DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Applicant’s response, filed 03 Jun 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-16, 22 and 27-52 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 6, and 16 are amended.
Claims 2-5, 8-11, 17-21 and 23-26 are cancelled.
Claims 16-22, 27-47 and 49-51 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are under consideration to the extent of the elected species, i.e., that the HPPD inhibitor is mesotrione.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) and in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
Eckelbarger teaches herbicidal compounds of Formula (I):
(abstract, [0004], [0015]). Eckelbarger teaches values for the R1, R2, R3, R4, A and X variables that render obvious the compounds recited in the instant claims (see [0005]-[0015]). For instance, Eckelbarger teaches that A may be
([0172]), X may be CF ([0171]), R3 and R4 may be Hydrogen and R2 may be chlorine ([0169]). This combination provides the structure of
. Eckelbarger teaches that the R1 group may be OR1’ where OR1’ may be hydrogen, C1-C8 alkyl or C7-C10 arylalkyl ([0006]). The C7 arylalkyl group renders obvious the benzyl group and thus the structure of instant claim 52. Eckelbarger exemplifies the compound
([0349]) which is identical to the compound recited in instant claims 1 and 6. Eckelbarger teaches that the compounds of Formula (I) may be used as herbicides to control undesirable vegetation (abstract, [0015]). Regarding the HPPD inhibitor (component b of the composition) of claims 1, 7 and 48, Eckelbarger teaches that the compositions may be used in conjunction with one or more other herbicides such as mesotrione ([0201]). Eckelbarger teaches a list of other herbicides that can be used with the composition ([0201]). As evidenced by NIH, herbicides are a type of pesticide (page 1). Thus, the teachings of Eckelbarger of one or more other herbicides renders obvious the additional pesticide of claim 13. Regarding claim 14 which requires components (a) and (b) as the only active ingredients in the composition, this limitation would be obvious as Eckelbarger teaches compositions of formula (I) and that it may be used in combination with one other herbicide, as described above. Eckelbarger does not require additional actives to be used and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to limit the active components in the composition to only what is necessary for the desired treatment. Regarding claim 12, Eckelbarger teaches that the compounds may be used in mixtures containing an herbicidally effective amount of the compound along with at least one agriculturally acceptable adjuvant or carrier ([0185]). Regarding claim 15, Eckelbarger teaches that the compositions may be concentrates or formulations that are diluted with additional carriers and adjuvants before application ([0185]).
Eckelbarger further teaches that pre-emergent and post-emergent application rates of the composition range from 1 to about 4000 g/ha ([0200]). Eckelbarger further exemplifies application of various compounds of Formula (I) applied at various rates such as 35, 70 and 140 g/ha with result performance varying based on the specific compound applied and the species being treated (page 68 Table 15).
Eckelbarger does not teach the weight ratios of a compound of Formula (I) and mesotrione within the range from about 1:30 to about 5:1 as recited in instant claim 1. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Yerkes.
Yerkes teaches herbicidal compositions comprising (a) 4-amino-3-chloro-5-fluoro-6-( 4-chloro-2-fluoro-3-methoxyphenyl) pyridine-2-carboxylic acid and (b) an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione (abstract, col 1 lines 20-25). Yerkes teaches that the (a) and (b) components may be in ratios such as 1:115 to 17:1 (col 1 lines 38-46, col 20 lines 4-31). Yerkes teaches that the mesotrione is applied in a herbicidally effective rate ranging from 5 – 280 gai/ha (col 5 lines 1-7, col 20 lines 45-60). Yerkes teaches examples of application of mesotrione for controlling various weed species and applying at various rates and exemplifies rates of 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha (see Tables 1, 2 and 10-12).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the compound of Formula (I) taught by Eckelbarger and which renders obvious the instant compounds, as described above, at a rate ranging from 1 to 4000 g/ha and the compound mesotrione at rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. Compounds of Formula (I) are known for to be suitable in combination with mesotrione and may be used at rates of 1 to 4000 g/ha and the rate may be adjusted based on the specific compound applied and the specific species that is being treated, as taught by Eckelbarger. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha, as taught by Yerkes. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rates of range from about 1:30 to about 1:1. It would be obvious to form an herbicidal mixture of a compound of Formula (I) and mesotrione as described above and it would be further obvious to have them at a ratio such as 1:2 as this ratio represents a ratio of the application rates of the individual components that are known to be suitable for treatment of various crop and weed species.
In addition to the obviousness of the recited weight ratios as described above, it is further recognized that the weight ratios are obvious as a matter of routine experimentation. As described above, the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated. Additionally, mesotrione may be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes. Thus, the amount of a compound of Formula (I) and the amount of mesotrione that is applied to a weed species is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining that the ratio of a compound of Formula (I) and mesotrione would be about 1:30 to about 1:1 would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to determine the most suitable application rate for the different components of a mixture of a compound of Formula (I) and mesotrione depending on the specific compound of Formula (I) that is utilized and based on the weed species to be treated as the effectiveness of the treatment is dependent on these parameters as demonstrated by Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
Accordingly, the instant claims are rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 Jun 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the claims encompass the weight ratio range that has been tested and points to Tables 1-5 of the specification new data presented in a 1.132 declaration filed 03 Jun 2026 (pages 9-12 of remarks). The applicant notes that data covers ratios from 1:45 to 1:3.5. Tables 1-5 of the specification demonstrate data where component (a) is compound 1 and component (b) is 5 different HPPD inhibitors. The data of the declaration demonstrates results where component (a) is the methyl or benzyl ester and component (b) is mesotrione. Applicant argues that the combination of herbicide (a) and herbicide (b) significantly improved herbicidal efficacies as compared to the expected additive effects of the corresponding control compositions and argues that this data represents unexpected results for the herbicide combinations in the claimed amounts.
The examiner is not persuaded by these arguments as the results presented are not commensurate in scope with the claims and the applicant has not presented data in such a way to truly establish why the results should be understood as unexpected. Although the applicant has reduced the scope of herbicide (a) by amending to remove compounds, the claims are still broad in relation to the data shown, especially in respect to the herbicide (b) and the ratios. The data in the tables of the specification show results from testing compound 1 with a selection of HPPD inhibitors and the declaration shows two additional compounds tested with mesotrione. The data show that specific combinations performed better than expected, the same as expected, and worse than expected, indicating variability in the results. Further, it appears that the most a specific combination of components was tested was up to two ratio values. For example, Tables A and B of the declaration shown the benzyl ester and methyl ester compounds tested with mesotrione at 1:7 and 1:3.5 ratios. Similar data is shown in Tables 1-5 of the specification. This is insufficient to establish unexpected results across the claimed range of 1:30 to 1:1 for each of the many possible combinations as claimed. For instance, there is nothing to indicate that the combination of the herbicide (a) compound 1 with mesotrione would demonstrate unexpected results up to a ratio of 1:30. There would be a general expectation that the unexpected results purported to be present in the combination would not be observed across all possible ratios but it has not been demonstrated where that ratio limit is for the specific combinations. Alternatively, based on the variability in the results presented and even improvements from what was expected at ratios of outside the claimed range (e.g. Table 5 shows improvements at 1:45 ratio) it becomes less clear that the results should be understood as unexpected in a manner that would overcome the rejection but instead suggests that determining the best ratio of components against a particular weed is rather a matter of routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill. Thus, the examiner is not persuaded that the results presented are sufficient to establish unexpected results across the claims and overcome the case of obviousness present in the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 9,637,505 in view of Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
The ‘505 patent claims in claims 1-25 a compound of Formula (I)
and the variable groups as claimed read on the compounds of the instant claims.
Claim 26 of the ‘505 patent recites the compound of Formula (I) as part of an herbicidal composition comprising an agriculturally acceptable adjuvant or carrier. Claim 27 recites an additional herbicidal compound. Claims 28 and 29 recite a safener in the composition.
The ‘505 patent claims do not recite the addition of an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione in the weight ratios as recited or that the composition is an herbicidal concentrate (claim 15). These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
The teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes are described supra.
Based on the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included mesotrione in the herbicidal composition of the claims of the ‘505 patent and to have formed the composition as an herbicidal concentrate. The same compound of Formula (I) of the ‘505 patent is known for use in herbicidal compositions in combination with other herbicides such as mesotrione, as taught by Eckelbarger. Regarding instant claim 14, the combination of the ‘505 patent and Eckelbarger do not require active ingredients in addition to a compound of Formula (I) and mesotrione. It is known that such compositions may be formed as concentrates, as taught by Eckelbarger. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in forming the composition as the same compounds are taught as suitable in herbicidal compositions by Eckelbarger. Regarding the ratio of the components, the application rates of the compounds of Formula (I) of Eckelbarger and the application rate of mesotrione as taught by Yerkes render obvious the ratios of the instant claims. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rate of the instant claims. Alternatively, it would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation to determine the suitable ratio of the components as the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated and mesotrione may also be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes, thus indicating that the amount of each substance that is applied is a result effective variable which one of ordinary skill would recognize and could optimize.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,763,445 in view of Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
The ‘445 patent claims a safened herbicidal composition comprising a pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide of Formula (III)
and a quinolinyloxyacetate safener. Claims 2 and 3 recite
and
which are identical to compounds of instant claims 1, 6 and 52. Claims 4-7 recite specific safeners and ratios of the compound of Formula (III) and the safener. Claim 7 recites an additional adjuvant. Claim 8 recites an additional pesticide.
The ‘445 patent do not recite the addition of an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione in the weight ratios as recited or that the composition is an herbicidal concentrate (claim 15). These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
The teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes are described supra.
Based on the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included mesotrione in the herbicidal composition of the claims of the ‘445 patent and to have formed the composition as an herbicidal concentrate. The same pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide compound of the ‘445 patent is known for use in herbicidal compositions in combination with other herbicides such as mesotrione, as taught by Eckelbarger. Regarding instant claim 14, the combination of the ‘445 patent and Eckelbarger does not require active ingredients in addition to the pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide and mesotrione. It is known that such compositions may be formed as concentrates, as taught by Eckelbarger. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in forming the composition as the same compounds are taught as suitable in herbicidal compositions by Eckelbarger. Regarding the ratio of the components, the application rates of the compounds of Formula (I) of Eckelbarger and the application rate of mesotrione as taught by Yerkes render obvious the ratios of the instant claims. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rate of the instant claims. Alternatively, it would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation to determine the suitable ratio of the components as the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated and mesotrione may also be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes, thus indicating that the amount of each substance that is applied is a result effective variable which one of ordinary skill would recognize and could optimize.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,244 in view of Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
The ‘244 patent claims a safened herbicidal composition comprising (a) a pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide of Formula (I)
and (b) an azole carboxylate safener selected from fenchlorazole, isoxadifen, and mefenpyr. The pyridine carboxylic acid of claims 1-6 is renders obvious the compounds of instant claims 1, 6 and 52. Claims 7 recites ratios of (a) and (b) ranging from 65:1 to 1:5. Claim 8 recites an additional adjuvant. Claim 9 recites an additional pesticide.
The ‘244 patent claims do not recite the addition of an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione in the weight ratios as recited or that the composition is an herbicidal concentrate (claim 15). These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
The teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes are described supra.
Based on the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included mesotrione in the herbicidal composition of the claims of the ‘244 patent and to have formed the composition as an herbicidal concentrate. The same pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide compound of the ‘244 patent is known for use in herbicidal compositions in combination with other herbicides such as mesotrione, as taught by Eckelbarger. Regarding instant claim 14, the combination of the ‘244 patent and Eckelbarger does not require active ingredients in addition to the pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide and mesotrione. It is known that such compositions may be formed as concentrates, as taught by Eckelbarger. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in forming the composition as the same compounds are taught as suitable in herbicidal compositions by Eckelbarger. Regarding the ratio of the components, the application rates of the compounds of Formula (I) of Eckelbarger and the application rate of mesotrione as taught by Yerkes render obvious the ratios of the instant claims. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rate of the instant claims. Alternatively, it would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation to determine the suitable ratio of the components as the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated and mesotrione may also be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes, thus indicating that the amount of each substance that is applied is a result effective variable which one of ordinary skill would recognize and could optimize.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,455,836 in view of Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
The ‘836 patent claims a herbicidal composition comprising a pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide of
or
and a photosystem II inhibitor. The pyridine carboxyl acid compounds of claims 1-3 and 11-13 render obvious the pyridine carboxylic acid compound of the instant claims. Claims 4-6 require the photosystem II inhibitor is bromoxynil, isoproturon or metribuzin. Claim 7 recites an additional adjuvant. Claim 9 requires the pyridine carboxylic acid and the photosystem II inhibitor as the only active. Claim 10 recites the composition as an herbicidal concentrate.
The ‘836 patent claims do not recite the addition of an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione in the weight ratios as recited. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
The teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes are described supra.
In addition to mesotrione, Eckelbarger teaches bromoxynil, isoproturon and metribuzin as suitable components in combination with the pyridine carboxylic herbicides ([0201]).
Based on the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included mesotrione in the herbicidal composition of the claims of the ‘836 patent. The same pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide compound of the ‘836 patent is known for use in herbicidal compositions in combination with other herbicides such as mesotrione, as taught by Eckelbarger. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to have substituted the bromoxynil, isoproturon or metribuzin of the ‘836 patent claims with mesotrione as mesotrione, bromoxynil, isoproturon and metribuzin are all known as suitable in combination with the pyridine carboxylic acids. Regarding instant claim 14, the combination of the ‘836 patent and Eckelbarger do not require active ingredients in addition to the pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide and mesotrione and the substitution of mesotrione would remove the other active component. It is known that such compositions may be formed as concentrates, as taught by Eckelbarger. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in forming the composition as the same compounds are taught as suitable in herbicidal compositions by Eckelbarger. Regarding the ratio of the components, the application rates of the compounds of Formula (I) of Eckelbarger and the application rate of mesotrione as taught by Yerkes render obvious the ratios of the instant claims. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rate of the instant claims. Alternatively, it would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation to determine the suitable ratio of the components as the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated and mesotrione may also be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes, thus indicating that the amount of each substance that is applied is a result effective variable which one of ordinary skill would recognize and could optimize.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 10,448,638 in view of Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
The ‘638 patent claims a herbicidal composition comprising a pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide of
or
and an ALS inhibitor. The pyridine carboxyl acid compounds of claims 1-3 and 18-20 render obvious the pyridine carboxylic acid compound of the instant claims. Claims 4-13 and 21-25 require specific ALS inhibitors such as florasulam, imazamethabenz, bispyribac, propoxycarbazone, thiencarbazon, iodosulfuron and mesosulfuron and ratios of the component with the pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide. Claim 14 recites an additional adjuvant. Claim 15 recites an additional pesticide. Claim 16 recites the pyridine carboxylic acid the ALS inhibitor as the only actives. Claim 17 recites the composition as an herbicidal concentrate.
The ‘638 patent claims do not recite the addition of an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione in the weight ratios as recited. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
The teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes are described supra.
In addition to mesotrione, Eckelbarger teaches florasulam, imazamethabenz, bispyribac, propoxycarbazone, thiencarbazon, iodosulfuron and mesosulfuron as suitable components in combination with the pyridine carboxylic herbicides ([0201]).
Based on the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included mesotrione in the herbicidal composition of the claims of the ‘638 patent. The same pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide compound of the ‘638 patent is known for use in herbicidal compositions in combination with other herbicides such as mesotrione, as taught by Eckelbarger. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to have substituted the florasulam, imazamethabenz, bispyribac, propoxycarbazone, thiencarbazon, iodosulfuron and mesosulfuron of the ‘638 patent claims with mesotrione as mesotrione, florasulam, imazamethabenz, bispyribac, propoxycarbazone, thiencarbazon, iodosulfuron and mesosulfuron are all known as suitable in combination with the pyridine carboxylic acids. Regarding instant claim 14, the combination of the ‘638 patent and Eckelbarger do not require active ingredients in addition to the pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide and mesotrione and the substitution of mesotrione would remove the other active component. Regarding the ratio of the components, the application rates of the compounds of Formula (I) of Eckelbarger and the application rate of mesotrione as taught by Yerkes render obvious the ratios of the instant claims. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rate of the instant claims. Alternatively, it would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation to determine the suitable ratio of the components as the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated and mesotrione may also be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes, thus indicating that the amount of each substance that is applied is a result effective variable which one of ordinary skill would recognize and could optimize.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,521,847 in view of Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
The ‘847 patent claims an herbicidal composition comprising (a) a pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide of
and (b) synthetic auxin herbicide or auxin transport inhibitors such as 2,4-D. The pyridine carboxyl acid compounds of claims 1-6 render obvious the pyridine carboxylic acid compound of the instant claims. Claims 7-10 recite specific ratios of the (a) and (b) components. Claims 11 and12 recite an additional adjuvant and safener. Claim 13 recites an additional pesticide. Claim 14 recites the pyridine carboxylic acid the synthetic auxin herbicide or auxin transport inhibitor as the only actives. Claim 15 recites the composition as an herbicidal concentrate.
The ‘847 patent claims do not recite the addition of an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione in the weight ratios as recited. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
The teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes are described supra.
In addition to mesotrione, Eckelbarger teaches 2,4-D as a suitable component in combination with the pyridine carboxylic herbicides ([0201]).
Based on the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included mesotrione in the herbicidal composition of the claims of the ‘847 patent. The same pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide compound of the ‘847 patent is known for use in herbicidal compositions in combination with other herbicides such as mesotrione, as taught by Eckelbarger. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to have substituted the 2,4-D of the ‘847 patent claims with mesotrione as mesotrione, florasulam, imazamethabenz, bispyribac, propoxycarbazone, thiencarbazon, iodosulfuron and mesosulfuron are all known as suitable in combination with the pyridine carboxylic acids. Regarding instant claim 14, the combination of the ‘847 patent and Eckelbarger do not require active ingredients in addition to the pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide and mesotrione and the substitution of mesotrione would remove the other active component. Regarding the ratio of the components, the application rates of the compounds of Formula (I) of Eckelbarger and the application rate of mesotrione as taught by Yerkes render obvious the ratios of the instant claims. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rate of the instant claims. Alternatively, it would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation to determine the suitable ratio of the components as the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated and mesotrione may also be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes, thus indicating that the amount of each substance that is applied is a result effective variable which one of ordinary skill would recognize and could optimize.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12-15, 48 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,231,451 in view of Eckelbarger et al. (US2014/0274695, published 18 September 2014) as evidenced by NIH (Pesticides) in view of Yerkes et al. (US 8,841,233, published 23 Sep 2014).
The ‘451 patent claims an herbicidal composition comprising (a) a pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide of
and a (b) synthetic auxin herbicide. The pyridine carboxyl acid compounds of claims 1-3 and 15-17 render obvious the pyridine carboxylic acid compound of the instant claims. Claims 4-9 recite the (b) component as picloram or a triclopyr compound specific ratios of the (a) and (b) components. Claims 10 and 11 recite an additional adjuvant and safener. Claim 12 recites an additional pesticide. Claim 13 recites the components (a) and (b) as the only actives. Claim 14 recites the composition as an herbicidal concentrate.
The ‘451 patent claims do not recite the specific pyridine carboxylic acid of instant claims 5 and 6 or the addition of an HPPD inhibitor such as mesotrione in the weight ratios as recited. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes.
The teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes are described supra.
In addition to mesotrione, Eckelbarger teaches picloram and triclopyr esters as suitable components in combination with the pyridine carboxylic herbicides ([0201]).
Based on the teachings of Eckelbarger and Yerkes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included mesotrione in the herbicidal composition of the claims of the ‘451 patent. The same pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide compound of the ‘451 patent is known for use in herbicidal compositions in combination with other herbicides such as mesotrione, as taught by Eckelbarger. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to have substituted the picloram and triclopyr esters of the ‘451 patent claims with mesotrione as mesotrione, picloram and triclopyr esters are all known as suitable in combination with the pyridine carboxylic acids. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have substituted a pyridine carboxylic acid such as in instant claim 6 and 52 as these similar compounds are taught for herbicidal compositions by Eckelbarger. Regarding instant claim 14, the combination of the ‘451 patent and Eckelbarger do not require active ingredients in addition to the pyridine carboxylic acid herbicide and mesotrione and the substitution of mesotrione would remove the other active component. Regarding the ratio of the components, the application rates of the compounds of Formula (I) of Eckelbarger and the application rate of mesotrione as taught by Yerkes render obvious the ratios of the instant claims. For instance, application of compounds of Formula (I) at 35 g/ha are known, as taught by Eckelbarger. Similarly, mesotrione is known to be useful at application rates such as 17.5, 35, 70 and 140 gai/ha. An application rate of 35 g/ha of a compound of Formula (I) and a rate of 70 gai/ha mesotrione results in a weight ratio of 35:70 (1:2), which renders obvious the rate of the instant claims. Alternatively, it would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation to determine the suitable ratio of the components as the compounds of formula (I), as taught by Eckelbarger, may be applied at various application rates depending on the compound applied and the weed that is to be treated and mesotrione may also be applied to various weed species at different rates, as taught by Yerkes, thus indicating that the amount of each substance that is applied is a result effective variable which one of ordinary skill would recognize and could optimize.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 Jun 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the instant claims are non-obvious due to unexpected results of the herbicide compounds in combination with HPPD inhibitors against weeds. This argument has been addressed above and the same reasoning applies here as the examiner is not convinced by this argument as the results are not commensurate in scope with the claims for the reasons noted above.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/E.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600