ndNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on 08/25/2025, wherein claims 1 and 3 are amended, claims 4 and 8 are cancelled .
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3 are pending and currently under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Remarks filed 08/25/2025 have been fully considered, Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks .The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2025 have been fully considered, but they are NOT persuasive to overcome rejection under 35 USC§ 112(a). Claims 1 and 3 remain rejected over Nakamura and Lee under 35 USC § 102/103. Claims 1 and 3 are also rejected over Nakamura in view of Lee under 35 USC §103 as necessitated by amendment. Please see response in following sections.
Independent claim 1 is amended to recite “Hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si, the hydroxyapatite containing microcrystalline hydroxyapatite, and the hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size determined by X-ray structural analysis, based on a diffraction peak observed in a range of 2θ = 31.5.000º to 32.5000º, of 50 Å to 120 Å, wherein the hydroxyapatite is derived from eggshell”. Please note the crystallite size is property of hydroxyapatite product once the microcrystalline hydroxyapatite is formed and could be measured/evaluated through routine practice. As such, the added limitation of X-ray structural analysis “ based on a diffraction peak observed in a range of 2θ = 31.5.000º to 32.5000º” does not necessarily further limit the property of final hydroxyapatite product.
Priority
This instant application 17/050,752 filed on 10/26/2020 is a 371 of PCT/JP2019/017578 filed on 04/25/2019 and claims benefit of JAPAN 2018-087430 filed on 04/27/2018.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign Application JAPAN 2018-087430 is filed on 10/26/2020 in Japanese, no English translation is included in the certified copy of foreign Application No JAPAN 2018-087430. Applicant’s right of foreign priority is not perfected due to lack of English translation thereof. The priority date of instant application is determined to be 04/25/2019, the filing date of PCT/JP2019/017578.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR1.97. Accordingly, the reference listed in IDS are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Independent claim 1 is amended to recite “Hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si, the hydroxyapatite containing microcrystalline hydroxyapatite, and the hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size determined by X-ray structural analysis, based on a diffraction peak observed in a range of 2θ = 31.5.000º to 32.5000º, of 50 Å to 120 Å… ”. It should read “A hydroxyapatite comprising …” and the limitation “of 50 Å to 120 Å” should follow directly after “crystallite size”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 is amended to recite “Hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si, the hydroxyapatite containing microcrystalline hydroxyapatite, and the hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size determined by X-ray structural analysis, based on a diffraction peak observed in a range of 2θ = 31.5.000º to 32.5000º, of 50 Å to 120 Å, wherein the hydroxyapatite is derived from eggshell”. Claim 1 is construed as microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K and Si, having a crystallite size of 50 to 120 Å, wherein all the recited minerals Mg, Na, K and Si are required component of the hydroxyapatite microcrystalline hydroxyapatite.
However, instant specification does not disclose X-ray spectrum/analysis of instantly claimed hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K and Si. There is only one working example in instant specification(See Experiment 1, page 9), wherein trace elemental analysis was performed by ICP emission spectrometer to support hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K and Si (See Table 1), but no X-ray spectrum analysis is disclosed for instant Example 1. The Declaration by Koichi Nakamura disclosed X-ray spectrum to support the microcrystalline hydroxyapatite has a crystallite size of 10 to 150 Å. However, the Declaration is directed to “hydroxyapatite comprising Mg” which does not disclose the component of microcrystalline hydroxyapatite as comprising Mg, Na, K and Si. As such, instant claimed hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K and Si of claim 1 lacks sufficient support for microcrystalline hydroxyapatite having crystallite size of 50 to 120 Å” determined by X-ray structural analysis as claimed at the time instant application was filed.
Claim 3 is directed to hydroxyapatite having specific Ca/Mg atom numbers . Instant specification alleged “the hydroxyapatite according to [1] or [2], represented by the following chemical formula: (Ca:Mg)10(PO4)6(OH)2 , wherein (Ca:Mg)10 denotes that the total number of Ca atoms and Mg atoms equals to 10, with the number of Ca atoms being from 7 to 9, and the number of Mg atoms being from 1 to 3” (Spec, page 2). However, there is no embodiment/working example or experiment data to illustrate the components of hydroxyapatite wherein the number of Ca and Mg atoms are present as recited in claim 3 . Table 1 (Spec, page 9) shows the presence of Mg, Na, K, Si, etc. as expressed in ppm by mass(mg/kg), but no amount of Mg to Ca are disclosed to support “the total number of Ca atoms and Mg atoms equals to 10, with the number of Ca atoms being from 7 to 9, and the number of Mg atoms being from 1 to 3”. In absence of sufficient disclosure of structural characterization(e.g. molecular formula, X-ray pattern, etc.) of instant claimed microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K and Si, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues "microcrystalline hydroxyapatite" does not refer to the hydroxyapatite being "finely crystallized" but rather refers to the proportion of high crystalline to low crystalline hydroxyapatite contained in the claimed hydroxyapatite… The claimed crystallite size feature is completely separate from the actual component composition of the claimed hydroxyapatite, which includes Mg, Na, K, and Si. Further, the Specification explicitly discloses that the hydroxyapatite of the present application (containing at least some microcrystalline hydroxyapatite therein) contains at least one mineral selected from the claimed group”(Remarks, page 3 ).
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument is fully considered, but NOT persuasive. Instant claim 1 recites “Hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si, the hydroxyapatite containing microcrystalline hydroxyapatite, and the hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size determined by X-ray structural analysis….” “The hydroxyapatite” recited in the same claim all refer back to the hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si wherein all Mg, Na, K, and Si are components of the hydroxyapatite. As such, claim 1 is construed as a microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si, and having a crystallite size of 50 Å to 120 Å. Instant specification is required to provide support for the hydroxyapatite comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si and having a crystallite size of 50 Å to 120 Å determined by X-ray structural analysis as claimed. Please note X-ray analysis of microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising Mg or “contains at least one mineral selected from the claimed group” is not considered the same as for X-ray analysis of hydroxyapatite comprising all components of Mg, Na, K and Si since different elements at different amount or combination thereof might affect the microcrystalline structure and crystallite of hydroxyapatite.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is amended reciting “a total number of Ca atoms and Mg atoms in the hydroxyapatite is equals to 10, with the number of Ca atoms being from 7 to 9, and the number of Mg atoms being from 1 to 3”. The number of Ca and Mg atoms are directed to number of atoms in chemical formula of hydroxyapatite, NOT in the hydroxyapatite product, In absence of chemical formula in the amended claim 3, an ordinary skilled in the art would not know what the limitation of atom numbers are referring to, and what’s the metes and bounds of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Vol. 11, No. 2, 2014, pages 113-120, Applicant’s IDS dated 12/08/2023, “Comparative Study of Hydroxyapatite Prepared from Seashells and Eggshells as a Bone Graft Material”)(maintained).
Lee teaches hydroxyapatite made from natural source of calcium oxide (CaO) that is obtained by calcination of eggshell (eHA) and seashells (sHA) as a bone graft material (See abstract, Materials and Methods on page 114). Lee teaches the physical and structural property of the hydroxyapatite (eHA and sHA) determined by variety analysis, e.g. XRD pattern, infrared spectrum FT-IR, SEM (scanning electron microscope) analysis, inductively Coupled Plasma Atomic Emission Spectroscopy (ICP-OES)(See page 114,116, Figures 1-4). Lee teaches elemental analysis of hydroxyapatite made from egg or seashell contain other minerals, e.g. Mg, Na, K, Si, etc. which reads on instantly claimed minerals (See Table 2, page 117).
Lee teaches animal study where both hydroxyapatite (eHA and sHA) showed bone regeneration ability(See page 115, page 118). Lee teaches the advantages of using shells as biological material for bone graft materials as cost-effective and safe compared with other commercial product (See page 113). Lee teaches Mg enriched HA and Mg-calcium-phosphate cement show favorable results in bone regeneration in vivo and in vitro, and the higher concentrations of Mg in egg HA might be related to the greater bone regeneration(See page 119, right column).
Regarding the size of hydroxyapatite crystalline, Lee teaches egg hydroxyapatite is approximately 0.8 μm x 0.5 μm, determined by X-ray analysis based on diffraction peak (See Figure 3) ( which reads on microcrystalline).
Lee is silent about the “crystallite size of 50 to 120 Å” and specific molecular component of Ca and Mg as claim 3. However, instant microcrystalline hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size of 50 to 120 Å” is construed as mixture of fine crystallized hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size of “50 to 120 Å” and other low crystalline hydroxyapatite having larger crystalline size. As such, Lee’s microcrystalline is considered as reading on the mixture of low crystalline hydroxyapatite having larger crystalline size.
Lee is silent about the specific component of Ca and Mg as recited in instant claim 3. Lee prepared the hydroxyapatite from the same biological material (CaO from eggshell) following similar process as instant application: “the recycled seashells and eggshells were collected and washed with detergent, then calcinated in air at 900°C for 3 h. Calcinated shells were crushed and milled by a ball mill (Fritsch, GmBH) with alumina balls and bowls. The crushed seashells or eggshells were reacted with phosphoric acid in an exothermic reaction. These mixtures were milled for 3 h (eggshells) and 10 h (sea'>hells) at 350 rpm to achieve a homogeneous mixture” (See method of hydroxyapatite preparation, page 114; Table 1). The hydrothermal synthesis process taught by Lee is similar process as disclosed in instant specification (page 7): “The method for producing the hydroxyapatite of the present invention is not particularly limited. As an illustrative example, the aforementioned biologically derived material is subjected to firing to yield calcium oxide, and the resultant calcium oxide is suspended in water or alcohol. To the resultant suspension is added a solution of phosphoric acid in water or alcohol, or alternatively, to the solution of phosphoric acid in water or an alcohol is added the suspension of the calcium oxide in water or alcohol, to thereby obtain a hydroxyapatite slurry”. As such, it is reasonably believed that Lee’s hydroxyapatite product comprising Mg, Na, K, Si made from the same biological material (CaO from eggshell) following similar process would be similar as instantly claimed hydroxyapatite.
In the alternative, even if the claimed hydroxyapatite is not identical to the hydroxyapatite taught by the cited reference with regard to some unidentified characteristics, the differences between what is disclosed and what is claimed are considered to be so slight that hydroxyapatite taught by the cited reference is likely to possess the same characteristics (including the instantly claimed properties) of the claimed hydroxyapatite. Thus, instant claimed hydroxyapatite would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103. There is no evidence of the criticality of claimed crystallite size of 50 to 120 Å compared with the size ranges taught by prior art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05 I, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)” “Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by the cited reference, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
With respect to the USC 102/103 rejection above, please note that the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicant’s claimed hydroxyapatite is different and, if so, to what extent, from that of the discussed reference.
Applicant argues “Lee does not explicitly or implicitly teach, nor suggests, hydroxyapatite as presently claimed” and further argues about the synthesis temperature, “the synthesis temperature of hydroxyapatite is, for example, 150°C or lower. Due to this low synthesis temperature, a crystallite size in the claimed range of 50-120 (which is smaller than Lee's crystallite size) can be achieved”. Lee does not teach or suggest this feature” (Remarks, page 6/7).
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument are fully considered, but not persuasive. The crystallite size is the property of the microcrystalline hydroxyapatite once the microcrystalline hydroxyapatite having component Mg, Na, K, and Si is formed, and could be easily determined/measured by X-ray through routine experiment which is within the general knowledge of one of ordinary skilled in the art. Lee teaches evaluation of hydroxyapatite by X-ray analysis based on diffraction peak. Lee teaches the same raw material from eggshell and similar synthesis process as instantly disclosed Example 1. Thus, the differences between what is disclosed by Lee and what is claimed by instant application are considered to be within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
Regarding the synthesis temperature, the only working example of hydroxyapatite as disclosed by instant specification is Experiment 1 (page 9): “Hydroxyapatite samples were prepared from CaO obtained by firing eggshell as a raw material at 1000°C for 20 hours and from CaO obtained by firing coral as a raw material at 1000°C for 20 hours”. Instant Example 1 doesn’t explicitly disclose the temperature of evaporating the hydroxyapatite slurry. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to explore/optimize conditions based on the teachings of Lee, together with routine experimentation and optimization based on general knowledge of crystallization and preparation of hydroxyapatite and arrived at instantly claimed invention. Thus, the claimed hydroxyapatite would have been obvious to those of ordinary skilled in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nakamura et al. (JP 2016147799 A, Applicant’s IDS dated 10/26/2020, Citation No. 14, machine translated copy powered by EPO and Google), as evidenced by Lee et al. (Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Vol. 11, No. 2, 2014, pages 113-120, Applicant’s IDS dated 12/08/2023, “Comparative Study of Hydroxyapatite Prepared from Seashells and Eggshells as a Bone Graft Material”)(maintained) .
Nakamura teaches low-crystalline hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size of 10 to 200 Å made from calcium oxide (CaO) from biological source as the starting material (See abstract , [0007] MT translated Description). Nakamura teaches the calcium oxide can be obtained by burning the shell, scales and/or bones of an organism, e.g. shells of scallops, oyster and the like (See translated Description [0016]). Nakamura teaches the calcium oxide powder can be prepared by calcining the shell, scales and/or bones of an organism, at a temperature of 800-1050° C. for 1-12 hours, pulverized before or after baking,(See [0016] of MT translated Description). Nakamura teaches the low-crystalline hydroxyapatite made from biological material can be easily and efficiently adhered to a base material suitable for mass production (See [0007]-[0008], MT translated Description).
Regarding the crystallite size limitation of hydroxyapatite , Nakamura teaches the hydroxyapatite having a crystallite size of 10 to 200 Å, preferably 30 to 150 Å at the peak appearing at 2θ of 31.500 to 32.500°, as shown in X-ray analysis of low-crystalline hydroxyapatite (See MT translated Description[0010], [0019]). Nakamura teaches evaporating process wherein substrate may be heated during and/or after evaporating the solvent in order to achieve good production efficiency and promote low crystallization of apatite wherein the heating temperature is preferably 40 to 300°C, more preferably 40 to 180°C, even more preferably 80 to 150°C (See [0022]).
Nakamura does not explicitly teach hydroxyapatite made from shells comprise Mg and other mineral or has specific molecular atoms/ratio as recited in claim 3. However, Nakamura teaches additives may be added to the hydroxyapatite dispersion for the purpose of improving the performance and modifying the properties of the low-crystalline(See [0019]). Nakamura teaches hydroxyapatite was prepared from the same biologically derived material (CaO from shell) following similar process as instant application: burning shells as a raw material, pulverizing the powder, and adding calcium oxide (CaO) powder to a phosphoric acid solution gradually under strong stirring conditions(See [0016]). It is reasonably believed that the low-crystalline hydroxyapatite product made by Nakamura would be either identical with or only slightly different than instant claimed hydroxyapatite comprising Mg and other mineral such as Na, K and Si.
Further, as evidenced by Lee which teaches hydroxyapatite prepared from seashells and eggshells as bone graft material, Lee teaches shells (egg or seashell) contain other minerals, e.g. Mg, Na, K, Si, etc. which reads on instantly claimed other minerals(See Table 2, page 117).
.
In the alternative, even if the claimed hydroxyapatite is not identical to the hydroxyapatite taught by the cited reference with regard to some unidentified characteristics, the differences between what is disclosed and what is claimed are considered to be so slight that hydroxyapatite taught by the cited reference is likely to possess the same characteristics (including the instantly claimed properties) of the claimed hydroxyapatite. Thus, the claimed hydroxyapatite would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by the cited reference, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
With respect to the USC 102/103 rejection above, please note that the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicant’s claimed hydroxyapatite is different and, if so, to what extent, from that of the discussed reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “Nakamura does not explicitly or implicitly teach, nor suggests, hydroxyapatite as claimed in claim 1, comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si, wherein the hydroxyapatite is derived from eggshell… Rather, the raw material for Nakamura's hydroxyapatite is either a reagent or scallop shells, which are completely different from the eggshell raw material of the present invention”.
RESPONSE: Nakamura teaches the calcium oxide can be obtained by burning the shell, scales and/or bones of an organism, e.g. shells of scallops, and the like. Although Nakamura is silent about the component of eggshell comprising Mg, Na, K, Si, etc. the shell taught by Nakamura is considered as encompassing eggshell as instantly claimed. Further, Lee teaches shells (egg or seashell) contain other minerals, e.g. Mg, Na, K, Si, etc. which reads on instantly claimed other minerals. A skilled artisan would have known when the calcium salt comprising Mg, Na, K, Si from egg shells as taught by Lee is incorporated into the microcrystalline hydroxyapatite prepared by Nakamura, the resulting hydroxyapatite would contain Mg, Na, K, Si from the eggshell source. As such, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (JP 2016147799 A, Applicant’s IDS dated 10/26/2020, Citation No. 14, machine translated copy powered by EPO and Google), in view of Lee et al. (Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Vol. 11, No. 2, 2014, pages 113-120, Applicant’s IDS dated 12/08/2023, “Comparative Study of Hydroxyapatite Prepared from Seashells and Eggshells as a Bone Graft Material”)(as necessitated by amendment) .
The collective teachings of Nakamura and Lee are elaborated in preceding 102/103 rejection and applied as before. Nakamura teaches microcrystalline hydroxyapatite made from biological material (e.g. shells) having a crystallite size of 10 to 200 Å, preferably 30 to 150 Å. Lee teaches hydroxyapatite made from biological material (e.g. shells) comprise Mg, Na, K, Si.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to further explore hydroxyapatite made from shell based on the combined teachings of Nakamura and Lee because both teachings are directed to microcrystalline hydroxyapatite made from shell. Nakamura teaches the low-crystalline hydroxyapatite made from biological material can be easily and efficiently adhered to a base material suitable for mass production. Lee teaches the advantages of using shells as biological material for bone graft materials as cost-effective and safe compared with other commercial product. A skilled artisan would be motivated to further explore hydroxyapatite made from shell (e.g. eggshell) based on the beneficial teachings of Nakamura and Lee. The combined teachings of Nakamura and Lee would provide microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising multiple minerals with desired chemical compositions and crystalline size that can be easily efficiently adhered to a base material suitable for mass production.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art, together with further experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of hydroxyapatite. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landi et al. (US 2008/0262121, Applicant’s IDS dated 10/26/2020, under “US Patent Documents”, Citation No. 3), in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2016147799 A, Applicant’s IDS dated 10/26/2020, Citation No. 14, machine translated copy powered by EPO and Google) and Lee et al. (Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Vol. 11, No. 2, 2014, pages 113-120, Applicant’s IDS dated 12/08/2023, “Comparative Study of Hydroxyapatite Prepared from Seashells and Eggshells as a Bone Graft Material”)(maintained).
Regarding hydroxyapatite comprising multi minerals, Landi teaches a hydroxyapatite multi-substituted with physiologically compatible ion species (e. g. magnesium, sodium, Si) and its biohybrid composite with a natural and/or synthetic polymer, which are useful in the preparation of a biomimetic bone substitute (abstract, [0007], [0009], [0012], [0019], Table II, Table III, Example 1, claims 26 and 31-33).
Landi teaches chemical compositions of hydroxyapatite comprising Ca, Mg and/or Si, e.g. SiMgHA; MgHA; SrMgHA (Table II and Table III, [0074]) and multi-substituted non-stoichiometric hydroxyapatite represented by chemical formula ([0096])
.
Landi teaches chemical compositions of hydroxyapatite wherein Mg2+ is present in a molar ratio of Mg2+ to Ca2+ of hydroxyapatite of 0.01 to 0.30, corresponding to a percent molar ratio Mg/Ca of 1.00% to 30%([0041], claim 31). For hydroxyapatite comprising Mg wherein W=0, X=0, Y=0, z=2, molar ratio Mg/Ca =0.25, the formula of Ca8Mg2(PO4)6(OH)2 would read on the limitation of instant claim 3.
Landi teaches calcium and phosphate ion substituents of hydroxyapatite are introduced into the reaction environment by using suitable salts and other salts thereof can be used if needed, e.g. magnesium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, silicon tetraacetate, dissolved in the aqueous solution in convenient amounts(See [0061], [0070], [0121]).
Regarding the crystallite size, Landi teaches TEM (Transmission Electron Microscopy) and XRD (X-Ray Diffraction) analysis of hydroxyapatite embodiments comprising small crystallites size and explicitly teaches multi-substituted hydroxyapatites have a size of 20 nm to 40 nm and nucleuses having a size of 5 nm to 10 nm ([0027]-[0028]; Figures 2-4)(which reads on instantly claimed crystalline size of 50 to 120 Å, i.e. 5nm to 12 nm).
The collective teachings of Nakamura and Lee are elaborated in preceding 102/103 rejection and applied as before. Nakamura teaches microcrystalline hydroxyapatite made from biological material (e.g. shells) having a crystallite size of 10 to 200 Å, preferably 30 to 150 Å. Lee teaches hydroxyapatite made from biological material (e.g. shells) comprise Mg, Na, K, Si.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to incorporate the calcium salt from biological material (e.g. shells) taught by Nakamura and Lee into the microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising multiple minerals (e.g. Mg, Si, Na ) taught by Landi, together with further experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of hydroxyapatite, and arrive at the instant invention with reasonable expectation of success. At the time the invention was made, it was known that microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising multiple minerals (Mg, Na, Si, etc.) could be made as taught by Landi. It’s was also known that calcium salt from biological material (e.g. shells) are used to make microcrystalline hydroxyapatite as taught by Nakamura and Lee. Lee further teaches hydroxyapatite made from biological material (e.g. shells) comprise Mg, Na, K, Si.
The skilled artisan would be motivated to combine the teachings of Landi ,Nakamura and Lee because all teachings are directed to microcrystalline hydroxyapatite, Nakamura teaches the low-crystalline hydroxyapatite made from biological material can be easily and efficiently adhered to a base material suitable for mass production. Lee teaches the advantages of using shells as biological material for bone graft materials as cost-effective and safe compared with other commercial product. The combined teachings of Landi, Nakamura and Lee would provide microcrystalline hydroxyapatite comprising multiple minerals with desired chemical compositions and crystalline size that can be easily and efficiently adhered to a base material suitable for mass production at low cost.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art, together with further experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of hydroxyapatite. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “Landi does not teach or suggest hydroxyapatite as claimed in claim 1, comprising Mg, Na, K, and Si. Specifically, Landi has absolutely no disclosure regarding the hydroxyapatite containing Na and/or K”(Remarks, Page 6).
RESPONSE: Landi teaches hydroxyapatite comprising Ca, Mg and/or Si that read on instantly claimed hydroxyapatite comprising multiple component. Landi teaches calcium and phosphate ion substituents of hydroxyapatite are introduced into the reaction environment by using suitable salts and other salts thereof can be used if needed, e.g. magnesium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, silicon tetraacetate, dissolved in the aqueous solution in convenient amounts. As such, other elements, Na or K could have been incorporated as salt into the hydroxyapatite. Further, Lee teaches hydroxyapatite prepared from eggshells contain other minerals, e.g. Mg, Na, K, Si, etc. When the calcium salt comprising Mg, Na, K, Si from shells taught by Nakamura and Lee are incorporated into the microcrystalline hydroxyapatite prepared as taught by Landi, the resulting microcrystalline hydroxyapatite would contain Mg, Na, K, Si from the eggshell source. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628