DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2018/068948 filed 12 July 2018. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application DE102018204655.7 filed 27 March 2018. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Examiner's Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 29 December 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant's response, filed 29 December 2026, it is noted that no claims have been amended and no new matter or claims have been added.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 1-19 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernert et al. (EP 2316407).
Bernert teaches novel dental cement systems including an aqueous dental glass ionomer composition comprising 1) a reactive particulate glass, 2) a linear or branched polymer comprising acidic groups and a polymer backbone, and 3), dispersed nanoparticles [0011-0012]. The composition can comprise the polymer in 10-80% by weight and the nanoparticles in from 0-75% by weight [0069, 0072]. The nanoparticles may have an average particle size of from 1-100 nm [0072]. The particulate reactive glass usually has an average particle size of from 0.005 to 100 μm [0041]. The composition can further comprise fillers, solvents, pigments, and other agents [0081]. Due to the use of polymers rather than monomers in glass ionomers, the composition of Bernert has no risk of acrylic monomers leaching out [0004]. The cements of Bernert can harden via crosslinking of the glass and the polymer comprising acidic groups [0003, 0097].
Regarding the nanoparticle, the dispersed nanoparticles are said to comprise “grafted linear or branched polymer chains comprising acidic groups, and having a polymer backbone” wherein the polymer chains (i.e. backbone) is obtainable by a process comprising 1) cyclopolymerizing one or more compounds of formula (I) (below) where it is important to note that none of the variables in the structure require an acidic group to be present [0012]. Compound of formula (I) can be formulated with acrylic monomers [0054].
An example formulation comprises a ground zinc-strontium-calcium-phosphor-aluminum-fluorosilicate glass, tartaric acid, "the polyacid of example 4," wherein the polyacid of example 4 is the polymer of the structure copied below, and demineralized water [0125-0129]. The polyacid (1.8 g) and tartaric acid (0.2 g) are dissolved in 3.0 ml demineralized water, and this liquid is mixed with zinc-strontium-calcium-phosphor-aluminum-fluorosilicate glass in a powder:liquid ratio of 2:1 [0127]. Assuming that 10 g of the glass ionomer was added (to balance out the weight of 5 g of liquid solution), the example composition comprises 66.7% zinc-strontium-calcium-phosphor-aluminum-fluorosilicate glass, 12.0% polyacid, and 20.0% water.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Bernert discloses that the "dental composition is a multi-pack, preferably a two-pack composition," and is designed so as to avoid premature curing of the components [0101]. The multi-pack is construed to be a kit of at least two components.
Regarding claim 15, Bernert discloses that "ionomer cements are widely used in the dental field for filling of a cavity, cementing of crowns, inlays, bridges, or orthodontic bands, lining of a cavity, sealing of a root canal, core construction, and preventive sealing" [0004]. Bernert provides for using the claimed ionomer cement as a filling cement.
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare a dental glass ionomer cement composition comprising a reactive particulate glass (acid-reactive powder), a branched polymer comprising acidic groups such as the polyacid of example 4 (polyprotic acid), water, dispersed nanoparticles (dispersed polymer particles), and other fillers as required in instant claims 1-2, 7, and 9-10. The composition can be stored as a kit, as required in claims 12-14. The base polymer of the nanoparticles is described in formula (I), which notably does not require acidic groups to be present, thus implying that less than 10% falls within the possible range of acidic monomers of the prior art. The particle sizes of instant claims 3, 8, and 16 fall within the broad ranges taught by Bernert. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I). During formation of the dental cement, water is used to disperse the components prior to use as a hardening agent, thus addressing instant claim 4. The range of nanoparticles (polymer particles) in instant claims 5 and 17-19 fall within the prior art range of from 0-75% by weight and Bernert’s example formulation reads on instant claim 6 (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Bernert teaches formulating the composition by mixing it together, addressing instant claim 11, and also teaches using the composition as a dental filling cement, rendering obvious instant claim 15.
Claims 1-19 are accordingly rejected as obvious over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 December 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on pages 9-13, that Bernert does note teach the use of the base polymers according to claim 1. The Applicant argues that Bernert teache grafted linear or branched polymer chains comprising acidic groups wherein the polymer chains are obtained by cyclopolymerizing compounds of formula (I). Applicant argues that the polymers of Bernert comprise cyclic groups whereas the polymers in the claims are linear. The Applicant further argues that the final polymer of Bernert must include acidic groups or introducing functional groups.
In response, there is no limitation in the instant claims that requires the base polymer to be linear or to not comprise cyclic groups. The base polymer of the instant claims requires only that it be
a homopolymer selected from the group consisting of polyacrylates,poly(alkyl)acrylates, polyisoprenes, polybutadienes, poly-styrenes, polyvinyl acetates,polyacrylonitriles and polyacrylamides; or
(ii) a copolymer which is polymerized from monomers of homopolymers selected from the group consisting of polyacrylates, poly(alkyl)acrylates, polyisoprenes,polybutadienes, poly-styrenes, polyvinyl acetates, polyacrylonitriles and polyacrylamides;
and wherein the base polymer comprises below 10% by weight acidic monomers or their salts, or the polymer particles are polyurethane particles. Bernert teaches monomers of formula (I), above, wherein the composition can comprise polyacrylates. It is noted that the composition of formula OPTIONALLY comprises acidic groups at positions R2, R4, R5, and/or R6 however at no point in the disclosure are these variables required to comprise an acidic group. Regarding the functional groups, again this limitation is optional and, if present, can be present in any amounts due to the lack of specificity by Bernert. Therefore, it would have been obvious to prepare the polymer with zero functional groups, thus necessitating zero acidic groups, which renders obvious the instant claims wherein “below 10% by weight acidic monomers” are required.
The Applicant argues, on pages 13-14, that “while Bernert teaches one skilled in the art to prevent the formation of cracks due to a firm incorporation of the polymer into the ionomer matrix via crosslinking with little to no phase boundaries, the present disclosure aims to not prevent the inevitable formation of cracks, but to impede crack propagation” and that this is relevant and unexpected.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., impeding crack propagation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Moreover, the Applicant has provided no evidence or data to support this assertion of unexpected results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613