DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 03/05/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 12 has/have been amended; claim(s) 14, 18, AND 20-22 has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 12-13 and 15-17 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR10- 1112122 in view of KR10-1541716, Shirakura et al (US 2008/0029396), Shin et al (US 2015/0176847), and Holtzapple et al (US 2012/0118722).
KR10-1112122 discloses an electrode boiler system (100) comprises a body portion (20), a plurality of electrodes (22) in the body portion (20) and which contacts electrolyte (Figure 2), a first flow path (L1) through which electrolyte flows out after being heated (abstract), a second flow path (L3) spaced from first flow path (L1) through which electrolyte flows into body portion (Figure 2), a control portion to control current applied to the electrode portion (pressure sensor S2 and controlling a power supply unit (10) when pressure is high; claim1, Figure 2), a receiving portion (30) between first flow path (L1) and second flow path (L3), a heat exchange portion (50) between first flow path (L1) and second flow path (L3) wherein electrolyte flows into heat exchange portion through first flow path (L1) and is circulated to body portion (20) via second flow path (L3; para. 0038, claim 1, Figure 2), a heat receiving portion adjacent heat exchange portion and receiving heat from the electrolyte (para. 0031, Figure 2), a pump (P), a supplementary portion (L4) for supplementing the electrolyte (claim 1, Figure 1), a temperature sensing portion for sensing a temperature of electrolyte wherein control portion to use information about sensed temperature (para. 0043-0044, claim 1, Figure 2) KR10-1112122 does not disclose a vent portion, an insulating material and an anti-static Teflon resin layer formed on body, first or second flow path or . KR10-154176 discloses a vent portion (132) and an insulation (120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have included the vent and insulation of KR10-154176 in the electrode boiler of KR10-1112122 because, a vent allows the steam pressure to be controlled more efficiently insulation allows temperature to be controlled more efficiently.
While neither KR10-1112122 nor KR10-154176 discloses a first or second Teflon resin layer situated in the first or second flow path portions.
Nonetheless, Shirakura teaches a first or second Teflon resin layer situated in the first or second flow path portions ([0156] --- “Resin materials made of acrylic or Teflon (registered trademark), or non-iron materials such as titanium or nickel were used for all of the liquid contacting portions such as the small testing vessel, an electrolyte supply pipe, and a pump; thereby, the iron mixed in the catholyte was made to be only the iron of the iron-containing water.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode boiler system of KR10-1112122 by incorporating the Teflon materials lining the first and second flow paths for the benefit of protecting the flow paths from corrosion and environmental damage.
Furthermore, KR10-1112122 nor KR10-154176 discloses a temperature sensing portion connected to the second flow path portion and sensing a temperature of the electrolyzed water in the second flow path portion; wherein when a temperature measured by the temperature sensing portion exceeds a first threshold, the current applied to the electrode portion is decreased, and when the temperature measured by the temperature sensing portion is less than a second threshold, the current applied to the electrode portion is increased.
Nonetheless, Shin teaches a temperature sensing portion (120) connected to the second flow path portion and sensing a temperature of the electrolyzed water in the second flow path portion; wherein when a temperature measured by the temperature sensing portion exceeds a first threshold, the current applied to the electrode portion is decreased, and when the temperature measured by the temperature sensing portion is less than a second threshold, the current applied to the electrode portion is increased (para. 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have included the temperature sensor and temperature control of Shin in the electrode boiler of KR10-1112122 because a temperature sensor allows for accurate control of the water temperature.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a supplementary portion connected to the second flow path portion, situated downstream from the heat exchange portion, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (The electrolyte replenishment line is controlled by a controller and a sensor that determines when more electrolytes need be introduced into the system. The electrolyte replenishment line being upstream or downstream of the heat exchanger would not affect how or why electrolytes are introduced into the system.) . MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
While neither KR10-1112122 nor KR10-154176, Shirakura, or Shin discloses the heat exchange portion having a straight boundary wall separating the heat exchange portion from a heat receiving portion, the heat receiving portion having an inlet section through which water or gas enters the heat receiving portion and an outlet section through which the water or gas exits the heat receiving portion; wherein the straight boundary wall includes a fourth insulating Teflon resin layer.
Nonetheless, Holtzapple teaches the heat exchange portion having a straight boundary wall (Shown in the figure below) separating the heat exchange portion from a heat receiving portion, the heat receiving portion having an inlet section (Shown in the figure below) through which water or gas enters the heat receiving portion and an outlet section (Shown in the figure below) through which the water or gas exits the heat receiving portion;
wherein the straight boundary wall (Shown in the figure below) includes a fourth insulating Teflon resin layer ([0154] lines 3-5 ---"The heat exchanger has a hydrophobic coating made from nickel-Teflon, which promotes dropwise condensation and resists fouling.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode boiler system of KR10-1112122, KR10-154176, Shirakura, and Shin by incorporating the wall coated with Teflon as taught by Holtzapple for the benefit of promoting high heat transfer coefficients, dropwise condensation, and fouling resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-13 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Holtzapple et al (US 2012/0118722).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach the heat exchange portion having a straight boundary wall separating the heat exchange portion from a heat receiving portion, the heat receiving portion having an inlet section through which water or gas enters the heat receiving portion and an outlet section through which the water or gas exits the heat receiving portion; wherein the straight boundary wall includes a fourth insulating Teflon resin layer. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, newly cited prior art reference Holtzapple does teach the heat exchange portion having a straight boundary wall separating the heat exchange portion from a heat receiving portion, the heat receiving portion having an inlet section through which water or gas enters the heat receiving portion and an outlet section through which the water or gas exits the heat receiving portion; wherein the straight boundary wall includes a fourth insulating Teflon resin layer. See the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ibrahime Abraham can be reached at (571) 270-5569. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761