DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, and 11 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 15, and 29 are currently amended.
Claims 15-17, 19-20, 22-25, and 29-35 are withdrawn.
Claims 3, 7, 9-10, 12-14, 18, 21, and 26-28 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendments filed on 10/11/2025 have been fully considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant provided amendments to independent claim 1 which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments filed 10/11/2025 have been fully considered. Lastinger (U.S. Patent No. 9,910,003 B1) is introduced as a primary reference in the present rejection for disclosing and rendering obvious some of the limitations presented via the October 18, 2024 amendments. Nielson (U.S. Patent No. 6,246,330 B1), Sherron (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2010/0241094 A1), Vartiainen (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0051416 A1), and Janszen (U.S. Patent No. 6,200,250 B1) are reintroduced as secondary references in the present rejection for disclosing and rendering obvious some of the limitations presented via the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielson (U.S. Patent No. 6,246,330 B1), in view of Long (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2007/0024457 A1), further in view of Sherron (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2010/0241094 A1), further in view of Vartiainen (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0051416 A1), and further in view of Lastinger (U.S. Patent No. 9,910,003 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Nielson teaches: A diaper for sensing urine and feces (see at least Abstract), including a lining layer located on an inner side (see inner surface 400-A in Fig. 22B),
wherein the lining layer includes multiple conductive sensing lines (see for example conductive elements 202 and 204 at least Fig. 3; Fig. 22B shows the distal ends of the conductive elements 202 and 204 at numeral 170) positioned on an inner surface of the lining layer (see at least Fig. 5B showing that the first and second conductive elements 202, 204 are positioned on the cover layer 400 of sensor 100; col. 15, lines 12-16 teach that the top cover layer 400 can be replaced by the diaper inner surface 400-A; therefore, the conductive elements 202, 204 are positioned on an inner surface of the lining layer 400-A) that makes contact with a human body (see col. 13, line 7), the conductive sensing lines being arranged separately from each other (see for example col. 18, lines 12-13);
wherein a distal end of each of the conductive sensing lines (as at numeral 170 in Fig. 22B) is coupled and electrically connected to a conductive electrode-receiving portion (Fig. 22B shows the distal ends at numeral 170 of the conductive sensing lines 202, 204 connected to a monitor/alarm unit 500, which also incorporates numerals 600’s; Fig. 2A shows numerals 500’s, 600’s, 700’s, and 800’s as one unit) formed on the lining layer or an outer cover (Fig. 22B shows the monitor/alarm unit 500 is formed on an outer cover of the diaper, i.e., on a surface opposite the lining layer 400-A); and
wherein the distal end of each of the conductive sensing lines is in contact with a top surface of the conductive electrode-receiving portion (as broadly recited, the claim does not require a direct contact; as shown in Fig. 3A, for example, the distal end of the conductive sensing lines, as at numerals 202, 204, is in indirect contact with a top surface of layer 400), and a bottom surface of the conductive electrode-receiving portion is in contact with the lining layer or the waterproof cover (as broadly recited, this limitation is met at least because the claim does not require a direct contact; see Fig. 2A, for example),
wherein each of the conductive sensing lines is protruding from two opposing edges of the conductive electrode-receiving portion (as shown in Figs. 21-A-B, for example, the multiple conductive sensing lines 202, 204 protrude from two opposing edges of the monitor/alarm unit 500),
wherein the conductive sensing lines comprises a first sensing line (202) and a second sensing line (204),
wherein the electrode-receiving portion comprises a first electrode-receiving portion and a second electrode-receiving portion (see at least col. 33, line 66 thru col. 34, line 4), and
wherein the first electrode-receiving portion is coupled to the first sensing line and is fixed to the lining layer, and the second electrode-receiving portion is coupled to the second sensing line and is fixed to the lining layer (as broadly recited, coupling of the first and second electrode-receiving portion to the first and second sensing lines and fixing the first and second electrode-receiving portions to the lining layer does not require direct coupling and fixing; see for example Fig. 3A-B showing the first and second electrically conductive members coupled and fixed to lining layer 400).
However, Nielson fails to explicitly teach that the diaper includes a waterproof cover or an absorbing layer located on an inner side of the waterproof cover, that the lining layer is located on an inner side of the absorbing layer, that the at least one of an electrical resistance, capacitance, and inductance between the conductive sensing lines changes upon contact between the conductive sensing lines and urine or feces, or that the distal end of each of the conductive sensing lines is coupled to the conductive electrode-receiving portion by a sewing process using a conductive thread, a binding process using a conductive thread, or a combination thereof, as required by the claim.
Long teaches an analogous diaper for sensing urine and feces (see at least Abstract) comprising a waterproof cover (see outer cover 40 at least in para. [0115]), an absorbing layer located on an inner side of the waterproof cover (see at least para. [0009]), and a lining layer located on an inner side of the absorbing layer (see at least para. [0009]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nielson to incorporate the teachings of Long by including a waterproof cover and an absorbing layer located on an inner side of the waterproof cover, and by locating the lining layer on an inner side of the absorbing layer at least because such structures are well known in the art, as evidenced by Long’s disclosure (see at least para. [0009 and 0115]). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the waterproof cover, absorbing layer, and lining layer of Long with the diaper of Nielson since it is a simple substitution of known elements for other known elements yielding a predictable result of having a diaper having a waterproof cover, absorbing layer, and lining layer (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
However, neither Nielson nor Long explicitly teach that the at least one of an electrical resistance, capacitance, and inductance between the conductive sensing lines changes upon contact between the conductive sensing lines and urine or feces, or that the distal end of each of the conductive sensing lines is coupled to the conductive electrode-receiving portion by a sewing process using a conductive thread, a binding process using a conductive thread, or a combination thereof, as required by the claim.
Sherron teaches an analogous smart diaper comprising an outer cover, an inner absorbent material, and a sensing system (see at least Abstract) Sherron further teaches a monitoring system 4 that includes at least one insult sensor 6, 36 for detecting the electrical property, e.g., resistance, conductance, capacitance, or inductance, of the article (see for example Fig. 1 and para. [0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nielson in view of Long to incorporate the teachings of Sherron by causing at least one of the electrical resistance, capacitance, and inductance between the conductive sensing lines to change upon contact between the conductive sensing lines and urine or feces at least because Sherron teaches that an insult may be detected by measuring the change in resistance (see para. [0023]), by measuring the change in capacitance (see para. [0039]), or by detecting the inductance (see para. [0021]).
However, neither Nielson, Long, nor Sherron explicitly teach that the distal end of each of the conductive sensing lines is coupled to the conductive electrode-receiving portion by a sewing process using a conductive thread, a binding process using a conductive thread, or a combination thereof, as required by the claim.
Vartiainen teaches an analogous absorbent article that has a conductive thread (see at least Abstract) that which is coupled to the absorbent article by passing the thread through a first surface of the absorbent article (see for example para. [0008]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nielson, in view of Long, and further in view of Sherron to incorporate the teachings of Vartiainen by passing the distal end of first and/or second conductive elements through a layer of the absorbent article to couple the distal end to the conductive electrode receiving portion at least in order to secure the conductive threads to the absorbent article, as taught by Vartiainen (see at least para. [0008]).
However, neither Nielson, Long, Sherron, nor Vartiainen explicitly teach a sewing process using a conductive thread, a binding process using a conductive thread, as required by the claim.
Lastinger teaches an analogous system for detecting the presence of a liquid comprising conductors positioned between a substrate and a cover (see at least Abstract). Lastinger further teaches that a conventional sewing machine can be used to sew a conductive thread to a substrate so that the conductive thread performs the functions of conductors (see col. 5, lines 30-34).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nielson, in view of Long, further in view of Sherron, and further in view of Vartiainen to incorporate the teachings of Lastinger by coupling the distal end of each of the conductive sensing lines to the conductive electrode-receiving portion by a sewing process using a conductive thread and/or a binding process using a conductive thread at least because Lastinger teaches that conventional methods for coupling a conductor to any layer of a pad include printing, deposition, mechanical, adhesive, and sewing (see col. 13, lines 10-16), therefore, such sewing and binding using a conductive thread is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Nielson, in view of Long , further in view of Sherron, further in view of Vartiainen, and further in view of Lastinger teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Nielson teaches wherein each of the conductive sensing lines includes a material with electrical conductivity (see col. 12, lines 36-38 and col. 19, lines 23-30), has a form of a thread or a band (col. 19, lines 23-30 disclose that the conductive members 202, 204 can be made of thin metallic foil, which is a band), and is formed on the lining layer (col. 18, lines 6-7 disclose that layer 150 of sensor 100 affixes sensor 100 to the diaper, which includes conductive sensing lines 202, 204) using a sewing process, an adhesion process, or a printing process (col. 18, lines 8-10 and 17-19 disclose that layer 150 comprises upper 154 and lower 156 adhesives and that layer 150 adheres sensor 100 to the diaper).
Regarding claim 4, Nielson, in view of Long , further in view of Sherron, further in view of Vartiainen, and further in view of Lastinger teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Nielson fails to teach that the electrode-receiving portion includes woven fabric, knitted material, felt, or non-woven material composed of conductive fibers, as required by the claim.
Long teaches wherein the electrode-receiving portion includes woven fabric, knitted material, felt, or non-woven material composed of conductive fibers (para. [0079] teaches that the conductive pad members 104 and 106 may comprise a conductive nonwoven material or a conductive woven material).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nielson, in view of Long , further in view of Sherron, further in view of Vartiainen, and further in view of Lastinger to further incorporate the teachings of Long by substituting Nielson’s pins 620, 622, and 624 (of Fig. 26A), or pins 630, 632, and 634 (of Fig. 26B) for the conductive nonwoven material or a conductive woven material of Long (see para. [0079]). Nielson is silent as to the materials of pins 620, 622, 624, 630, 632, and/or 634 and is silent as to the material of the parts of the electrode receiving portion. Long teaches conductive electrode-receiving portions being made out of conductive nonwoven material or a conductive woven material (see para. [0079] of Long). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute Nielson’s pins 620, 622, 624, 630, 632, and/or 634 for the conductive nonwoven material or a conductive woven material of Long at least because it is a simple substitution of known elements for other known elements yielding a predictable result of having a diaper having an electrode-receiving portion that includes woven fabric, knitted material, felt, or non-woven material composed of conductive fibers (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 5, Nielson, in view of Long , further in view of Sherron, further in view of Vartiainen, and further in view of Lastinger teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Nielson teaches wherein one end of the lining layer (see area indicated by numeral 450 in Fig. 2A) on which the electrode-receiving portion is formed is folded toward and attached to the outer surface of the waterproof cover (see for example fold line 342 in Fig. 2A) so that the electrode-receiving portion is exposed to the outer surface of the waterproof cover (as can be seen in Fig. 2A, the electrode-receiving portions 202, 204 are exposed to the outer surface of the absorbent article)
Regarding claim 6, Nielson, in view of Long , further in view of Sherron, further in view of Vartiainen, and further in view of Lastinger teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. As discussed in claim 1 above, Vartiainen teaches a conductive thread which is coupled to the absorbent article by passing the thread through a first surface of the absorbent article (see for example para. [0008]). See obviousness statement in claim 1 above. Additionally, Nielson teaches wherein the electrode-receiving portion is formed on the outer portion of the waterproof cover (as can be seen in Fig. 2A, the electrode-receiving portions 202, 204 are formed on the outer portion of the absorbent article).
Regarding claim 8, Nielson, in view of Long , further in view of Sherron, further in view of Vartiainen, and further in view of Lastinger teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Nielson teaches:
wherein an end of the first electrode-receiving portion is fixed to the lining layer or the waterproof cover by a sewing process or an adhesion process (col. 16, lines 16-25 disclose that the electrically conductive elements layer 200 can have adhesives disposed on appropriate portions and surfaces in order to achieve proper assembly of the sensor; additionally, col. 16, lines 16-19 and col. 19, lines 1-3 teach that sensor 100 has a double-sided adhesive layer 150; therefore, it is at least inherent that an end of the first electrode-receiving portion is fixed to the lining layer or waterproof cover by an adhesion process) such that a space for receiving an electrode of the diaper for sensing urine and feces is defined between fixed ends of the first electrode- receiving portion (see recessed connector-receiving portion 600 of monitor/alarm unit 500 at least in Fig. 21A and col. 18, lines 53-54),
wherein an end of the second electrode-receiving portion is fixed to the lining layer or the waterproof cover by a sewing process or an adhesion process (col. 16, lines 16-25 disclose that the electrically conductive elements layer 200 can have adhesives disposed on appropriate portions and surfaces in order to achieve proper assembly of the sensor; additionally, col. 16, lines 16-19 and col. 19, lines 1-3 teach that sensor 100 has a double-sided adhesive layer 150; therefore, it is at least inherent that an end of the first electrode-receiving portion is fixed to the lining layer or waterproof cover by an adhesion process) such that a space for receiving an electrode of the urine- and feces-sensing device is defined between fixed ends of the second electrode-receiving portion (see recessed connector-receiving portion 600 of monitor/alarm unit 500 at least in Fig. 21A and col. 18, lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 11, Nielson, in view of Long , further in view of Sherron, further in view of Vartiainen, and further in view of Lastinger teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Nielson teaches wherein the conductive sensing lines include multiple unit-sensing lines implemented with an electrical connection and spaced apart from each other (see at least col. 18, lines 12-14).
Conclusion
/JIHAD DAKKAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781