DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In applicant’s reply on 06/10/2025, the claims were amended. Based on these amendments, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn and new rejections can be found below. Revised rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 can be found below, as well as rejections of new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 31-32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 as amended recites “the plurality of heating devices being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray”. This is not supported by the disclosure as filed. Par. 0034 of applicant’s specification recites “the heating device is configured to heat the first heating area”, further Par. 0036 recites “the plurality of temperature sensors are in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray”. Though the specification states the sensors are in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray, it does not mention the heating devices being in contact with an inner surface. Claims 31-32 and 35-36 are similarly rejected as they depend from claim 11.
Claim 34 as amended recites “the first heating device and the second heating device being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray”. This is not supported by the disclosure as filed. Par. 0034 of applicant’s specification recites “the heating device is configured to heat the first heating area”, further Par. 0036 recites “the plurality of temperature sensors are in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray”. Though the specification states the sensors are in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray, it does not mention the heating devices being in contact with an inner surface.
New claim 35 recites “the highest temperature threshold value of the first mode is lower than the highest temperature threshold value of the second mode and higher than the lowest temperature threshold value of the second mode, and the lowest temperature threshold value of the first mode is lower than the lowest temperature threshold value of the second mode”. This is not supported by the disclosure as filed. Par. 0047 of applicant’s specification outline temperature ranges for a few different modes (steak, pancake, and fried egg). As these are merely specific instances, it is not sufficient to support a general statement of the relationship of the ranges in all instances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 32, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 101751055) found in applicant’s IDS filed 12/18/2020, translation filed 02/21/2024, in view of Deng (CN 105942880A) found in applicant’s IDS filed 09/21/2020, further in view of Axinte (US 2007/0034096A1), Slegt (US 6046438A1), Bugeia (EP2440007A2), Gu et al. (CN 105972650 A) and Chaudoir (US 5365039 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Yuan teaches a temperature control method for a cookware performed by a processor (microwave oven controlling thawing Par. 1, controller Par. 13) comprising:
collecting first temperature values detected by a plurality of first temperature sensors arranged at different positions of a first heating area of a tray of the cookware (multiple sampling points to simultaneously measure the temperature of the food arranged on a diameter of a food tray Par. 21);
the first heating area being one of a plurality of heating areas of the tray (multiple sampling points on a diameter of the food tray, sampling points that were not completely covered are rejected Par. 15-16). The data from the sensors which are not covered by the food are separated from the ones which are covered. This can reasonably be understood to be a first area having first temperature sensors (the area covered by the food and its respective sensors), and a second area having second temperature sensors (the area not covered by food and its respective sensors).
the first heating area corresponding to a first heating device (electronic components generate microwaves to cook food Par. 7)
determining a minimum temperature value and a maximum temperature value of the first heating area from among the collected first temperature values (maximum temperature and minimum temperature Par. 13)
starting the first heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the first heating area satisfying a first preset temperature increase condition, (If the measured maximum temperature is lower than the upper limit temperature and the measured minimum temperature is also lower than the lower limit temperature, the object needs to continue to thaw, the power level of the microwave oven is adjusted and started Par. 13)
the first preset temperature increase condition including the minimum temperature value of the first heating area being less than a lowest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area and the maximum temperature value of the first heating area being less than a highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area (If the measured maximum temperature is lower than the up--per limit temperature and the measured minimum temperature is also lower than the lower limit temperature Par. 13)
stopping the first heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the first heating area satisfying a first preset temperature reduction condition (compare the measured maximum temperature with the set upper limit temperature, if the measured temperature is higher than the upper limit temperature, forcibly stop the operation of the microwave oven Par. 13).
the first preset temperature reduction condition including the minimum temperature value of the first heating area being greater than or equal to the lowest temperature threshold value or the maximum temperature value of the first heating area being greater than or equal to the highest temperature threshold value (compare the measured maxim--um temperature with the set upper limit temperature, if the measured temperature is higher than the upper limit temperature, forcibly stop the operation of the microwave oven Par. 13).
Yuan does not teach the cookware being a baking machine and including a plurality of heating devices, each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to one of the plurality of heating devices, the baking machine including an upper baking tray and a lower baking tray, each of the upper baking tray and the lower baking tray including two or more of the plurality of heating areas, the plurality of first temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray, the plurality of heating devices being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray, the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area, the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device, and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device, presetting the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to each of a plurality of working modes, or determining the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to a current working mode of the each of the plurality of heating areas
Deng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the cookware being a baking machine (cooking device is an oven Par. 41)
and including a plurality of heating devices (plurality of heat generating units Par. 19)
each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to one of the plurality of heating devices (plurality of heating regions according to the number of heat generating units Par. 19; first portion of the first heat generating unit and a second heating region where the second heat generating unit is located Par. 42)
the first heating device being a heating tube (heating tube Par. 75)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to apply the multiple heating regions of Deng to the invention of Yuan. One would have been motivated to make this modification to control different zones of the cookware separately to ensure appropriate temperature is maintained (Deng Par. 10).
Deng does not teach the plurality of first temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray, the plurality of heating devices being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray, the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area, the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device, and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device, the baking machine includes an upper baking tray and a lower baking tray, each of the upper baking tray and the lower baking tray including two or more of the plurality of heating areas, presetting the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to each of a plurality of working modes, or determining the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to a current working mode of the each of the plurality of heating areas.
Axinte, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of first temperature sensors being in contact with the heating devices (a plurality of heat sensors 38a-e, each corresponding to a respective heating element 39a-e Par. 0035, Fig 3B),
the plurality of heating devices being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray (heating element 14 surrounded by dielectrics and insulation, may include a food contact surface 10 that directly contacts the food itself Par. 0024, Fig. 1; the heating surface is divided into a plurality of sections, each containing a heating element Par. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of modified Yuan with the heating devices of Axinte. One would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the total amount of time required to warm food (Axinte Par. 0020)
Axinte does not teach the plurality of first temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray, the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area, the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device, and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device, the baking machine includes an upper baking tray and a lower baking tray, each of the upper baking tray and the lower baking tray including two or more of the plurality of heating areas, presetting the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to each of a plurality of working modes, or determining the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to a current working mode of the each of the plurality of heating areas.
Slegt, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a heating element with a temperature sensor within the track of the heating element (Col. 2 lines 16-24, Fig. 1, Fig. 4 ). Applying this heating element to the heating device of Axinte would result in the plurality of first temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray.
the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area (Fig. 1, 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of modified Yuan with the heating element of Slegt. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for accurate temperature measurement without interference from the heating track (Slegt Col. 3 lines 26-44).
Slegt does not teach the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device, and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device, the baking machine includes an upper baking tray and a lower baking tray, each of the upper baking tray and the lower baking tray including two or more of the plurality of heating areas, presetting the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to each of a plurality of working modes, or determining the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to a current working mode of the each of the plurality of heating areas.
Bugeia, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form (sensors 7 Par. 0081-82, Heating zone on Fig. 2 below)
and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device (primary first temperature sensor on Fig. 2 below)
and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the heating area (secondary first temperature sensors on Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of modified Yuan with the sensor placement of Bugeia. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for control of the operation of a set of inductors being distributed in a two -dimensional frame in a cooking plane (Bugeia Par. 0017).
Applying the sensor locations of Bugeia to the heating device of modified Yuan, which includes a heating device with multiple sensors and a heating ring surrounding a center position of a heating area, would result in a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device, and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device.
Bugeia does not teach the baking machine includes an upper baking tray and a lower baking tray, each of the upper baking tray and the lower baking tray including two or more of the plurality of heating areas, presetting the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to each of a plurality of working modes, or determining the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for each of the plurality of heating areas corresponding to a current working mode of the each of the plurality of heating areas.
Gu, in the same field of endeavor teaches presetting the threshold value corresponding to each of a plurality of working modes (selecting a food type from the plurality of food types, obtaining the preset temperature value according to the correspondence between the food type and the preset temperature value Par. 23)
determining the temperature threshold value corresponding to a current working mode (selecting a food type from the plurality of food types, obtaining the preset temperature value according to the correspondence between the food type and the preset temperature value Par. 23)
Regarding the threshold values are preset and determined for each of the plurality of heating areas, it would have been obvious to apply Gu’s method to the multiple heating areas taught by the modified Yuan above.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Deng with the method of selecting a threshold value of Gu. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for the process to be controlled in a way that assures that it is suitable for the specific food (Gu Par. 27).
Gu does not teach the baking machine includes an upper baking tray and a lower baking tray, each of the upper baking tray and the lower baking tray including two or more of the plurality of heating areas.
Chaudoir, in the same field of endeavor teaches a baking machine with an upper baking tray and a lower baking tray (temperature controlled food-containing cabinet Claim 1; trays 20 Fig. 1 Col. 5-6 lines 62-6).
It would have been obvious to modify the modified Yuan with the multiple layers of Chaudoir. As Deng teaches an oven (Par. 41), which is known to have multiple levels, one in the art would have been motivated to apply the invention of modified Yuan to a multilayer system.
Regarding each of the upper baking tray and the lower baking tray including two or more of the plurality of heating areas, it would have been obvious to apply Chaudoir’s method to the multiple heating areas taught by modified Yuan above.
Regarding Claim 32, modified Yuan teaches the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value for a heating area corresponds to a mode of the plurality of working modes (rejection of claim 11; Yuan maximum temperature and minimum temperature Par. 13; Gu selecting a food type from the plurality of food types, obtaining the preset temperature value according to the correspondence between the food type and the preset temperature value Par. 23)
Modified Yuan does not teach the temperature thresholds of the first heating area are different from the temperature thresholds of the second heating area.
Deng teaches the first heating area is heated differently than the second heating area (independently control different zones, different cooking effect in different zones Par. 10). As Deng teaches the areas are controlled independently to achieve different cooking outcomes, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the independent zones to the working modes of modified Yuan to have heating areas with different temperature thresholds. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure appropriate temperature is maintained (Deng Par. 10).
Regarding claim 35, modified Yeng teaches the method of claim 11.
As seen in the above rejection of claim 11, Gu teaches the plurality of working modes of the baking machine (selecting a food type from the plurality of food types, obtaining the preset temperature value according to the correspondence between the food type and the preset temperature value Par. 23), which would reasonably include a first mode and a second mode different from each other.
Yuan, Deng, Axinte, Slegt, Bugeia, Gu, and Chaudoir do not teach the highest temperature threshold value of the first mode is lower than the highest temperature threshold value of the second mode and higher than the lowest temperature threshold value of the second mode, and the lowest temperature threshold value of the first mode is lower than the lowest temperature threshold value of the second mode.
Regarding the highest temperature threshold value of the first mode is lower than the highest temperature threshold value of the second mode and higher than the lowest temperature threshold value of the second mode, and the lowest temperature threshold value of the first mode is lower than the lowest temperature threshold value of the second mode, it is within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art to set the temperature thresholds as desired.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try different temperatures within a finite set of possible relationships with reasonable expectation of success. In this case, the possible relationships are either two modes with the same temperature thresholds, two modes in which one mode’s temperature thresholds encompasses the other mode’s thresholds, or two modes with temperature thresholds which overlap. With only three possible solutions, one would be motivated to try each solution and determine the preferred relationship. See MPEP 2143.E.
Claims 31 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Deng, Axinte, Slegt, Bugeia, Gu, and Chaudoir, further in view of Mohseni (US 2017/0318629 A1).
Regarding Claim 31, modified Yuan teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Yuan does not teach the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode.
Deng does not teach the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode.
Axinte does not teach the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode.
Slegt does not teach the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode.
Bugeia does not teach the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode.
Gu teaches the working mode is selected based on a food type from the plurality of food types (Par. 23), but does not teach does not teach the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode.
Chaudoir does not teach does not teach the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode.
Mohseni, in the same field of endeavor teaches an oven with the food types of steak, pancake, and fried egg (Par. 0011; Fig. 4, Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of modified Yuan with the food items of Mohseni. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for cooking a variety of items in a smaller space (Mohseni Par. 0004, 0011).
Regarding claim 36, modified Yuan teaches the limitations of claim 11, but does not teach wherein the plurality of working modes of the baking machine include a steak mode, a pancake mode, and a fried egg mode, the highest temperature threshold value of the pancake mode is lower than the highest temperature threshold value of the steak mode and higher than the highest temperature threshold value of the fried egg mode, and the lowest temperature threshold value of the pancake mode is lower than the lowest temperature threshold value of the steak mode and higher than the lowest temperature threshold value of the fried egg mode.
Mohseni, in the same field of endeavor teaches an oven with the food types of steak, pancake, and fried egg (Par. 0011; Fig. 4, Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of modified Yuan with the food items of Mohseni. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for cooking a variety of items in a smaller space (Mohseni Par. 0004, 0011).
Mohseni does not teach the highest temperature threshold value of the pancake mode is lower than the highest temperature threshold value of the steak mode and higher than the highest temperature threshold value of the fried egg mode, and the lowest temperature threshold value of the pancake mode is lower than the lowest temperature threshold value of the steak mode and higher than the lowest temperature threshold value of the fried egg mode.
Regarding the highest temperature threshold value of the pancake mode is lower than the highest temperature threshold value of the steak mode and higher than the highest temperature threshold value of the fried egg mode, and the lowest temperature threshold value of the pancake mode is lower than the lowest temperature threshold value of the steak mode and higher than the lowest temperature threshold value of the fried egg mode, as Mohseni teaches a steak, pancake, and fried egg mode, it is within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art to set the temperature thresholds as desired to achieve appropriate doneness of each of Mohseni’s taught food items. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try different temperatures within a finite set of possible relationships with reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to try each solution and determine the preferred relationship. See MPEP 2143.E.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Deng, Axinte, Slegt, Bugeia, and Gu.
Regarding Claim 34, Yuan teaches a temperature control method for a cookware performed by a processor (microwave oven controlling thawing Par. 1, controller Par. 13)
and comprising: collecting first temperature values detected by a plurality of first temperature sensors arranged at different positions corresponding to a first heating area of a baking tray of the cookware (multiple sampling points to simultaneously measure the temperature of the food arranged on a diameter of a food tray Par. 21);
and collecting second temperature values detected by a plurality of second temperature sensors arranged at different positions corresponding to a second heating area of the baking tray of the cookware (multiple sampling points on a diameter of the food tray, sampling points that were not completely covered are rejected Par. 15-16). The data from the sensors which are not covered by the food are separated from the ones which are covered. This can reasonably be understood to be a first area having first temperature sensors (the area covered by the food and its respective sensors), and a second area having second temperature sensors (the area not covered by food and its respective sensors)
and including a first heating device corresponding to the first heating area (electronic components generate microwaves to cook food Par. 7)
determining a minimum temperature value and a maximum temperature value of the first heating area from among the collected first temperature values (maximum temperature and minimum temperature Par. 13)
controlling the first heating device to heat or not heat the first heating area of the baking tray based on the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the first heating area (compare the measured maximum temperature with the set upper limit temperature, if the measured temperature is higher than the upper limit temperature, forcibly stop the operation of the microwave oven; If the measured maximum temperature is lower than the upper limit temperature and the measured minimum temperature is also lower than the lower limit temperature, the object needs to continue to thaw, the power level of the microwave oven is adjusted and started Par. 13).
including: starting a first heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the first heating area satisfying a first preset temperature increase condition (If the measured maximum temperature is lower than the upper limit temperature and the measured minimum temperature is also lower than the lower limit temperature, the object needs to continue to thaw, the power level of the microwave oven is adjusted and started Par. 13)
the first preset temperature increase condition including the minimum temperature value of the first heating area being less than a lowest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area and the maximum temperature value of the first heating area being less than a highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area (If the measured maximum temperature is lower than the up--per limit temperature and the measured minimum temperature is also lower than the lower limit temperature Par. 13)
and stopping the first heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the first heating area satisfying a first preset temperature reduction condition (compare the measured maximum temperature with the set upper limit temperature, if the measured temperature is higher than the upper limit temperature, forcibly stop the operation of the microwave oven Par. 13).
Yuan does not teach the plurality of first temperature sensors and the plurality of second temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray,
the cookware being a baking machine,
and a second heating device corresponding to the second heating area,
the first heating device and the second heating device being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray,
the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area,
the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device,
and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device
and determining a minimum temperature value and a maximum temperature value of the second heating area from among the collected second temperature values;
and controlling a second heating device to heat or not heat the second heating area of the baking tray based on the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area,
including: starting a second heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area satisfying a second preset temperature increase condition, the second preset temperature increase condition including the minimum temperature value of the second heating area being less than a lowest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area being less than a highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area,
and stopping the second heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area satisfying a second preset temperature reduction condition;
wherein: the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the first heating area;
the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the second heating area;
and the current working mode of the first heating area is different from the current working mode of the second heating area, and the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area are different from the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area, respectively.
Deng teaches the cookware being a baking machine (cooking device is an oven Par. 41)
and a second heating device corresponding to the second heating area (a second heating region where the second heat generating unit is located Par. 42)
determining a temperature value of the second heating area from collected second temperature values (collect current temperature of each heating area Par. 15; plurality of heating regions according to the number of heat generating units Par. 19). As Deng teaches determining a temperature of a second heating area from collected values, it would have been obvious to apply this to the method of determining minimum and maximum temperature values of Yuan.
and controlling a second heating device for the second heating area (a second heating region where the second heat generating unit is located Par. 42)
and the temperature threshold values preset for the first heating area are different from the temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area (cooking instruction includes a target heating temperature of each of the heat generating units, when the target heat generation temperature of each heat generating unit is not set in the cooking instruction the target heat generation temperatures of all the heat generating units are the same by default Par. 59). As Deng specifies that the target heat generation may be the same if not specified, there is a choice to specify each heat generating unit with its own target temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to apply the multiple heating regions of Deng to the invention of Yuan. One would have been motivated to make this modification to control different zones of the cookware separately to ensure appropriate temperature is maintained (Deng Par. 10).
Regarding controlling a second heating device to heat or not heat the second heating area of the baking tray based on the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area including: starting a second heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area satisfying a second preset temperature increase condition, the second preset temperature increase condition including the minimum temperature value of the second heating area being less than a lowest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area being less than a highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area, and stopping the second heating device in response to the minimum temperature value and the maximum temperature value of the second heating area satisfying a second preset temperature reduction condition, it would have been obvious to use the same control method of Yuan above for the second heating device of Deng.
Deng does not teach the plurality of first temperature sensors and the plurality of second temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray,
the first heating device and the second heating device being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray,
the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area,
the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device,
and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device
wherein: the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the first heating area; the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the second heating area; and the current working mode of the first heating area is different from the current working mode of the second heating area.
Axinte, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of first temperature sensors and the plurality of second temperature sensors being in contact with the heating devices (a plurality of heat sensors 38a-e, each corresponding to a respective heating element 39a-e Par. 0035, Fig 3B),
the first heating device and the second heating device being in contact with the inner surface of the baking tray (heating element 14 surrounded by dielectrics and insulation, may include a food contact surface 10 that directly contacts the food itself Par. 0024, Fig. 1; the heating surface is divided into a plurality of sections, each containing a heating element Par. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of modified Yuan with the heating devices of Axinte. One would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the total amount of time required to warm food (Axinte Par. 0020)
Axinte does not teach the plurality of first temperature sensors and the plurality of second temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray,
the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area,
the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device,
and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device
wherein: the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the first heating area; the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the second heating area; and the current working mode of the first heating area is different from the current working mode of the second heating area.
Slegt, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a heating element with a temperature sensor within the track of the heating element (Col. 2 lines 16-24, Fig. 1, Fig. 4 ). Applying this heating element to the heating device of Axinte would result in the plurality of first temperature sensors being in contact with an inner surface of the baking tray.
the first heating device being a ring heating tube surrounding a center position of the first heating area (Fig. 1, 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of modified Yuan with the heating element of Slegt. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for accurate temperature measurement without interference from the heating track (Slegt Col. 3 lines 26-44).
Slegt does not teach the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device,
and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device
wherein: the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the first heating area; the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the second heating area; and the current working mode of the first heating area is different from the current working mode of the second heating area.
Bugeia, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of first temperature sensors being distributed in a radial form (sensors 7 Par. 0081-82, Heating zone on Fig. 2 below)
and including a primary first temperature sensor at an inner side of the first heating device (primary first temperature sensor on Fig. 2 below)
and a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the heating area (secondary first temperature sensors on Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of modified Yuan with the sensor placement of Bugeia. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for control of the operation of a set of inductors being distributed in a two -dimensional frame in a cooking plane (Bugeia Par. 0017).
Applying the sensor locations of Bugeia to the heating device of modified Yuan, which includes a heating device with multiple sensors and a heating ring surrounding a center position of a heating area, would result in a plurality of secondary first temperature sensors distributed at an outer side of the first heating device, and a distance between the primary first temperature sensor and the first heating device being greater than a distance between each of the plurality of secondary first temperature sensors and the first heating device.
Bugeia does not teach wherein: the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the first heating area; the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the second heating area; and the current working mode of the first heating area is different from the current working mode of the second heating area.
Gu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the first heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the first heating area (selecting a food type from the plurality of food types, obtaining the preset temperature value according to the correspondence between the food type and the preset temperature value Par. 23)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Deng with the method of selecting a threshold value of Gu. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for the process to be controlled in a way that assures that it is suitable for the specific food (Gu Par. 27).
Regarding the lowest temperature threshold value and the highest temperature threshold value preset for the second heating area are determined based on a current working mode of the second heating area, it would have been obvious to apply the working mode of Gu with the multiple heating regions of Deng above to select a working mode for the second heating region.
Regarding and the current working mode of the first heating area is different from the current working mode of the second heating area, it would have been obvious to apply the working mode of Gu with the multiple heating regions of Deng above to separately select a food type for each heating region.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that the cited references fail to teach the newly added limitations of claims 11 and 34 as well as new claims 35-36, the revised and new rejections can be found above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792