DETAILED ACTION
In view of the Appeal brief filed on 06/12/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/BRIAN-YONG S KWON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1613
Claims 1 and 9-15 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US20160354334) and Steiner et al. (US6187784).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Huang et al. teaches methods for (a) inhibiting, reducing, slowing, or preventing, the aging of a subject, (b) for treating, inhibiting, reducing, or preventing an age-related disease in the Subject (abstract). In some embodiments, the present invention is directed to a method for inhibiting, reducing, slowing, or preventing, the aging of a subject which comprises administering to the Subject one or more compounds that bind the beta subunit of the catalytic core of an ATP synthase, e.g., ATP5B, in the subject. In some embodiments, the present invention is directed to a method for inhibiting, reducing, slowing, or preventing, the aging of a subject which comprises administering to the Subject one or more compounds that inhibit or reduces the activity of an ATP synthase in the Subject. In some embodiments, the present invention is directed to a method for treating, inhibiting, reducing, or preventing an age-related disease in a Subject which comprises administering to the Subject one or more compounds that bind the beta subunit of the catalytic core of an ATP synthase, e.g., ATP5B, in the subject and/or inhibits or reduces the activity of the ATP synthase in the subject (page 1, [0007]). Huang et al. teaches oligomycin as an inhibitor of ATP synthase (page 6, [0083]) in working examples (page 2, [0020]; page 12, [0117]; page 14, [0136, 0139-0140]). As used herein, “age-related diseases’ refers to alopecia, age-related hair loss, skin dry and wrinkles, hair loss/ thinning/graying, etc. (page 3-4, 0049-0050]). In one embodiment, the composition is formulated as topical formulation (page 5, [0068]).
Steiner et al. teaches a method for treating alopecia or promoting hair growth in an animal, which comprises administering to said animal an effective amount of rapamycin (claim 4). The composition is applied topically and formulated as lotions or cream (column 30, line 40-60).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Huang et al. is that Huang et al. do not expressly teach rapamycin. This deficiency in Huang et al. is cured by the teachings of Steiner et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Huang et al., as suggested by Steiner et al. , and produce the instant invention.
Huang et al. teaches a method of treating or reducing aged related disease such as alopecia, hair loss or skin winkles by administering a topical composition comprising an inhibitor of ATP synthase such as oligomycin to hair or skin.
Steiner et al. teaches a method for treating alopecia or promoting hair growth in an animal, which comprises administering to said animal an effective amount of rapamycin topically.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat hair loss or alopecia by administering a topical composition comprising a combination of oligomycin and rapamycin because both a composition comprising oligomycin and a composition comprising rapamycin are useful for treating hair loss and alopecia as suggested by Huang et al. and Steiner et al. MPEP 2144.06, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Therefore, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat hair loss or alopecia by administering a topical composition comprising a combination of oligomycin and rapamycin and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Steiner et al. teaches lotion or cream as suitable topical formulation for administering the composition. Furthermore, since applicants elected tropical formulation (a single grouping of patentably indistinct species) encompassing lotion or cream as common topical formulation, thus, it is obvious to have lotion or cream.
Regarding claims 11-13, the treating of hair loss by a composition comprising combination of oligomycin and rapamycin results in stimulating pigmentation production, treating or reducing pigmentation loss. In summary, although the reference is silent about all the functional properties instantly claimed, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the same subject is being administered the same combination of active agents by the same mode of administration in the same amount in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, prior art teaches, either expressly or inherently implied, each and every limitation of the instant claims. it remains the Examiner's position that the instantly claimed method is obvious.
Regarding claim 14, Steiner et al. teaches promoting hair growth.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Argument:
Applicants argued that there is no teaching of treating of hair loos by rapamycin.
In response to this argument: this is not persuasive. This argument is moot since the new ground of 103 rejection teaches each limitation of applicant’s claimed invention including treating hair loss with rapamycin. Therefore, the 103 rejection is still proper.
MPEP 2141 III states: “The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts.” Respectfully, after weighing all the evidence, the Examiner has reached a determination that the instant claims are not patentable in view of the preponderance of evidence and consideration of all the facts which is more convincing than the evidence which has been offered in opposition to it.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 9-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-11, 17-18 of copending Application No. 17935693 in view of Huang et al. (US20160354334) and Steiner et al. (US6187784). The reference application teaches a method for treating aged related disease by administering inhibitor of ATP synthase, in view of Huang et al. teaching aged related disease including hair loss and oligomycin as inhibitor of ATP synthase; and Steiner et al. teaching rapamycin for treating hair loss, it is obvious to apply a composition comprising oligomycin and rapamycin to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613