DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are currently under examination. Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from consideration. Claim 1 is amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Previous Grounds of Rejection
Regarding claims 1-4, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kozelj et al. (US 2020/0181071 A1, provisional application filed on 10/19/2016), and in view of Zak et al. (Acta Cryst. 1978, B34, 38-40) stands.
Previous Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kozelj et al. (US 2020/0181071 A1, provisional application filed on 10/19/2016), and in view of Zak et al. (Acta Cryst. 1978, B34, 38-40).
Regarding claims 1-4, Kozelj et al. teach a process of making sulfamic acid salt having the formula I as shown below ([0032]-[0034]):
As we see above, the formula I taught by Kozeli et al. corresponds to the instant claimed lithium sulfamate of formula (3), wherein R1 and R2 as being methyl groups (C1 alkyl groups), R3 as being OM (OLi).
The lithium sulfamate of Kozelj et al. is obtained from the step i) of the reaction of NH3 (R1R2NH, R1 and R2 as being CH3 groups) (the instant claimed formula (2)) with FSO3H (fluorosulfonic acid) and its salts. The step ii) taught by Kozelj et al. is an optionally step ([0022]):
Kozelj et al. further clearly points out the sulfamic acid derivatives thus produced and to their uses in electrolyte compositions for electrochemical applications (Abstract). Lithium salt of sulfamic acid derivatives are used in lithium ion batteries ([0113]).
The lithium sulfamate of Kozeli et al. is obtained from the reaction of R1R2NH (applicant’s formula (2)) with lithium salt of FSO3H (applicant’s formula (1) ([0021]-[0024]).
Although Kozeli et al do not specifically teach a method of making LiSO3F as per applicant claims 1-4, Zak et al. teach a method of prepared by the reaction of LiCl (applicant’s lithium source) with HSO3F (applicant’s compound formula (4)) (page 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the LiSO3F taught by Zak et al. in the process for making Lithium sulfamate taught by Kozeli et al. to obtain the invention as specified in the claims 1-4, motivated by the fact that the structure of LiSO3F taught by Zak et al. was confirmed by crystal structure.
Since both of Kozeli et al. and Zak et al. teach LiSO3F, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the previous Grounds of Rejection
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/03/2025, with respect to claims 1-4, have been considered but are not persuasive. The examiner would like to take this opportunity to address the Applicant's arguments.
Applicant argued the instant claim 1 further distinguish Kozelj by adding the proviso that, if one of R1 or R2 is -SO2X1, then the other of R1 or R2 is also -SO2X1. In contrast, in Kozelj Formula I, there is no sulfonyl group among the choices for its substituent R1, so both of Kpzelj substituents R1 and R2 cannot be -SO2X1.
In addition, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reason to modify Kozelj to arrive at the invention as recited in amended claim 1 (Remarks, pages 9-10).
The Office respectfully submits the R1 and R2 recited in the instant claim 1 are C1 alkyl, … or -SO2X1 (Emphasis added)
As set forth above, Kozelj et al. teach a process of making sulfamic acid salt having the formula I as shown below ([0032]-[0034]):
As we see above, the formula I taught by Kozeli et al. corresponds to the instant claimed lithium sulfamate of formula (3), wherein R1 and R2 as being methyl groups (C1 alkyl groups), R3 as being OM (OLi).
The lithium sulfamate of Kozelj et al. is obtained from the step i) of the reaction of NH3 (R1R2NH, R1 and R2 as being CH3 groups) (the instant claimed formula (2)) with FSO3H (fluorosulfonic acid) and its salts. The step ii) taught by Kozelj et al. is an optionally step ([0022]):
Kozelj et al. further clearly points out the sulfamic acid derivatives thus produced and to their uses in electrolyte compositions for electrochemical applications (Abstract). Lithium salt of sulfamic acid derivatives are used in lithium ion batteries ([0113]).
The lithium sulfamate of Kozeli et al. is obtained from the reaction of R1R2NH (applicant’s formula (2)) with lithium salt of FSO3H (applicant’s formula (1) ([0021]-[0024]).
Although Kozeli et al do not specifically teach a method of making LiSO3F as per applicant claims 1-4, Zak et al. teach a method of prepared by the reaction of LiCl (applicant’s lithium source) with HSO3F (applicant’s compound formula (4)) (page 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the LiSO3F taught by Zak et al. in the process for making Lithium sulfamate taught by Kozeli et al. to obtain the invention as specified in the claims 1-4, motivated by the fact that the structure of LiSO3F taught by Zak et al. was confirmed by crystal structure.
Since both of Kozeli et al. and Zak et al. teach LiSO3F, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, the rejection is propyl and stands.
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738