Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on 14 Apr 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Acknowledgement is made of the amendments filed 06 Aug 2025. Acknowledgement is made of the cancellation of claims 9 and 17.
Priority
The instant application retains the priority date of 25 Apr 2018.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the remarks filed 14 Apr 2026.
The non-statutory double patenting rejections over copending Application Nos. 17/047,671 and 17/766,286 are rendered moot following abandonment of the copending applications.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicant arguments filed 14 Apr 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over JP 2016113426 (provided in IDS 11/22/23), hereinafter ‘426, further in view of Vorbruggen et al. (Synthesis, 1979, 1:35; provided in the office action mailed 20 Feb 2025), hereinafter Vorbruggen, Xu et al. (Synthetic Comm, 2006, 37:3095-3104; abstract provided in the office action mailed 20 Feb 2025), hereinafter Xu, and Cantillo et al. (J Am Chem Soc, 2011, 133:4465-4475; provided in the office action mailed 20 Feb 2025), hereinafter Cantillo. Applicant argues in the remarks filed 14 Apr 2026 that the purpose and chemical context of Vorbruggen, Cantillo, and Xu significantly differ from the context of ‘426.
Applicant argues that Vorbruggen discloses several products formed through the use of the in situ generated TMSN3, but that Vorbruggen is entirely silent about the formation of tetrazolinones via the use of in situ generated TMSN3. Because the functional groups of Vorbruggen differ from those in ‘426, applicant argues that the substrates having different functional groups would behave differently (pg. 6-7).
Examiner respectfully notes that Vorbruggen is used to teaches the in situ generation of TMSN3 from reacting TMSCl and NaN3. The method for preparing compound 6 of Vorbruggen requires adding TMSCl to NaN3 in DMF and stirring for an hour prior to any other reagents being added (column 2). The relevance of Vorbruggen is maintained. See MPEP § 2141.01(a)(I).
Applicant argues that Cantillo's teachings that stoichiometric amounts of expensive TMSN3 can be replaced by stoichiometric amounts of inexpensive NaN3 and catalytic amounts of TMSN3 or TMSCl corresponds to a specific catalysis condition and that the purpose and chemical context of Cantillo significantly differ from those of '426 (pgs. 6-7).
Cantillo is cited for disclosing the use of catalytic amounts of TMSN3 or TMSCl and stoichiometric amounts of NaN3 to afford TMSN3 in a cyclization reaction, corroborating Vorbruggen and showing that TMSN3 can be generated by catalytic amounts of TMSCl and NaN3 which applies directly to the reaction taught by ‘426 where the azidizing reagent is sodium azide or TMSN3. See MPEP § 2141.01(a)(I).
Applicant argues that an artisan would understand that the teaching is not directly applicable to the subject matter of '426 because Xu relates to specific Michael-type Friedel-Crafts reactions separate from the disclosure of '426 (pgs. 7-8). Applicant further argues that while TMSCl may be classified as a Lewis acid, the artisan would understand this is chemically distinct than the Lewis acids cited in the disclosure of '426 (pg. 8), the reasoning being that TMSCl reacts with NaN3 to form neutral, covalent bonds while the Lewis acids described in ‘426 react with NaN3 to form intermediates which remain Lewis acids.
The relevance of Xu relates to Xu teaching that TMSCl is a Lewis acid. The relevance of Xu is maintained and it is respectfully requested that applicant provide evidence for the arguments that the Lewis acids described in ‘426 are distinct enough that the artisan would not have a reasonable expectation of success in using TMSCl as a Lewis acid in the reaction. See MPEP § 2141.01(a)(I) and MPEP § 2145(I).
Applicant further argues that Vorbruggen does not disclose the use of such TMSN3 in a catalytic amount (pg. 8).
This is not persuasive because the use of TMSN3 in a catalytic amount is gleaned from disclosures of '426, Vorbruggen, Cantillo, and Xu. Vorbruggen is cited for teaching the in situ generation of TMSN3 by reacting TMSCl and NaN3. Examiner notes that attacking references individually cannot be used to show nonobviousness. See MPEP § 2145(IV).
Applicant argues that there is no stoichiometric amount of TMSN3 in ‘426 that is to be replaced by NaN3 and a catalytic amount of TMSN3 or TMSCl, and that further TMSCl is a Lewis acid taught by Xu and not TMSN3. Applicant further argues that no document of record teaches a compound of formula (II) to be a Lewis acid catalyst (pg. 8), and that the obviousness rejection is based on hindsight bias.
Examiner respectfully reiterates that ‘426 teaches the addition of a 0.01-0.5 molar equivalents of a Lewis acid to the reaction which may include NaN3 or TMSN3 as the azidizing reagent. Xu teaches TMSCl is a Lewis acid and Vorbruggen and Cantillo teach that TMSCl and NaN3 react in situ to form TMSN3. Together the references make the presently claimed invention obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (see “Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103” below). In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based on improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgement on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill before the time of the claimed invention’s effective filing date, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See MPEP § 2145(X).
Applicant argues that the claimed molar range of ‘426 is limited to the specific metal chloride Lewis acids described in the reference disclosure. Applicant specifically relies on paragraph [0019] of ‘426 which states, “If necessary, Lewis acids such as aluminum chloride, titanium tetrachloride, or zinc chloride may be added to the reaction; aluminum chloride is preferably used. These Lewis acids are typically used in amount of 0.001 to 1 mole, preferably 0.01 to 0.5 mole, per mole of compound (5).” Applicant interprets the word “these” of the phrase “These Lewis acids” to limit the list of Lewis acids to only those explicitly mentioned in ‘426. Applicant reiterates the argument that the Lewis acids of ‘426 are chemically distinct from TMSCl as a Lewis acid (pg. 10).
This is not persuasive. Paragraph [0019] still makes sense if all exemplary statements are removed. “If necessary, Lewis acids…may be added to the reaction. These Lewis acids are typically used in amount of 0.001 to 1 mole…per mole of compound (5).” Evidence is required to substantiate the applicant arguments. See MPEP § 2145(I).
In light of the discussion above, the rejection of claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 is under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as obvious over ‘426, Vorbruggen, Cantillo, and Xu is maintained for the reasons of record and restated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, 15-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over '426, and further in view of Vorbruggen, Xu, and Cantillo.
'426 teaches a method for making a tetrazolinone (pg. 4, Compound 6) from an isocyanate (pg. 4, Compound 5):
'426 teaches using an azidizing agent to cyclize Compound 5 normally carried out in a solvent, where the possible solvents include N,N-dimethylformamide and N-methylpyrrolidone (pg. 8, paragraph [0019]). '426 additionally teaches the azidizing agents may compounds which include sodium azide or TMSN3 (pg. 8, paragraph [0019]). '426 teaches that a Lewis acid may be added to the reaction, used in a preferable amount of 0.01 to 0.5 moles relative to moles of Compound 5. '426 further teaches that when the solvent, the Lewis acid, and the azidation agent are mixed and then Compound 5 is added, the temperature at which the Lewis acid and the azidation agent are mixed is usually in the range of -20 to 100 °C. However, '426 does not teach the Lewis acid as a silicon derivative or making the silicon derivative in situ.
Vorbruggen teaches the use of trimethylsilyl azide as a reagent does not require its separate preparation prior to the reaction with substrates such as aldehydes, ketones, or isothiocyanates and that it may be generated in situ from trimethylchlorosilane and sodium azide (pg. 35, column 1).
Xu teaches that trimethylchlorosilane is an effective silicon Lewis acid catalyst (Abstract, lines 1-2).
Cantillo teaches that stoichiometric amounts of the expensive TMSN3 can be replaced by stoichiometric amounts of inexpensive NaN3 and catalytic amounts of TMSN3 or even TMSCl which readily affords TMSN3 in the presence of the azide ion (pg. 4470, column 1).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of '426, Vorbruggen, Xu, and Cantillo to create Compound 6 from Compound 5 by creating the azidizing reagent TMSA in situ from catalytic amounts of the Lewis acid, TMSCl, and azidizing reagent, NaN3, all while reacting in a solvent of DMA or NMP at a temperature between -20 and 100 °C.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to form TMSA in situ using catalytic amounts of TMSCl and stoichiometric amounts of NaN3 because stoichiometric TMSA is an expensive reagent and replacing stoichiometric TMSA with catalytic TMSCl and cheap NaN3 would reduce costs. Additionally, the artisan would be motivated to form TMSA in situ due to the added convenience generated by forming reagents in situ.
Furthermore, the selection of a reaction temperature is a result effective variable that would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art, as exemplified by ‘426 which teaches a widely variable reaction temperature of -20 °C to 100 °C. It is noted that no criticality has been demonstrated in the instant specification with regard to the claimed reaction temperatures.
To summarize the teachings above:
Vorbruggen and Cantillo teach NaN3 reacts with catalytic amounts of TMSCl to form TMSA in situ which read on instant claims 1-2, 4-8, and 16.
'426 teaches DMF and NMP are amide solvents which reads on instant claims 1, 3, and 15.
'426 and Xu teach using 0.01-0.5 molar equivalents of the Lewis acid, TMSCl, which reads on instant claims 9 and 18.
'426 teaches Compound 5 as an aryl isocyanate and Compound 6 as an aryl tetrazolinone which reads on instant claim 10.
'426 teaches a reaction temperature between -20 and 100 °C which reads on instant claims 11 and 19.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over '426, Vorbruggen, Xu, and Cantillo as applied to claims 1-8, 10-11, 15-16, and 18-19 above.
'426, Vorbruggen, Xu, and Cantillo teach a method of preparing Compound 6 (above) by reacting 0.01 to 0.5 molar equivalents of TMSCl with NaN3 to create TMSA which in turn reacts with Compound 5 to create Compound 6. This reaction is performed in a solvent, preferably DMF, at a temperature between -20 °C and 100 °C.
'426 also teaches that after performing a reaction to create Compound 6, the mixture can be cooled, with a mixture of sodium nitrite and hydrochloric acid added dropwise (pg. 13, paragraph [0027]. ‘426 teaches the reaction was cooled and hydrochloric acid was added, after which water was added to the mixture followed by cooling and filtering (pg. 13, paragraph [0027]). ‘426 also teaches that sodium nitrite is an oxidizing agent that decomposes excess azidation agent (pg. 8, paragraph [0019]). ‘426 teaches that excess azidation agent may also be removed and Compound 6 isolated by performing post-treatment operations such as washing, extraction, concentration, filtration, and drying. However, '426 does not teach the steps of purifying the tetrazolinone compound prior to treating with NaNO2 and acid.
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try variations of washing, extraction, concentration, filtration, drying, and treating with NaNO2 and acid to ensure that any excess azidation reagent is removed. For instance, while ‘426 teaches treating the reaction to form Compound 6 with NaNO2 and acid followed by isolation of Compound 6 by filtration, an artisan would find it obvious to try filtering Compound 6 followed by treating with NaNO2 and acid in order to determine the best order of operations for removing excess azidation reagent. Furthermore, the artisan would be motivated to try different isolation and purification methods to ensure the highest possible yield of Compound 6.
To summarize the teachings above:
‘426 and ‘339 teach a method of first isolating a tetrazolinone compound following by treating the compound with NaNO2 and HCl which reads on claims 12-14 and 20.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625