DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, claims 132, 170-172 and the species of cannabidiol, cannabidiolic acid, cannabigerolic acid, Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol, cannabichromene, α-pinene, β- myrcene, β-pinene, 6-limonene, glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulfate, brewer’s yeast, Arabic gum, guar gum, a flavoring agent, glycerin, sunflower lecithin, and water in the reply filed on 8/25/2023 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Notice states that the reply filed on July 28, 2023 is not fully responsive to the Restriction Requirement dated April 28, 2023 because of the omission(s) or matter(s): applicant elected claims that are dependent on non-elected claims. Applicant disagrees. Applicant elected Group II, claims 132, 170-172, and 174. While these claims depend from Group I claims to specify the pharmaceutical composition or dosage form, Applicant submits that such dependence is standard in restriction practice and should not prevent substantive examination. As described in the Examiner Interview section above, both Supervisory Patent Examiner McKelvey and Examiner Meller agree that the matter listed in the Notice does not make the reply filed on July 28, 2023 not fully responsive to the Restriction Requirement dated April 28, 2023. As further described in the Examiner Interview section above, Examiner Meller requested a correction of the claims that encompass the species elected in the reply filed on July 28, 2023. With this response, Applicant identifies claims 132 and 170-172 as encompassing the elected species. This is not found persuasive because of the extensive search which is not only US Patent data bases but also multiple databases outside of the PTO and which is quite extensive while not be co-extensive.
Therefore, claims 174, 177, 179 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to non-elected inventions and the claims are ONLY DRAWN to a composition containing the combination of cannabidiol, cannabidiolic acid, cannabigerolic acid, Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol, cannabichromene, α-pinene, β- myrcene, β-pinene, 6-limonene, glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulfate, brewer’s yeast, Arabic gum, guar gum, a flavoring agent, glycerin, sunflower lecithin, and water used to treat pain.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 132, 170-172, 175, 176, 178 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kleidon et al. (US Patent 2017/0172977- “Ojai”-of record) in view of WO 2017/025712 (“GW”-of record).
Ojai discloses a dosage form (see abstract) comprising: cannabidiol (Para. [0047], The cannabinoids of the compositions disclosed herein can comprise cannabidiol-class compounds, including but not limited to cannabidiol (CBD)...); cannabidiolic acid (Para. [0047], ...cannabidiolic acid (CBDA)...); cannabigerolic acid (Para. [(0047}; Para. [0043], Cannabinoids utilized in the compositions disclosed herein include but are not limited to...cannabigerolic acid (CBGA)...); A9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Para. [0047]; Para. [0050], The compositions of the present disclosure can comprise tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) as a type of cannabinoids. THC can comprise delta-9-THC, delta-8-THC, and combinations thereof); cannabichromene (Para. [0047]; Para. {0043}, ...cannabichromene-type (CBC)...); and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable additives, flavoring agents, surfactants, and adjuvants (Para. [0108], The compositions of the present disclosure can be administered in any oral dosage form, including liquid dosage forms (e.g., a suspension or slurry), and oral solid dosage forms (e.g., a tablet or bulk powder). Tablets can include tablets, caplets, capsules, including soft gelatin capsules, and lozenges. Tablets can further comprise suitable binders, lubricants, diluents, disintegrating agents, colorants, flavoring agents, flow-inducing agents, and melting agents).
Ojai discloses a pharmaceutical composition (Abstract; Para. (0015]) comprising hemp extract and a carrier (Para. [0058], The compositions of the present disclosure can be enriched in cannabidiol compounds compared to hemp oil. For example, a composition can comprise hemp oil and cannabidio! compounds from plant sources such as extracts (e.g., hemp extract) and essential oils; Para. (0111], The compositions of the present disclosure can be provided as a food composition in combination with a food carrier...), wherein the hemp extract comprises: cannabidio!, and cannabidiolic acid (Para. [0058]; Para. [0047], The cannabinoids of the compositions disclosed herein can comprise cannabidiol-class compounds, including but not limited to cannabidiol (CBD), cannabidiolic acid (CBDA)...); but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 0.1:1 to about 1:0.1.
However, GW is in the field of cannabinoids (GW Abstract) and teaches a ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid that is about 0.6:1 to about 1:0.6 (GW Para. [0041], Where CBDA is used in combination with CBD ratios of between 9:1 to 1:9 (CBDA:CBD) are preferred. Ranges of ratios include 8:2 to 2:8 (CBDA:CBD); 7:3 to 3:7 (CBDA:CBD); 6:4 to 4:6 (CBDA:CBD); and 1:1 (CBDA:CBD) and any ranges there between).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Ojai with the teaching of GW for the purpose of including the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid in a proportion for treating epilepsy (GW Para. [0041]; Para. [0035)). Modified Ojai discloses the pharmaceutical composition of the claims. Ojai further discloses where in hemp extract further comprises: cannabigerolic acid (Para. [0058]; Para. (0043), Cannabinoids utilized in the compositions disclosed herein include but are not limited to...cannabigerolic acid (CBGA)...); A9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Para. [0058]; Para. (0050), The compositions of the present disclosure can comprise tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) as a type of cannabinoids. THC can comprise delta-9-THC, delta-8-THC, and combinations thereof); and cannabichromene (Para. [0058]; Para. [0043], ...cannabichromene-type (CBC)...). Ojai further discloses the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid (Para. [0058); Para. [0047], The cannabinoids of the compositions disclosed herein can comprise cannabidiol-class compounds, including but not limited to cannabidiol (CBD), cannabidiolic acid (CBDA)...), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is selected from the group consisting of about 1:100, about 1:50, about 1:10, and about 1:1. However, GW is in the field of cannabinoids (GW Abstract) and teaches a ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid that is about 1:1 (GW Para. [0041], Where CBDA is used in combination with CBD ratios of between 9:1 to 1:9 (CBDA:CBD) are preferred. Ranges of ratios include 8:2 to 2:8 (CBDA:CBD); 7:3 to 3:7 (CBDA:CBD); 6:4 to 4:6 (CBDA:CBD); and 1:1 (CBDA:CBD) and any ranges there between). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the dosage form of Ojai with the teaching of GW to include wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 1:1 for the purpose of including the cannabidiol and cannabiciolic acid in a proportion for treating epilepsy (GW Para. [0041]; Para. [0035)).
Ojai discloses the dosage form of the claims. Ojai further discloses the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid (Para. [0058]; Para. [0047)), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 1:1. However, GW teaches a ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid that is about 1:1 (GW Para. [0041], Where CBDA is used in combination with CBD ratios of between 9:1 to 1:9 (CBDA:CBD) are preferred. Ranges of ratios include 8:2 to 2:8 (CBDA:CBD); 7:3 to 3:7 (CBDA:CBD); 6:4 to 4:6 (CBDA:CBD); and 1:1 (CBDA:CBD) and any ranges there between). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the dosage form of Ojai with the teaching of GW to include wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 1:1 for the purpose of including the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid in a proportion for treating epilepsy (GW Para. [0041]; Para. [0035)).
Ojai discloses the pharmaceutical composition of the claims. Ojai further discloses the hemp extract (Para. [0058)), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hemp extract further comprises four or more of the following: a-pinene; B-myrcene; B-pinene; 5-limonene; linalool; B-caryophyllene; a-humulene; nerolidol 2; guaiol; caryophyllene oxide; and a-bisabolol. However, United is in the field of plant extracts (United Abstract) and teaches a plant extract that comprises four or more of the following: a-pinene; B-myrcene; B-pinene; 5-limonene; linalool; B-caryophyllene; a-humutene; nerolidol 2; guaiol; caryophyllene oxide; and a-bisabolol (United Para. [0005] and (0006), The invention provides an extract comprising a mixture of at least 95% total cannabinoids, and at least one terpene/flavonoid...the terpene/flavonoid is for example, d-limonene linalool...a-pinene...8-myrcene). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Ojai with the teaching of United to include wherein the hemp extract further comprises four or more of the following: a-pinene; B-myrcene; B-pinene; 5-limonene; linalool; 8-caryophyllene; a-humulene; nerolidol 2; guaiol; caryophyllene oxide; and a-bisabolol. The motivation would have been to include compounds that synergistically enhance the therapeutic value of the cannabinoids (United Para. [0005] and [0006]; Para. [0045], The terpenes act synergistically with the cannabinoids to provide a therapeutic effect).
Ojai discloses a pharmaceutical composition (Abstract; Para. [0015]) comprising hemp extract and a carrier (Para. [0058), The compositions of the present disclosure can be enriched in cannabidiol compounds compared to hemp oil. For example, a composition can comprise hemp oil and cannabidiol compounds from plant sources such as extracts (e.g., hemp extract) and essential oils; Para. [0111], The compositions of the present disclosure can be provided as a food composition in combination with a food carrier...), wherein the hemp extract comprises: cannabidiol (Para. [0047], The cannabinoids of the compositions disclosed herein can comprise cannabidiol-class compounds, including but not limited to cannabidiol (CBD)...); cannabidiolic acid (Para. [0047], ...cannabidiolic acid (CBDA)...); cannabigerolic acid (Para. [0047]; Para. [0043], Cannabinoids utilized in the compositions disclosed herein include but are not limited to...cannabigerolic acid (CBGA)...); A9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Para. [0047]; Para. [0050], The compositions of the present disclosure can comprise tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) as a type of cannabinoids. THC can comprise delta-9-THC, delta-8-THC, and combinations thereof); and cannabichromene (Para. [0047]; Para. [0043], ...cannabichromene-type (CBC)...); but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the carrier is grapeseed oil. However, Cannabics is in the field of cannabinoids (Cannabics Abstract) and teaches grapeseed oil as a carrier (Cannabics Para. [0016], In various embodiments, the edible oils in the immediate release fraction and in the sustained release fraction, when present, are independently selected...grape seed oil...). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Ojai with the teaching of Cannabics to provide grapeseed oil as a carrier for the purpose of providing an edible carrier for the oral delivery of cannabinoids (Cannabics Para. [0016]; Para. [0012)).
Ojai further discloses the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid (Para. (0058); Para. [0047], The cannabinoids of the compositions disclosed herein can comprise cannabidiol-class compounds, including but not limited to cannabidiol (CBD), cannabidiolic acid (CBDA)...), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is selected from the group consisting of about 1:100, about 1:50, about 1:10, and about 1:1. However, GW is in the field of cannabinoids (GW Abstract) and teaches a ratio of cannabidio! to cannabidiolic acid that is about 1:1 (GW Para. (0041), Where CBDA is used in combination with CBD ratios of between 9:1 to 1:9 (CBDA:CBD) are preferred. Ranges of ratios include 8:2 to 2:8 (CBDA:CBD); 7:3 to 3:7 (CBDA:CBD); 6:4 to 4:6 (CBDA:CBD); and 1:1 (CBDA:CBD) and any ranges there between). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Ojai with the teaching of GW to include wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 1:1 for the purpose of including the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid in a proportion for treating epilepsy (GW Para. [0041]; Para. [0035)). Ojai further discloses the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid (Para. [0058]; Para. [0047}), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 1:1. However, GW teaches a ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid that is about 1:1 (GW Para. [0041], Where CBDA is used in combination with CBD ratios of between 9:1 to 1:9 (CBDA:CBD) are preferred. Ranges of ratios include 8:2 to 2:8 (CBDA:CBD); 7:3 to 3:7 (CBDA:CBD); 6:4 to 4:6 (CBDA:CBD); and 1:1 (CBDA:CBD) and any ranges there between). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Ojai with the teaching of GW to include wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 1:1 for the purpose of including the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid in a proportion for treating epilepsy (GW Para. [0041]; Para. [0035)).
Colorado discloses a pharmaceutical composition (Abstract; Para. [0040]) comprising hemp extract and a carrier (Para. [0026], In specific embodiments, the invention is directed to a cannabidio! (CBD) extract or a cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) extract isolated from industrial hemp...; Para. [0036], In further embodiments, the purified CBD and/or CBDA is in the form of white, odorless crystals; Para. [0040], The compositions may be in any conventional administration form, including solid unit dosage forms such as tablets, wafers, pellets, lozenges, solutions (for example, in water or ethanol), salves, creams, lotions, and the like, and may contain conventional additives, including pharmaceutical carriers, excipients, and the like), wherein the hemp extract comprises: cannabidiol (Para. [0026]; Para. [0036}, ...CBD and/or CBDA...; Para. [(0040}); and cannabidiolic acid (Para. [0026]; Para. [0036], ...CBD and/or CBDA...; Para. [0040]); wherein the hemp extract does not comprise terpenes (Para. [0036], In further embodiments, the purified CBD and/or CBDA is in the form of white, odorless crystals. Various Cannabis industrial hemp materials contain a number of odiferous components, including one, several or more of A-limonene, (-) limonene, linalool, (-) caryophyllene, a-humulene, caryophyllene oxide, terpinolene, A3-carene, (+) B-pinene, (~) camphor, a-pinene, (—) B-pinene, a-terpine, g-terpinene, geraniol, B-caryophyllene, (-) borneol, 1,4-cineole, 1,8-cineole (eucalyptol). The purified products which are odorless contain no detectable amounts of these components when | the products are subjected to high performance liquid chromatography as described herein), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid is about 0.6:1 to about 1:0.6. However, GW is in the field of cannabinoids (GW Abstract) and teaches a ratio of cannabidiol to cannabidiolic acid that is about 0.6:1 to about 1:0.6 (GW Para. [0041], Where CBDA is used in combination with CBD ratios of between 9:1 to 1:9 (CBDA:CBD) are preferred. Ranges of ratios include 8:2 to 2:8 (CBDA:CBD); 7:3 to 3:7 (CBDA:CBD); 6:4 to 4:6 (CBDA:CBD); and 1:1 (CBDA:CBD) and any ranges there between). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Colorado with the teaching of GW for the purpose of including the cannabidiol and cannabidiolic acid in a proportion for treating epilepsy (GW Para. [0041]; Para. [(0035)).
Applicant argues that allegedly Ojai and GW do not teach or suggest that administering hemp extract with a ratio of CBD to CBDA in the range of about 0.1:1 to about 1:0.1 is effective in the treatment of pain.
Further, there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Ojai with GW, according to applicant. Ojai teaches microcapsules containing at least one cannabinoid compound, according to applicant. Ojai mentions that compounds can be used in the treatment of neuropathic pain along with nearly 40 other disease states, all which seem to have little to do with each other, according to applicant. Ojai also teaches all of the components of claims 132, 170-172, 175, 176, 178 as well as every other known cannabinoid found in hemp combined in any combination and relative concentration without any teachings as to what particular combination would be preferred or effective in the treatment of pain or any other pathology, according to applicant. Ojai provides no teaching that would motivate one of skill in the art to select the components of claims 132, 170-172, 175, 176, 178 for the treatment of pain with a reasonable expectation of success, according to applicant.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Ojai provides no data showing the biological effectiveness of any compound let alone the one specified in the pending claims and provides no indication of what combination of the many cannabinoids provided in Ojai might be effective in the treatment of pain or any other disease state, according to applicant. Ojai is focused on the microencapsulation of cannabinoids and other chemical moieties, not on the methods of the pending claims, according to applicant. GW does not cure the deficiencies of Ojai, according to applicant. GW teaches the use of mixtures of CBD and CBDA in the treatment of epilepsy, according to applicant. Pain is not mentioned in GW, according to applicant. One of ordinary skill in the art would not expect that a combination of cannabinoids that are effective for the treatment of epilepsy would be effective in treating pain, according to applicant. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine the teachings of Ojai and GW to arrive at the subject matter of claims 132, 172, and 174- 179, according to applicant. The invention of claims 132, 170-172, 175, 176, 178 is based upon the unexpected finding that pharmaceutical compositions comprising CBD, CBDA, CBGA, D9-THC, and CBC, with a ratio of CBD:CBDA in the range of about 0.1:1 to about 1:0.1, have particularly advantageous pharmacokinetic and clinical properties, according to applicant.
For example, Example 11 demonstrates that such compositions “showed a significant decrease in pain and increase in activity” versus baseline and a placebo (pages 58 to 60), according to applicant. The advantage is further demonstrated in Example 13 which demonstrates that the composition is effective in the treatment of pain in canines with a reduction in pain severity score and pain interference score amongst other benefits (pages 76 to 87), according to applicant.
The data applicants cite in the specification shows the activity of their blend versus a placebo and baseline. However, how unexpected is it when one or more of the ingredients in the composition such as CBD are already well-known in the art for treating pain? Thus, there has been NO demonstration of any type of unexpected results based upon the specific, claimed composition. To show unexpected results, applicants need to show that the pain treatment activity of the whole composition is more than the additive pain treatment of the individual ingredients. The data simply doesn't support the alleged unexpected results.
Applicant argues that Ojai provides no data showing the biological effectiveness of any compound let alone the one specified in the pending claims and provides no indication of what combination of the many cannabinoids provided in Ojai might be effective in the treatment of pain or any other disease state, according to applicant.
While this is noted, it is also noted that applicant themselves have not provided unexpected results like they argue that Ojai allegedly does not have.
Applicant notes that Ojai treats pain and cannabidiol has been already mentioned on the record, see paragraph 47. Thus, applicant’s arguments are moot and unpersuasive.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL V. MELLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1655
/MICHAEL V MELLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655