DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
. Claim(s) 49-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0346292 (Handelsman) in view of US 2008/0197630 (Wakitani).
Regarding claim 49, Handelsman teaches a system for controlling distribution of AC power from a first AC power source (Fig. 3 shows power source 301) between loads (Fig. 3 shows multiple loads 302) connected to an electric power grid (Fig. 3 shows grid 308) in a power sharing system (Fig. 3 shows electrical system 300) comprising: a power distribution board (Fig. 3 shows switching circuit 303 i.e. power distribution board) [0048] having: i. at least one input configured for receiving AC power from a first AC power source (Fig. 3 shows inputs from AC power source 301) [0048-0049]; il. at least two switches (Fig. 3 shows switches 306a-d, and 309a-d), each switch being configured for connecting the first AC power source (Fig. 3 shows AC power sources 301 output AC power) [0049] to a separate load in parallel (Fig. 3 shows loads 302a-n connected in parallel) [0052, 0054], where each load (Fig. 3 shows loads 302a-n) is connected to an electric power grid (Fig. 3 shows grid 308) in parallel (Fig. 3 shows loads 302a-n connected in parallel to grid 308), and each switch having an OPEN/CLOSED configuration (Fig. 3 shows switches 306a-d and 309a-d which has OPEN/CLOSED configuration) [0050, 0052-0054], wherein in the CLOSED configuration the switch is configured to provide power from the first AC power source to a load connected to the electric power grid (Fig. 3 shows switches 309a-d in CLOSED configuration provide power from power generator 301 1.e. first AC power source to loads 302 connected to grid 308) [0054-0055], and
wherein in the OPEN configuration the switch is configured to disconnect the first AC power source from the load (in OPEN configuration the switches 309a-d are disconnected from power generator 301 i.e. first AC power source from loads 302a-n) [0054], such that no power from the first AC power source is provided to the load in addition to the electric power grid (switches 309 can be switches such that no power from the first AC power source 301 is provided to the loads 302 in addition to the electric power grid) [0054];
iii.a controller (Fig. 3 shows controller 305) configured for selectively controlling the OPEN/CLOSED configuration of the switches (Fig. 3 shows controller 305 sending switching commands to switches 309a-d and 306a-d) [0056-0057];
iv. sensors configured to measure total power from the first AC power source (sensors to measure total power from power generator 301 i.e. first AC power source) [0032, 0037]; and
v. sensors configured to measure power demand of each load (sensors to measure power demand of loads) [0032, 0037]; wherein the controller is configured to calculate power exported to the grid for different switch configurations (controller 305 is configured to calculate power exported to the grid 308 for different switch configurations) [0069] and selectively controls switches to meet preferred power export requirements (controller 305 controls switches 309a-d and 306a-d to meet power export requirements as shown in Fig. 6) [0069-0072].
However, Handelsman does not teach wherein in the closed configuration of the switch, with the load connected to the first AC power source in addition to the electric power grid, no power from the first AC power source is provided to the load in addition to the electric power grid.
However, Wakitani teaches wherein in the closed configuration of the switch, with the load connected to the first AC power source in addition to the electric power grid (load 14a-d is connected to power plant 20 i.e. first AC power source in addition to power network 12 i.e. electric power grid) [0048-49].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein in the closed configuration of the switch, with the load connected to the first AC power source in addition to the electric power grid as taught by Wakitani in order to have uninterruptible power supply to the loads.
Regarding claim 50, Handelsman teaches in the first AC power source is a solar power generating system (Fig. 3 shows PV generator 311) [0049].
Regarding claim 51, Handelsman teaches wherein the first AC power source is an embedded power source configured to be higher voltage than grid power (first AC power source comprising PV generator 301 comprises boost converters to boost the voltage higher than grid power 308) [0007, 0049].
Regarding claim 52, Handelsman teaches wherein the switches comprise relays [0012, 0059].
Regarding claim 53, Handelsman teaches wherein the switches comprise solid state relays (SSR) [0012, 0059-0060].
Regarding claim 54, Handelsman teaches wherein the switches comprise parallel sets of two IGBTs or MOSFETs arranged with their load side terminals connected in anti-series (Fig. 4 shows switches comprising two transistors in anti-series) [(0012, 0058-0062].
Regarding claim 55, Handelsman teaches wherein the power distribution board is a distribution busbar (Fig. 3 shows switching circuit 303 comprising a distribution busbar).
Regarding claim 56, Handelsman teaches a method for controlling distribution of AC power between loads (Fig. 3 shows loads 302) in a power sharing system using the system of claim 49, comprising:
receiving at the controller measurements from the sensors (controller 305 receives measurements from all sensors) [0032, 0037];
calculating power exported to the grid for different switch configurations (Fig. 5A-D shows calculating power exported to the grid for different switch configurations) [0059-0060, 0068- 0069];
determining preferred power export requirements and identifying a switch configuration which best matches the preferred power export requirements (controller 305 is configured to calculate power exported to the grid 308 for different switch configurations) [0069]; and selectively setting the configuration of the switches in accordance with the best match to the preferred export requirements (controller 305 controls switches 309a-d and 306a-d to meet power export requirements as shown in Fig. 6) [0010-0011, 0069-0072].
Regarding claim 57, Handelsman teaches where in the first AC power source is a solar power generating system (Fig. 3 shows PV generator 311) [0049].
Regarding claim 58, Handelsman teaches wherein the first AC power source is an embedded power source configured to be higher voltage than grid power (first AC power source comprising PV generator 301 comprises boost converters to boost the voltage higher than grid power 308) [0007, 0049].
Regarding claim 59, Handelsman teaches wherein the switches comprise relays [0012, 0059]. Regarding claim 60, Handelsman teaches wherein the switches comprise solid state relays (SSR) [0012, 0059-0060].
Regarding claim 61, Handelsman teaches wherein the switches comprise parallel sets of two IGBTs or MOSFETs arranged with their load side terminals connected in anti-series (Fig. 4 shows switches comprising two transistors in anti-series) [(0012, 0058-0062].
Regarding claim 62, Handelsman teaches wherein the power distribution board is a distribution busbar (Fig. 3 shows switching circuit 303 comprising a distribution busbar).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner would like to point to Handelsman paragraph [0054] teaching “switches 309 may enable a load of loads 302 to be connected to one or more power sources”. This is where the Examiner relies on the Wakitani reference to teach the details of the switching that leads to this amended limitation to be disclosed as follows: “with the load connected to the first AC power source in addition to the electric power grid” which is taught by Fig. 1 of Wakitani showing load 14a-d is connected to power plant 20 i.e. first AC power source in addition to power network 12 i.e. electric power grid, as described in paragraphs [0048-49]. The Examiner agrees with the Applicant regarding the amended portion not being apprehended by the Handelsman reference. Therefore, the Examiner relies on the Wakitani reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836