DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Objections and Rejections
The rejection from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7, 13-15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the compound is neither N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4-phenylenediamine nor N-methyl-N-(3-methoxyphenyl)-1,4-phenylenediamine, and wherein the compound is neither
,” which is definite because it was an attempt to claim the invention by excluding what the inventors did not invent rather than distinctly and particularly pointing out what they did invent. In re Schechter, 205 F.2d 185, 98 USPQ 144 (CCPA 1953).
Subsequent dependent claims 13-15 and 21 are rejected due to their dependencies on rejected base claim 7.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 13 recites the compound having a structure of formula I which includes the excluded compounds in claim 7. Claim 14 recites the compound having a structure of formula Ia which also includes the excluded compounds in claim 7. They do not further limit claim 7 because they fail to include all the limitations of claim 7 upon which they depend.
Subsequent dependent claims 14-15 are rejected due to their dependencies on rejected base claim 13.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Examiner suggests to put the generic formula into the independent claims before excluding specific compounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umegae (U.S. Patent Pub. 2010/0062469).
Regarding claim 7, Umegae teaches a composition ([0012]: a method for electrochemically measuring 1,5-anhydroglucitol in blood; [0013]: (1) an enzyme for measuring 1,5-anhydroglucitol; (5) 1,5-anhydroglucitol is electrochemically measured in the presence of a redox mediator) comprising:
an enzyme ([0013]: (1) an enzyme); and
an electrode modifying agent or an electron transfer promoting agent ([0013]: (5) a redox mediator) comprising a compound,
wherein the compound is neither N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4-phenylenediamine nor N-methyl-N-(3-methoxyphenyl)-1,4-phenylenediamine ([0039]: examples of the redox mediator include diphenyl amine compounds such as 4,4’-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine).
As evidenced by PubChem, 4,4-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine has a structure as disclosed in the specification, Formula 1,
wherein R1 is -NR7R8, R7 is hydrogen, R8 is hydrogen, R2 is -NR10R11, R10 is hydrogen, R11 is phenyl substituted with X, where X is amino, and R3, R4, R5, and R6 are each independently hydrogen.
The limitation “having a property of being adsorbed, without being bound to a polymer or without being polymerized, onto and electrode untreated with an acid” is deemed to be inherent to the claimed compound because the material is the same in the prior art and the specification. Umegae teaches a p-phenylenediamine compound, e.g., 4,4’-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine, used as a redox mediator for electrochemical measurement ([0013], [0039]), which is the same material as disclosed in the instant specification (PGpub [0027] Formula 1). Thus, this p-phenylenediamine compound must have the same property, i.e., being adsorbed, without being bound to a polymer or without being polymerized, onto an electrode untreated with an acid.
Umegae fails to teach wherein the compound is neither
(claim 7) or wherein the compound is selected from the group consist of [Formula 9]
(claim 15).
However, Umegae teaches a p-phenylenediamine compound ([0039]: examples of the redox mediator include diphenylamine compounds, such as N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4-phenylenediamine), evidenced by Molbase as the following structure:
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Umegae by substituting N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4-phenylenediamine with the compound of Formula 9 because p-phenylenediamine compound is a suitable redox mediator for electrochemical measurement ([0012]-[0013], [0039]). The claimed p-phenylenediamine compound has a very close structural similarity to N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4-phenylenediamine, making a prima facie case of obviousness for chemical compounds having very close structural similarities and similar utilities. MPEP 2144.09(I).
Regarding claim 13, Umegae teaches the compound having a structure of formula I:
wherein R1 is -NR7R8, R7 is hydrogen, R8 is hydrogen, R2 is -NR10R11, R10 is hydrogen, R11 is phenyl substituted with X, where X is amino, and R3, R4, R5, and R6 are each independently hydrogen ([0039]: examples of the redox mediator include diphenyl amine compounds such as 4,4’-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine). As described in claim 7, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the similar compounds (as shown as Formula 9).
Regarding claim 14, Umegae teaches the compound having a structure of formula Ia:
wherein R1a is -NR7aR8a, R7a is hydrogen, R8a is hydrogen, R2a is -NR10aR11a, R10a is hydrogen, R11a is phenyl substituted with X, where X is amino, and R3a, R4a, R5a, and R6a are each independently hydrogen ([0039]: examples of the redox mediator include diphenyl amine compounds such as 4,4’-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine). As described in claim 7, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the similar compounds (as shown as Formula 9).
Regarding claim 21, Umegae teaches wherein the enzyme is an oxidoreductase ([0013] (2) wherein the enzyme is an oxidoreductase).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are unpersuasive in light of new grounds for rejection.
Applicant argues claim 15 is not obvious over the teachings of Umegae (pp. 14-16). Applicant argues there is nothing significant with N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4,phenylenediamine or 4,4’-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine (p. 15, para. 1). This argument is unpersuasive. First, if Azure I is better than both N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4,phenylenediamine and 4,4’-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine, Applicant may claim Azure I if intended. However, Applicant tries to claim a compound having a generic formula that includes both N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4,phenylenediamine or 4,4’-Bis(dimethylamino)diphenylamine. Since Applicant elected the species IPPD and 6PPD, with formula
, Applicant is required to provide support and evidence that they are better than the disclosed compound of Umegae, e.g., N-methyl-N-phenyl-1,4-phenylenediamine) having a formula of
or the additional functional groups (e.g., the dimethyl groups in IPPD) generates surprising or unpredictable results for rebuttal of the prima facie case of obviousness. Otherwise, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these compounds with similar structure and thus inherently having similar functions and properties.
Interview with the Examiner
If at any point during the prosecution it is believe an interview with the Examiner would further the prosecution of an application, please consider this option.
The Automated Interview Request form (AIR) is available to request an interview to be scheduled with the Examiner. First, an authorization for internet communications regarding the case should be filed prior or with an AIR online request.
The internet communication authorization form (SB/0439), which authorizes or withdraws authorization for internet-based communication (e.g., video conferencing, email, etc.) for the application must be signed by the applicant or the attorney/agent for applicant. The form can be found at:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf
The AIR form can be filled out online, and is automatically forwarded to the Examiner, who will call to confirm a requested time and date, or set up a mutually convenient time for the interview. The form can be found at:
https://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html
The Examiner encourages, but does not require, interviews by the USPTO Microsoft Teams video conferencing. This system allows for file-sharing along audio conferencing. Microsoft Teams can be used as an internet browser add-on in Microsoft IE, Google Chrome, or Mozilla Foxfire, or as a temporary Java-based application on these browsers. Steps for joining an Examiner setup Microsoft Teams can be found at the USPTO website:
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice#step3. Additionally, a blank email to the Examiner at the time of a telephonic interview can be used for a reply to easily allow for Microsoft Teams communication. Please note, policy guidelines regarding Internet communications are detailed at MPEP §500-502.3, and office policy regarding interviews are detailed at MPEP §713.
Conclusion
/C. SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795