DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holzwarth (2,095,984). Holzwarth teaches An engine, comprising: (a) a compressor 30 for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer; b) a venturi carburetor fuel [5a, 5a] mixing system in fluid communication with the compressor for mixing fuel with the pressurized oxidizer creating a fuel-oxidizer mixture; (c) a combustion chamber [e.g. beginning at the constant area portion] adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture that is created prior [mixture of 5a from venturi carburetor, note throat above leadline for 3];] to entering said combustion chamber; (d) at least one ignition system 1a connected to the combustion chamber for igniting the fuel-oxidizer mixture inside of the combustion chamber; (e) at least one exhaust port 2a including an exit pressure release valve 2a operatively connected to an exhaust conduit, said exhaust port in fluid communication with the combustion chamber for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture; (f) a turbine 2, 6 having a rotating shaft and a plurality of turbine blades connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust from said exhaust port conduit; whereby the fluid force of the exhaust through the exhaust port 2a causes the turbine blades to rotate the shaft; and (g) a generator 31 in communication with the turbine and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft and provide power to the compressor; wherein the fuel-oxidizer mixture enters the combustion chamber through an entrance device 6a that prevents pressurized exhaust from flowing backward into the compressor; wherein the ignition system 1a is a spark plug [page 2, lines 31+]; wherein the exhaust conduit 3a includes a nozzle for the exhaust to exit and apply fluid pressure to the turbine blades [page 2, lines 39+]; wherein the fuel-oxidizer mixture is transported to a plurality of combustion chambers 1 each including at least one exhaust port 3a in fluid communication with the turbine; wherein the turbine shaft includes a plurality of turbine blade stages 2, 6; further comprising at least one additional turbine 6 [additional to 2] connected downstream of the combustion chamber 1 for receiving the exhaust; further comprising a flywheel [note broadly rotating steam turbines 22, 25 would act as a flywheel as they have rotational inertia] connected to the turbine 2, 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzwarth (2,095,984). Holzwarth does not necessarily teach the ignition system includes a plurality of spark plugs with a predetermined firing sequence. Holzwarth ‘047 teaches the ignition system includes a plurality of spark plugs G1, G2 with a predetermined firing sequence in a manner which ensures ignition in the chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a plurality of spark plugs with a predetermined firing sequence, as taught by Holzwarth ‘047, in order to ensure ignition in the chamber.
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohishi (2017/0036661) in view of any of Scragg (6,000,214), Schwarz (1,288,696) and Osburn (3,052,094) and for claim 13 applying the Scragg (6,000,214) reference. Ohishi teaches An engine, comprising: (a) a compressor [turbocharger, paragraph 0049] for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer 59; (b) a fuel mixing system 7 in fluid communication with the compressor for mixing fuel 19 with the pressurized oxidizer 59 creating a fuel-oxidizer mixture; (c) a combustion chamber 11 adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture that is created prior to entering said combustion chamber; (d) at least one ignition system 42 connected to the combustion chamber for igniting the fuel-oxidizer mixture inside of the combustion chamber; (e) at least one exhaust port 15 including an exit pressure release valve 81 [see paragraphs 0056, 0057, which teaches the exit valve 81 releases the pressure from the combustor] operatively connected to an exhaust conduit, said exhaust port 15 in fluid communication with the combustion chamber for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture; (f) a turbine 39 having a rotating shaft 38 and a plurality of turbine blades connected downstream of the combustion chamber 11 for receiving the exhaust from said exhaust port conduit whereby the fluid force of the exhaust through the exhaust port causes the turbine blades to rotate the shaft; and (g) a generator 31 in communication with the turbine and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft and provide power to the compressor; wherein the fuel-oxidizer mixture 13 enters the combustion chamber through an entrance device 41 that prevents pressurized exhaust from flowing backward into the compressor; wherein the ignition system 42 is a spark plug [paragraph 0097 teaches the spark from the igniter]; wherein the ignition system includes a plurality of spark plugs 42 with a predetermined firing sequence [inherent for a plurality of combustion chambers 11]; wherein the exhaust conduit includes a nozzle [15 or 51 outer wall form a shaped nozzle] for the exhaust to exit and apply fluid pressure to the turbine blades; wherein the fuel-oxidizer mixture is transported to a plurality of combustion chambers 11 [paragraph 0047] each including at least one exhaust port 15 in fluid communication with the turbine; wherein the turbine shaft includes a plurality of turbine blade stages [two shown in Fig. 1]; further comprising at least one additional turbine [2nd turbine of 39] connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust; Ohishi teaches various aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach wherein the fuel mixing system is a venturi carburetor nor a flywheel connected to the turbine. Scragg teaches an analogous engine with wherein the fuel mixing system 20, 19 is a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system which allows enhanced mixing of the fuel/air [col. 3, lines 24-27]; and further comprising a flywheel 49 connected to the turbine 11 and which allows for maintaining a shaft speed. Schwarz teaches a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system 14, 17 in fluid communication with the oxidizer for mixing fuel with the oxidizer creating a fuel-oxidizer mixture [page 2, lines 14-20; page 1, lines 45-55] in order to create the desired fuel/oxidizer mixture. Osburn teaches a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system 20 [col. 1, lines 39-42] in fluid communication with the pressurized oxidizer from compressor / pump 32 [col. 2, lines 47-58] for mixing fuel 24 with the pressurized oxidizer creating a fuel-oxidizer mixture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system, as taught by any of Scragg, Schwarz, and Osburn, to promote enhanced mixing of the fuel/air and maintain a shaft speed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a flywheel, as taught by Scragg, to maintain a shaft speed. Ohishi already teaches g) a generator 31 in communication with the turbine and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft and provide power to the compressor. Alternately, Scragg teaches (g) a generator 37 [Fig. 1] in communication with the turbine 11 and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft and provide power to the compressor is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a generator and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft and provide power to the compressor, in the manner taught by Scragg, as well known way of generating power and utilizing it in the system to provide power to the compressor.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohishi (2017/0036661) in view of either Gabrielson et al (5,216,876) or Sato et al (7,334,391). Ohishi teaches An engine, comprising: (a) a compressor [turbocharger] for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer; (b) a fuel mixing system 13 for receiving said pressurized oxidizer from said compressor for mixing fuel 19 with said pressurized oxidizer 59 to create a fuel- oxidizer mixture; (d) a combustion chamber 11 adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture; (e) at least one ignition system 42 connected to the combustion chamber for igniting the fuel-oxidizer mixture inside of the combustion chamber; (f) at least one exhaust port 15 including an exit pressure release valve 81 operatively connected to an exhaust conduit, said exhaust port in fluid communication with the combustion chamber for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture; and (g) a turbine 39 having a rotating shaft and a plurality of turbine blades connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust from said exhaust port conduit 15, whereby the fluid force of the exhaust through the exhaust port causes the turbine blades to rotate the shaft. Ohishi does not teach (c) a reservoir for receiving said fuel-oxidizer mixture from said fuel mixing system, wherein said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created prior to entry into said reservoir; the combustion chamber 11 adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture from said reservoir. Gabrielson teaches An engine, comprising: (a) a compressor 22 for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer 7 [note this is termed air]; (b) a fuel mixing system 18 [Fig. 2] for receiving said pressurized oxidizer from said compressor for mixing fuel with said pressurized oxidizer [from 22] to create a fuel- oxidizer mixture; (c) a reservoir 21 for receiving said fuel-oxidizer mixture [2, 18] from said fuel mixing system, wherein said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created prior to entry into said reservoir; (d) a combustion chamber 10 adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture from said reservoir. Note that as fuel 18 is injected and mixed with air upstream of the reservoir 21, this inherently stores fuel/oxidizer mixture in the reservoir whenever fuel 18 is injected upstream of 21. Alternately, Sako et al teach a booster / compressor 47 for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer; (b) a fuel mixing system 10 for receiving said pressurized oxidizer from said compressor 47 for mixing fuel 11 with said pressurized oxidizer to create a fuel-oxidizer mixture 50; (c) a reservoir 16 / 33 [Figs. 1, 5; col. 9, lines 58-col. 10, line 10] for receiving said fuel-oxidizer mixture from said fuel mixing system, wherein said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created prior to entry into said reservoir 16 / 33; (d) a combustion chamber [of the gas turbines 3 in Fig. 2, see col. 6, lines 22-26] adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture from said reservoir. Sako et al teach the fuel mixing system upstream of the reservoir allows creating of the desired mixture concentration of the fuel/oxidizer mixture that is delivered to the combustor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ place the fuel mixing system the reservoir for receiving said fuel-oxidizer mixture from said fuel mixing system, wherein said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created prior to entry into said reservoir and connected to the combustion chamber, to create a fuel-oxidizer mixture inside of the reservoir portion, in the manner taught by either Gabrielson et al or Sako et al, in order to provide pressure equalization and/or store the fuel/oxidizer till desired and/or to provide a desired fuel concentration to the combustor.
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem (4,807,440) in view of any of Scragg (6,000,214), Schwarz (1,288,696) Osburn (3,052,094) and the Engineer’s Edge https://www.engineersedge.com/fluid_flow/venturi_flow_equation_and_calculator_14001.htm. Salem teaches An engine, comprising: (a) a compressor [54, positioned between 58 and 66 in Fig. 1 and shown in Fig. 5] for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer 56; (b) a fuel mixing system in fluid communication with the compressor for mixing fuel with the pressurized oxidizer creating a fuel-oxidizer mixture 52 [note that fuel/oxidizer mixture may flow from reservoir 50]; (c) a combustion chamber 22 adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture 52 that is created prior to entering said combustion chamber; (d) at least one ignition system 32 connected to the combustion chamber for igniting the fuel-oxidizer mixture inside of the combustion chamber; (e) at least one exhaust port 26 including an exit pressure release valve 30 operatively connected to an exhaust conduit 34, said exhaust port in fluid communication with the combustion chamber 22 for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture; (f) a turbine 40 having a rotating shaft 42 and a plurality of turbine blades connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust from said exhaust port conduit 26 whereby the fluid force of the exhaust through the exhaust port causes the turbine blades to rotate the shaft; and (g) a generator [alternator, bottom of col. 5] in communication with the turbine and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft 42 and provide power to the compressor 54; wherein the fuel-oxidizer mixture enters the combustion chamber through an entrance device 28 that prevents pressurized exhaust from flowing backward into the compressor; wherein the ignition system is a spark plug; wherein the ignition system 32 includes a plurality of spark plugs 32 with a predetermined firing sequence; wherein the exhaust conduit 36 includes a nozzle 38 for the exhaust to exit and apply fluid pressure to the turbine blades; wherein the combustion chamber includes a plurality of exhaust ports 34, 38 in fluid communication with the turbine; wherein the fuel-oxidizer mixture is transported to a plurality of combustion chambers 22 each including at least one exhaust port 30in fluid communication with the turbine; Salem does not teach a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system. Scragg teaches an analogous engine with wherein the fuel mixing system 20, 19 is a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system which allows enhanced mixing of the fuel/air [col. 3, lines 24-27] facilitates mixing of fuel and air prior to combustion. Alternately, the Engineer’s Edge teaches that venturis can be used be mix liquid with gas. Schwarz teaches a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system 14, 17 in fluid communication with the oxidizer for mixing fuel with the oxidizer creating a fuel-oxidizer mixture [page 2, lines 14-20; page 1, lines 45-55] in order to create the desired fuel/oxidizer mixture. Osburn teaches a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system 20 [col. 1, lines 39-42] in fluid communication with the pressurized oxidizer from compressor / pump 32 [col. 2, lines 47-58] for mixing fuel 24 with the pressurized oxidizer creating a fuel-oxidizer mixture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a venturi carburetor fuel mixing system, as taught by any of Scragg, Schwarz, Osburn and Engineer’s Edge, to promote enhanced mixing of the fuel/air. Salem does not teach wherein the turbine shaft includes a plurality of turbine blade stages; further comprising at least one additional turbine connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust; further comprising a flywheel connected to the turbine; Scragg teaches an analogous turbine wherein the turbine 11 shaft includes a plurality of turbine blade stages [col. 8, lines 19-23 teaches multiple turbines / stages]; further comprising at least one additional turbine connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust [col. 8, lines 19-23 teaches multiple turbines / stages]; further comprising a flywheel 49 connected to the turbine 11; wherein the turbine shaft includes a plurality of turbine blade stages; further comprising at least one additional turbine connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust. It would have been obvious to utilize the plural turbine stages and flywheel arrangement, taught by Scragg, in order to generate additional power and/or operate at higher efficiency due to increases turbine expansion and/or to operate at a stable speed. Salem teaches g) a generator [alternator, bottom of col. 5] in communication with the turbine and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft 42 and provide power to the compressor. Alternately, Scragg teaches (g) a generator 37 [Fig. 1] in communication with the turbine 11 and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft and provide power to the compressor is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a generator and adapted to generate power from the rotation of the shaft and provide power to the compressor, in the manner taught by Scragg, as well known way of generating power and utilizing it in the system to provide power to the compressor.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem (4,807,440) in view of either Gabrielson et al (5,216,876) or Sato et al (7,334,391). Salem teaches An engine, comprising: (a) a compressor 54 for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer; (b) a fuel mixing system for receiving said pressurized oxidizer from said compressor for mixing fuel with said pressurized oxidizer to create a fuel- oxidizer mixture [reservoir 50 may contain a mixture]; (c) a reservoir 50 for receiving said fuel-oxidizer mixture from said fuel mixing system, it is unclear wherein said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created prior to entry into said reservoir; (d) a combustion chamber 22 adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture from said reservoir; (e) at least one ignition system 32 connected to the combustion chamber for igniting the fuel-oxidizer mixture inside of the combustion chamber; (f) at least one exhaust port 26 including an exit pressure release valve 30 operatively connected to an exhaust conduit, said exhaust port in fluid communication with the combustion chamber for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture; and (g)) a turbine 40 having a rotating shaft and a plurality of turbine blades connected downstream of the combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust from said exhaust port conduit, whereby the fluid force of the exhaust through the exhaust port causes the turbine blades to rotate the shaft 42. Salem teaches that the reservoir 50, 51 may contain only air / oxidizer or a mixture of fuel/oxidizer [see bottom of col. 3] and that the fuel may be originally a liquid fuel [top of col. 6]. In which case the fuel must be mixed in or prior to entry into the reservoir 50. Salem does not clearly teach said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created upstream said reservoir. Gabrielson teaches An engine, comprising: (a) a compressor 22 for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer 7 [note this is termed air; (b) a fuel mixing system 18 [Fig. 2] for receiving said pressurized oxidizer from said compressor for mixing fuel with said pressurized oxidizer [from 22] to create a fuel- oxidizer mixture; (c) a reservoir 21 for receiving said fuel-oxidizer mixture [2, 18] from said fuel mixing system, wherein said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created prior to entry into said reservoir; (d) a combustion chamber 10 adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture from said reservoir. Note that as fuel 18 is injected and mixed with air upstream of the reservoir 21, this inherently stores fuel/oxidizer mixture in the reservoir whenever fuel 18 is injected upstream of 21. Alternately, Sako et al teach a booster / compressor 47 for generating a flow of pressurized oxidizer; (b) a fuel mixing system 10 for receiving said pressurized oxidizer from said compressor 47 for mixing fuel 11 with said pressurized oxidizer to create a fuel-oxidizer mixture 50; (c) a reservoir 16 / 33 [Figs. 1, 5; col. 9, lines 58-col. 10, line 10] for receiving said fuel-oxidizer mixture from said fuel mixing system, wherein said fuel-oxidizer mixture is created prior to entry into said reservoir 16 / 33; (d) a combustion chamber [of the gas turbines 3 in Fig. 2, see col. 6, lines 22-26] adapted to receive the fuel-oxidizer mixture from said reservoir. Sako et al teach the fuel mixing system upstream of the reservoir allows creating of the desired mixture concentration of the fuel/oxidizer mixture that is delivered to the combustor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the fuel mixing system upstream the reservoir and downstream the compressor, to create the fuel-oxidizer mixture inside of the reservoir portion, in the manner taught by either Gabrielson et al or Sako et al, in order to provide pressure equalization and/or store the fuel/oxidizer till desired and/or to provide a desired fuel concentration to the combustor.
Claim 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over each of the prior art as applied above to claim 1, and further in view of Wollenweber (2004/0144096) and Attia (6,079,197). The prior art teach various aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach a second comparatively smaller engine connected downstream of the turbine for capturing additional energy including: (a) a second combustion chamber adapted to receive the pressurized exhaust; (b) a second ignition system connected to the second combustion chamber for igniting the exhaust inside of the second combustion chamber; (c) a second exhaust port in fluid communication with the second combustion chamber for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture; and (d) a second turbine having a second rotating shaft and a second plurality of turbine blades connected downstream of the second combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust whereby the fluid force of the exhaust through the second exhaust port causes the second turbine blades to rotate the second turbine shaft.; wherein the second engine has a second compressor positioned between the turbine and the second combustion chamber adapted to receive the exhaust from the turbine and generate a flow of pressurized exhaust. Attia teaches a first engine 12, 14, 16 and second engine 20, 24, 26 connected downstream of the turbine 16 for capturing additional energy including: (a) a second combustion chamber 24 adapted to receive the pressurized exhaust; (b) a second ignition system connected to the second combustion chamber for igniting the exhaust inside of the second combustion chamber; (c) a second exhaust port 7a in fluid communication with the second combustion chamber for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture; and (d) a second turbine 26 having a second rotating shaft 28 and a second plurality of turbine blades connected downstream of the second combustion chamber for receiving the exhaust whereby the fluid force of the exhaust through the second exhaust port causes the second turbine blades to rotate the second turbine shaft; wherein the second engine has a second compressor 20 positioned between the turbine 16 and the second combustion chamber 24 adapted to receive the exhaust from the turbine and generate a flow of pressurized exhaust 6c. Attia does not teach specifically that the second engine is a comparatively smaller engine [than the first engine] but Attia does teach his invention can be employed with any size engines [see col. 4, lines 34+]. Attia further teaches adding the second engine increases efficiency and power output [see especially paragraph bridging cols. 2-3]. Wollenweber teaches a first main engine 11 and a second comparatively smaller [auxiliary] engine with second compressor 42, second combustor [see paragraph 0013], and second turbine 44 is well known in the art for generating additional power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a second engine with second compressor, combustor, and turbine, as taught by Attia, in order to increase the efficiency and power output. It would have further been obvious to make the second engine comparatively smaller, as Attia teaches any size engine may be used and Wollenweber teaches a smaller second auxiliary engine is well known in the gas turbine art and allows for additional power generation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/23/2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments concerning Holzwarth argues the fuel is injected directly into the combustion chamber vs into a separate venturi carburetor. Holzwarth has consistently been treated as annotated above, where the venturi carburetor is regarded as an element upstream the combustion chamber, i.e. where the combustion actually occurs. Accordingly, Holzwarth reads on the claimed invention. For claim 6, Holzwarth ‘047 has been now applied to teach that feature.
For Ohishi, applicant argues that the “fuel injection .. lacks carburetion” per a Wikepidia quote. In rebuttal, applicant’s citation referr fuel injection of the type utilized in automobiles with e.g. direct fuel injection into the cylinder rather than mixing with the air. However, this argument is not directed to what occurs in gas turbine combustors -- Ohishi clearly teaching the fuel and air are mixed prior to injection into the combustor. Note even applicant’s quoted citation from Ohishi show that the mixed gas 58 of fuel and oxidizer is what is delivered to the combustor and carburetion is a type of mixing prior to combustion. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are misdirected. Moreover, the fuel mixing scheme of Ohishi is only modified by adding a venturi carburetor to facilitate already desired mixing of the fuel and oxidizer prior to entry into the combustor– accordingly, the principle of operation is unchanged.
Applicant again alleges that Ohishi does not teach “at least one exhaust port including an exit pressure release valve operatively connected to an exhaust conduit.” In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., The term "pressure relief valve" defines a valve that is designed or set to open at a predetermined set pressure to protect pressure vessels and other equipment from being subjected to pressures that exceed their design limits. Neither Ohishi nor Scragg disclose a pressure relief valve that is designed to open at a predetermined set pressure.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the broadest reasonable interpretation, even a rotating valve will relieve the pressure that has built up in the combustion chamber as releasing the pressure is equivalent to relieving the pressure – specifically Ohishi teaches (e) at least one exhaust port 15 including an exit pressure release valve 81 [see paragraphs 0056, 0057, which teaches the exit valve 81 releases the pressure from the combustor] operatively connected to an exhaust conduit said exhaust port 15 in fluid communication with the combustion chamber for receiving exhaust generated by combustion of the fuel-oxidizer mixture.
“[0056] By an opening-closing control unit 8b, the opening-closing apparatus 80 is capable of opening the combustion chamber 11 sides of the gas ejecting paths 15, that is, the gas ejection sides of the combustion chambers 11 immediately after ignition. The rotating plate 81 can be controlled (rotationally driven) by the motor 82 in synchronization with the ignition timing so as to switch from the closing part 81b to the opening part 81a [Ex. Note: part of the exit valve 81] immediately after ignition. In a state where combustion has caused a further increase in the internal pressure of a combustion chamber 11 from the state where the mixed gas 58 was introduced under pressure, the combustion gas 51 is expelled toward the turbine 39 [Ex. Note: by exit pressure release valve 81].
[0057] FIGS. 2 to 12 show the results of a simulation where deflagration is cyclically repeated in a combustion chamber 11. In this simulation, as depicted in FIG. 2, a cylindrical combustion chamber 11 with a diameter of 5 cm and a length of 6 cm was set and a cylindrical space with a diameter of 1 cm and length of 5 cm that is a passage from the combustion chamber 11 to the atmosphere was set as a gas ejecting path 15. After the combustion chamber 11 was filled so that the equivalence ratio (the mixing ratio of fuel gas and air) is one octane, the fuel was ignited and data on the temperature, pressure, and velocity of the combustion gas 51 expelled from the combustion chamber 11 was simulated using the combustion/explosion analysis software “FLACS”. A pressure releasing panel (opening-closing panel) 81 was also set at the outlet of the combustion chamber 11 and the functioning of the opening-closing apparatus 80 was confirmed by opening and closing the pressure releasing panel 81. FIG. 3 depicts the positions of sampling points MP1 to MP10. The point MP1 is the point of ignition. The sampling points MP7 to MP10 on the outside 99 were set with a fixed pitch MPP (50 mm) from the outlet of the gas expelling path 15.”
Furthermore, applicant’s proposed definition appears to be irrelevant to the disclosed invention as it ascribes a safety aspect to the pressure relief. In the disclosure there is no suggestion that there is any safety aspect to the relief rather it appears to the purpose of the relief valve is releasing the gas for power generation. Furthermore, even if the proposed definition were to be given weight, it is already taught by the pressure relief valve is also described in paragraph 0007 and claim 5.
“[0007] The second opening-closing apparatus may include a means for opening the second route using pressure inside the combustion chamber [Examiner note: relief valve / pressure releasing panel]. When the internal pressure of the combustion chamber has risen due to the supplying of fuel and oxidant, or has risen due to the start of combustion, it is possible to detect the rise in internal pressure and to automatically open the second route.”
“5. The engine according to claim 1, wherein the opening-closing apparatus includes means for opening the second route using pressure inside the combustion chamber.”
Applicant’s arguments concerning Scragg and the valveless exhaust and use of a blower, rather than compressor are not persuasive. These are incidental features of the Scragg reference and were not applied, rather the venturi carburetor fuel injection system and flywheel were applied. Applicant’s argument concerning the blower vs compressor are not persuasive. In arguendo, Scragg may use the term blower, but since it provides compression above atmospheric, -- see col. 6, lines 9-12, it still constitutes a compressor for the sake of the claims. There is nothing in the claims to differentiate a blower from compressor if both compress the oxidizer. Moreover, the herewith cited Bakran et al reference teaches that these are equivalent terms:
“The auxiliary combustion chamber 19 is connected on the inlet side to the outlet side of an auxiliary blower or auxiliary compressor 21, the inlet side of which is connected, for example, to the surroundings 23 via a line 22.”
The argument that the applied references “teach away” from the claimed subject matter is not persuasive. A reference will teach away only if it suggests that the line of development flowing from the reference’s disclosure is unlikely to be productive of the results sought by the inventor. MPEP 2123, In re Gurly, 27 F.3d 551, 553, 31USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994). From a review of the disclosures of the applied references, it is clear that these references do not “teach away” from the claimed invention, since none of their disclosures teaches, either expressly or impliedly, that it is undesirable to combine the venturi carburetor with the fuel/oxidizer mixing system of Ohishi nor a flywheel with Ohishi.
Applicant argues for Gabrielson
“The reservoir disclosed in Gabrielson does not contain a fuel-oxidizer mixture. Rather, it simply holds compressed air. Gabrielson states:
"Air is introduced into the compressor 2 by way of an air intake 19. The air is
compressed by the blades 22 in the compressor 2 and progresses through duct
work 7 to the combustor can shroud 11 and into the combustor can 9. Part of the air enters by way of the air register 13, and the remainder by way of the cooling
holes 14. In the combustor can 9 the air combines with the fuel and burns. The
combustion products proceed with excess air, as described above, to the stack 6."
"One may also provide a storage system 21 for storing compressed air before that
air enters combustor can 9."”
In rebuttal, Gabrielson teaches the air line 7 contains fuel, including in the region upstream of reservoir and since these are both mixed, compressed air from the compressor 2 will also flow into the reservoir 21. Note the inventive fuels 18 introduced into the air line are mostly air, with diluted fuel quantities, and thus it is natural to call it air – see e.g. col. 5, lines 54-65. Furthermore, as there are no closures shown for the reservoir 21, then it would receive any flow from the upstream direction, i.e. from the compressor 2 and fuel. 18. Furthermore, Sako is now cited to teach the reservoir in an analogous system.
Applicant alleges that claims 14, 15 was rejected by “any of the prior art”. In rebuttal, applicant appears to have overlooked that this was changed to “each of the prior art”. Since there are only a few prior art combinations, there is no ambiguity as each of the prior art alone or in combination are applicable.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
June 15, 2023