DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on June 11, 2025. Claims 1-16, 18, 19, 22, and 23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant in Page 10 of the Remarks argues that independent claims 1, 11, and 12, as amended, are directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Amended independent claim 1 and similarly amended independent claims 11 and 12 covers several steps, such as the identifying, determining, identifying, extracting, calculating, and selecting steps, that recite an abstract idea within the “Mental Processes” and/or “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper perform the limitations recited in said steps, as discussed in detail in the 101 rejection below.
The remaining steps in the claims that are identified as reciting additional elements, such as the amended updating step, are only adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and are recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are not directed to any specific improvement in computer technology.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Applicant in Pages 10-13 of the Remarks argues that Gaw, Lee, and Tran do not teach or even suggest the features “identifying a plurality of search events associated with a first media corpus comprising first content associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, wherein each of the plurality of search events corresponds to a respective search query and a respective search outcome corresponding to the respective search query” and “determining a search characteristic corresponding to at least one of a topic or a theme associated with the respective search query and the respective search outcome of one or more of the plurality of search events”, as recited in amended independent claim 1 and similarly recited in amended independent claims 11 and 12.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art alone and/or in combination discloses the argued features.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Gaw in [0019], [0020], and [0029] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform, and a content sharing platform including multiple data content available from a common source or data content having a common topic, theme, or substance.
Gaw in [0024] and [0027] discloses a children-specific application allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, a content sharing platform allowing a user to consume, upload, search for, approve of, dislike, and/or comment on media items.
Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases.
Gaw in [0024], [0044], [0084] and in Figure 6 discloses allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, in response to user selection of search characteristics and category identifying a set of content associated with the content sharing platform from a plurality of data sources;.
Gaw in [0043] and [0067] discloses running query over data stored in the data store to infer entities that are interesting and/or relevant to children.
Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus.
Therefore, Gaw discloses the argued features “identifying a plurality of search events associated with a first media corpus comprising first content associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, wherein each of the plurality of search events corresponds to a respective search query and a respective search outcome corresponding to the respective search query” and “determining a search characteristic corresponding to at least one of a topic or a theme associated with the respective search query and the respective search outcome of one or more of the plurality of search events”, as recited in amended independent claim 1 and similarly recited in amended independent claims 11 and 12.
For the above reasons, Examiner states that rejection of the current Office action is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16, 18, 19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement , because the amended feature “updating, in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform, an identifier associated with the second content from the selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into the first media corpus and available for presentation to the particular class of users of the content sharing platform”, as recited in amended independent claims 1, 11, and 12, is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent claims 2-10, 13-16, 18, 19, 22, and 23 are also rejected because they inherit the same deficiency of their base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16, 18, 19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the
claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1:
Independent claims 1, 11, and 12 respectively recite a method, a system, and a
non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which are directed to a statutory
category such as a process, machine, or an article of manufacture.
At step 2A, prong one:
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 11 and 12 recite the limitations:
“identifying a plurality of search events associated with a first media corpus comprising first content associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, wherein each of the plurality of search events corresponds to a respective search query and a respective search outcome corresponding to the respective search query”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify a plurality of search events associated with a media corpus comprising content associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, wherein each of the plurality of search events corresponds to a respective search query and a respective search outcome corresponding to the respective search query.
“determining a search characteristic corresponding to at least one of a topic or a theme associated with the respective search query and the respective search outcome of one or more of the plurality of search events”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic corresponding to at least one of a topic or a theme associated with respective search query and respective search outcome of one or more of a plurality of search events.
“identifying a set of search events of a second media corpus comprising second content associated with the content sharing platform, wherein the set of search events corresponds to the determined search characteristic”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify a set of search events of a media corpus comprising content associated with a content sharing platform by determining whether the set of search events correspond to a determined search characteristic.
“extracting a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of the identified set of search events from the second media corpus”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper extract information about a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of an identified set of search events from a media corpus.
“calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to the particular class of users”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper calculate a measurement of one or more media sources by mentally or using a pen and paper detecting a number of content violations in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to a particular class of users of a content sharing platform associated with a first media corpus.
“selecting…based on the calculated measurement, at least one media source of the one or more media sources for inclusion in the first media corpus”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select one or more media sources from a set of media sources based on a calculated measurement.
The limitations, as recited above in claims 1, 11, and 12, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 11 and 12 recite the limitation:
“updating, in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform, an identifier associated with the second content from the selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into the first media corpus and available for presentation to the particular class of users of the content sharing platform”, which is a step for updating data in a data structure. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data manipulation, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “a first media corpus”, “a content sharing platform”, “a second media corpus”, “by a processing device”, and “in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform” in the steps of claim 1 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “a system comprising: a memory; and a processing device communicably coupled to the memory, the processing device configured to”, “a first media corpus”, “a content sharing platform”, “a second media corpus”, “by a processing device”, and “in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform” in the steps of claim 11 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause a processing device to perform operations”, “a first media corpus”, “a content sharing platform”, “a second media corpus”, “by a processing device”, and “in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform” in the steps of claim 12 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
At step 2B:
The clams do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claims 1, 11, and 12 recite the same additional elements as identified in step 2A prong two above. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 11 and 12 recite the limitations:
“updating, in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform, an identifier associated with the second content from the selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into the first media corpus and available for presentation to the particular class of users of the content sharing platform”, which is a step for updating data in a data structure, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of electronic recordkeeping (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(v)).
Accordingly, the additional limitation is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites additional limitation, such as:
“analyzing a log comprising the plurality of search events of the first media corpus, wherein at least one of the plurality of search events comprises a search term and is linked to the search characteristic”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze a log comprising a plurality of search events of a media corpus, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the search characteristic comprises a knowledge graph identifier”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic comprising a knowledge graph identifier, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the first media corpus comprises a collection of media items that comprise content characteristics for a class of individuals within a particular age range”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify search events associated with a first media corpus comprising a collection of media items that comprise content characteristics for a class of individuals within a particular age range, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the media source comprises a media channel and the content comprises video content”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify a media source comprising a media channel and a content comprising a video content, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 6 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein extracting the set of media sources comprises identifying a set of media channels referenced by the set of search events of the second media corpus”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper extract a set of media sources by identifying a set of media channels referenced by a set of search events of a second media corpus, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 7 recites additional limitations, such as:
wherein selecting the at least one of the one or more media sources from the set of media sources associated with the second media corpus comprises:
“identifying search events in the set that reference the at least one of the one or more media sources, wherein each of the identified search events comprises an order of media sources”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper select at least one media source associated with a media corpus by identifying search events in a set of search events that references media sources and comprises an order of media sources, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“determining a position of the media source within the order”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a position of a media source within an order of media sources, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“further calculating the measurement of the at least one of the one or more media sources based on the position of the media source and a quantity of search events in the set of search events that corresponds to the search characteristic”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper calculate a measurement of a media source based on a position and a quality of search events, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“selecting the at least one of the one or more media sources having a predetermined measurement”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper select at least one media source having a predetermined measurement, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 8 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the predetermined measurement is a largest measurement”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can select a media source having a largest predetermined measurement, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the measurement of the at least one of the one or more media sources is further calculated based on an average rank, r, of the at least one of the one or more media sources in the set of search events and on a violation value, pv, indicating the number of violations detected for the media source, and wherein the measurement is calculated in view of the following equation:
Measurement=1/(r*(pv+1))”.
These limitations are directed to the abstract idea under the mathematical concepts grouping, because the limitations recite a mathematical calculation and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10 recites additional limitations, such as:
wherein determining the search characteristic corresponding to the at least one of the topic or the theme associated with the respective search query and the respective search outcome of the one or more of the plurality of search events comprises:
“classifying search events of the first media corpus into multiple groups”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic by classifying search events of a media corpus into multiple groups, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“selecting one or more groups of the multiple groups based on a predetermined threshold”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic by selecting one or more groups based on a predetermined threshold, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“identifying a plurality of search characteristics associated with the one or more groups of search events”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic by identifying a plurality of search characteristics associated with one or more groups of search events, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“consolidating the plurality of search characteristics to a set of unique search characteristics reflecting at least one of a unique topic or a unique theme”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic by consolidating a plurality of search characteristics to a set of unique search characteristics reflecting at least one of a unique topic or a unique theme, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“selecting the search characteristic from the set of unique search characteristics based on a quantity of search events associated with the search characteristic”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic by selecting a search characteristic from a set of unique search characteristics based on a quantity of search events associated with the search characteristic, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 13 recites additional limitations, such as:
“…analyze a log comprising the plurality of search events of the first media corpus, wherein at least one of the plurality of search events comprises a search term and is linked to the search characteristic”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze a log comprising a plurality of search events of a media corpus, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional element “wherein the processing device is further configured to” is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 14 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the search characteristic comprises a knowledge graph identifier”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic comprising a knowledge graph identifier, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 15 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the first media corpus comprises a collection of media items that comprise content characteristics for a class of individuals within a particular age range”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify search events associated with a first media corpus comprising a collection of media items that comprise content characteristics for a class of individuals within a particular age range, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 16 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the media source comprises a media channel and the content comprises video content”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify a media source comprising a media channel and a content comprising a video content, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 18 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the operations further comprise: analyzing a log comprising the plurality of search events of the first media corpus, wherein at least one of the plurality of search events comprises a search term and is linked to the search characteristic”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 12, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze a log comprising a plurality of search events of a media corpus, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 19 recites additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the search characteristic comprises a knowledge graph identifier”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 12, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a search characteristic comprising a knowledge graph identifier, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 22 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the calculated measurement of the one or more media sources comprises at least one of a rating, a score, a point, a weight, a grade, or a rank that indicates the number of content violations detected for the media source that violated one or more content policies associated with the content of the first media corpus”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper calculate a measurement of a media source using at least one of a rating, a score, a point, a weight, a grade, or a rank that indicates the number of content violations detected for the media source that violated one or more content policies associated with a content of a first media corpus, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 23 recites additional limitations, such as:
“receiving a request from a client device to access content of the content sharing platform”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“determining that the client device is associated with the particular class of users of the content sharing platform”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine that a client device is associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“transmitting a signal to the client device, the signal comprising the second content incorporated into the first media corpus”, which is a step of transmitting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
The additional elements “a client device”, “content sharing platform”, and “first media corpus” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, dependent claims 2-10, 13-16, 18, 19, 22, and 23 are also directed to abstract idea without significantly more and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12, 14-16, 19, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
as being unpatentable over Gaw (US Pub 2016/0247078) in view of Lee (US Pub
2013/0347038) in view of Tran (US Pub 2008/0275763) and in further view of Woods (US Pub 2015/0012416).
With respect to claim 1, Gaw discloses a method comprising:
identifying a plurality of search events associated with a first media corpus comprising first content associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, wherein each of the plurality of search events corresponds to a respective search query and a respective search outcome corresponding to the respective search query (Gaw in [0019], [0020], and [0029] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content interesting for an age group, such as children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform, selecting content having a common theme or topic; Gaw in [0024], [0044], [0084] and in Figure 6 discloses allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, in response to user selection of search characteristics and category identifying a set of content associated with the content sharing platform from a plurality of data sources; Gaw in [0057], [0067], and [0084] discloses utilizing calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, selecting a category of content and running a query to infer entities that are interesting and/or relevant to children based on user selection);
determining a search characteristic corresponding to at least one of a topic of a theme associated with the respective search query and the respective search outcome of one or more of the plurality of search events (Gaw in [0019], [0020], and [0029] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content interesting for an age group, such as children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform, selecting content having a common theme or topic; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus);
identifying a set of search events of a second media corpus comprising second content associated with the content sharing platform, wherein the set of search events corresponds to the determined search characteristics (Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0024], [0044], [0084] and in Figure 6 discloses allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, in response to user selection of search characteristics and category identifying a set of content associated with the content sharing platform from a plurality of data sources; Gaw in [0043] and [0057] discloses running queries over knowledge graph data to infer interesting entities to locate content, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus);…
calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources…in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to the particular class of users (Gaw in [0019] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children; Gaw in [0020] discloses select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus; here Gaw does not explicitly disclose calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to a particular class of users, but the Tran reference discloses the feature, as discussed below)
selecting, by the processing device and based on the calculated measurement, at least one media source of the one or more media sources for inclusion in the first media corpus (Gaw in [0019] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children; Gaw in [0020] discloses select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user);…
Gaw discloses identifying a corpus of content, identifying a plurality of content associated with a content sharing platform, and plurality of media sources associated with the content sharing platform, and extracting information such as topics from data sources, however, does not explicitly disclose:
extracting a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of the identified set of search events from the second media corpus;
The Lee reference discloses extracting a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of an identified set of search events from a second media corpus (Lee in [0064], [0065], and [0076] discloses accessing a plurality of media content sources associated with a media server used to store different types of content, accessing a cloud including a collection of server computing devices providing storage resources for content sharing services, cloud resources accessed by a user, user receiving content from multiple cloud resources; Lee in [0077], [0083], and [0086] discloses retrieving attribute data for media assets and content sources from metadata, transmitting a query to media sources for identifying media resources and content matching the search attribute data, using previously stored search attributes as query to the database for matching resources and content; Lee in [0078], [0079], and [0086] discloses after determining search attribute data transmitting a query to media content source for media assets matching the search attribute data, user accessing media content from plurality of media resources from a cloud providing content sharing service);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Gaw and Lee, to have combined Gaw and Lee, the motivation to combine Gaw and Lee would be to recommend new media information to a user based on stored attribute data (Lee: [0028], [0085], and [0086]).
Gaw discloses determining content for different age groups, filtering content for appropriateness for a particular age group or class of users, such as children, ranking filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and curating and storing media content pertaining to the particular age group of users of the content sharing platform associated with a first media corpus, and Lee discloses selecting a media source from a set of media sources by a processing device, however, Gaw and Lee do not explicitly disclose:
calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to the particular class of users;
The Tran reference discloses calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from a set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to a particular class of users (Tran in [0008] and [0034] discloses determine a number of violations a content provider has received in addition to an infraction score, infraction information indicating the number of received violations and type of violations, infractions are violations of the rules of conduct; Tran in [0054] and [0057] discloses videos having inappropriate content can be classified as being sexuality explicit or unauthorized, content can be flagged as inappropriate by users and taken down, a strike can be issued against the content provider if rules of conduct are violated, an administrator can deem a content inappropriate after reviewing the content; here the users deeming a content inappropriate are a particular class of user; Tran in [0002] and [0064] discloses determine a content provider’s score once infractions against the provider are analyzed, final score indicates how valuable the provider is to the content sharing site).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gaw, Lee, and Tran, to have combined Gaw, Lee, and Tran. The motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, and Tran would be to determine how valuable a content provider is by analyzing a score for the provider based at least in part on a number of violations received (Tran: [0008] and [0064]).
Gaw discloses a content sharing platform and selecting a second content from a selected media source of one or more media sources to be incorporated into a first media corpus and be available for presentation to a particular class of users of the content sharing platform, however, Gaw, Lee, and Tran do not explicitly disclose:
updating, in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform, an identifier associated with the second content from the selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into the first media corpus and available for presentation to the particular class of users of the content sharing platform.
The Woods reference discloses updating, in a data structure associated with a content sharing platform, an identifier associated with a second content from a selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into a first media corpus and available for presentation to a particular class of users of the content sharing platform (Woods in [0014], [0029], and [0067] and in Figure 4 discloses a content sharing platform comprising one or more content data sources, displaying content to user by source, type, and/or category, such as programming categorized for children; Woods in [0024], [0031], and [0070] discloses accessing content from different content sources, content including downloadable content or content stored on user device, accessing according to transaction conditions, downloading content from a plurality of resources; Woods in [0028], [0084], and [0093] discloses media guidance data includes information identifying a type of transaction, such as rental or purchase of a media asset, downloaded asset, and transaction conditions, performing a transaction involves storing a transaction data structure that includes an identifier of type of transaction performed transaction conditions defined using one or more data structures including data identifying media assets and a flag or other data identifying a transaction condition, such as asset obtained in rental transaction, asset still available, the flags are updated in response to an event to reflect if asset is available)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods, to have combined Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods. The motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods would be to enable a user access to media asset based on a transaction condition stored in a transaction data structure (Woods: [0003] and [0084]).
With respect to claim 3, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the search characteristic comprises a knowledge graph identifier (Gaw in [0039], [0041], and [0043] discloses selecting from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge graph having information about content item, content item annotated with attribute data that are stored in the knowledge graph, run queries over the knowledge graph data).
With respect to claim 4, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first media corpus comprises a collection of media items that comprise content characteristics for a class of individuals within a particular age range (Gaw in [0020], [0034], and [0043] discloses selecting and generating content from different age groups by filtering content, such as content for ages 5 to 7).
With respect to claim 5, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the media source comprises a media channel and the content comprises video content (Gaw in [0020] and [0029] discloses content such as videos and channels available from a source).
With respect to claim 6, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, wherein extracting the set of media sources comprises identifying a set of media channels referenced by the set of search events of the second media corpus (Gaw in [0006] discloses accessing external source of fata, extracting content from external source, reconciling content with a corpus; Gaw in [0027]-[0029] and [0044] discloses extracting channels from external data sources).
With respect to claim 7, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the media source from the set of media sources associated with the second media corpus comprises:
identifying search events in the set that reference the media source, wherein each of the identified search events comprises an order of media sources (Gaw in [0019] and [0020] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Lee in [0064], [0065], and [0076] discloses accessing a plurality of media content sources associated with a media server used to store different types of content, accessing a cloud including a collection of server computing devices providing storage resources for content sharing services, cloud resources accessed by a user, user receiving content from multiple cloud resources; Lee in [0077], [0083], and [0086] discloses retrieving attribute data for media assets and content sources from metadata, transmitting a query to media sources for identifying media resources and content matching the search attribute data, using previously stored search attributes as query to the database for matching resources and content; Lee in [0078], [0079], and [0086] discloses after determining search attribute data transmitting a query to media content source for media assets matching the search attribute data, user accessing media content from plurality of media resources from a cloud providing content sharing service);
determining a position of the media source within the order (Gaw in [0019] and [0020] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user); and
calculating the measurement of the media source based on the position of the media source and a quantity of search events in the set of search events that corresponds to the search characteristic (Gaw in [0019] and [0020] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user); and
selecting the media source having a predetermined measurement (Gaw in [0019] and [0020] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilizing calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user).
With respect to claim 8, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the predetermined measurement is a largest measurement (Gaw in [0019] and [0020] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilizing calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user).
With respect to claim 11, Gaw discloses a system comprising:
a memory (Gaw: Paragraphs 85 and 86 and Figure 7 – memory); and
a processing device communicably coupled to the memory, the processing device (Gaw: Paragraphs 85-87 and Figure 7 – processing device coupled to the memory) configured to:
identify a plurality of search events associated with a first media corpus comprising first content associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, wherein each of the plurality of search events corresponds to a respective search query and a respective search outcome corresponding to the respective search query (Gaw in [0019], [0020], and [0029] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content interesting for an age group, such as children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform, selecting content having a common theme or topic; Gaw in [0024], [0044], [0084] and in Figure 6 discloses allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, in response to user selection of search characteristics and category identifying a set of content associated with the content sharing platform from a plurality of data sources; Gaw in [0057], [0067], and [0084] discloses utilizing calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, selecting a category of content and running a query to infer entities that are interesting and/or relevant to children based on user selection);
determine a search characteristic corresponding to at least one of a topic of a theme associated with the respective search query and the respective search outcome of one or more of the plurality of search events (Gaw in [0019], [0020], and [0029] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content interesting for an age group, such as children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform, selecting content having a common theme or topic; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus);
identify a set of search events of a second media corpus comprising second content associated with the content sharing platform, wherein the set of search events corresponds to the determined search characteristics (Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0024], [0044], [0084] and in Figure 6 discloses allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, in response to user selection of search characteristics and category identifying a set of content associated with the content sharing platform from a plurality of data sources; Gaw in [0043] and [0057] discloses running queries over knowledge graph data to infer interesting entities to locate content, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus);…
calculate a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources…in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to the particular class of users (Gaw in [0019] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children; Gaw in [0020] discloses select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus; here Gaw does not explicitly disclose calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to a particular class of users, but the Tran reference discloses the feature, as discussed below)
select, based on the calculated measurement, at least one media source of the one or more media sources for inclusion in the first media corpus (Gaw in [0019] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children; Gaw in [0020] discloses select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user);…
Gaw discloses identifying a corpus of content, identifying a plurality of content associated with a content sharing platform, and plurality of media sources associated with the content sharing platform, and extracting information such as topics from data sources, however, does not explicitly disclose:
extract a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of the identified set of search events from the second media corpus;
The Lee reference discloses extracting a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of an identified set of search events from a second media corpus (Lee in [0064], [0065], and [0076] discloses accessing a plurality of media content sources associated with a media server used to store different types of content, accessing a cloud including a collection of server computing devices providing storage resources for content sharing services, cloud resources accessed by a user, user receiving content from multiple cloud resources; Lee in [0077], [0083], and [0086] discloses retrieving attribute data for media assets and content sources from metadata, transmitting a query to media sources for identifying media resources and content matching the search attribute data, using previously stored search attributes as query to the database for matching resources and content; Lee in [0078], [0079], and [0086] discloses after determining search attribute data transmitting a query to media content source for media assets matching the search attribute data, user accessing media content from plurality of media resources from a cloud providing content sharing service);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Gaw and Lee, to have combined Gaw and Lee, the motivation to combine Gaw and Lee would be to recommend new media information to a user based on stored attribute data (Lee: [0028], [0085], and [0086]).
Gaw discloses determining content for different age groups, filtering content for appropriateness for a particular age group or class of users, such as children, ranking filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and curating and storing media content pertaining to the particular age group of users of the content sharing platform associated with a first media corpus, and Lee discloses selecting a media source from a set of media sources by a processing device, however, Gaw and Lee do not explicitly disclose:
calculate a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to the particular class of users;
The Tran reference discloses calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from a set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to a particular class of users (Tran in [0008] and [0034] discloses determine a number of violations a content provider has received in addition to an infraction score, infraction information indicating the number of received violations and type of violations, infractions are violations of the rules of conduct; Tran in [0054] and [0057] discloses videos having inappropriate content can be classified as being sexuality explicit or unauthorized, content can be flagged as inappropriate by users and taken down, a strike can be issued against the content provider if rules of conduct are violated, an administrator can deem a content inappropriate after reviewing the content; here the users deeming a content inappropriate are a particular class of user; Tran in [0002] and [0064] discloses determine a content provider’s score once infractions against the provider are analyzed, final score indicates how valuable the provider is to the content sharing site).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gaw, Lee, and Tran, to have combined Gaw, Lee, and Tran. The motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, and Tran would be to determine how valuable a content provider is by analyzing a score for the provider based at least in part on a number of violations received (Tran: [0008] and [0064]).
Gaw discloses a content sharing platform and selecting a second content from a selected media source of one or more media sources to be incorporated into a first media corpus and be available for presentation to a particular class of users of the content sharing platform, however, Gaw, Lee, and Tran do not explicitly disclose:
update, in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform, an identifier associated with the second content from the selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into the first media corpus and available for presentation to the particular class of users of the content sharing platform.
The Woods reference discloses updating, in a data structure associated with a content sharing platform, an identifier associated with a second content from a selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into a first media corpus and available for presentation to a particular class of users of the content sharing platform (Woods in [0014], [0029], and [0067] and in Figure 4 discloses a content sharing platform comprising one or more content data sources, displaying content to user by source, type, and/or category, such as programming categorized for children; Woods in [0024], [0031], and [0070] discloses accessing content from different content sources, content including downloadable content or content stored on user device, accessing according to transaction conditions, downloading content from a plurality of resources; Woods in [0028], [0084], and [0093] discloses media guidance data includes information identifying a type of transaction, such as rental or purchase of a media asset, downloaded asset, and transaction conditions, performing a transaction involves storing a transaction data structure that includes an identifier of type of transaction performed transaction conditions defined using one or more data structures including data identifying media assets and a flag or other data identifying a transaction condition, such as asset obtained in rental transaction, asset still available, the flags are updated in response to an event to reflect if asset is available)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods, to have combined Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods. The motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods would be to enable a user access to media asset based on a transaction condition stored in a transaction data structure (Woods: [0003] and [0084]).
With respect to claim 12, Gaw discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause a processing device to perform operations (Gaw: Paragraphs 10 and 85; Figure 7) comprising:
identifying a plurality of search events associated with a first media corpus comprising first content associated with a particular class of users of a content sharing platform, wherein each of the plurality of search events corresponds to a respective search query and a respective search outcome corresponding to the respective search query (Gaw in [0019], [0020], and [0029] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content interesting for an age group, such as children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform, selecting content having a common theme or topic; Gaw in [0024], [0044], [0084] and in Figure 6 discloses allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, in response to user selection of search characteristics and category identifying a set of content associated with the content sharing platform from a plurality of data sources; Gaw in [0057], [0067], and [0084] discloses utilizing calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, selecting a category of content and running a query to infer entities that are interesting and/or relevant to children based on user selection);
determining a search characteristic corresponding to at least one of a topic of a theme associated with the respective search query and the respective search outcome of one or more of the plurality of search events (Gaw in [0019], [0020], and [0029] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content interesting for an age group, such as children, selecting content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform, selecting content having a common theme or topic; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus);
identifying a set of search events of a second media corpus comprising second content associated with the content sharing platform, wherein the set of search events corresponds to the determined search characteristics (Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0024], [0044], [0084] and in Figure 6 discloses allowing users to view and search for content appropriate for children, in response to user selection of search characteristics and category identifying a set of content associated with the content sharing platform from a plurality of data sources; Gaw in [0043] and [0057] discloses running queries over knowledge graph data to infer interesting entities to locate content, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus);…
calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources…in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to the particular class of users (Gaw in [0019] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children; Gaw in [0020] discloses select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Gaw in [0023], [0027], and [0032] discloses content sharing platform storing media items using data store which includes multiple databases spanning multiple server devices, content sharing platform allowing user to consume, upload, and search for media items from data stores such as databases; Gaw in [0047], [0053], and [0069] discloses corpus of content in a data store in a content sharing platform, identifying content items that are interesting and relevant in the corpus; here Gaw does not explicitly disclose calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to a particular class of users, but the Tran reference discloses the feature, as discussed below)
selecting, by the processing device and based on the calculated measurement, at least one media source of the one or more media sources for inclusion in the first media corpus (Gaw in [0019] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children; Gaw in [0020] discloses select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user);…
Gaw discloses identifying a corpus of content, identifying a plurality of content associated with a content sharing platform, and plurality of media sources associated with the content sharing platform, and extracting information such as topics from data sources, however, does not explicitly disclose:
extracting a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of the identified set of search events from the second media corpus;
The Lee reference discloses extracting a set of media sources indicated by one or more search outcomes of an identified set of search events from a second media corpus (Lee in [0064], [0065], and [0076] discloses accessing a plurality of media content sources associated with a media server used to store different types of content, accessing a cloud including a collection of server computing devices providing storage resources for content sharing services, cloud resources accessed by a user, user receiving content from multiple cloud resources; Lee in [0077], [0083], and [0086] discloses retrieving attribute data for media assets and content sources from metadata, transmitting a query to media sources for identifying media resources and content matching the search attribute data, using previously stored search attributes as query to the database for matching resources and content; Lee in [0078], [0079], and [0086] discloses after determining search attribute data transmitting a query to media content source for media assets matching the search attribute data, user accessing media content from plurality of media resources from a cloud providing content sharing service);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Gaw and Lee, to have combined Gaw and Lee, the motivation to combine Gaw and Lee would be to recommend new media information to a user based on stored attribute data (Lee: [0028], [0085], and [0086]).
Gaw discloses determining content for different age groups, filtering content for appropriateness for a particular age group or class of users, such as children, ranking filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and curating and storing media content pertaining to the particular age group of users of the content sharing platform associated with a first media corpus, and Lee discloses selecting a media source from a set of media sources by a processing device, however, Gaw and Lee do not explicitly disclose:
calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from the set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to the particular class of users;
The Tran reference discloses calculating a measurement of one or more media sources from a set of media sources based on at least a number of content violations detected for the media source in view of one or more content restriction conditions pertaining to a particular class of users (Tran in [0008] and [0034] discloses determine a number of violations a content provider has received in addition to an infraction score, infraction information indicating the number of received violations and type of violations, infractions are violations of the rules of conduct; Tran in [0054] and [0057] discloses videos having inappropriate content can be classified as being sexuality explicit or unauthorized, content can be flagged as inappropriate by users and taken down, a strike can be issued against the content provider if rules of conduct are violated, an administrator can deem a content inappropriate after reviewing the content; here the users deeming a content inappropriate are a particular class of user; Tran in [0002] and [0064] discloses determine a content provider’s score once infractions against the provider are analyzed, final score indicates how valuable the provider is to the content sharing site).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gaw, Lee, and Tran, to have combined Gaw, Lee, and Tran. The motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, and Tran would be to determine how valuable a content provider is by analyzing a score for the provider based at least in part on a number of violations received (Tran: [0008] and [0064]).
Gaw discloses a content sharing platform and selecting a second content from a selected media source of one or more media sources to be incorporated into a first media corpus and be available for presentation to a particular class of users of the content sharing platform, however, Gaw, Lee, and Tran do not explicitly disclose:
updating, in a data structure associated with the content sharing platform, an identifier associated with the second content from the selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into the first media corpus and available for presentation to the particular class of users of the content sharing platform.
The Woods reference discloses updating, in a data structure associated with a content sharing platform, an identifier associated with a second content from a selected media source of the one or more media sources to indicate the second content from the selected media source is incorporated into a first media corpus and available for presentation to a particular class of users of the content sharing platform (Woods in [0014], [0029], and [0067] and in Figure 4 discloses a content sharing platform comprising one or more content data sources, displaying content to user by source, type, and/or category, such as programming categorized for children; Woods in [0024], [0031], and [0070] discloses accessing content from different content sources, content including downloadable content or content stored on user device, accessing according to transaction conditions, downloading content from a plurality of resources; Woods in [0028], [0084], and [0093] discloses media guidance data includes information identifying a type of transaction, such as rental or purchase of a media asset, downloaded asset, and transaction conditions, performing a transaction involves storing a transaction data structure that includes an identifier of type of transaction performed transaction conditions defined using one or more data structures including data identifying media assets and a flag or other data identifying a transaction condition, such as asset obtained in rental transaction, asset still available, the flags are updated in response to an event to reflect if asset is available)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods, to have combined Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods. The motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods would be to enable a user access to media asset based on a transaction condition stored in a transaction data structure (Woods: [0003] and [0084]).
With respect to claim 14, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the search characteristic comprises a knowledge graph identifier (Gaw in [0039], [0041], and [0043] discloses selecting from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge graph having information about content item, content item annotated with attribute data that are stored in the knowledge graph, run queries over the knowledge graph data).
With respect to claim 15, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the first media corpus comprises a collection of media items that comprise content characteristics for a class of individuals within a particular age range (Gaw in [0020], [0034], and [0043] discloses select and generate content from different age groups by filtering content, such as content for ages 5 to 7).
With respect to claim 16, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the media source comprises a media channel and the content comprises video content (Gaw in [0020] and [0029] discloses content such as videos and channels available from a source).
With respect to claim 19, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the search characteristic comprises a knowledge graph identifier (Gaw in [0039], [0041], and [0043] discloses selecting from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge graph having information about content item, content item annotated with attribute data that are stored in the knowledge graph, run queries over the knowledge graph data).
With respect to claim 22, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the calculated measurement of the one or more media sources comprises at least one of a rating, a score, a point, a weight, a grade, or a rank that indicates the number of content violations detected for the media source that violated one or more content policies associated with the content of the first media corpus (Gaw in [0019] discloses identifying content appropriate for children, a children’s content system of a content sharing platform enabling identification, curation, and presentation of content appropriate and relevant for children; Gaw in [0020] discloses select content such as channels, playlists, videos etc. for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness based on a content rating, rank the filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, and publish the content to a children’s content interface of the content sharing platform; Gaw in [0057] and [0084] discloses utilize calculated children’s affinity score to curate children’s content for the content sharing platform, curating children’s content for search results, recommendations, watch next/related content, and so on, displaying recommendations to the user; Tran in [0008] and [0034] discloses determine a number of violations a content provider has received in addition to an infraction score, infraction information indicating the number of received violations and type of violations, infractions are violations of the rules of conduct; Tran in [0054] and [0057] discloses videos having inappropriate content can be classified as being sexuality explicit or unauthorized, content can be flagged as inappropriate and taken down, a strike can be issued against the content provider if rules of conduct are violated; Tran in [0002] and [0064] discloses determine a content provider’s score once infractions against the provider are analyzed, final score indicates how valuable the provider is to the content sharing site).
With respect to claim 23, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a request from a client device to access content of the content sharing platform (Gaw in [0019] and [0021] discloses identifying, curating, and presenting content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content that are safe and/or entertaining for children);
determining that the client device is associated with the particular class of users of the content sharing platform (Gaw in [0019] and [0021] discloses identifying, curating, and presenting content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content that are safe and/or entertaining for children; Gaw in [0034], [0035], and [0044] discloses determine content for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness, ranking filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, identifying, curating, and presenting one or more content items that are relevant or interesting in the content sharing platform, interacting with content sharing platform and other servers, identifying content from external data sources); and
transmitting a signal to the client device, the signal comprising the at least the portion of the second content incorporated into the first media corpus (Gaw in [0019] and [0021] discloses identifying, curating, and presenting content appropriate and relevant for children, identifying content that are safe and/or entertaining for children; Gaw in [0034], [0035], and [0044] discloses determine content for different age groups, filter content for appropriateness, ranking filtered content according to popularity and other metrics, identifying, curating, and presenting one or more content items that are relevant or interesting in the content sharing platform, interacting with content sharing platform and other servers, identifying content from external data sources; Gaw in [0041], [0057], and [0078] discloses curating and storing content in a data store of the content sharing platform for displaying on a user content interface).
Claims 2, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaw (US Pub 2016/0247078) in view of Lee (US Pub 2013/0347038) in view of Tran (US Pub 2008/0275763) in view of Woods (US Pub 2015/0012416) and in further view of in view of Klappert (US Pub 2011/0161999).
With respect to claim 2, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: analyzing…plurality of search events of the first media corpus, wherein at least one of the plurality of search events comprises a search term and is linked to the search characteristic (Lee in [0076], [0083], and [0086] discloses retrieving attribute data for media assets and content sources from metadata, transmitting a query to media sources for identifying media resources and content matching the search attribute data, using previously stored search attributes as query to the database for matching resources and content; Lee in [0085] and [0095] discloses determining and storing search attribute data), however, Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods do not explicitly disclose:
analyzing a log comprising the plurality of search events;
The Klappert reference discloses analyzing a log comprising a plurality of search events (Klappert in [0085], [0122], and [0123] discloses searching a plurality of databases including a first database and a second database that stores media contents and channels for content information; Klappert in [0027], [0069] and [0099] discloses a widget in a user entertainment equipment allowing interaction and data retrieval from service provider databases, communications log includes records between widget and databases, log maintained at a user device; Klappert in [0100]-[0105] and in Figure 6 discloses analyzing a communication log storing data regarding communication between a user device and a database or media corpus, communications log storing communication between widget and databases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert, to have combined Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert, the motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert would be to access data regarding search communications between a device and databases by analyzing stored communications log (Klappert: [0085] and [0099]).
With respect to claim 13, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the processing device is further configured to analyze…plurality of search events of the first media corpus, wherein at least one of the plurality of search events comprises a search term and is linked to the search characteristic (Lee in [0076], [0083], and [0086] discloses retrieving attribute data for media assets and content sources from metadata, transmitting a query to media sources for identifying media resources and content matching the search attribute data, using previously stored search attributes as query to the database for matching resources and content; Lee in [0085] and [0095] discloses determining and storing search attribute data), however, Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods do not explicitly disclose:
analyze a log comprising the plurality of search events;
The Klappert reference discloses analyzing a log comprising a plurality of search events (Klappert in [0085], [0122], and [0123] discloses searching a plurality of databases including a first database and a second database that stores media contents and channels for content information; Klappert in [0027], [0069] and [0099] discloses a widget in a user entertainment equipment allowing interaction and data retrieval from service provider databases, communications log includes records between widget and databases, log maintained at a user device; Klappert in [0100]-[0105] and in Figure 6 discloses analyzing a communication log storing data regarding communication between a user device and a database or media corpus, communications log storing communication between widget and databases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert, to have combined Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert, the motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert would be to access data regarding search communications between a device and databases by analyzing stored communications log (Klappert: [0085] and [0099]).
With respect to claim 18, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise:
analyzing…plurality of search events of the first media corpus, wherein at least one of the plurality of search events comprises a search term and is linked to the search characteristic (Lee in [0076], [0083], and [0086] discloses retrieving attribute data for media assets and content sources from metadata, transmitting a query to media sources for identifying media resources and content matching the search attribute data, using previously stored search attributes as query to the database for matching resources and content; Lee in [0085] and [0095] discloses determining and storing search attribute data), however, Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods do not explicitly disclose:
analyzing a log comprising the plurality of search events;
The Klappert reference discloses analyzing a log comprising a plurality of search events (Klappert in [0085], [0122], and [0123] discloses searching a plurality of databases including a first database and a second database that stores media contents and channels for content information; Klappert in [0027], [0069] and [0099] discloses a widget in a user entertainment equipment allowing interaction and data retrieval from service provider databases, communications log includes records between widget and databases, log maintained at a user device; Klappert in [0100]-[0105] and in Figure 6 discloses analyzing a communication log storing data regarding communication between a user device and a database or media corpus, communications log storing communication between widget and databases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert, to have combined Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert, the motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Klappert would be to access data regarding search communications between a device and databases by analyzing stored communications log (Klappert: [0085] and [0099]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaw (US Pub 2016/0247078) in view of Lee (US Pub 2013/0347038) in view of Tran (US Pub 2008/0275763) in view of Woods (US Pub 2015/0012416) and in further view of Peckover (US Pub 2014/0282917).
With respect to claim 9, Gaw in view of Lee in view of Tran and in further view of Woods discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement of the at least one of the one or more media sources is further calculated based on an average rank, r, of the at least one of the one or more media sources in the set of search events and on a violation value, pv, indicating the number of violations detected for the media source (Tran in [0008] and [0034] discloses determine a number of violations a content provider has received in addition to an infraction score, infraction information indicating the number of received violations and type of violations, infractions are violations of the rules of conduct; Tran in [0054] and [0057] discloses videos having inappropriate content can be classified as being sexuality explicit or unauthorized, content can be flagged as inappropriate and taken down, a strike can be issued against the content provider if rules of conduct are violated; Tran in [0002] and [0064] discloses determine a content provider’s score once infractions against the provider are analyzed, final score indicates how valuable the provider is to the content sharing site), however, Gaw, Lee, Tran, and Woods do not explicitly disclose:
measurement calculated based on an average rank, r, of the at least one of the one or more sources and on a violation value, pv, indicating the number of violations detected for the source, and wherein the measurement is calculated in view of the following equation:
Measurement=1/(r*(pv+1)).
The Peckover reference discloses measurement calculated based on an average rank, r, of the at least one of the one or more sources and on a violation value, pv, indicating the number of violations detected for the source (Peckover in [0150] and in Figure 8 discloses calculating a measurement of a content source by utilizing average ranking and various violation values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Peckover, to have combined Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Peckover. The motivation to combine Gaw, Lee, Tran, Woods, and Peckover would be to make content more relevant to a user by increasing relevance of contents (Peckover: [0003] and [0040]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159