DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has canceled claims 1-7, 9, 10; added new claims 12-17 dependent on rewritten claim 11 (independent claim). The pending claims are claims 11-17.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiromi et al., JP 2017062991.
Regarding claim 11, Hiromi teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (0001-0002; 0015) comprising: a positive electrode (0016); an electrolyte (0016); and a negative electrode (0016) for lithium ion secondary batteries (0016) comprising: a current collector (0015); and a negative electrode material layer (0004) which contains a negative electrode material (0004) and is formed on the current collector (0006), wherein the negative electrode material comprises particles in which a plurality of flat graphite particles (0010) are in a state of being aggregated (0010) or bonded (0010) such that main surfaces thereof are not parallel (nonparallel) (0010), and in which the flat graphite particles (0010; 0021) and spheroidal particles (0011; 0030-0031) are in a state of being aggregated (0010) or bonded (0010), a post-pressurization density of the negative electrode material is 1.70 g/cm3 or more (1.7 g/cm3 (0007; 0030); (1.9 g/cm3 (0083)), and an average particle size of the spheroidal graphite particles is I um to 50 um (50 um or less; 0028).
Hiromi does not teach an oil absorption capacity of the negative electrode material is 50 ml/100 g or more.
However, the oil absorption capacity and the post-pressurization density would be within the claimed range because, It has been held that when the difference between a claimed invention and the prior art is the range or value of a particular variable, then a prima facie rejection is properly established when the difference in the range or value is minor. Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. V. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Inre Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). Claims that differ from the prior art only by slightly different (non-overlapping) ranges are prima facie obvious without a showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art. (In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935,1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Also see MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, Hiromi does not teach wherein the oil absorption capacity of the negative electrode material is 95 ml/100 g or less.
However, It has been held that when the difference between a claimed invention and the prior art is the range or value of a particular variable, then a prima facie rejection is properly established when the difference in the range or value is minor. Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. V. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Inre Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). Claims that differ from the prior art only by slightly different (non- overlapping) ranges are prima facie obvious without a showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art. (In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935,1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Also see MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, Hiromi teaches wherein the post-pressurization density of the negative electrode material is 1.98 g/cm3 or less (1.7 g/cm3; 0007; 0030).
Regarding claim 14, Hiromi teaches wherein a specific surface area of the negative electrode material is 1.5 m2/g to 8.0 m2/g (1.0 m2/g to 3.0 m2/g) (0051).
Regarding claim 15, Hiromi teaches wherein a degree of circularity of the negative electrode material is 0.85 to 0.95 (0.70 or higher or 0.85 or higher) (0036).
Regarding claim 16, Hiromi does not teach wherein an R value from Raman measurement of the negative electrode material is 0.03 to 0.20.
However, It has been held that when the difference between a claimed invention and the prior art is the range or value of a particular variable, then a prima facie rejection is properly established when the difference in the range or value is minor. Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. V. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Inre Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). Claims that differ from the prior art only by slightly different (non- overlapping) ranges are prima facie obvious without a showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art. (In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935,1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Also see MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17, Hiromi teaches wherein a tap density of the negative electrode material is 0.7 g/cm3 to 1.0 g/cm3 (0.8 g/cm3 (0035).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727