DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and remarks filed on 30JUN2026 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1, 11, & 16-17 have been amended.
Claim 21 has been added.
Claim 19 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 30JUN2026 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) & 103(a) have been fully considered and have been found to be not persuasive. Parts deemed not persuasive discussed below (See Pages 6-9 of the Remarks):
Applicant states (see Pages 7-8 of the Remarks):
In connection with the claimed conductive film, the current Office Action (at 4-6) points to Wang's working electrode (e.g. 3172 in Fig. 31E). However, under this new interpretation, as clearly shown above, Wang's alleged "second major surface" is shown as only being adjacent to a substrate. And Wang repeatedly requires that the substrate (allegedly the claimed working electrode or adhesive layer) is electrically insulative such as paper (e.g. paras. 0006, 0008, 0009, 0010, 0012, 0013, 0014, etc.) Accordingly, Wang in Fig. 31E does not explicitly or implicitly teach an adhesive layer disposed on the second major surface of the working electrode (the alleged "conductive film") that "is configured to detachably couple the disposable sensor to a working electrode contact for electron transfer between the conductive film and the working electrode contact" as required by the claims.
As clearly shown above, Wang in Fig. 31A shows two possible configurations of electrode 3111 (the alleged "conductive film"). In configuration 3150a, the electrode 3111 is facing away from the skin to sense substances in an external environment (e.g. air, para. 00239). In this configuration, the alleged "second major surface" of electrode 3111 (the alleged "conductive film") is adjacent to adhesive layer 3122, which is affixed to skin 3141. But nowhere in this configuration does Wang teach that film 3122 "is configured to detachably couple the disposable sensor to a working electrode contact for electron transfer between the conductive film and the working electrode contact" as required by the claims.
Similarly, Wang in configuration 3150b, the electrode 3111 is facing toward the skin to sense substances in fluids on skin (e.g. para. 0240). In this configuration, the alleged "second major surface" of electrode 3111 (the alleged "conductive film") is adjacent to adhesive layer 3122, which is exposed to external environment (e.g. air). But nowhere in this configuration does Wang teach that film 3122 "is configured to detachably couple the disposable sensor to a working electrode contact for electron transfer between the conductive film and the working electrode contact" as required by the claims.
However, the arguments regarding Wang’s configurations are unpersuasive. The claimed apparatus relies on broad functional language linking the sensor components together without stating distinct structural orientations and relationships for the sensor interface. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Wang discloses the required physical structure including the working electrode, sensing layer, and adhesive layer along with the disclosure of the functional ability of the device of Wang. Wang has been shown to recite the claimed function of the sensor in Claim 1 along with its various components. The physical placement of Wang’s adhesive layer 3122 adjacent to the electrode portion means it possesses the capability to detachably couple the modular layers of the device. The structural ability for detachment remains true regardless of the embodiments shown in Wang where the configuration would face open air or leaving the adhesive layer exposed. The applicant has failed to distinguish any distinct structural differences over wang, and the amendments do not further distinguish the scope of the claims. Therefore, the examiner maintains that Wang teaches the claim limitations.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 recites “onto working electrode contact”. This is missing the word “an” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 11, 14, & 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US Publication No 20170325724; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a disposable sensor for biofluid analysis (Wang ¶0004 “For example, a user can apply an exemplary single-use electrochemical sensor device to a selected skin area such that the device then quantifies a target chemical analyte in a biological fluid”), a conductive film (Wang Figure 31E illustrating the substrate on one side of the working electrode and the sensing layer directly on the other side of the working electrode where the working electrode may be interpreted as the conductive film in question) having a first major surface (Wang Figure 31E showing sensing layer 3174 disposed on the first major surface (skin facing portion of conductive film 3172); See Below)
and a second major surface opposite to the first major surface (Wang Figure 31E showing substrate layer 3171 disposed on the second major surface (non-skin facing portion of conductive film 3172); See Below) ;
a sensing layer disposed directly on the first major surface of the conductive film (Wang ¶0006 “in which the working electrode includes a electrochemical transducer layer including a catalyst to selectively catalyze a corresponding analyte in the ISF to cause a reaction detectable at the anodic and cathodic electrode assemblies”; Figure 31E illustrating sensing layer 3174 as show in the Figure 31E provided above), and an adhesive layer disposed on the second major surface of the conductive film (Wang Adhesive layer 3122 as shown in Figure 31A; ¶0219 “For example, in some implementations of the method, the adhesive sheet can include an outer coating layer on an external surface of the adhesive sheet not in contact with the electrode pattern. For example, the outer coating layer can include polyvinyl alcohol (PVA). In some implementations, for example, the method can further include removing the outer coating layer from the adhesive sheet to enable adhesion of the electrochemical sensor to the skin or the wearable item via the adhesive sheet.”¶0240), wherein the sensing layer is configured for in-situ analysis of sweat adjacent to the first major surface (Wang ¶0006 “in which the working electrode includes a electrochemical transducer layer including a catalyst to selectively catalyze a corresponding analyte in the ISF to cause a reaction detectable at the anodic and cathodic electrode assemblies”; where the first major surface is being interpreted as the working electrode portion that contacts the skin of a user) and for electron transfer between the conductive film and the sensing layer (Wang ¶0248 “For example, the electroactive redox mediator can facilitate the transfer of electrons between the working electrode 3172 and the active site of the catalyst.”; ¶0225; ¶0325); wherein the adhesive layer is configured to detachably couple the disposable sensor to a working electrode contact for electron transfer between the conductive film and the working electrode contact (Wang Figure 31A showing portion 3150b which shows adhesive layer 3122 positioned where the working electrode would attach to the sensing layer 3111 as shown in Figure 31E; ¶0237).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 1 is anticipated by Wang. Wang additionally discloses wherein the sensing layer includes an enzyme (Wang ¶0010 “And, the method includes detecting the electrical signal at the electrochemical sensor electrodes, in which the electrical signal is associated with a parameter of the analyte, and in which the detecting includes the oxidation or reduction of the analyte by the catalyst (for example, enzyme) to generate electrical signal”; ¶0099).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses a disposable sensor array for biofluid analysis (Wang ¶0004 “For example, a user can apply an exemplary single-use electrochemical sensor device to a selected skin area such that the device then quantifies a target chemical analyte in a biological fluid”), a conductive film (Wang Figure 31E illustrating the substrate on one side of the working electrode and the sensing layer directly on the other side of the working electrode where the working electrode may be interpreted as the conductive film in question)having a first major surface (Wang Figure 31E showing sensing layer 3174 disposed on the first major surface (skin facing portion of conductive film 3172))
and a second major surface opposite to the first major surface (Wang Figure 31E showing substrate layer 3171 disposed on the second major surface (non-skin facing portion of conductive film 3172); See Below) ;
; a first sensor disposed directly on the first major surface of the conductive film (Wang ¶0006 “in which the working electrode includes a electrochemical transducer layer including a catalyst to selectively catalyze a corresponding analyte in the ISF to cause a reaction detectable at the anodic and cathodic electrode assemblies”; Figure 31E illustrating sensing layer 3174 as show in the Figure 31E provided above); a second sensor disposed directly on the first major surface of the conductive (Wang ¶0006 “In one aspect, a non-invasive epidermal electrochemical sensor device includes a flexible substrate including an electrically insulative material structured to adhere to skin of a user; an anodic electrode assembly and a cathodic electrode assembly each formed and separately arranged on the substrate and each including a working electrode,.”;); and an adhesive layer disposed on the second major surface of the conductive film (Wang Adhesive layer 3122 as shown in Figure 31A; ¶0219 “For example, in some implementations of the method, the adhesive sheet can include an outer coating layer on an external surface of the adhesive sheet not in contact with the electrode pattern. For example, the outer coating layer can include polyvinyl alcohol (PVA). In some implementations, for example, the method can further include removing the outer coating layer from the adhesive sheet to enable adhesion of the electrochemical sensor to the skin or the wearable item via the adhesive sheet.”¶0240), wherein the first and second sensors are both configured for in-situ analysis of sweat adjacent to the first major surface (Wang ¶0006 “in which the working electrode includes a electrochemical transducer layer including a catalyst to selectively catalyze a corresponding analyte in the ISF to cause a reaction detectable at the anodic and cathodic electrode assemblies”; where the first major surface is being interpreted as the working electrode portion that contacts the skin of a user) and for electron transfer between the conductive film and the sensors (Wang ¶0248 “For example, the electroactive redox mediator can facilitate the transfer of electrons between the working electrode 3172 and the active site of the catalyst.”; ¶0225; ¶0325); wherein the adhesive layer is configured to detachably couple the disposable sensor array to a working electrode contact for electron transfer between the conductive film and the working electrode contact (Wang Figure 31A showing portion 3150b which shows adhesive layer 3122 positioned where the working electrode would attach to the sensing layer 3111 as shown in Figure 31E where the adhesive layer; ¶0237).
Regarding claim 14, Claim 11 is anticipated by Wang. Wang additionally discloses wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are spatially segregated from one another on the first major surface of the conductive film. (Wang Figure 31E showing the two distinct sensors on the same surface).
Regarding claim 20, Claim 1 is anticipated by Wang. Wang additionally discloses wherein the conductive film, the sensing layer, and the adhesive layer form a vertical stack of layers having a top layer corresponding to the sensing layer and a bottom layer corresponding to the adhesive layer (Wang Figure 31A showing adhesive layer 3122 in portion 3140a), and wherein the top layer is configured for contact with the sweat and the bottom layer is configured for contact with the working electrode (Wang Figure 31A as described in ¶0239).
Regarding claim 21, claim 1 is anticipated by Wang. Wang further discloses wherein the working electrode contact is disposed on a wearable sensor device (Wang ¶0060 “FIG. 31E shows a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of an epidermal electrochemical sensor device capable of being worn on skin or a wearable item.”; Title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication No 20170325724; Previously Cited) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US Publication US 20020148726; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses a method of forming a disposable sensor for biofluid analysis, comprising a coating composition (Wang ¶0004 “For example, a user can apply an exemplary single-use electrochemical sensor device to a selected skin area such that the device then quantifies a target chemical analyte in a biological fluid”); wherein the coating composition is configured for in-situ analysis of sweat (Wang ¶0315 “Exemplary implementations were performed using the disclosed enzymatic T3 electrochemical sensor devices applied to skin of human subjects for in-situ sweat lactate profile recordings and analysis.; Figure 1D); providing a coating composition including an enzyme (Wang ¶0313 “The working electrode of the exemplary T3 sensor can be functionalized with monolayers, ligands, enzyme catalysts and/or electroactive redox mediators, among other molecules or substances to enhance the detectability of the target enzyme…. FIG. 41B shows a schematic illustrating an exemplary modified working electrode including the transducer layer coated by biocompatible polymer (e.g., chitosan).”) ; applying the coating composition on a conductive film to form a sensing layer directly disposed on the conductive film (Wang ¶0006 “and in which the working electrode includes a electrochemical transducer layer including a catalyst to selectively catalyze a corresponding analyte in the ISF to cause a reaction detectable at the anodic and cathodic electrode assemblies;”; Figure 31E illustrating the substrate on one side of the working electrode and the sensing layer directly on the other side of the working electrode where the working electrode may be interpreted ad the conductive film in question); wherein the sensing layer is configured for electron transfer between the conductive film and the sensing layer (Wang ¶0248 “For example, the electroactive redox mediator can facilitate the transfer of electrons between the working electrode 3172 and the active site of the catalyst.”; ¶0225; ¶0325); and disposing an adhesive layer on the conductive film (Wang Adhesive layer 3122 as shown in Figure 31A; ¶0240 “Subsequently, the method 3100 then includes implementing a process 3140b to apply the electrochemical sensor device 3125 to the skin 3141 via the attachment of the adhesive sheet 3122 to the skin 3141 such that the external surface of the electrode structures 3111 are in contact with the surface of the skin 3141.”), wherein the adhesive layer is configured to detachably couple the disposable sensor to a working electrode contact for electron transfer between the conductive film and the working electrode contact (Wang Figure 31A showing portion 3150b which shows adhesive layer 3122 positioned where the working electrode would attach to the sensing layer 3111 as shown in Figure 31E where the adhesive layer; ¶0237).
Wang does not disclose freeze-drying the coating to form a sensing layer. Yamamoto in a similar field of endeavor of biosensor design teaches freeze-drying the coating to form a sensing layer (Yamamoto ¶0076 “The enzyme/surface active agent layer 23 was formed by the freeze drying method”; ¶0077-¶0078; ¶0073). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system in Wang with the methods for freeze-drying the coating to form a sensing layer, as taught in Yamamoto to enhances the solubility of the reaction reagents (Yamamoto ¶0078).
, and the adhesive layer is disposed on a second major surface of the conductive film that is opposite to the first major surface. (Wang Adhesive layer 3122 as shown in Figure 31A; ¶0219 “For example, in some implementations of the method, the adhesive sheet can include an outer coating layer on an external surface of the adhesive sheet not in contact with the electrode pattern. For example, the outer coating layer can include polyvinyl alcohol (PVA). In some implementations, for example, the method can further include removing the outer coating layer from the adhesive sheet to enable adhesion of the electrochemical sensor to the skin or the wearable item via the adhesive sheet.”¶0240).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication No 20170325724; Previously Cited) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US Publication US 20020148726; Previously Cited) and Bernstein et al. (US Publication No 20160015267; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 18, Claim 17 is obvious over Wang in view of Yamamoto. Neither Wang nor Yamamoto disclose wherein the conductive film has an anisotropic electrical conductivity. Bernstein in a similar field of endeavor of biofluid analysis sensors teaches wherein the conductive film has an anisotropic electrical conductivity (Bernstein ¶0134 “In certain embodiments, the conductive film 530 may include anisotropic conductive adhesive film.”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang combined with Yamamoto with the conductive film having an anisotropic electrical conductivity as taught by Bernstein to create a system with the ability for channeling the flux of substances in a preferential direction to maximize analyte readings in the system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication No 20170325724; Previously Cited) in view of Wogoman (US Publication No. 4938860; Previously Cited; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 10, Claims 1 & 9 are obvious over Wang. Wang does not disclose wherein the sensing layer includes a polymeric material, and the enzyme is dispersed within the polymeric material. Wogoman in an analogous field of endeavor of analyte detection teaches wherein the sensing layer includes a polymeric material, and the enzyme is dispersed within the polymeric material (Woogman Column 5 Lines 27-45 “(Woogman Column 5 Lines 25-31 “In the preferred electrode 10, a layer of enzyme 28 (FIG. 5), such as glucose oxidase, is bonded or immobilized on anode 12 at the working area 20… In accordance with an important feature of the present invention it has been found that a dispersion of a polymerizable silicon-containing compound applied in an incompletely cured form as a silicon compound dispersed phase in a liquid carrier, the carrier being essentially insoluble in the dispersed phase and removable from the dispersion during curing, will dry and cure as a continuous layer, film or membrane having unexpectedly high glucose-permeability to function as a single membrane 30.”)”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system in Wang with items in Wogoman by integrating the enzyme into the sensing layer, as dispersed through the material to create a system with a conductive film that has an accurate sensor reading of analytes that can be directly analyzed for correlations in the body as through sweat.
Claims 2, 4-5, 12-13, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication No 20170325724; Previously Cited) in view of Bernstein et al. (US Publication No 20160015267; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 2, Claim 1 is anticipated by Wang. Wang does not additionally disclose wherein the conductive film has an anisotropic electrical conductivity. Bernstein in a similar field of endeavor of biofluid analysis sensors (Bernstein Abstract, ¶0022, ¶0023) teaches wherein the conductive film has an anisotropic electrical conductivity (Bernstein ¶0134 “In certain embodiments, the conductive film 530 may include anisotropic conductive adhesive film.”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with the conductive film having an anisotropic electrical conductivity, as taught by Bernstein. The motivation to integrate this into the system of Wang would be to create a system with the ability for channeling the flux of substances in a preferential direction to maximize analyte readings in the system.
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 is anticipated by Wang. Wang does not disclose wherein the conductive film includes conductive fillers dispersed therein. Bernstein in a similar field of endeavor of biofluid analysis sensors teaches wherein the conductive film includes conductive fillers dispersed therein (Bernstein ¶0134 “In certain embodiments, the conductive film 530 may include anisotropic conductive adhesive film, e.g., such as those available from 3M Corporation, St. Paul, Minn., which is heat bondable, electrically conductive and include a thermosetting epoxy/acrylate adhesive matrix with conductive particles that allow interconnection of circuit lines through the adhesive thickness after bonding while providing sufficient space or gap for electrical insulation in the plane of the adhesive”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with the conductive fillers including metallic particles, as taught by Bernstein. The motivation to integrate this into the system of Wang would be to create a system with a conductive film that has a uniform composition for consistent reading capabilities, which will be filled with metal that can aid in conductivity to further increase signal production.
Regarding claim 5, claims 1 & 4 are obvious over Wang in view of Bernstein. Wang does not disclose wherein the conductive fillers include metallic particles. Bernstein in a similar field of endeavor of biofluid analysis sensors teaches wherein the conductive fillers include metallic particles (Bernstein ¶0134 “adhesive matrix with conductive particles” can be interpreted as metallic particles, since metallics can be conductive). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with the conductive fillers including metallic particles, as taught by Bernstein to create a system with a conductive film that has a uniform composition for consistent reading capabilities, which will be filled with metal that can aid in conductivity to further increase signal production.
Regarding claim 12, claim 11 is anticipated by Wang. Wang does not additionally disclose wherein the conductive film has an anisotropic electrical conductivity. Bernstein in a similar field of endeavor of biofluid analysis sensors teaches wherein the conductive film has an anisotropic electrical conductivity (Bernstein ¶0134 “In certain embodiments, the conductive film 530 may include anisotropic conductive adhesive film.”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with the conductive film having an anisotropic electrical conductivity, as taught by Bernstein to create a system with the ability for channeling the flux of substances in a preferential direction to maximize analyte readings in the system.
Regarding claim 13, claim 11 is anticipated by Wang. Wang does not additionally disclose wherein the conductive film includes conductive fillers dispersed therein. Bernstein in a similar field of endeavor of biofluid analysis sensors teaches wherein the conductive film includes conductive fillers dispersed therein (Bernstein ¶0134 “In certain embodiments, the conductive film 530 may include anisotropic conductive adhesive film, e.g., such as those available from 3M Corporation, St. Paul, Minn., which is heat bondable, electrically conductive and include a thermosetting epoxy/acrylate adhesive matrix with conductive particles that allow interconnection of circuit lines through the adhesive thickness after bonding while providing sufficient space or gap for electrical insulation in the plane of the adhesive”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with the conductive film includes conductive fillers dispersed therein, as taught by Bernstein to create a system with a conductive film that has a uniform composition for consistent reading capabilities.
Regarding claim 16, claim 1 is anticipated by Wang. Wang does not additionally disclose a method for biofluid analysis, comprising attaching the disposable sensor onto working electrode contact of a wearable device exposing the disposable sensor to a biofluid during a sensing operation and detaching the disposable sensor from the electrode contact subsequent to the sensing operation. Bernstein in a similar field of endeavor of biofluid analysis sensors teaches attaching the disposable sensor onto working electrode contact of a wearable device (Bernstein ¶0071 “As described, embodiments include in vivo analyte sensors and on body electronics that together provide body wearable sensor electronics assemblies. In certain embodiments, in vivo analyte sensors are fully integrated with on body electronics (fixedly connected during manufacture), while in other embodiments they are separate but connectable post manufacture (e.g., before, during or after sensor insertion into a body).”); exposing the disposable sensor to a biofluid during a sensing operation (Bernstein ¶0086 “Also shown in FIG. 1 is insertion device 150 that, when operated, transcutaneously positions a portion of analyte sensor 101 through a skin surface and in fluid contact with ISF,”); and detaching the disposable sensor from the electrode contact subsequent to the sensing operation (Bernstein ¶0071 “As described, embodiments include in vivo analyte sensors and on body electronics that together provide body wearable sensor electronics assemblies. In certain embodiments, in vivo analyte sensors are fully integrated with on body electronics (fixedly connected during manufacture), while in other embodiments they are separate but connectable post manufacture (e.g., before, during or after sensor insertion into a body).”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with a method for biofluid analysis, by attaching the disposable sensor onto working electrode contact of a wearable device exposing the disposable sensor to a biofluid during a sensing operation and detaching the disposable sensor from the electrode contact subsequent to the sensing operation, as taught by Bernstein to create a system with easy-to-use biosensors.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication No 20170325724; Previously Cited) in view of Bernstein et al. (US Publication No 20160015267; Previously Cited), and Wogoman (US Publication No. 4938860; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 3, Claims 1 & 2 are obvious over Wang in view of Bernstein. Neither Wang nor Bernstein disclose wherein the conductive film has a higher electrical conductivity along a direction extending between the first major surface and the second major surface, relative to an electrical conductivity along a direction parallel to the first major surface or the second major surface. Wogoman in an analogous field of endeavor of analyte detection teaches wherein the conductive film has a higher electrical conductivity along a direction extending between the first major surface and the second major surface, relative to an electrical conductivity along a direction parallel to the first major surface or the second major surface (Wogoman Figures 5-7). Neither Wogoman, Bernstein, nor Wang explicitly detail the direction of conductivity of the claimed electrode, though it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to particularly configure the electrode explicitly such that the conductive film has a higher electrical conductivity along a direction extending between the first major surface and the second major surface, relative to an electrical conductivity along a direction parallel to the first major surface or the second major surface, since this would be a typical design choice for a functional electrode. Additionally, Wang combined with Bernstein and Wogoman discloses the claimed invention except for path of conductivity. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the electrode explicitly such that the conductive film has a higher electrical conductivity along a direction extending between the first major surface and the second major surface, relative to an electrical conductivity along a direction parallel to the first major surface or the second major surface, since this is an obvious design choice for the typical functionality of an electrode and such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 6-8, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Wang et al. (US Publication No 20170325724; Previously Cited) in view of Yamashita et al. (Us Publication No 5185208; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 6, Claim 1 is anticipated by Wang. Wang does not additionally disclose a set of charge transfer layers disposed between the sensing layer and the conductive film. Yamashita in the similar field of endeavor of electrode design teaches a set of charge transfer layers (Yamashita Abstract “Functional devices using charge transfer complexes formed as a layer on a substrate. In one embodiment of the invention, the device comprises a substrate, an electrode layer formed on one side of the substrate, at least one layer of a charge transfer complex capable of undergoing a variation in charge transferability by application of external energy, and another electrode layer formed on the complex layer.” Column 12 Lines 3-6) disposed between the sensing layer and the conductive film (Yamashita Column 4 Lines 26-31 “The substrate 1 has a transparent electrode 2 such as an indium tin oxide film, a layer 3 of a charge transfer complex of the type which will be described hereinafter, and a counter electrode 4 such as an indium tin oxide film.”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify the electrode system of Wang by integrating a set of charge transfer layers as taught in Yamashita. The motivation to integrate this into the system of Wang would be to create provide a stabilizing force for the molecular complexes of the electrode sensing system.
Regarding claim 7, Claims 1 & 6 are obvious over Wang in view of Yamashita. Wang does not additionally disclose wherein the set of charge transfer layers includes a metallic layer. Yamashita in a similar field of endeavor of electrode design teaches wherein the set of charge transfer layers includes a metallic layer (Yamashita Column 4 Lines 26-31). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with a set of charge transfer layers which includes a metallic layer, as taught by Yamashita to create a system with the charge transfer abilities facilitated with the metal layers that can serve as a biosensor.
Regarding claim 8, claims 1 & 6-7 are obvious over Wang in view of Yamashita. Wang does not additionally disclose wherein the set of charge transfer layers includes an electrochemically active layer. Yamashita in a similar field of endeavor of electrode design teaches wherein the set of charge transfer layers includes an electrochemically active layer (Yamashita Column 3 Lines 7-15 “In the device, the charge transfer complex used is made of an electron donor and an electron acceptor, one of which is an organic compound having has a long-chain alkyl substituent. The alkyl substituent has preferably from 10 to 22 carbon atoms. When external energy such as electric, optical or electromagnetic energy is applied to the device, a neutral-ionic or ionic-neutral phase transition takes place in the charge transfer complex layer”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with the set of charge transfer layers including an electrochemically active layer, as taught by Yamashita to create a system with the charge transfer abilities that can serve as a biosensor.
Regarding claim 15, claim 11 is anticipated by Wang. Wang does not additionally disclose wherein the first sensor includes a first sensing layer and a first set of charge transfer layers disposed between the first sensing layer and the conductive film; and the second sensor includes a second sensing layer and a second set of charge transfer layers disposed between the second sensing layer and the conductive film. Yamashita in a similar field of endeavor of electrode design teaches wherein the first sensor includes a first sensing layer and a first set of charge transfer layers disposed between the first sensing layer and the conductive film; and the second sensor includes a second sensing layer and a second set of charge transfer layers disposed between the second sensing layer and the conductive film (Yamashita Abstract, Column 4 Lines 26-31). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to modify system of Wang with the first sensor including a first sensing layer and a first set of charge transfer layers disposed between the first sensing layer and the conductive film and the second sensor including a second sensing layer and a second set of charge transfer layers disposed between the second sensing layer and the conductive film, as taught in Yamashita to create a system with signals that are optimized for noise cancelation between signals. This helps the data be more accurate and aids in later data processing steps.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN T FEDORKY/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796