DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed on 3/23/2026, which was previously presented in the After Final Response filed 1/22/2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 7, 10-12, 14-16 are as previously presented Claim 2-4, 6, 8, 13, and 18 were previously cancelled.
Claims 9 and 17 have been amended to overcome the 9/23/2025 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 9 and 17.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-12, and 14-17 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 15 being independent.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026, which were previously presented in the After Final Response filed 1/22/2026, have been fully reconsidered [see Remarks, pp. 9-10: “Applicant acknowledges receipt of the Advisory Action. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration of the arguments presented above regarding patentability. Applicant further requests consideration to present additional claim amendments and arguments via an examiner's interview in the near future.”] but they are not persuasive for the same reasons presented in the Advisory Action filed 1/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 20170182722 A1) in view of Philippron (US 20200001393 A1) and Sakai (US 20080031298 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses:
An automated cleaning system [fig. 1: A mold cleaning system #1] for cleaning a mould [fig. 1: mold #11]
a housing [fig. 1: cleaning booth #9] to provide an isolated space for cleaning of the mould [para. 0022: “The main components of the cleaning system 1 except for the laser oscillator 2 are disposed in a cleaning booth 9, which becomes a closed space.”];
a carriage apparatus [fig. 1: carrying-in conveyor apparatus #10a, carrying-out conveyor apparatus #10c] for carrying a set of moulds into and out of the isolated space [para. 0023: “The mold 11 to be cleaned is placed on the carrying-in conveyor apparatus 10a and the cleaned mold 11 is placed on the carrying-out conveyor apparatus 10c.”];
a laser [fig. 5: laser beam #L] configured to be directed at the mould, to remove contaminants from a surface of the mould [para. 0035: “The dirt X adhered to the molding surface 12 is removed and cleaned by the emitted laser beam L.”];
a detection apparatus [fig. 1: mark detector #3a; camera #3b] to identify a position of the mould [para. 0034: “Next, the identification mark D assigned to the mold 11 is detected by the mark detector 3a.”] and to identify mould features [para. 0021: “In this embodiment, the mold cleaning system 1 is further provided with a camera 3b that obtains image data for a molding surface 12 of a mold 11 …”] and areas of contamination of the mould [para. 0042: “The standard for determining the cleaning state is set on the basis of, for example, a color density of the image data for the molding surface 12 obtained by the camera 3b. If the density is greater than a certain degree, the cleaning state indicating that the dirt X is remaining is set.”] and change a predetermined cleaning pattern automatically in response to observations made by the detection apparatus [paras. 0038-39: “As described above, according to the present technology, the shape data for the molding surface 12 of the mold 11 stored in the database 8 is automatically obtained on the basis of the identification mark D detected by the mark detector 3a when the mold 11 is cleaned… And, since the laser head 4 is moved along the molding surface 12 on the basis of the shape data obtained from the database 8 while irradiated with the laser beam…”];
a movement apparatus [fig. 1: processing conveyor apparatus #10b] to move the mould into and/or out of a cleaning position, return the mould to the carriage apparatus after cleaning [i.e., the mold 11 is first placed on conveyor 10a, then the mold 11 is transferred to conveyor 10b, wherein conveyor 10b moves the mold 11 to the cleaning position, then the mold 11 is transferred to conveyor 10c; para. 0023: “In this embodiment, the processing conveyor apparatus 10b is bent and extended to be an arc shape. The mold 11 to be cleaned is placed on the carrying-in conveyor apparatus 10a and the cleaned mold 11 is placed on the carrying-out conveyor apparatus 10c. The processing conveyor apparatus 10b functions as a processing table when the mold 11 is cleaned.”];
a control apparatus [fig. 1: control device #7] to direct the laser at the mould in the cleaning position, and operate the laser to clean the mould [para. 0021: “A mold cleaning system 1 of the present technology illustrated in FIG. 1 is provided with a laser oscillator 2, a laser head 4, an arm 6 to which the laser head 4 is attached, a control device 7 that controls the motion of the arm 6, a database 8, and a mark detector 3a.”];
wherein the control apparatus comprises a cleaning robot [fig. 1: arm #6] configured to move the laser [para. 0025: “The arm 6 is rotatably attached to an arm base 5 and is configured by rotatably connecting a plurality of arm parts 6a, 6b. The laser head 4 is removably attached to the tip of the arm 6. Therefore, the laser head 4 can be moved freely in three dimensions by controlling the motion of the arm 6.”] and selectively turn the laser on and off [para. 0033: “Provided here is an interlocking structure in which the laser oscillator 2 is not actuated until the cleaning booth 9 becomes a closed space.”]; and
wherein the cleaning robot comprises a processor in communication with the detection apparatus [para. 0021: “The detection data detected by the mark detector 3a, the image data obtained by the camera 3b, and the temperature data detected by the temperature sensor 3c are input to the control device 7.”], the processor being configured to move the laser in a cleaning pattern over an object [e.g., a mold 11 detected by the mark detector 3a], in response to observations made by the detection apparatus [para. 0035: “Next, the motion of the arm 6 is controlled on the basis of the obtained shape data for the molding surface 12 of the mold 11 to move the laser head 4 along the molding surface 12 as illustrated in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. While the laser head 4 is being moved in this way, the molding surface 12 is irradiated with the laser beam L supplied from the laser oscillator 2.”].
The recitation of “An automated cleaning system for cleaning a mould for use in manufacturing glass containers” is a functional limitation drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus. The courts have held that: (1) "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and (2) a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP § 2114. In this case, not only does Matsumura disclose the recited structure of claim 1 (not including the handling robot), but Matsumura also discloses that the structure is applied to cleaning a mould [fig. 1: mold cleaning system #1, mold #11]. Furthermore, the mould recited in claim 1 is the article worked upon by the automated cleaning system, and the claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Therefore, the mould does not limit the claim, since “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose:
the mould for use in manufacturing glass containers;
the movement apparatus comprises a handling robot having a holding arm to hold the mould, move the mould, and release the mould.
Philippron, in the same field of endeavor, teaches moulds for use in manufacturing glass containers, wherein the surfaces of the moulds require cleaning [para. 0007: “An example of an application in which three-dimensional surfaces are to be cleaned would be moulds, for example moulds that are used for forming glass bottle, plastic bottles or rubber products, of which an inner moulding surface becomes contaminated with an oxide layer or organic deposits after repeated usage.”].
Sakai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a movement apparatus comprising a handling robot [fig. 7: robot arm #50] having a holding arm [fig. 7: clamp section #51] to hold an object [fig. 7: work #W], move the object [para. 0087: “First, the work W placed in a position not shown is held with a clamp section 51 provided at the tip of a robot arm 50 and carried to the laser processing device.”], and release the object [para. 0090: “Further, the clamp section 51 has a stopper 55 which hits against one end face of the work Wand a pair of clamps 56 for holding or releasing the work W. The opening and closing of the clamps 56 are driven by an air cylinder (not shown) built into the clamp section 51.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to:
apply the automated cleaning system of Matsumura to the cleaning of moulds for use in manufacturing glass containers, since this would yield the predictable result of cleaning the surfaces of the moulds, as taught by Philippron; and
include the handling robot of Sakai as the movement apparatus, since this would yield the predictable result of being able to move and manipulate the mould to be cleaned.
Specifically, Matsumura discloses that the conveyor 10b also functions as a processing table [para. 0023: “The processing conveyor apparatus 10b functions as a processing table when the mold 11 is cleaned.”], and the handling robot of Sakai is substituted as an equivalent element to the conveyor functionality of conveyor 10b, which would predictably allow for the same sequential movement of the mould disclosed by Matsumura.
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the automated cleaning system of claim 1.
Matsumura further discloses wherein the detection apparatus comprises one or more cameras [para. 0021: “In this embodiment, the mold cleaning system 1 is further provided with a camera 3b that obtains image data for a molding surface 12 of a mold 11”].
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the automated cleaning system of claim 1.
Matsumura further discloses wherein the housing comprises labyrinth gates into [fig. 1: inlet door #9a] and out [fig. 1: outlet door #9b] of the isolated space [para. 0022: “The cleaning booth 9 is provided with an inlet door 9a and an outlet door 9b and has a structure that becomes a closed space and can shield the laser beam L when the inlet door 9a and the outlet door 9b are closed.”].
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the automated cleaning system of claim 7.
Matsumura further discloses wherein the carriage apparatus comprises an automated trolley [fig. 1: carrying-in conveyor apparatus #10a, carrying-out conveyor apparatus #10c] for carrying the set of moulds [fig. 1 shows plural objects #11 on trolley #10a and on trolley #10c], and wherein the movement apparatus [fig. 1: processing conveyor apparatus #10b] sequentially moves each mould into the cleaning position for cleaning [para. 0023: “The processing conveyor apparatus 10b functions as a processing table when the mold 11 is cleaned.”], and returns the mould to the trolley after cleaning [para. 0023: “The mold 11 to be cleaned is placed on the carrying-in conveyor apparatus 10a and the cleaned mold 11 is placed on the carrying-out conveyor apparatus 10c.”].
Regarding claim 14, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the automated cleaning system of claim 1.
Matsumura, as modified by Philippron, further discloses wherein the laser has a power output of 200 to 1,000 Watts.
Specifically, Philippron teaches the laser [fig. 1: laser source #10] configured to emit a pulsed laser beam, having a power output in between 10 and 1000 Watts [para. 0135: “In an embodiment, the laser source 10 may have a power in between 10 and 1000 Watts, whereas a pulse-energy may be in between 1 and 100 mJ.”], which sufficiently cleans a surface [para. 0135: “In particular a pulsed laser beam 20 has been found to give rise to sufficient cleaning properties of the surface 101.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the automated cleaning system of Matsumura, by having the laser have a power output of 200 – 1000 Watts since this would yield the predictable result of providing enough power to clean a surface, as taught by Philippron.
Regarding claim 15, Matsumura discloses:
A method for automated cleaning [fig. 1: A mold cleaning system #1] of a mould [fig. 1: mold #11]
carrying a set of moulds into and out of an isolated space [fig. 1: cleaning booth #9; paras. 0022-23: “The main components of the cleaning system 1 except for the laser oscillator 2 are disposed in a cleaning booth 9, which becomes a closed space… The mold 11 to be cleaned is placed on the carrying-in conveyor apparatus 10a and the cleaned mold 11 is placed on the carrying-out conveyor apparatus 10c.”] via a carriage apparatus [fig. 1: carrying-in conveyor apparatus #10a, carrying-out conveyor apparatus #10c], wherein the isolated space comprises a housing [i.e., cleaning booth #9];
moving the mould to a cleaning position, i.e., the mold 11 is first placed on conveyor 10a, then the mold 11 is transferred to conveyor 10b, wherein conveyor 10b moves the mold 11 to the cleaning position, then the mold 11 is transferred to conveyor 10c; para. 0023: “In this embodiment, the processing conveyor apparatus 10b is bent and extended to be an arc shape. The mold 11 to be cleaned is placed on the carrying-in conveyor apparatus 10a and the cleaned mold 11 is placed on the carrying-out conveyor apparatus 10c. The processing conveyor apparatus 10b functions as a processing table when the mold 11 is cleaned.”];
identifying mould features [para. 0021: “In this embodiment, the mold cleaning system 1 is further provided with a camera 3b that obtains image data for a molding surface 12 of a mold 11 …”] and areas of contamination of an object [para. 0042: “The standard for determining the cleaning state is set on the basis of, for example, a color density of the image data for the molding surface 12 obtained by the camera 3b. If the density is greater than a certain degree, the cleaning state indicating that the dirt X is remaining is set.”] using a detection apparatus [fig. 1: mark detector #3a; camera #3b];
cleaning the mould using a laser [fig. 5: laser beam #L] mounted on a cleaning robot [fig. 1: arm #6; para. 0025: “The arm 6 is rotatably attached to an arm base 5 and is configured by rotatably connecting a plurality of arm parts 6a, 6b. The laser head 4 is removably attached to the tip of the arm 6. Therefore, the laser head 4 can be moved freely in three dimensions by controlling the motion of the arm 6.”]; and
carrying the mould out of the isolated space [para. 0046: “After the cleaning of the mold 11 is finished, the outlet door 9b is opened and the processing conveyor belt 10b and the carrying-out conveyor belt 10c are operated to move the cleaned mold 11 out of the cleaning booth 9.”],
wherein the cleaning robot is configured to move the laser [para. 0025: “The arm 6 is rotatably attached to an arm base 5 and is configured by rotatably connecting a plurality of arm parts 6a, 6b. The laser head 4 is removably attached to the tip of the arm 6. Therefore, the laser head 4 can be moved freely in three dimensions by controlling the motion of the arm 6.”] and selectively turn the laser on and off [para. 0033: “Provided here is an interlocking structure in which the laser oscillator 2 is not actuated until the cleaning booth 9 becomes a closed space.”] and wherein the cleaning robot comprises a processor in communication with the detection apparatus [para. 0021: “The detection data detected by the mark detector 3a, the image data obtained by the camera 3b, and the temperature data detected by the temperature sensor 3c are input to the control device 7.”], the processor being configured to move the laser in a cleaning pattern over the mould in response to observations made by the detection apparatus [para. 0035: “Next, the motion of the arm 6 is controlled on the basis of the obtained shape data for the molding surface 12 of the mold 11 to move the laser head 4 along the molding surface 12 as illustrated in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. While the laser head 4 is being moved in this way, the molding surface 12 is irradiated with the laser beam L supplied from the laser oscillator 2.”].
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose:
The mould for use in manufacturing glass containers, the method comprising:
using a handling robot having a holding arm to hold the mould, move the mould, and release the mold.
Philippron, in the same field of endeavor, teaches moulds for use in manufacturing glass containers, wherein the surfaces of the moulds require cleaning [para. 0007: “An example of an application in which three-dimensional surfaces are to be cleaned would be moulds, for example moulds that are used for forming glass bottle, plastic bottles or rubber products, of which an inner moulding surface becomes contaminated with an oxide layer or organic deposits after repeated usage.”].
Sakai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a movement apparatus comprising a handling robot [fig. 7: robot arm #50] having a holding arm [fig. 7: clamp section #51] to hold an object [fig. 7: work #W], move the object [para. 0087: “First, the work W placed in a position not shown is held with a clamp section 51 provided at the tip of a robot arm 50 and carried to the laser processing device.”], and release the object [para. 0090: “Further, the clamp section 51 has a stopper 55 which hits against one end face of the work Wand a pair of clamps 56 for holding or releasing the work W. The opening and closing of the clamps 56 are driven by an air cylinder (not shown) built into the clamp section 51.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to:
apply the method of Matsumura to the cleaning of moulds for use in manufacturing glass containers, since this would yield the predictable result of cleaning the surfaces of the moulds, as taught by Philippron; and
include the handling robot of Sakai, since this would yield the predictable result of being able to move the object to be cleaned.
Specifically, Matsumura discloses that the conveyor 10b also functions as a processing table [para. 0023: “The processing conveyor apparatus 10b functions as a processing table when the mold 11 is cleaned.”], and the handling robot of Sakai is substituted as an equivalent element to the conveyor functionality of conveyor 10b, which would predictably allow for the same moving step of the mould disclosed by Matsumura.
Regarding claim 16, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the method of claim 15.
Matsumura further discloses wherein the carriage apparatus comprises a trolley [fig. 1: carrying-in conveyor apparatus #10a, carrying-out conveyor apparatus #10c].
Regarding claim 17, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the method of claim 16.
Matsumura further discloses wherein the trolley carries the set of moulds [fig. 1 shows plural objects #11 on trolley #10a and on trolley #10c] into and out of the isolated space, and the method comprises sequentially moving each mould from the trolley to the cleaning position [see fig. 1; para. 0023: “The processing conveyor apparatus 10b functions as a processing table when the mold 11 is cleaned.”], cleaning each mould, and returning each mould to the trolley [para. 0023 “The mold 11 to be cleaned is placed on the carrying-in conveyor apparatus 10a and the cleaned mold 11 is placed on the carrying-out conveyor apparatus 10c.”].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 20170182722 A1) in view of Philippron (US 20200001393 A1) and Sakai (US 20080031298 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Soska (US 6369353 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the automated cleaning system of claim 1.
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose:
an exhaust system to draw away fumes from the laser cleaning operation.
Soska, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an exhaust system to draw away fumes from a laser cleaning operation [col. 5, lines 55-59: “Furthermore, a vacuum device or "smoke sucker" (not shown) is preferably mounted to the delivery head 32 so as to evacuate residual material vaporized during a cleaning operation through the tubular housing 44, as described below.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the automated cleaning system of Matsumura, by including an exhaust system since this would evacuate residual material vaporized during a cleaning operation as taught by Soska.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 20170182722 A1) in view of Philippron (US 20200001393 A1) and Sakai (US 20080031298 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ehata (JP 01122688 A).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura in view of Philippron and Sakai discloses the automated cleaning system of claim 1.
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the laser comprises a lens, and further comprising a lens monitor to detect potential failure of the lens.
Ehata, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a laser beam [fig. 1: laser beam #2] condensed by a lens [fig. 1: lens #1], and further comprising a lens monitor to detect potential failure of the lens [para. 0001: “The automatic focal length adjustment device of the present invention copes with the focal length variation caused by the temperature difference variation between the laser-irradiated portion of the lens for laser processing and the peripheral portion of the laser-irradiated portion. is a device for adjusting the position of a lens for laser processing by adjusting the position of the lens for laser processing, and includes irradiation part temperature measuring means for measuring the temperature of the laser irradiation part, peripheral part temperature measuring means for measuring the temperature of the peripheral part, and laser processing A lens moving means for moving and adjusting the position of the optical lens, receiving temperature data from the irradiation part temperature measuring means and the peripheral part temperature measuring means, and using the direction and distance to move the lens moving means as signals. , and control means for controlling.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the automated cleaning system of Matsumura, by including a lens monitor since this would detect focal length variation caused by temperature differences on the lens as taught by Ehata.
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura in view of Philippron, Sakai, and Ehata discloses the automated cleaning system of claim 11.
Matsumura, as modified by Ehata, further discloses:
wherein the lens monitor comprises an infrared sensor, to monitor a temperature of the lens.
Specifically, Ehata teaches the lens monitor comprising infrared sensors [para. 0001: “For example, a measuring means capable of measuring temperature without direct contact, such as a far-infrared radiation thermometer, is preferable.”], to monitor the temperature of the lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the automated cleaning system of Matsumura, by including a lens monitor since this would detect focal length variation caused by temperature differences on the lens as taught by Ehata.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761