DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application was filed as a proper National Stage (371) entry of PCT Application PCT/EP2019/058206, filed 04/01/2019. Acknowledgement is also made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to Application No GB1805466.8, filed 04/03/2018 in the UK.
Status of the Claims
Claims 58-75 and 78-87 are pending. Claims 76-77 are cancelled. Claim 58 is amended and claims 78-81 are withdrawn. Claims 58-75 and 82-87 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 58-64, 66-69, 71-75, 83, and 85-87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. State-of-the-art fluorescence fluctuation-based spectroscopic techniques for the study of protein aggregation. International journal of molecular sciences. 2018 Mar 23;19(4):964, in view of Tiiman et al. Heterogeneity and turnover of intermediates during amyloid-β (Aβ) peptide aggregation studied by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy. Biochemistry. 2015 Dec 15;54(49):7203-11 (see PTO-892, 04/26/2023), Henriksen et al. The future of blood-based biomarkers for Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's & dementia. 2014 Jan 1;10(1):115-31, Griffin et al., Thioflavin T fluorescence in human serum: Correlations with vascular health and cardiovascular risk factors. Clinical biochemistry. 2010 Feb 1;43(3):278-86 and Wyss et al. Molecular and dimensional profiling of highly purified extracellular vesicles by fluorescence fluctuation spectroscopy. Analytical chemistry. 2014 Aug 5;86(15):7229-33.
Regarding claims 58 and 60-63, Kitamura teaches that Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (FCS) enables the determination of the diffusion coefficient and the number of molecules of fluorescent molecules passing through a detection volume in solution (concentration). Kitamura further teaches that Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy is widely used to detect aggregation and oligomers of neurodegenerative disease-associated proteins (Kitamura, page 3, see entire paragraph ‘2.1. Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy’). Kitamura further teaches that highly sensitive photo-detectors are widely adopted for the detection of molecular diffusion with a single molecule sensitivity (individual aggregates; single molecule resolution) and that the detection volume enters the sub-fL range (observation volume element is 1 µL or less; Kitamura, page 4, see entire 1st paragraph and Figure 1). Kitamura further teaches that Amyloid β (Aβ) have been classically and traditionally analyzed using Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (Kitamura, page 5, 2nd paragraph, line 1). Kitamura further teaches that Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy is highly sensitive to changes in the diffusion state of molecules and that the diffusion is reciprocal of the volume/size of the molecule of interest, and hence the size change through aggregation directly influences the diffusion of resulting aggregates allowing for determination of the aggregation and oligomeric states of misfolded proteins (size of individual aggregates; Kitamura, page 5, see entire 1st paragraph). Kitamura further teaches that to detect accumulation of non-fluorescent amyloids in vitro, fluorescent dyes that bind to amyloid structure, such as thioflavin T are generally used (Kitamura, page 2, ‘1.3. Amyloid Beta/β-Amyloid peptide (Aβ)’, lines 10-12). Kitamura further teaches that Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy can be used to determine mobile aggregation and oligomers in solution (Kitamura, page 11, ‘3. Conclusion’, lines 3-4). Kitamura further teaches an overview of Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy measurement and analysis comprising <I1> and <I2> representing the average fluorescence intensity of monomers and oligomers/soluble aggregates over time (time-resolved; amyloid aggregates; Kitamura, page 4, see Figure 1).
Even though Kitamura references Tiiman as an example that Aβ has been classically and traditionally been analyzed using FCS, Kitamura does not explicitly teach a method that does not comprise amplification of individual amyloidal compounds.
Kitamura is silent on the sample type and does not teach obtaining a sample of a bodily fluid from a subject.
Kitamura does not teach fluorescence intensity fluctuation analysis (FIFA).
Tiiman teaches a method of detecting Aβ aggregation by Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy using Thioflavin T detection, which is a standard method for amyloid detection by fluorescence microscopy (Tiiman, page 7203, 2nd column, lines 1-11). Tiiman further teaches preparing fresh Aβ solutions and diluting to the final concentration using a buffer containing ThT for fluorescence measurements or Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (method does not comprise amplification of individual amyloidal compounds; Tiiman, page 7204, 2nd column, ‘Sample Preparation’, lines 3-7). Tiiman further teaches that the method using ThT as a fluorescent marker does not monitor Aβ monomers but rather amyloid aggregates rich in Aβ-structure (Tiiman, page 7208, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, lines 1-3). Tiiman further teaches that ThT in micromolar concentrations does not significantly affect the kinetics of Aβ aggregation (Tiiman, page 7208, 2nd column, lines 13-15).
Henriksen teaches that blood-based biomarkers of Alzheimer’s disease provide a cost- and time effective way to enhance the utility of cerebrospinal fluid and imaging biomarkers, such as the first step in a screening and diagnostic process for recruitment into clinical trials (bodily fluid, claim 58; blood, claim 60; Henriksen, page 3, see entire 43rd paragraph). Henriksen teaches that blood-based biomarkers are attractive because not all laboratories have access to sophisticated techniques such as MRI and/or PET scanners and even CSF sampling is more complex than blood sampling and standardized blood-based tests are helpful in an environment that is not as controlled as the setting of clinical studies (Henriksen, page 3, see entire 3rd paragraph). Henriksen teaches that established biomarkers of Alzheimer’s disease from cerebrospinal fluid and neuroimaging are highly accurate and that Amyloid β peptide 42, total tau protein, and hyperphosphorylated tau protein levels in cerebrospinal fluid are well-characterized biomarkers of Alzheimer’s disease and can serve as diagnostic markers with a substantial sensitivity and specificity, but that cerebrospinal fluid sampling at multiple time points to monitor treatment efficacy, disease onset, or risk is limited and might impact biomarker levels (Hendriksen, page 2, ‘Introduction’, 2nd paragraph, line 1-page 3, lines 2). Henriksen further teaches that a major issue in relation to serum detection of brain derived proteins is the blood brain barrier which restricts movement of large proteins, but cerebrospinal fluid is absorbed into blood every day and some exchange of peptides occurs and that furthermore some degree of loss of integrity of the blood brain barrier is seen in Alzheimer’s disease, potentially allowing the crossing of additional molecules into the blood and allowing detection in serum or plasma (serum, claims 61-63; Henriksen, page 5, see entire 4th paragraph). Put another way, Henriksen teaches advantages of blood-based (including plasma and serum) biomarker detection for the diagnosis or monitoring of Alzheimer’s disease, including biomarkers known to be of diagnostic value when measured in the cerebrospinal fluid such as Amyloid β peptide.
Griffin teaches that amyloid deposition is implicated in neurodegenerative diseases as well as atherosclerosis and further teaches that amyloid fibrils display a characteristic morphology, increased β-structure relative to the non-fibrillar form and the ability to interact with and alter the spectral properties of the dye thioflavin T (Griffin, page 278, ‘Introduction’, lines 1-6). Griffin further teaches measuring ThT fluorescence in sera from 35 healthy subjects and 70 high cardiovascular risk patients (Griffin, page 278, ‘Abstract’, ‘Design, Methods, and Results’, lines 1-2) and determining ThT fluorescence of serum using a plate-reader equipped with 444/485 nm excitation/emission filters (Griffin, page 279, ‘ThT fluorescence measurements’, lines 1-5).
Wyss teaches a method of detecting and characterization of extracellular vesicles by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (Wyss, page 7229, 2nd paragraph, lines 20-21). Wyss further teaches that fluorescence correlation spectroscopy enables one to decipher biomolecular interaction, monitor molecular diffusions on/in the plasma membrane, and investigate photochemical properties of fluorescent probes by applying various models to fit the autocorrelation function. Wyss further teaches a model free analysis of the fluorescence fluctuations that circumvent the distortion of the autocorrelation function by highly fluorescent species in heterogeneous solution by systematically measuring both duration and amplitude of each individual fluorescent event within the recorded time trace using single fluctuation analysis (fluorescence intensity fluctuation analysis). Wyss further teaches that the benefit of the method is to provide in-depth distribution profiles of both size and membrane protein expression level (Wyss, page 7230, lines 4-18). Wyss further teaches that the autocorrelation function biases size estimation in highly heterogeneous samples and that to circumvent this problem each translocation of individual labeled extracellular vesicles is systematically analyzed through the confocal detection volume of the microscope by single fluctuation analysis (Wyss, page 7230, 2nd column, lines 12-16).
Kitamura is silent as to their detailed method of detection and as such is silent as to whether it involves amplification, however Kitamura references Tiiman’s method of detection and as such it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the method of Kitamura of detecting Aβ amyloids by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy in the manner as taught by Tiiman, comprising diluting Aβ in buffer comprising ThT (without amplification).
The ordinary skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success using unseeded fluorescence correlation spectroscopy to detect amyloid β aggregates as taught by Kitamura with the method of Tiiman, because even though Kitamura does not specifically state that the method is unseeded, it does teach a method comprising Thioflavin T and Tiiman teaches success using an unseeded method of detecting Aβ amyloids comprising Thioflavin T as the detection agent.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the method of Kitamura in view of Tiiman, namely a method of detecting Aβ amyloids by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy, to detect Aβ amyloids in blood-based samples, including serum as the sample, as an obvious matter of a simple substitution of one art recognized sample over another. The prior art contained the base invention (see as taught by Kitamura in view of Tiiman, the prior art recognized a method of analyzing Amyloid β (Aβ) using Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy using dyes such as Thioflavin T in a sample. As such, it would have been obvious to apply fluorescence correlation spectroscopy to bodily fluid such as blood, as the ordinarily skilled artisan would appreciate that it is possible to detect cerebrospinal fluid derived biomarkers in blood and serum and that blood-based biomarkers of Alzheimer’s disease provide a cost- and time effective way to enhance the utility of cerebrospinal fluid and imaging biomarkers, as taught by Henriksen.
The results of the modification would have been predictable, namely in that fluorescence correlation spectroscopy would be expected to be able to detect Thioflavin T labeled amyloid aggregates in serum because, as taught by Tiiman, Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy using Thioflavin T detection is a standard method for amyloid detection and because of the teaching of Griffin of detecting amyloid fibers in serum using Thioflavin T.
Furthermore, the modification is also considered an obvious matter to try, namely considering there was a finite number of identified sample types for detecting amyloids, see Kitamura in view of Tiiman teaches detecting amyloid aggregates in buffer and Henriksen teaches detecting amyloids in blood-based samples. One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known method of fluorescence correlation spectroscopy of Kitamura in view of Tiiman in a blood-based sample as described by Henriksen, using Thioflavin T which has been shown to result in detectable measurements in serum (see Griffin), would have predictably resulted in the detection of amyloids in blood-based samples, such as serum, one would have had a reasonable expectation of success (considering Kitamura in view of Tiiman teaches detection of amyloids by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy and Griffin teaches success detecting amyloids in serum using Thioflavin T labeling).
It would have further been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kitamura in view of Tiiman by applying the single fluctuation analysis method of Wyss to the data generated by fluorescence correlation spectrometry, as taught by the method of Kitamura in view of Tiiman, because of the teaching of Wyss that this method circumvents the problem of size bias by highly fluorescent species in heterologous samples.
The ordinary artisan would further have a reasonable expectation of success applying the analysis method of Wyss to the fluorescence correlation spectroscopy data of Kitamura, because Wyss uses data generated by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy within a recorded time trace (as taught by Kitamura) and analyzes it using a single fluctuation analysis method (i.e., one having ordinary skill would expect success because the measurement remains the same, the difference is merely the type of data analysis, which as noted above, Wyss teaches allows one the advantage of circumventing the problem of size bias by highly fluorescent species in heterologous samples).
Regarding claim 59, Kitamura and the cited art above as applied to claim 58 also applies to claim 59.
Kitamura and the cited art above teaches a method that does not necessitate the use of non-target amyloid molecules or the inclusion of a step comprising mixing target amyloid molecules and non-target amyloid molecules. As discussed previously in detail above, Tiiman teaches a method of detecting Aβ aggregation by Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy using Thioflavin T detection, which is a standard method for amyloid detection by fluorescence microscopy (Tiiman, page 7203, 2nd column, lines 1-11). Tiiman further teaches preparing fresh Aβ solutions and diluting to the final concentration using a buffer containing ThT for Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (Tiiman, page 7204, 2nd column, ‘Sample Preparation’, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 64, Kitamura and the cited art above teaches a method of detecting the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates substantially as claimed.
Kitamura teaches that Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy is highly sensitive to changes in the diffusion state of molecules and that the diffusion is reciprocal of the volume/size of the molecule of interest, and hence the size change through aggregation directly influences the diffusion of resulting aggregates allowing for determination of the aggregation and oligomeric states of misfolded proteins (Kitamura, page 5, see entire 1st paragraph). As such Kitamura teaches determining the size profile of amyloid molecules/particles/aggregates in each sample.
Regarding claims 66 and 67, Kitamura and the cited art as applied to claim 58 also applies to claims 66 and 67.
Kitamura teaches that to detect accumulation of non-fluorescent amyloids in vitro, fluorescent dyes that bind to amyloid structure, such as thioflavin T are generally used (claim 67; Kitamura, page 2, ‘1.3. Amyloid Beta/β-Amyloid peptide (A β)’, lines 10-12). Tiiman teaches that the ThT assay is based on specific properties for the ThT molecule which upon binding to amyloid fibrils undergoes a bathochromic shift in absorbance maximum and therefore in the presence of amyloid fibrils displays a strong increase in fluorescence quantum yield and the appearance of a fluorescence emission band with a maximum at 480 nm (claim 66; Tiiman, page 7203, 2nd paragraph, lines 3-12).
Regarding claims 68 and 83, Kitamura and the cited art above teaches a method of detecting the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates substantially as claimed.
Kitamura teaches that Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy is widely used to detect aggregation and oligomers of neurodegenerative disease-associated proteins (Kitamura, page 3, see entire paragraph ‘2.1. Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy’). Kitamura further teaches that to detect accumulation of non-fluorescent amyloids in vitro, fluorescent dyes that bind to amyloid structure, such as thioflavin T are generally used (Kitamura, page 2, ‘1.3. Amyloid Beta/β-Amyloid peptide (A β)’, lines 10-12). As such Kitamura teaches the detection of amyloid oligomers.
Regarding claims 69, 86, and 87, Kitamura and the cited art above as applied to claim 58 also applies to claims 69, 86, and 87.
Tiiman teaches that the smallest aggregates consist of 50-70 Aβ monomers (peptides; Tiiman, page 7206, 2nd paragraph, lines 12-15). As such the prior art reads on the claimed range because the prior art range lies inside those ranges claimed, see for example 50-70 lies inside aggregates comprising 20 or more, because 50-70 equals more than 20 aggregates and no upper limit is recited in the claim (claim 69), about 30 or more; about 40 or more; about 50 or more; about 60 or more; about 70 or more; (claim 86) or about 40 or more, because 50-70 equals more than 40 aggregates and there is no upper limit recited (claim 87).
Regarding claim 71, Kitamura and the cited art above teaches a method of detecting the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates substantially as claimed.
Wyss teaches that single fluctuation analysis is able to estimate size of the target in highly heterogeneous samples (Wyss, page 7230, 2nd column, lines 12-16). Further, since the combination of Kitamura as modified by Tiiman teach the method substantially as claimed, i.e., detecting Aβ aggregates by FCS using a fluorescent reporter, rather than seeding peptides and amplification in CSF, one having ordinary skill would expect the method as taught by the prior art to also be able to detect individual amyloid aggregates comprising more than 1,000,000 proteins or peptides.
Regarding claim 72, Kitamura, and the cited art as applied to claim 58 also applies to claim 72.
Tiiman teaches monitoring changes in distribution of aggregate sizes, where over time the number of small aggregates decreases and larger and larger aggregates appear (Tiiman et al., page 7207, 2nd paragraph, lines 9-12). Tiiman further teaches that during the course of Aβ aggregation, there is a transition from coil-dominant structure to β-sheet dominant population at the end (Tiiman et al., page 7207, 6th paragraph, lines 2-6). Put another way, the prior art teaches the method substantially as claimed, comprising the detection of Aβ aggregates comprising those of a β-sheet structure, which is the dominant population at the end and therefore it would be obvious that one performing the method as taught by the combination of the prior art would necessarily detect Aβ aggregates that comprise one or more β-sheets.
Regarding claims 73-75, Kitamura and the cited art above teaches a method of detecting the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates substantially as claimed.
Kitamura teaches that Aβ is a collective term for peptides that play a crucial role in the Alzheimer’s disease (Kitamura, page 2, ‘1.3. Amyloid Beta/β-Amyloid Peptide (Aβ)’, lines 1-2.
Regarding claim 85, Kitamura and the cited art above as applied to claim 58 also applies to claim 85.
Wyss teaches measuring the translational diffusion of analytes through a diffraction-limited observation volume which generates spikes in the recorded fluorescence time trace and from the fluorescence intensity fluctuations over time (Wyss, page 7230, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, lines 2-8). Wyss further teaches recording a time trace that contains distinct fluorescent spikes of individual targets diffusion through the observation volume and then analyzing the time trace with an autocorrelation function and analyzing the spikes individually and extracting maximal fluorescence intensity and translocation time (Wyss, page 7231, see Figure 2 (B), (C) and (D), figure legend). Wyss further teaches that the autocorrelation function allows the estimation of average parameters such as concentration of the particles (Wyss, page 7230, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, lines 2-8, and Figure 2).
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al., in view of Tiiman et al., Henriksen et al., Griffin et al. and Wyss et al. as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Burch et al. Fluorometric measurements of riboflavin and its natural derivatives in small quantities of blood serum and cells. Journal of Biological Chemistry. 1948 Aug 1;175(1):457-70 (IDS 06/10/2021) and Schwille et al. Molecular dynamics in living cells observed by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy with one-and two-photon excitation. Biophysical journal. 1999 Oct 1;77(4):2251-65 (PTO-892, 04/26/2023).
Regarding claim 65, Kitamura in view of Tiiman, and the cited art above teaches a method of detecting the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates substantially as claimed.
However, the cited art does not teach that the blood sample does not comprise one or more of the group of: FAD enzymes, FAD lipopigments, and/or NADH enzymes or lipopigments.
Burch et al. teaches that FAD is completely hydrolyzed in 5% trichloroacetic acid in 20h (Burch et al., page 458, ‘Principles of the Methods’, (3)) in serum before measuring fluorescence in a sample (Burch et al., page 459, ‘Procedure’, lines 1-12). Burch et al. further teaches that FAD autofluoresces (Burch et al, page 458, ‘Principles of the Methods’, (2)). Schwille et al. teaches that autofluorescence is often considered one of the major problems in FCS and that known intrinsic biological autofluorescent molecules include NADH and FAD (Schwille et al. page 2262, 2nd paragraph, lines 1-6) and that FCS within living cells is feasible if the signal is considerably higher than the autofluorescent background signal (Schwille et al., page 2263, 5th paragraph, lines 1-7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kitamura and the cited art, namely the method detecting aggregated Aβ by FCS in a serum blood sample, by depleting the sample of NAD by applying the method of Burch et al., because of the teaching of Schwille et al., to deplete the sample of NAD because Schwille et al. teach that intrinsic biological autofluorescent molecules such as NADH and FAD are a major problem in FCS and that FCS is feasible if the signal is considerably high than the background. As such, one would be motivated to deplete NAD in order to eliminate any intrinsic, interfering autofluorescence, thereby improving the detection by FCS.
The ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because of the teaching of Burch et al. that NAD can be depleted in serum samples before measuring fluorescence and the teaching of Schwille et al. that by if the signal is considerably higher than the background (autofluorescence) the dynamics of molecules at nM concentrations can easily be investigated.
Claim 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. in view of Tiiman et al., Henriksen et al., Griffin et al., and Wyss et al. as applied to claim 68 above, and further in view of Nichols et al. Biophysical comparison of soluble amyloid-β (1–42) protofibrils, oligomers, and protofilaments. Biochemistry. 2015 Apr 7;54(13):2193-204 (IDS, 06/10/2021).
Regarding claim 70, Kitamura and the cited art above teaches a method of detecting the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates in bodily fluid substantially as claimed, but fails to teach nano-aggregates comprising about 20 to 100 000 peptides.
The specification of the present invention recites amyloid nano-aggregates as aggregates that comprise higher numbers of peptides than dimers and trimers, but which have not yet formed amyloid fibrils or senile amyloid aggregates (Specification, page 9, lines 31-33 to page 10, lines 1-2).
Nichols teaches distinct oligomers (nano-aggregates) from 50-657 monomers (Nichols, page 2196, lines 10-13 and page 2195, 4th paragraph, lines 25-26) that are distinct from protofibrils (see Nichols et al., Abstract). Nichols further teaches assessing Aβ solutions by Thioflavin T Fluorescence (Nichols, page 2194, ‘Thioflavin T Fluorescence’, lines 1-2).
Tiiman teaches detection of Aβ aggregate sizes between 260 kDa (50-70 monomers), to 2.105 monomers by FCS, a range that comprises nano-aggregates of 50-100 000 monomers (Tiiman, page 7206, see 2nd-3rd paragraph). Tiiman further teaches using Thioflavin T to assay Aβ peptides (Tiiman, page 7203, ‘Abstract’, lines 12-13).
Kitamura teaches that amyloid fibrils are cytotoxic (Kitamura, page 2, ‘1.3. Amyloid Beta/β-Amyloid Peptide’, lines 5-6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that, when detecting Aβ aggregates in bodily fluid by FCS as taught by Kitamura and the cited art above, one would necessarily also detect Aβ nano-aggregates of 20-100 000 monomers (peptides), because of the teaching of Tiiman et al. that aggregates the size of protofibrils (between 50-100 000 monomers) are detectable with this specific reagent, consistent with that which is claimed.
Further, the ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to detect aggregates of different sizes, because of the teaching of Kitamura that amyloid fibrils are cytotoxic.
Considering that the combination of the cited art is teaching the same method of detection using a fluorescent probe detection reagent for detecting the same type of target, one would reasonably expect, when performing the method as taught by the combination of the prior art, that one would necessarily detect aggregates within the claimed size (nano-aggregates having sizes 50 to 100 000 peptides, present in a subject’ sample, which falls within the claimed size range of 20-100000).
The artisan of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success, because Kitamura teaches that FCS without amplifying individual Aβ aggregates can detect Aβ aggregates of varying sized and the teaching of success of Griffin detecting amyloids in bodily fluids using Thioflavin T labeling.
Claim 82 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kitamura et al. in view of Tiiman et al., Henriksen et al., Griffin et al., and Wyss et al., as applied to claim 73 above, and further in view of Colby et al. Prion detection by an amyloid seeding assay. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. 2007 Dec 26;104(52):20914-9. (PTO-892, 12/28/2023) and Concha-Marambio et al., Detection of prions in blood from patients with variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. Science Translational Medicine. 2016 Dec 21;8(370), 7 pages (see PTO-892, 12/28/2023).
Regarding claim 82, Kitamura and the cited art above teaches a method substantially as claimed, for the detection of amyloid associated disease that is Alzheimer’s Disease.
Kitamura does not teach the detection of a prion disease that is Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease.
Colby teaches detecting prion proteins in brain samples from humans with sporadic Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease by an amyloid seeding assay (Colby, page 20914, abstract, lines 3-8). Colby further teaches using Thioflavin T (ThT) to monitor amyloid formation in solution (Colby, page 20914, 3rd paragraph, lines 1-2). Still further, Colby teaches that many prion strains are capable of seeding the polymerization of recPrP into amyloid (Colby, page 20914, 3rd paragraph, lines 11-12). Still further, Colby teaches that this method provides a sensitive rapid, and accurate means of detecting and characterizing prions (Colby, page 20918, 2nd column, lines 5-6).
Concha-Marambio teaches that there is no approved assay for sensitive, objective, and noninvasive diagnosis of vCJD, which is a major problem for public health, because the disease is transmitted iatrogenically from human to human and because asymptomatic carriers may far outnumber clinically affected individuals.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kitamura and the cited art above in order to detect a prion disease that specifically is Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, because of the teaching of Concha-Marambio that the lack of an approved sensitive, objective, and noninvasive vCJD assay is a major problem for public health. As a result, it would have been obvious to use the method as taught by Kitamura and the cited art above to detect amyloid aggregates in bodily fluid without amplification, because labeling the aggregates without amplification increases the signal-to-noise ratio and the method allows detection of soluble aggregates at earlier timepoints than other measurements, thereby providing a sensitive, noninvasive assay.
The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success, because Kitamura and the cited art above teaches detecting prions using ThT to label amyloid aggregates and Colby teaches labeling amyloid aggregates from people afflicted by prion disease, in particular Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, using ThT. As such Colby teaches that amyloid aggregates in vCJD can be rendered detectable by labeling them with ThT, and therefore one would expect success because Kitamura and the cited art is teaching success labeling amyloid aggregates with ThT and Griffin teaches success detecting amyloids in bodily fluids using Thioflavin T labeling.
Claims 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. in view of Tiiman et al., Henriksen et al., Griffin et al., and Wyss et al., as applied to claim 58 above, and further in view of Schrader et al., WO2011050864A1.
Regarding claim 84, Kitamura and the cited art above teach a method substantially as claimed.
Kitamura fails to teach a method wherein the FIFA comprises calculating the number of peaks which is larger than at least 5 standard deviations of a control sample.
Wyss teaches an automatic routine which identified a translocation event when the fluorescence signal rose above a user-defined threshold which corresponded to a multiple of standard deviation of the fluorescence baseline (control; Wyss, page 7230, 2nd column, line 16 – page 7231, line 3).
Schrader teaches a method relating to the field of protein misfolding and diseases which are associated with it such as Alzheimer’s disease (Schrader, ‘Abstract’, lines 1-3). Schrader further teaches that data evaluation involved determination of the number and height of peaks measure above a threshold given by 5 times the standard deviation of the fluorescence fluctuation (Schrader, page 81, lines 28-30). Schrader further teaches a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease with aminopyrazoles, which bind selectively to the backbone of misfolded peptides residing in the β-sheet confirmation. Schrader further teaches characterizing direct interaction of aminopyrazole derivatives with Aβ(1-42) by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (Schrader, page 8, line 31-page 9, line 9). Schrader further teaches control samples with pure Aβ (Schrader, page 39, lines 16-18 and Figure 4A). Put another way, Schrader teaches measurements above 5 times the standard deviation in samples, which comprise control samples. As such Schrader teaches calculating the number of peaks which is larger than at least 5 standard deviations of a control sample.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have applied the known technique of Schrader of measuring the peaks above a threshold given by 5 times the standard deviation as an obvious matter of applying a known technique to a known method, since the prior art in view of Kitamura, Tiiman, Henriksen, Griffin, and Wyss recognizes the base method of using multiple standard deviations to establish a threshold in Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (Wyss teaching a user-defined threshold) and Schrader teaches determining the number and height of peaks above a threshold of 5 times the standard deviation when analyzing data from samples comprising Aβ(1-42) aggregates. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Schrader to the base method as taught by the prior art would have predictably yielded the result of being able to analyze the interaction molecules comprising Aβ(1-42) with each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues starting on page 13 that the cited references do not disclose and would not have suggested that the method does not comprise amplification of individual amyloidal compounds including amyloid peptide, amyloid monomer, amyloid multimer, and amyloid aggregate and that the method provides single molecule resolution as cited in amended claim 58. Applicant further argues that Pitschke “does not teach a method without amplification of individual amyloid aggregates and that the combination of Pitschke and Guan, Guan teaching detecting amyloid aggregates in a sample by adding a detection agent (Guan, page 1506, column 2, ‘FCS Measurement of preaggregated Aβ with ThT, ARCAM 1, and TAMRA-Aβ.’). Applicant argues that alone or in combination Pitschke and Guan do not disclose a method that does not involve amplification and provides single molecule resolution. However, Pitschke and Guan are no longer relied on to teach a method without amplification of individual amyloid aggregates. Rather Kitamura in view of Tiiman is relied on to teach the base method. Therefore the argument is moot. Applicant further argues that Guan also does not disclose or suggest these features, because Guan discloses detection using ARCAM-1 as a detection agent, which is not amyloid-specific and therefore would not result in single molecule resolution.
Applicant further argues that Guan also discloses use of ThT as a detection agent, but that ThT fluorescence only rises above background once protofibril and fibril structures have become abundant in solution, precluding the capability to detect small transient intermediates. However, Guan is no longer relied on to teach the method of determining the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates in a bodily fluid sample, rather Kitamura in view of Tiiman teaches the method substantially as claimed. Therefore the argument is not persuasive in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth in detail above.
Applicant further argues that Tiiman also does not disclose these features of a method that does not comprise amplification and that provides single molecule resolution. However, Kitamura does teach single molecule resolution but is silent to the detailed method of detection. However, Kitamura references Tiiman’s method of detection and Tiiman teaches a method of detecting amyloids without amplification or seeding of the amyloid structure. As such the combination of Kitamura and Tiiman teach single molecule resolution. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues on page 14 that modifying Pitschke, which requires amplification, to be a method that does not comprise amplification would change the basic principles under Pitschke’s method was designed to operate and therefore it would not have been obvious to modify the method of Pitschke. However, Pitschke is no longer relied on to teach the base method and therefore the argument is moot.
Applicant further argues on page 15 that the cited references do not disclose and would not have suggested determining the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates in an observation volume element that is 1 microlitre or less as recited in the amended claim. However, see the new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, Kitamura teaches a volume element that is less than 1 µl. Therefore the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that Pitschke fails to teach fluorescence intensity fluctuation analysis and that Guan also does not disclose and would not have suggested this feature and one of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation that use of the ThT of Guan could successfully be used determining the concentration and/or size of individual amyloid aggregates in an observation volume element of 1 µl or less. Applicant argues that inventors of the subject invention discovered that signal-to-background ration improves with decreased observation volume element size. However, Pitschke and Guan are no longer relied on to teach the base method and Kitamura does teach an observation volume element that is in the fL range.
Applicant further argues on page 16 that Guan discloses using aliquots at a volume of 120 µl and therefore does not disclose a volume of the observation volume element that is 1 µl or less. However, Guan is not relied on to teach an observation volume element that is 1 µl or less, therefore the argument is not persuasive.
Claims 59-75 and 82-87 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 58 and therefore the rejection of said claims is also maintained.
For all the reasons above the arguments are not persuasive.
Communication
/STEFANIE J. KIRWIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/ELLEN J MARCSISIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677