DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims and drawings filed 12/11/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-11, 16-24, 27 are pending in the application. Applicant' s amendments to the claims have overcome every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 09/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 17-18, 20, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (US 2017/0232121) in view of Vassallo (US 2016/0030288) and further in view of Solomon (US 20160144118) and further in view of in view of Daneluzzi (US 2016/0213912) as evidenced by Raulerson (US 2006/0030827) and Sansoucy (US 2012/0083750).
Regarding claim 1, Chiu discloses a device (device of Fig 35) for connection to a medical connector, the device comprising: a cap (20, Fig 35) comprising an integral body (71, Fig 38), a closed end (closed base of cap 20, Fig 38), an annular wall (wall of cap 20, Fig 38) having a length Lc extending from the closed end to an open end (end defined by ring 72, Fig 38) and defining a chamber (See Fig 38) containing an absorbent material (50, Fig 35) and disinfectant or antimicrobial agent (Para 0075), the open end having a peripheral ledge (73, Fig 38) extending radially inward from the open end defining an end face and an engagement surface (top surface of ledge 73, Fig 42), the peripheral ledge is adapted and sized to allow a male luer connector to rest on the peripheral ledge (the male luer connector rests on the peripheral ledge at least indirectly through the membrane flange 81, See Fig 42; Para 0072); the annular wall having an exterior wall surface and an interior wall surface (See Fig 42); one or more internal threads (39, Fig 37) are adapted and sized to engage a female luer connector (Para 0076), the internal thread disposed adjacent the closed end that partially extend along a length of the interior wall surface (Para 0069, liens 29-31); an opening therethrough sized and adapted to receive either a male luer connector, a female luer connector or a hemodialysis connector (Para 0043); a locking lid (81, Fig 37) having perforations (80, Fig 36) configured to engaged with the engagement surface and secure the elastic sealing ring to the open end (See Fig 42, Para 0071; the perforations and extrusions are intended to form a permanent connection), the locking lid having an end surface (top surface of membrane flange 81, Fig 36); and a peelable seal (10, Fig 35) on the end surface of the locking lid to prevent the disinfectant or the antimicrobial agent from exiting the chamber (Para 0073).
Chiu is silent to an elastic sealing ring having a dilatable opening therethrough sized and adapted to receive a male luer connector, a female luer connector and a hemodialysis connector, wherein the elastic seal ring is configured to frictionally engage a male luer connector upon insertion into the elastic sealing ring and the locking lid having a peripheral sidewall extending perpendicularly from a base, one or more threads disposed on an interior surface of the peripheral sidewall of the locking lid configured to engage with the engagement surface.
Vassallo teaches a locking lid (20, Fig 2) having a peripheral sidewall (28, Fig 2) extending perpendicularly from a base (98, Fig 2), one or more threads (118, Fig 8) disposed on an interior surface of the peripheral sidewall of the locking lid configured to engage with the engagement surface and engaging the elastic seal (16, Fig 2) to the open end (Para 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the perforations of the locking lid and the extrusions 75 of the cap disclosed by Chiu to be the threads and retention lugs 120 taught by Vassallo in order to more easily form a permanent connection between the locking lid and cap since the lugs form a permanent lock as soon as the lid is seated onto the cap (Para 0051 -Vassallo). Chiu further teaches that the lid and cap can be affixed by other mechanical means (Para 0049), therefore, one of ordinary skill would have ample motivation to modify the rivets with locking threads.
The modified invention of Chiu and Vassallo disclose all of the elements of the invention, however, is silent regarding an elastic sealing ring having a dilatable opening therethrough sized and adapted to receive a male luer connector, a female luer connector and a hemodialysis connector, wherein the elastic seal ring is configured to frictionally engage a male luer connector upon insertion into the elastic sealing ring.
Solomon teach an analogous device (device of Fig 7) for connection to a medical connector comprising: a cap (16) comprising a closed end (12, Fig 7), an open end (10, Fig 7), and a chamber (30, Fig 7) containing a disinfectant (antiseptic liquid, Para 0052), the open end having a peripheral ledge (ledge that the elastic sealing ring 20 rest on, Fig 7); an elastic sealing ring (20, Fig 7) having a dilatable opening (14, Fig 7) therethrough sized and adapted to receive connectors of varying dimensions (Para 0003), wherein the elastic seal ring is configured to frictionally engage a male luer connector upon insertion into the elastic sealing ring (Para 0055 and Para 0057).
Daneluzzi teaches an elastic ring (3, Fig 2) having a dilatable opening therethrough sized and adapted to receive and frictionally engage any connector present on the market (Para 0055, Para 0062, claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Chiu to include an elastic sealing ring dimensioned to receive and engage a male luer, a female luer, and a hemodialysis connector as taught by Solomon and Daneluzzi in order to have a universal cap that can be removably held on connectors of varying dimensions by a compression fit (Para 0003 -Solomon; Para 0055 -Daneluzzi).
Examiner notes that a hemodialysis connector can be a luer connector as evidenced by Raulerson (US 2006/0030827) and Sansoucy (US 2012/0083750) in Para 0003 and Para 0029, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the female luer connector is selected from the group consisting essentially of needle-free connectors, catheter luer connectors, stopcocks, and hemodialysis connectors (Para 0043 -Chiu).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the dilatable opening (14, Fig 7 -Solomon) is sized to frictionally engage a male luer connector (Para 0003-Solomon).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the male connector is an intravenous tubing end, stopcock or male lock luer (Para 0043 -Chiu).
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the elastic sealing ring (20, Fig 7 -Solomon) is in contact with the peripheral ledge (ledge that the elastic sealing ring 20 rest on, Fig 7 -Solomon).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses a dilatable opening (14, Fig 7 -Solomon), however, is silent regarding a diameter that is dilatable from an initial diameter in a range from about 7-9 mm to a dilated diameter in a range from about 9-12 mm.
The instant specifications indicates that the dilatable opening is sized to receive a male luer connector, a female luer connector, or a hemodialysis connector. Since Chiu, Solomon, and Daneluzzi are sized to receive male and female luer connectors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the dilatable opening to be dilatable from 7-9mm to 9-12mm since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the peripheral ledge (ledge that the elastic sealing ring 20 rest on, Fig 7 -Solomon) is sized and adapted to receive the elastic sealing ring (20, Fig 7 -Solomon).
Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the cap comprises a polypropylene or polyethylene material.
Solomon further teaches the cap comprises a polypropylene material (Para 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cap to be made of polypropylene as taught by Solomon in order to for the cap to be IPA impermeable (Para 0068).
Regarding claim 10, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the elastic sealing ring (20, Fig 7 -Solomon) comprises an elastomeric material (Para 0068 -Solomon).
Regarding claim 11, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the elastomeric material comprises a thermoplastic elastomer (Para 0068 -Solomon).
Regarding claim 17, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses a compression of the absorbent material toward the closed end of the chamber occurs upon connection to the female luer connector or the male luer connector (Para 0075, lines 1-4 -Chiu).
Regarding claim 18, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses compression of the absorbent material disinfects the female luer connector or the male luer connector (Para 0075, lines 1-4 -Chiu).
Regarding claim 20, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the disinfectant or antimicrobial agent is selected from the group consisting essentially of isopropyl alcohol, ethanol, 2-propanol, butanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, propyl gallate, butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA), butylated hydroxytoluene, t-butyl-hydroquinone, chloroxylenol, chlorohexidine, chlorhexidine diacetate, chlorohexidine gluconate, povidone iodine, alcohol, dichlorobenzyl alcohol, dehydroacetic acid, hexetidine, triclosan, hydrogen peroxide, colloidal silver, benzethonium chloride, benzalkonium chloride, octenidine, antibiotic, and mixtures thereof (Para 0046, lines 3-6 -Chiu).
Regarding claim 22, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the disinfectant or antimicrobial agent is a fluid or a gel (Para 0046, lines 6-8 -Chiu)
Regarding claim 23, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the peelable seal comprises an aluminum or multi-layer polymer film peel back top (Para 0073, lines 17-19).
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (US 2017/0232121) in view of Vassallo (US 2016/0030288) and further in view of Solomon (US 20160144118) and further in view of in view of Daneluzzi (US 2016/0213912) and further in view of Gardner (US 2016/0045629).
Regarding claim 19, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the absorbent material is under radial compression by the internal threads to retain the absorbent material in the chamber.
Gardner teaches an analogous device (1010, Fig 26), wherein the absorbent material (1032, Fig 26) is under radial compression by the internal threads (1030, Fig 26) to retain the absorbent material in the chamber (Para 0103, lines 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to include retaining rings as taught by Gardner to provide internal threads for better retaining the absorbent material (Para 0103, lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 21, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the disinfectant or antimicrobial agent comprises at least one of chlorhexidine gluconate and chlorhexidine diacetate.
Gardner teaches an analogous device (310, Fig 6), wherein the disinfectant or antimicrobial agent comprises at least one of chlorhexidine gluconate and chlorhexidine diacetate (Para 0052, lines 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the isopropyl alcohol as taught by Chiu to instead be chlorhexidine gluconate as Gardner teach that isopropyl alcohol and chlorhexidine gluconate could be used to achieve the same result (disinfect a connector as described in Para 0052, lines 2-5) and thus were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made. it has been held that substituting parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (US 2017/0232121) in view of Vassallo (US 2016/0030288) and further in view of Solomon (US 20160144118) and further in view of in view of Daneluzzi (US 2016/0213912) and further in view of Kerr (US 2014/0366914).
Regarding claim 16, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the absorbent material has slits.
Kerr teaches an analogous device (20, Fig 1), wherein the absorbent material (110, Fig 19) has slits (111, 19) (Para 0093).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the absorbent material to comprise slits as taught by Kerr in order to increase the surface area for scrubbing to provide a more effective disinfecting (Para 0093).
Regarding claim 24, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the peelable seal is heat-sealed or induction sealed to the engagement surface.
Kerr teaches an analogous device (20, Fig 1), wherein the peelable seal is heat-sealed to the engagement surface (Para 0066, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peelable seal to be heat sealed as taught by Kerr in order easily seal the cap while still being able remove it when needed (Para 0066).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (US 2017/0232121) in view of Vassallo (US 2016/0030288) and further in view of Solomon (US 20160144118) and further in view of in view of Daneluzzi (US 2016/0213912) and further in view of Raulerson (US 2006/0030827).
Regarding Claim 27, the modified invention of Chiu, Vassallo, Solomon, and Daneluzzi discloses the opening adjacent the open end of the interior wall surface is sized and adapted to receive the elastic sealing ring (See Fig 7 -Solomon), however, is silent regarding the opening adjacent the open end of the interior wall surface is sized and adapted to receive an elastic sealing ring in a press-fit connection.
Raulerson teaches a ring (152, Fig 3) and a cap (108, Fig 3) having an interior wall; wherein the opening adjacent the open end of the interior wall surface is sized and adapted to receive a ring in a press-fit connection (Para 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cap and elastic sealing ring to be coupled via a press-fit connection as taught by Raulerson as Raulerson teaches that a press-fit or interference fit is a common form of coupling elements in a medical device (Para 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed 12/11/2025, on pages 5-7, regarding Chiu, Solomon, Daneluzzi failing to teach the amended limitations directed to threads on an interior surface of the locking lid have been fully considered but are moot in view of the current rejection that relies on Vassallo to teach threads on a locking lid.
Conclusion
/ANTARIUS S DANIEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783