DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “air filter” three times where the limitations should recite “air-filter”.
Claim 12 recites “side wall” where the limitation should recite “sidewall”.
Claim 28 recites “air filter” where the limitation should recite “air-filter”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS48108268 published 14 Dec. 1973 as translated by EPO (hereafter ‘268) and further in view of Wang et al. US 2009/0205498 (hereafter Wang), Toshimitsu et al. JP2015197225 published 9 Nov. 2015 as translated by EPO (hereafter Toshimitsu), Chen et al. US 2005/0144915 (hereafter Chen), Seck US 2012/0275960 (hereafter Seck), Haiyang CN 107327936 published 7 Nov. 2017 as translated by EPO (hereafter Haiyang), and Ruihong et al. CN 105485811 published 13 Apr. 2016 as translated by EPO (hereafter Ruihong)
Regarding claim 12, ‘268 teaches an air purifier (Figs 1-3) comprising:
a polygonal-shaped casing (casing shown in Fig 1);
an air-filter (cylindrical filter shown in Figs 1-3) mounted inside the polygonal-shaped casing;
a cleaning module (module comprising 14) comprising:
a cleaning member (14);
wherein:
the cleaning module is secured to the polygonal-shaped casing at a location to clean the air filter while the air filter is in an operative use position (as shown in Figs 1-3), and
wherein the cleaning module is located in a space formed between an inside corner (left corning in Fig 1) of the polygonal-shaped casing and the air-filter.
‘268 further teaches where the cleaning module (module comprising 14) is oriented vertically and parallel to a center axis of the air filter (vertical axis as shown in Figs 1-3).
‘268 does not teach:
a polygonal-shaped casing comprising at least five sides;
a cleaning module comprising a UV light source;
wherein the cleaning module comprises a housing enclosure located in a space formed between an inside corner of the polygonal-shaped casing and the air-filter and having a closed side facing away from the air-filter and closed sidewalls extending from the closed side towards the air-filter, and an open side defined between the side walls and facing the air-filter, and the cleaning member and UV light source are located in the housing enclosure between the closed side and the open side, wherein the housing enclosure and the cleaning member and UV light source located therein are oriented vertically and parallel to a center axis of the air filter; and
a controller configured to:
operate the cleaning member to perform mechanical cleaning of the air-filter by making the cleaning member contact a surface of the air-filter for a first period of time, and
operate the UV light source to perform sterilization of the air-filter by applying UV light on the air-filter for a second period of time.
Wang teaches an air purifier (100) comprising:
a casing (102, 104);
an air-filter (108) mounted inside the casing;
a cleaning module (module comprising member 152 and source 134) comprising:
a cleaning member (152);
a UV light source (134);
wherein:
the cleaning module is secured to the casing at a location to clean the air filter while the air filter is in an operative use position (a shown in Figs 1-12), and
a controller configured to:
operate the cleaning member to perform mechanical cleaning of the air-filter by making the cleaning member contact a surface of the air-filter for a first period of time (¶41, ¶45, ¶36), and operate the UV light source to perform sterilization of the air-filter by applying UV light on the air-filter for a second period of time (¶41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning module (module comprising 14) of ‘268 by incorporating the UV light source (134) of Wang in order to emit UV radiation and kill germs (Wang ¶33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier (Figs 1-3) of ‘268 by incorporating the controller (Wang ¶41, ¶45, ¶36) of Wang in order to control the cleaning module (Wang ¶41, ¶45, ¶36).
Toshimitsu teaches an air purifier (Figs 1-2) comprising an air-filter (18) and a cleaning module (24) comprising:
a cleaning member (24e);
a UV light source (30);
wherein:
the cleaning module is secured to the casing (2 in Fig 1) at a location to clean the air filter while the air filter is in an operative use position (a shown in Figs 1-17), and
wherein the cleaning module comprises a housing enclosure (Fig 4) located at one side (outer side) of the air-filter and having a closed side (side facing viewer in Fig 4; side facing away from viewer 5) facing away from the air-filter and closed sidewalls (side walls shown in Figs 4-5) extending from the closed side towards the air-filter, and an open side (side facing away from viewer in Fig 4; side facing viewer 5) defined between the side walls and facing the air-filter (as shown in Fig 8), and the cleaning member and UV light source are located in the housing enclosure between the closed side and the open side (as shown in Figs 4-8).
Toshimitsu further teaches wherein the housing enclosure (Fig 4) and the cleaning member (24e) and UV light source (30) located therein are oriented parallel to a center axis (axis roughly the same as fan 8 center shown in Fig 2 as perpendicular to the plane of the drawing) of the air filter (as shown in Figs 1-5).
Toshimitsu teaches where cleaning module allows the cleaning module to be in one unit (¶31-42; Figs 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning module (module comprising 14 of ‘268; module comprising member 152 and source 134 of Wang) by incorporating the module comprising the housing enclosure (Fig 4) of Toshimitsu in order to allow the cleaning module to be in one unit (Toshimitsu ¶31-42; Figs 4-8).
The modification would have resulted in wherein the housing enclosure and the cleaning member and UV light source located therein are oriented vertically and parallel to a center axis of the air filter because cleaning modules of ‘268 and Toshimitsu are parallel to the center axis of the air filter and the center axis of the air filter of ‘268 is vertical.
Chen teaches an air purifier comprising a polygonal-shaped casing (214) comprising at least five sides or a rectangular or other shape (¶36).
Seck teaches an air purifier comprising a polygonal-shaped casing (12) comprising at least five sides or a rectangular or other shape (¶45).
Haiyang teaches an air purifier comprising a polygonal-shaped casing (23) comprising at least five sides or a rectangular or other shape (¶18).
Ruihong teaches an air purifier comprising a polygonal-shaped casing (1) comprising at least five sides or a rectangular or other shape (¶50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polygonal-shaped casing (casing shown in Fig 1) to have at least five sides (Chen ¶36; Seck ¶45; Haiyang ¶18; Ruihong ¶50) as an obvious matter of art recognized equivalence (MPEP 2144.06), as an obvious matter of change in shape (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
The modification would have resulted in a cleaning module comprising: a UV light source; wherein the cleaning module comprises a housing enclosure located in a space formed between an inside corner of the polygonal-shaped casing and the air-filter and having a closed side facing away from the air-filter and closed sidewalls extending from the closed side towards the air-filter, and an open side defined between the side walls and facing the air-filter, and the cleaning member and UV light source are located in the housing enclosure between the closed side and the open side; and a controller configured to: operate the cleaning member to perform mechanical cleaning of the air-filter by making the cleaning member contact a surface of the air-filter for a first period of time, and operate the UV light source to perform sterilization of the air-filter by applying UV light on the air-filter for a second period of time.
Regarding claim 13, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 12. ‘268 further teaches wherein the cleaning module further comprises a dust collection box (15) located below the cleaning member (as shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 13. ‘268 further teaches wherein the dust collection box is removable from the cleaning module (page 2 lines 44 - end).
Regarding claim 17, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 12.
Wang further teaches wherein the controller is configured to activate a fan (¶9, blower) during at least one of the first period of time and the second period of time (¶41).
Alternatively, Wang further teaches wherein the controller is configured to activate a fan (¶41, vacuum) during at least one of the first period of time and the second period of time (¶41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier (Figs 1-3) of ‘268 by incorporating the controller (Wang ¶41, ¶45, ¶36) of Wang in order to control the cleaning module (Wang ¶41, ¶45, ¶36).
Regarding claim 18, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 12.
Wang further teaches wherein the second period of time is longer than the first period of time (¶41, where the second period is fully capable of being longer than the first period in accordance with MPEP §§ 2114, 2115, and 2173.05(g)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier (Figs 1-3) of ‘268 by incorporating the controller (Wang ¶41, ¶45, ¶36) of Wang in order to control the cleaning module (Wang ¶41, ¶45, ¶36).
Regarding claim 28, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 12.
Wang further teaches wherein the cleaning module further comprises a motor (10) configured to rotate the air filter past the cleaning module (¶2).
The modification of claim 12 above would have resulted in wherein the cleaning module further comprises a motor (‘268 10) configured to rotate the air filter past the cleaning member (‘268 14; Wang 152; Toshimitsu 24e) and the UV light source (Wang 134; Toshimitsu 30).
‘268 does not teach the gear mechanism.
Wang teaches wherein the cleaning module further comprises a gear mechanism (gear portion of gear motor 144) and a motor (motor portion of gear motor 144) configured to drive the gear mechanism to rotate the air filter past the cleaning member and the UV light source (¶35, ¶37-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotating mechanism (10) of ‘268 by incorporating the rotating mechanism (gear motor 144) of Wang in order to drive the filter at the circumference (where the filter acts as a step down gear) and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I B).
Regarding claim 29, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 28.
‘268 does not teach wherein the housing enclosure encases the motor, the cleaning member, the gear mechanism, and the UV light source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the gear mechanism and motor (144) of Wang such that the features are encased by the housing enclosure (Toshimitsu Fig 4) in order to protect the features from the filter housing environment and as an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144 VI C).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Tufo US 2006/0057020 (hereafter Tufo).
Regarding claim 15, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 12.
Wang further teaches wherein the UV light source comprises at least one UV lamp (¶37).
Wang does not teach wherein the UV light source comprises at least one UV lamp and at least one lens positioned to focus UV light emitted from the at least on UV lamp.
Tufo teaches wherein the UV light source comprises at least one UV lamp and at least one lens positioned to focus UV light emitted from the at least on UV lamp (¶105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lamp (¶37) of Wang by incorporating the lens (¶105) of Tufo in order to focus the light (¶105).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Hagihara US 4,220,540 (hereafter Hagihara).
Regarding claim 16, ‘268 in view of Wang, Toshimitsu, Chen, Seck, Haiyang, and Ruihong teaches all the limitations of claim 12. ‘268 further teaches wherein the cleaning member comprises a brush (page 2 lines 44 – end).
Wang further teaches wherein the cleaning member comprises a brush (¶36).
Wang does not teach wherein the cleaning member comprises a lamella and a brush.
Hagihara teaches wherein the cleaning member comprises a lamella (30) in order to scrape the filter (col 2 line 51 – col 3 line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning module (module comprising brush 152 of Wang; page 2 lines 44 – end of ‘268) by incorporating the lamella (30) of Hagihara in order to scrape the filter (col 2 line 51 – col 3 line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning module (module comprising brush 152 of Wang; module comprising 14 of ‘268) by incorporating both the brush (152 of Wang; page 2 lines 44 – end of ‘268) and the lamella (Hagihara 30) of Hagihara as a matter of obvious combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP §2143 I A) and in order to scrape the filter (Hagihara col 2 line 51 – col 3 line 10) while also brushing.
The modification would have result in wherein the cleaning member comprises a lamella and a brush.
Response to Arguments
The following is a response to Applicant’s arguments filed 30 May. 2025:
Applicant argues that the Toshimitsu housing is not oriented parallel to the center axis of the air filter.
Examiner disagrees. The Toshimitsu housing enclosure, the cleaning member, and the UV light source are all oriented horizontally parallel to the center axis of the air filter, as can be shown in Toshimitsu Figs 1-5 (where the housing enclosure, the cleaning member, and the UV light source have the horizontal component of three dimensional structure). When used to modify ‘268, the modification would have resulted in wherein the housing enclosure and the cleaning member and UV light source located therein are oriented vertically and parallel to a center axis of the air filter because cleaning modules of ‘268 and Toshimitsu are parallel to the center axis of the air filter and the center axis of the air filter of ‘268 is vertical.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776