DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-11 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inuzuka (US20150180307, “Inuzuka”) or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du et al. (US20040056538, “Du”).
Re claim 1, Inuzuka discloses an electric motor for use with a power tool (figs 6a-c, [0056], claims 9/1 & 18/12), the electric motor comprising:
a stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12);
a rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]) rotatable relative to the stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12, as is known in the art rotors rotate w/ respect to stationary stators);
an output shaft 51 coupled to the rotor 25a for rotation with the rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]), the output shaft 51 defining a longitudinal axis about which the rotor 25a rotates (fig 6b);
a fan 57 coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]); and
a bushing 63 supported on the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25a and the fan 57 (figs 6a-c, axial face of 25a).
Inuzuka discloses claim 1 except for:
a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis;
the balancing member includes the bushing;
the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and
the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan.
Inuzuka in another embodiment discloses a balancing member coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the rotor 25 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049], balancing member includes 63 & 65), the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis ([0049]);
the balancing member includes a bushing 63 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049]) positioned between a face of the rotor 25 and the fan 57 (figs 4a-c, [0048]);
the bushing 63 including a balancing feature 65 formed on an outer circumference of the bushing 63 (figs 4c-b, [0049]); and
the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan 57 (figs 4a-c, since rotor includes 63 & 57 shown in figs 4a-c and formed as one piece so that 63 & 57 rotate together, then the balancing member is integral with the fan as well as any portion of the fan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor of Inuzuka with a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis; the balancing member includes the bushing; the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, as disclosed by Inuzuka in another embodiment, in order to adjust the balance of the rotor, as taught by Inuzuka ([0049]).
Alternatively with respect to the limitation “the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan” (application discloses molding fan and bushing together (figs 5-6, [0021]):
Re claim 1, Inuzuka discloses an electric motor for use with a power tool (figs 6a-c, [0056], claims 9/1 & 18/12), the electric motor comprising:
a stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12);
a rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]) rotatable relative to the stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12, as is known in the art rotors rotate w/ respect to stationary stators);
an output shaft 51 coupled to the rotor 25a for rotation with the rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]), the output shaft 51 defining a longitudinal axis about which the rotor 25a rotates (fig 6b);
a fan 57 coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]); and
a bushing 63 supported on the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25a and the fan 57 (figs 6a-c, axial face of 25a).
Inuzuka discloses claim 1 except for:
a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis;
the balancing member includes the bushing;
the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and
the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan.
Inuzuka in another embodiment discloses a balancing member coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the rotor 25 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049], balancing member includes 63 & 65), the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis ([0049]);
the balancing member includes a bushing 63 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25 and the fan 57 (figs 4a-c, [0048]);
the bushing 63 including a balancing feature 65 formed on an outer circumference of the bushing 63 (figs 4c-b, [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor of Inuzuka with a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis; the balancing member includes the bushing; the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, as disclosed by Inuzuka in another embodiment, in order to adjust the balance of the rotor, as taught by Inuzuka ([0049]).
Inuzuka further discloses the rotor includes molded resin 67 that is molded with the balancing member (figs 6a-c, [0056], 67 molded w/ both 63 & 64).
Du discloses forming the fan 122 from molded plastic 116 of the rotor 102 (fig 5, [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the fan of Inuzuka, from molded resin of the rotor, as disclosed by Du using molded plastic, in order to reduce the number of manufacturing steps, as taught by Du ([0079]).
It is pointed out that Inuzuka in view of Du discloses the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, since Inuzuka discloses the bushing 63 is molded with resin 67 (figs 6a-c); the another embodiment of Inuzuka discloses the balancing member includes bushing 63 (figs 4c-b); and Du teaches molding the fan 122 with the molding material of the rotor 102 (fig 5, [0079]) .
Re claim 11, Inuzuka discloses a power tool (figs 6a-c, [0056], claims 9/1 & 18/12) comprising:
a housing (claims 9/1 & 18/12); and
an electric motor positioned within the housing (claims 9/1 & 18/12, inherent electric motor within housing as is known for power tools), the motor including
a stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12);
a rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]) rotatable relative to the stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12, as is known in the art rotors rotate w/ respect to stationary stators);
an output shaft 51 coupled to the rotor 25a for rotation with the rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]), the output shaft 51 defining a longitudinal axis about which the rotor 25a rotates (fig 6b);
a fan 57 coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]); and
a bushing 63 supported on the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25a and the fan 57 (figs 6a-c, axial face of 25a).
Inuzuka discloses claim 11 except for:
a drive mechanism positioned within the housing;
the electric motor operable to drive the drive mechanism;
a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis;
the balancing member includes the bushing;
the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and
the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan.
Inuzuka in another embodiment discloses a drive mechanism 9 positioned within the housing 2 (fig 1, [0031]-[0032]);
the electric motor operable to drive the drive mechanism (fig 1, [0032]);
a balancing member coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the rotor 25 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049], balancing member includes 63 & 65; note: discloses rotor 25 rotor in figs 1-2- see [0020]), the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis ([0049]);
the balancing member includes a bushing 63 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25 and the fan 57 (figs 4a-c, [0048]);
the bushing 63 including a balancing feature 65 formed on an outer circumference of the bushing 63 (figs 4c-b, [0049]); and
the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan 57 (figs 4a-c, since rotor includes 63 & 57 shown in figs 4a-c and formed as one piece so that 63 & 57 rotate together, then the balancing member is integral with the fan as well as any portion of the fan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the power tool and rotor of Inuzuka with a drive mechanism positioned within the housing; the electric motor operable to drive the drive mechanism; a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis; the balancing member includes the bushing; the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, as disclosed by Inuzuka in another embodiment, in order to reduce the speed of the electric motor for proper output rotational speed of the power tool, as demonstrated by Inuzuka ([0032], with respect to drive mechanism); and adjust the balance of the rotor (with respect to balancing member), as taught by Inuzuka ([0049]).
Alternatively with respect to the limitation “the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan” (application discloses molding fan and bushing together (figs 5-6, [0021]):
Re claim 1, Inuzuka discloses an electric motor for use with a power tool (figs 6a-c, [0056], claims 9/1 & 18/12), the electric motor comprising:
a stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12);
a rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]) rotatable relative to the stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12, as is known in the art rotors rotate w/ respect to stationary stators);
an output shaft 51 coupled to the rotor 25a for rotation with the rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]), the output shaft 51 defining a longitudinal axis about which the rotor 25a rotates (fig 6b);
a fan 57 coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]); and
a bushing 63 supported on the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25a and the fan 57 (figs 6a-c, axial face of 25a).
Inuzuka discloses claim 1 except for:
a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis;
the balancing member includes the bushing;
the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and
the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan.
Inuzuka in another embodiment discloses a balancing member coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the rotor 25 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049], balancing member includes 63 & 65), the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis ([0049]);
the balancing member includes a bushing 63 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25 and the fan 57 (figs 4a-c, [0048]);
the bushing 63 including a balancing feature 65 formed on an outer circumference of the bushing 63 (figs 4c-b, [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor of Inuzuka with a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis; the balancing member includes the bushing; the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, as disclosed by Inuzuka in another embodiment, in order to adjust the balance of the rotor, as taught by Inuzuka ([0049]).
Inuzuka further discloses the rotor includes molded resin 67 that is molded with the balancing member (figs 6a-c, [0056], 67 molded w/ both 63 & 64).
Du discloses forming the fan 122 from molded plastic 116 of the rotor 102 (fig 5, [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the fan of Inuzuka, from molded resin of the rotor, as disclosed by Du using molded plastic, in order to reduce the number of manufacturing steps, as taught by Du ([0079]).
It is pointed out that Inuzuka in view of Du discloses the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, since Inuzuka discloses the bushing 63 is molded with resin 67 (figs 6a-c); the another embodiment of Inuzuka discloses the balancing member includes bushing 63 (figs 4c-b); and Du teaches molding the fan 122 with the molding material of the rotor 102 (fig 5, [0079]) .
Re claim 11, Inuzuka discloses a power tool (figs 6a-c, [0056], claims 9/1 & 18/12) comprising:
a housing (claims 9/1 & 18/12); and
an electric motor positioned within the housing (claims 9/1 & 18/12, inherent electric motor within housing as is known for power tools), the motor including
a stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12);
a rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]) rotatable relative to the stator (claims 9/1 & 18/12, as is known in the art rotors rotate w/ respect to stationary stators);
an output shaft 51 coupled to the rotor 25a for rotation with the rotor 25a (figs 6a-c, [0056]), the output shaft 51 defining a longitudinal axis about which the rotor 25a rotates (fig 6b);
a fan 57 coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]); and
a bushing 63 supported on the output shaft 51 (figs 6a-c, [0056]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25a and the fan 57 (figs 6a-c, axial face of 25a).
Inuzuka discloses claim 11 except for:
a drive mechanism positioned within the housing;
the electric motor operable to drive the drive mechanism;
a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis;
the balancing member includes the bushing;
the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and
the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan.
Inuzuka in another embodiment discloses a drive mechanism 9 positioned within the housing 2 (fig 1, [0031]-[0032]);
the electric motor operable to drive the drive mechanism (fig 1, [0032]);
a balancing member coupled to the output shaft 51 for rotation with the rotor 25 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049], balancing member includes 63 & 65), the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis ([0049]);
the balancing member includes a bushing 63 (figs 4a-c, [0048-0049]) and positioned between a face of the rotor 25 and the fan 57 (figs 4a-c, [0048]);
the bushing 63 including a balancing feature 65 formed on an outer circumference of the bushing 63 (figs 4c-b, [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor of Inuzuka with a drive mechanism positioned within the housing; the electric motor operable to drive the drive mechanism; a balancing member coupled to the output shaft for rotation with the rotor, the balancing member substantially balancing a mass of the rotor about the longitudinal axis; the balancing member includes the bushing; the bushing including a balancing feature formed on an outer circumference of the bushing; and the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, as disclosed by Inuzuka in another embodiment, in order to reduce the speed of the electric motor for proper output rotational speed of the power tool, as demonstrated by Inuzuka ([0032], with respect to drive mechanism); and adjust the balance of the rotor, as taught by Inuzuka ([0049]).
Inuzuka further discloses the rotor includes molded resin 67 that is molded with the balancing member (figs 6a-c, [0056], 67 molded w/ both 63 & 64).
Du discloses forming the fan 122 from molded plastic 116 of the rotor 102 (fig 5, [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the fan of Inuzuka, from molded resin of the rotor, as disclosed by Du using molded plastic, in order to reduce the number of manufacturing steps, as taught by Du ([0079]).
It is pointed out that Inuzuka in view of Du discloses the balancing member is integrally formed with a portion of the fan, since Inuzuka discloses the bushing 63 is molded with resin 67 (figs 6a-c); the another embodiment of Inuzuka discloses the balancing member includes bushing 63 (figs 4c-b); and Du teaches molding the fan 122 with the molding material of the rotor 102 (fig 5, [0079]) .
Re claim 6, Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Inuzuka is silent with respect to the face of the rotor defines a rotor lamination stack, and wherein the balancing member is in contact with the rotor lamination stack.
Inuzuka in another embodiment discloses the face of the rotor 25 defines a rotor lamination stack ([0044] & claim 9), and wherein the balancing member is in contact with the rotor lamination stack (figs 4a-c, 63 in contact w/ rotor core 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor of Inuzuka, or alternatively the rotor of Inuzuka in view of Du, so the face of the rotor defines a rotor lamination stack, and wherein the balancing member is in contact with the rotor lamination stack, as disclosed by Inuzuka in another embodiment, in order to reduce short circuit currents in the rotor core (as is known in the art for laminated rotor cores); and provide a stopper for the rotor core, as taught by Inuzuka ([0048]).
Re claims 7 and 16, Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, disclose claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Inuzuka further discloses the bushing 63 surrounds a portion of the output shaft 51 adjacent the face of the rotor 25a (fig 6b).
Re claims 8 and 17, Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, disclose claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Inuzuka further discloses the bushing 63 is composed of a brass material ([0048]).
Re claims 9 and 18, Inuzuka disclose claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Inuzuka further discloses the bushing 63 is molded to the fan 57 for rotation therewith (figs 6b-c, [0056], resin 67 fills space 70).
Re claims 9 and 18, Inuzuka in view of Du disclose claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the bushing 63 is molded to the fan for rotation therewith (Inuzuka, figs 6b-c, [0056]; Du, fig 5, [0079]).
Re claims 10 and 19, Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, disclose claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Inuzuka further discloses the balancing member includes exactly one bushing 63 (figs 6a-c, only one bushing between the fan & rotor as required by claims 1 & 11).
Re claim 15, Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, disclose claim 11 as discussed above and further discloses the balancing feature 65 is formed on the bushing 63 after the bushing 63 is assembled on the output shaft 51 (another embodiment of Inuzuka, [0049]).
Claims 2-5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inuzuka in view of Hessenberger et al. (US20140124231, “Hessenberger”) or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du and in further view of Hessenberger.
Re claims 2 and 12, Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, disclose claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above, but is silent with respect to the balancing feature is defined as a hole drilled into the outer circumference of the bushing.
Hessenberger discloses the balancing feature 126 is defined as a hole drilled into the outer circumference 130 of the bushing 122 (fig 4, [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the balancing feature of Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, to be defined as a hole drilled into the outer circumference of the bushing, as disclosed by Hessenberger, in order to provide an equivalent means of removing material from the bushing, as taught by Hessenberger ([0029]).
Re claims 3 and 13, Inuzuka in view of Hessenberger, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du and Hessenberger, disclose claims 2 and 12, respectively, as discussed above and further disclose the balancing feature 65 extends through a thickness of the bushing 63 (another embodiment of Inuzuka, figs 4b-c, through part of the radial thickness of 63.
Re claim 4, Inuzuka in view of Hessenberger, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du and Hessenberger, disclose claim 2 as discussed above. Inuzuka is silent with respect to the hole is angled such that a center axis of the hole intersects the longitudinal axis.
Hessenberger discloses the balancing the hole is angled such that a center axis of the hole intersects the longitudinal axis (figs 4 & below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the hole of Inuzuka in view of Hessenberger, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du and Hessenberger, to be angled such that a center axis of the hole intersects the longitudinal axis, as disclosed by Hessenberger, in order to provide an equivalent means of removing material from the bushing, as taught by Hessenberger ([0029]).
Re claims 5 and 14, Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, disclose claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above but is silent with respect to a plurality of balancing features are formed onto the bushing.
Hessenberger discloses a plurality of balancing features 126 are formed onto the bushing 122 ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the balancing feature of Inuzuka, or alternatively Inuzuka in view of Du, as a plurality of balancing features are formed onto the bushing, as disclosed by Hessenberger, in order to balance the rotor within the predetermined specification, as taught by Hessenberger ([0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that combining the two embodiments of Inuzuka teaches away from their combination (pg 8, 1st paragraph). Examiner disagrees.
Applicant insists Inuzuka teaches employing resin 67 in figures 6a-c is equivalent to prebalancing the rotor during manufacturing. Applicant cites paragraph [0049] (reproduced below), which does not disclose employing resin automatically results in prebalancing.
Additionally for the embodiment of figs 6a-c Inuzuka discloses resin 67 increases strength of the rotor, as compared to adhesive, which may allow the rotor to operate at higher speeds ([0057], reproduced below).
Inuzuka also discloses employing resin 67 makes it possible to correct balance using high-density brass ([0057]), but this citation is referring to the material of the rear and front stoppers 63, 64 (see [0048]) and not the resin.
It is not stated in paragraph [0057] that high-density brass must be employed with resin 67 or that notches 65 cannot be employed for balancing with resin 67. Therefore there is no teaching away of the combination of figures 6a-c and figures 4a-c.
Applicant argues that Du teaches employing plastic 106 would not need notches of Inuzuka for balancing (pg 9, 2nd paragraph, citing Du [0091]).
This argument is not persuasive since Du is employed to teach molded plastic to mold the rotor and form the fan (see OA, pg 7). Inuzuka is employed to combine the notched bushing and resin. Inuzuka does not teach or explicitly state a notched bushing cannot be employed with resin, as discussed above.
Additionally applicant appears to cite paragraph [0091] which is stating since the material of the molded plastic 116 has the same density as the magnet wires 110, balancing of the rotor is not needed. But in the following paragraphs (figs 6-7, [0092-0093]) Du discusses adding features to the molded plastic 116 to improve balancing, such as removal of sacrificial molded material or molded pockets for weights. Therefore Du is also teaching a molded rotor can be balanced after molding.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834