DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/26/20, 7/2/21, 10/5/22 was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/2/21. These drawings are objected to.
Figure 1 is objected to for the extraneous matter of “(TOP END SIDE)” and “(BASE END SIDE)” (see annotations).
Figure 1 is objected to because “40a” and “40” and “40b” and “40” are used to point to the same things, which is improper. Applicant can erase “40” and put a bracket similar to what is present for “10” to label “40” to overcome this.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8: this claim was amended to recite “a plurality of top end side bristles…in five radial directions different from each other” and “a plurality of base end side bristles…in five radial directions different from each other”; however, this language does not appear in applicant’s disclosure and the figures do not clearly illustrate this either. At best, applicant’s figures illustrate bristles extending in three different directions. So this limitation is new matter; this is a new matter rejection.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8: recites “a base portion including a shaft portion that extends from a base end side to a top end side”; however, this appears to directly conflict with applicant’s disclosure. According to applicant’s figures, the top end side is the distal most end of the entire device and the base end side is the proximal most end of the entire device (see Fig 1). The shaft portion (20) does not extend from the base end side to the top end side because the grip portion (30) extends from the shaft portion to the base end side. So this limitation is confusing because is applicant trying to claim that the grip and stem are the same thing? For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “a base portion including a shaft portion that extends from a top end side towards a top end side”. This claim also recites “a plurality of top end side bristles…in five radial directions different from each other” and “a plurality of base end side bristles…in five radial directions different from each other”; however, it is unclear if applicant is attempting to claim five radial directions or 10 radial directions because the “plurality of base end side bristles” do not refer back to “the five radial directions” set forth in the preceding clause. For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “the five radial directions” in the third clause. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
102(a)(1): the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
103: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zwimpfer (US 20200260853).
Claim 8: Zwimpfer discloses an interdental cleaning tool (1) comprising: a base portion (10+12+13) including a shaft portion (13, see Figs 5 & 10-11) and extends from a base end side (bottom of 10) to a top end side (top of 13) and is insertable in interdental spaces [0018 & 0042]. A top end side cleaning portion (see annotations) including a top end side body covering [0013] a predetermined length (since this can be any arbitrary length) from a top end of the shaft portion toward the base end side and a plurality of top end side bristles (35+36) protruding outward from an outer circumferential surface of the top end side body in five radial directions different from each other (see annotations). A base end side cleaning portion including a base end side body (see annotations) covering a portion of the shaft portion further towards the base end side than the top end side body (see annotations), and a plurality of base end side bristles (35+36) protruding outward from an outer circumferential surface of the top end side body in the five radial direction (see annotations). The shaft portion is thicker in a section where the base end side bristles are formed than where the top end side bristles are formed (see Fig 5). The top end side body and the base end side body are formed at “an interval” in an axial longitudinal direction [0124]. The bristles shorten in length toward the top end side (34, Fig 5), which constitutes “a protruding amount of a whole brush portion including the base end side bristles and the top end side bristles decreases from the base end side to the top end side”. The top end side cleaning portion is made of a thermoplastic elastomer [0043 & 0131 & 0241] into which diamond dust [0245] (which are glass particles or “fibers”) are added to affect the hardness of the different bristles [0264] in intervals along the longitudinal direction [0124]. Zwimpfer already teaches the bristles of the top end side cleaning portion being shorter than the bristles of the base end side cleaning portion (see Figs 1-11), which means the bristles of the top end side cleaning portion are harder than the bristles of the base end side cleaning portion [0378]. Zwimpfer further teaches providing zones with different hardness zones along the length of the device [0124] and to provide the zones by using different materials or different additives [0124] in the material including glass fibers in the form of diamond dust [0245]. Zwimpfer discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for explicitly stating the top end side bristles having more diamond dust than the base end side bristles in order to achieve the prescribed hardness. Since Zwimpfer teaches providing longitudinal zones with different hardnesses, providing the top end region bristles with a hardness greater than the bristles of the base end region, and providing the different hardness regions with different additives including glass fibers. The office interprets this combination as Zwimpfer disclosing the harder top end portion can comprise glass fibers while the additional second zone towards the base end portion does not and this would meet the limitation “an amount of the glass fibers being larger in the top end side cleaning portion than in the base end side cleaning portion”.
Alternatively, if applicant disagrees that Zwimpfer teaches the top end portion having the different hardness because the top end portion comprises the glass fibers or more glass fibers than the base end portion. Zwimpfer teaches it is an art recognized problem for providing brushes with zones of different hardnesses along their length, and there are only a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need/problem as discussed by Zwimpfer including providing the different zones with different materials, with materials of different designs, or with materials having different additives including glass fibers. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Zwimpfer already teaches providing glass particles in the form of diamond dust [0245 & 0264] as an additive to the bristles in the zones, varying the additive provided to each zone [0124], and varying the hardness of the bristles of each zone [0124] in the longitudinal direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the top end bristles to include more of the diamond dust in order to achieve a greater hardness at the top end than the base end or to comprise the diamond dust in the top end while omitting it from the base end (note either would meet the claim because the base end bristles not comprising the additive would also achieve this since the claim requires the top end have more glass fibers and not that the bottom end have any explicitly, so the top end having the additive and the bottom end not having the additive would also meet this limitation). See MPEP 2143 (I)(E).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/25 have been fully considered but they are all drawn to the newly presented claim limitations, which the office notes do not have support in the originally filed disclosure, but have been addressed with a modified ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER GILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772