e.g., interacting with friends, co-workers, family, etc.) by using the system and processes of the present invention, which allows sharing content with less actions and time [Ahmed, Para 0017].
The method of claim 5, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 1.
Ahmed further teaches:
in response to receiving indication of user selection of a single user-selectable element from the plurality of user-selectable elements, generating a first text indicator associated with the transmission user-selectable icon in the second user interface [Fig. 22, Para 0101 – The user can use select buttons 2240 to select friends and use send button 2250 to send the message to the selected friends – Examiner notes that if a user selects a different number of friends, “Send to 3 friends” would change to “Send to X number of friends].
As to dependent claim 6, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 1.
Ahmed further teaches: further comprising:
in response to receiving indication of user selection of two or more user-selectable elements from the plurality of user-selectable elements, generating a second text indicator associated with a transmission user-selectable icon in the second user interface [Fig. 22, Para 0101 – The user can use select buttons 2240 to select friends and use send button 2250 to send the message to the selected friends – Examiner notes that if a user selects a different number of friends, “Send to 3 friends” would change to “Send to X number of friends].
As to dependent claims 14-16, the claims are system claims which implement the methods recited in claims 4-6, respectfully. Accordingly, the claims are rejected on the same ground as the corresponding claims.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieb in view of Sarafa, in view of Forlenza, further in view of Prigozhin et al. (US Patent Application 2020/0228484; hereinafter Prigozhin).
As to dependent claim 9, Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza teach the method of claim 8.
Lieb and Sarafa and Forlenza do not appear to teach: wherein each of the plurality of conversation display regions comprises a visual indication of a read status of a most recent media content item.
However, Prigozhin further teaches in the same field of endeavor: further comprising:
wherein each of the plurality of conversation display regions comprises a visual indication of a read status of a most recent media content item [Para 0025 - a visual indicator to inform the user that the status 116 of the electronic message 112 has been modified].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Lieb, Sarafa, Forlenza and Prigozhin at the time of filing, to modify a method for sharing images and image albums over a communication network disclosed by Lieb and a method for displaying an ephemeral content message taught by Sarafa to include the concept of a method for marking status of displayed messaging based on reading status taught by Prigozhin to effectively identify the message as remaining in need of attention and/or servicing, and, in a more global manner, draw the attention of one or more other users via notifications [Prigozhin, Para 0013].
One of the ordinary skill in the art wanted to be motivated to include the concept of marking status of displayed messaging based on reading status taught by Prigozhin to effectively identify the message as remaining in need of attention and/or servicing, and, in a more global manner, draw the attention of one or more other users via notifications [Prigozhin, Para 0013].
As to dependent claim 19, the claim is a system claim which implements the methods recited in claim 9, respectfully. Accordingly, the claim is rejected on the same ground as the corresponding claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dalonzo (US 20210385184 A1) listed on 892 is related to user interfaces for messages.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/IRETE F EHICHIOYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2179