DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-11, and 13-23 remain pending in the application.
Applicants amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 4/29/2025.
Applicants amendments to the claims have failed to overcome all of the rejections under 35 USC 112 previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 4/29/2025. Specifically, the rejection of claim 17 was not overcome (see below).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3 recites “and connected the drip chamber”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “and connected the drip chamber” in line 3 of claim 1 with “and connected to the drip chamber”.
Line 6 recites “the drip chamber has a spike on a distal end”. Examiner suggests replacing “the drip chamber has a spike on a distal end” in line 6 of claim 1 with “the drip chamber has a spike on a distal end of the drip chamber” to put the claim in clearer form that the distal end is of the drip chamber and not another structure.
Line 8 recites “drip chamber, and wherein”. Examiner suggests removing the term “and” since the limitation after wherein is no longer the last limitation of claim 1.
Line 10 recites “intravenous fluid”. Line 1-2 already introduces “intravenous fluid”. As antecedent basis is already provided for the intravenous fluid, Examiner suggests replacing “intravenous fluid” in line 10 of claim 1 with “the intravenous fluid”.
Claims 4-11, 13-21, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 recites “The improved intravenous infusion set”. Claim 1 introduces an intravenous infusion set, not an improved intravenous infusion set. Examiner suggests replacing “The improved intravenous infusion set” in line 1 of claims 4-11, 13-21, and 23 with “The intravenous infusion set” to put the claims in clearer form and clearly refer to the intravenous infusion set of claim 1.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 recites “wherein the drip chamber comprising”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the drip chamber comprising” in line 2 of claim 4 with “wherein the drip chamber comprises”.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2-4 recites “wherein the fluid flow regulating member sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the fluid flow regulating member sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends” in line 2 of claim 6 with “wherein the fluid flow regulating member is sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends”.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1-3 recites “a circular rim adjoining circumferentially the inner wall provided below the sealing leg or ring in an inner area”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “a circular rim adjoining circumferentially the inner wall provided below the sealing leg or ring in an inner area” in line 1-3 of claim 8 with “wherein a circular rim adjoining circumferentially the inner wall is provided below the sealing leg or ring in an inner area”.
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3 recites “intravenous fluid”. Claim 11 depends on claim 1. Line 1-2 of claim 1 already introduces “intravenous fluid”. As antecedent basis is already provided for the intravenous fluid, Examiner suggests replacing “intravenous fluid” in line 3 of claim 11 with “the intravenous fluid”.
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1-3 recites “the flow path adapter adjusted and housed in the infusion fluid outlet of the drip chamber that the fluid flow regulating member rests over the flow path adapter”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “the flow path adapter adjusted and housed in the infusion fluid outlet of the drip chamber that the fluid flow regulating member rests over the flow path adapter” in line 1-3 of claim 13 “wherein the flow path adapter is adjusted and housed in the infusion fluid outlet of the drip chamber that the fluid flow regulating member rests over the flow path adapter”.
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 recites “the top in the flow path adapter”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. Examiner suggests replacing “the top in the flow path adapter” in line 2 of claim 15 with “a top in the flow path adapter”.
Line 1-2 recites “the through hole at the top in the flow path adapter sealed with a knob in a leak proof arrangement”. Examiner suggests replacing “the through hole at the top in the flow path adapter sealed with a knob in a leak proof arrangement” with “wherein the through hole at a top in the flow path adapter is sealed with a knob in a leak proof arrangement” to put the claim in clearer grammatical form.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 4 recites “the infusion line”. Claim 17 depends on claim 14, 11, and 1. Claim 1 introduces a flexible infusion line in line 2 and refers to the flexible infusion line in line 4 and 13 of claim 1. Examiner suggests replacing “the infusion line” in line 4 of claim 17 with “the flexible infusion line” to put the claim in clearer form and clearly refer to the flexible infusion line of claim 1.
Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 recites “wherein drip chamber”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein drip chamber” in line 2 of claim 21 with “wherein the drip chamber”.
Claim 22 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1-2 recites “A drip chamber for an intravenous infusion set comprising an upper part and a lower part”. Examiner suggests replacing “A drip chamber for an intravenous infusion set comprising an upper part and a lower part” in line 1-2 of claim 22 with “A drip chamber for an intravenous infusion set, the drip chamber comprising an upper part and a lower part” to put the claim in clearer form that the components listed are of the drip chamber, not the intravenous infusion set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11, 13-17, and 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 11,
Line 3-4 recites “wherein the flow path adapter has an upper portion”. Claim 11 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 requires an upper portion of the flow path adapter. It is unclear if the upper portion of claim 11 is an additional upper portion or if the upper portion of claim 11 is the same as the upper portion of claim 1. For examination purposes Examiner construes them to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “and wherein the flow path adapter has an upper portion having a distal extension, a middle portion and a lower portion and a through hole therethrough for fluid flow” in claim 11 with “wherein the upper portion of the flow path adapter has a distal extension, and the flow path adapter has a middle portion”.
Line 4-5 recites “a lower portion”. Claim 11 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 requires a lower portion of the flow path adapter. It is unclear if the lower portion of claim 11 is an additional lower portion or if the lower portion of claim 11 is the same as the lower portion of claim 1. For examination purposes Examiner construes them to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “and wherein the flow path adapter has an upper portion having a distal extension, a middle portion and a lower portion and a through hole therethrough for fluid flow” in claim 11 with “wherein the upper portion of the flow path adapter has a distal extension, and the flow path adapter has a middle portion”.
Line 5 recites “a through hole therethrough for fluid flow”. Claim 1 requires a through hole therethrough forming a passage for fluid flow of the flow path adapter. It is unclear if the through hole of claim 11 is an additional through hole or if the through hole of claim 11 is the same as the through hole of claim 1. For examination purposes Examiner construes them to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “and wherein the flow path adapter has an upper portion having a distal extension, a middle portion and a lower portion and a through hole therethrough for fluid flow” in claim 11 with “wherein the upper portion of the flow path adapter has a distal extension, and the flow path adapter has a middle portion”.
Examiner notes claims 13-17 and 23 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 11.
In regard to claim 14,
Line 2 recites “the upper portion of the flow path adapter”. Claim 14 depends on claim 11 and claim 1. Claim 1 requires an upper portion of the flow path adapter and claim 11 requires the flow path adapter to have an upper portion. It is unclear which upper portion claim 14 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the upper portion of claim 1, 11, and 14 to be the same. Examiner suggests amending claim 11 as suggested above.
In regard to claim 15,
Line 1-2 recites “the through hole”. Claim 15 depends on claim 11 and claim 1. Claim 1 requires a through hole of the flow path adapter and claim 11 requires the flow path adapter to have a through hole. It is unclear which through hole claim 15 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the through hole of claim 1, 11, and 15 to be the same. Examiner suggests amending claim 11 as suggested above.
In regard to claim 17,
Line 3 recites “the slits”. Claim 17 depends on claim 14. Claim 14 introduces “one or more slits” and “two or more slits”. It is unclear which slits “the slits” of claim 17 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the slits” to be “the one or more slits”. Examiner suggests replacing “the slits” in line 3 of claim 17 with “the one or more slits”.
Line 3 recites “the through hole”. Claim 17 depends on claim 14, 11, and 1. Claim 11 introduces a through hole of the flow path adapter. Claim 1 also introduces a through hole of the flow path adapter. It is unclear which through hole “the through hole” of claim 17 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the through hole of claim 17, 11 and 1 to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “and wherein the flow path adapter has an upper portion having a distal extension, a middle portion and a lower portion and a through hole therethrough for fluid flow” in claim 11 with “wherein the upper portion of the flow path adapter has a distal extension, and the flow path adapter has a middle portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 102512723). Examiner notes the English translation of Li previously provided is being referenced in the rejection of claim 22.
In regard to claim 22,
Li discloses a drip chamber for an intravenous infusion set comprising an upper part (see upper part labeled below) and a lower part (see lower part labeled below) connected by a joining member (see joining member labeled below) in a leak proof arrangement (see annotated figure 1 below), wherein the lower part comprises an infusion fluid outlet (see “outlet” labeled in annotated figure 1 below), wherein a sealing leg or ring (figure 2, item 15) extends within the circumference of an inner wall (see annotated figure 1 below) adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber (see annotated figure 1 and figure 2 where cap 15 extends within the identified inner wall) configured to be sealed with a fluid flow regulating member (ring outer surface of cap 15 is capable of sealing fluid flow regulating member when such fluid flow regulating member is provided thereon), wherein the sealing leg or ring and the inner wall are formed as a unitary single piece (see figure 1 and 2; wherein as assembled as shown in figure 1, the sealing leg or ring and the inner wall are a unitary single piece; Examiner notes “a unitary single piece” is different from “monolithically formed”), and wherein the lower part defines a housing (see housing portion in lower part receiving base 16) that receives at least a portion of a flow path adapter (see item 13, 17, 16, 12; see figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-11, 13-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102512723 A) in view of Ding (CN 203898866 U) or Li (CN 102512723 A) in view of Ding (CN 203898866 U) further in view of Miner (US Pub. No. 2005/0171491 A1). Again, references to Li below are made to the previously provided English translation of CN 102512723 A and references to Ding below are made to the translation provided as part of the IDS filed on November 4, 2020.
In regard to claim 1,
Li discloses an intravenous infusion set (see all of figure 1) to administer delivery of intravenous fluid to a patient (see figure 1), the intravenous infusion set comprising: a drip chamber (figure 1, item 4); a flexible infusion line (line coupled to outlet in figure 1) of sufficient length for fluid delivery to the patient and connected the drip chamber (see figure 1); a flow path adapter (figure 1, item 5; see also figure 2-5; paragraph [0019]); a roller clamp (figure 1, item 6) arranged movably along the length of the flexible infusion line (see figure 1); an air vent (see air vent labeled in annotated figure 1 above) with a cap (see cap labeled in annotated figure 1 above) arranged at a distal end of the drip chamber for management of air in the infusion system (see annotated figure 1; since the identified vent is an opening, it is capable of being used for venting air. The claim does not require additional structures for this limitation that differentiate the interpreted structures of Li from the claimed limitation); the drip chamber has a spike (figure 1, item 3) on a distal end and an infusion fluid outlet (outlet labeled above in annotated figure 1) at a proximal end of the drip chamber; and wherein the infusion fluid outlet defines a housing (see figure 1 and 2, housing portion in identified lower part in receiving base 16 in annotated figure 1 above) that receives the flow path adapter (figure 1, item 5) which facilitates in administering continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid to patients under gravitational pull ([0021]; since exhaust device 5 provides a mechanism for exhausting gas in the liquid in funnel 4 below the transfusion pipeline flow through vein transfusion needle 11 injection into a patient, the exhaust device 5 is also capable of facilitating in the administering continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid to patients under gravitational pull), wherein the flow path adapter comprises an upper portion (figure 2, item 15), a lower portion (figure 2, item 16) and a through hole (figure 2, item 14) therethrough forming a passage for fluid flow (paragraph [0019] and [0021]; inlet gap 14 forming part of the passage for fluid flow), and wherein the lower portion of the flow path adapter is connected to the flexible infusion line in a leak proof arrangement (see fig. 1; base 16 is coupled to infusion line in a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle, see paragraph [0021]) and the upper portion of the flow path adapter is received in the infusion fluid outlet in a leak proof arrangement (see fig. 1; cap 15 is received within identified outlet in a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle, see paragraph [0021]).
Li fails to disclose a fluid flow regulating member sealed within the drip chamber and sealed over the infusion fluid outlet at the proximal end of the drip chamber.
Ding teaches an intravenous infusion set to administer delivery of intravenous fluid to a patient, said intravenous infusion set comprising: a drip chamber (item 5); a flexible infusion line (line to which cone joint 8 and intravenous infusion needle 9) of sufficient length for fluid delivery to the patient and connected the drip chamber (Fig. 1); a flow path adapter (item 11-15); a roller clamp (item 7) arranged movably along the length of the flexible infusion line (Fig. 1); an air vent (opening at a distal end of drip chamber 20) with a cap (cover over the opening in figure 1) arranged at the distal end of the drip chamber for management of air in the infusion system (Fig. 1); the drip chamber has a spike (item 3) on a distal end and an infusion fluid outlet (opening to which base 6 is received) at a proximal end of the drip chamber (Fig. 1); a fluid flow regulating member (item 10) sealed within the drip chamber and sealed over the infusion fluid outlet at the proximal end of the drip chamber (when base 6 is assembled with sidewall 5 as illustrated in Fig. 1) and wherein the flow path adapter (item 11-15) is positioned at the infusion fluid outlet which facilitates in administering continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid to patients under gravitational pull (paragraph [0020]). In particular, Ding teaches that the fluid flow regulating member being a gas permeable filter membrane (paragraph [0022]) that is fixed to the venting core 11 (paragraph [0020]; Fig. 2), wherein the venting core 11 of Ding is similar to the exhaust device 5 of Li.
Therefore, since both Li and Ding are drawn to intravenous infusion set to administer delivery of intravenous fluid to a patient, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Li with the feature of a fluid flow regulating member sealed within the drip chamber and sealed over the infusion fluid outlet at the proximal end of the drip chamber, as taught by Ding, for separating air from the fluid and preventing the air from being delivered to the patient (paragraph [0021] of Ding).
Alternatively, even if the identified air vent and cap of Li cannot be interpreted to anticipate the claimed air vent with a cap arranged at the distal end of the drip chamber for management of air in the infusion system, it is noted that Miner also teaches an intravenous infusion set with an air vent (opening covered by check valve 34 and air filter 35) with a cap (item 35) arranged at the distal end of a drip chamber (item 16) for management of air in the infusion system (Fig. 1) (paragraph [0029]).
Therefore, since both Li in view of Ding and Miner are drawn to intravenous infusion sets, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li in view of Ding to include the feature of an air vent with a cap arranged at the distal end of the drip chamber for management of air in the infusion system, as taught by Miner, so as to allow for venting air from the fluid container to which the spike is coupled (paragraph [0029] of Miner).
In regard to claim 4,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drip chamber comprising an upper part (“upper part” in annotated figure 1 of Li above) and a lower part (“lower part” in annotated figure 1 of Li above) connected by a joining member (“joining member” in annotated figure 1 of Li above) (see annotated Fig. 1 above of Li) in a leak proof arrangement (paragraph [0021] of Li; a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle to the patient).
In regard to claim 6,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1.
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner is silent as to wherein the fluid flow regulating member sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber.
Ding teaches wherein the fluid flow regulating member sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber (wherein the water permeable filtering membrane 10 is sealed to the drip chamber via a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber; see paragraph [0020]; annotated Figs. 2 and 3 of Ding below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the infusion set of Li in view of Ding or Li in view of Ding and Miner with the feature of a sealing ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber, as taught by Ding, so as to securely fix the fluid flow regulating member to the drip chamber (paragraph [0020] of Ding) of modified Li in view of Ding or Li in view of Ding and Miner.
In regard to claim 7,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 6, wherein the sealing leg or ring circularly arranged being distanced from the inner wall of the lower part of the drip chamber (i.e., at the circumferential height of where cap 15 of exhaust 5 is within funnel 4 to which the fluid flow regulating member is fixed to; see analysis of figure 6 above).
In regard to claim 8,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 6, a circular rim (see annotated Fig. 1 above of Li) adjoining circumferentially the inner wall provided below the sealing leg or ring in an inner area (identified rim adjoins circumferentially the identified inner wall in an inner area in annotated figure 1 of Li above and since the sealing leg or ring of modified Li in view of Ding is positioned adjacent identified inner wall in a similar manner as disclosed in Figs. 2 and 3 of Ding, the identified rim is also positioned below the sealing leg or ring).
In regard to claim 9,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 6, wherein the fluid flow regulating member has a proximal face (i.e., face facing exhaust 5 of Li) and a distal face (i.e., face facing identified upper part in annotated figure 1 of Li above) and the proximal face of the member includes a sealing area (i.e., area engaging with exhaust 5 and sealing leg or ring of Ding).
In regard to claim 10,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in respective claims 6, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed to the sealing leg or ring by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (see annotated Figs. 2, 3 of Ding above; i.e., filter 10 is fitted to the groove of the identified sealing ring).
In regard to claim 11,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow path adapter facilitates in administering continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid without bubbles or air trap to patients under gravitational pull (see analysis of claim 1 above), and wherein the flow path adapter has an upper portion (figure 2, item 15 of Li) having a distal extension (Fig. 4 of Li), a middle portion (figure 2, item 17 of Li) and a lower portion (figure 2, item 16 of Li) and a through hole (figure 2, item 14 of Li) therethrough for fluid flow (paragraph [0019], [0021] of Li; i.e., inlet gap 14 forming part of the passage for fluid flow).
In regard to claim 13,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the flow path adapter adjusted and housed in the infusion fluid outlet of the drip chamber that the fluid flow regulating member rests over the flow path adapter (see analysis of claim 1 above wherein a skilled artisan would have modified Li with the feature of the fluid flow regulating member sealed being fixed to exhaust device 5 similar to how Ding teaches water permeable filtering membrane 10 is fixed to vent core 11; paragraph [0020] of Ding; Fig. 2 of Ding).
In regard to claim 14,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the flow path adapter, in the distal extension in the upper portion of the flow path adapter comprises one or more slits (figure 4, item 18 of Li), wherein for the one or more slits comprising two or more slits (Fig. 2 of Li), the two or more slits periodically being placed in an axial direction (Fig. 2 of Li; i.e., opposite axial directions).
In regard to claim 15,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the through hole at the top in the flow path adapter sealed with a knob (i.e., uppermost surface of core 13 of Li) in a leak proof arrangement (Figs. 2 of Li, 5 of Li; paragraph [0021] of Li; i.e., a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle to the patient).
In regard to claim 16,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the distal extension has one or more projection(s) and one or more ridge(s)/depression(s) (Fig. 4 of Li; i.e., wider extension of cap 15 is a projection).
In regard to claim 17,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 14, the distal extension of the flow path adapter at its proximal end has a circular fitment (i.e., the portion of cap 15 of Li where the wider and narrower diameters meet) which acts as a reservoir (Fig. 2 of Li; i.e., since cap 15 has a hollow interior) for the fluid to pass smoothly through the slits (item 18 of Li) and further into the through hole and into the infusion line (Figs. 2, 3 of Li).
In regard to claim 18,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (see annotated Figs. 2, 3 of Ding above; i.e., filter 10 is fitted to the groove of a sealing ring of Ding).
In regard to claim 19,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in respective claims 1, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed to a sealing leg or ring by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (Examiner notes the sealing leg or ring is not positively required by the claim due to the language “can be sealed”. The flow regulating member is fully capable of being sealed to sealing leg or ring as supported by figure 1 and 2 of Ding; Examiner notes if the sealing leg or ring was positively required claim 19 would be rejected similarity as claim 6 and 10).
In regard to claim 20,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in respective claims 4, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed to a sealing leg or ring by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (Examiner notes the sealing leg or ring is not positively required by the claim due to the language “can be sealed”. The flow regulating member is fully capable of being sealed to sealing leg or ring as supported by figure 1 and 2 of Ding; Examiner notes if the sealing leg or ring was positively required claim 19 would be rejected similarity as claim 6 and 10).
In regard to claim 21,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein drip chamber comprises a plurality of components (i.e., exhaust device 5 of Li and identified “upper portion” and “lower portion” of Li) and wherein the plurality of components are constructed and manufactured separately and assembled as one device (Fig. 1 of Li).
In regard to claim 23,
Li in view of Ding, or alternatively Li in view of Ding and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 16, wherein the flow path adapter has a longitudinal axis (i.e., axis of exhaust device 5 of Li extending along the length of exhaust device 5 of Li) extending in the direction of flow of the intravenous fluid (Fig. 1 of Li) and wherein the one or more projection(s) and one or more ridge(s)/depression(s) extend circumferentially around the flow path adapter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Figs. 3, 4 of Li; i.e., since the wider extension of cap 15 forming the projection extends perpendicularly to the axial length exhaust device 5).
Claims 1, 4-11, 13-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102512723 A) in view of Wong (US Pub. No. 2015/0018765 A1) or alternatively over Li (CN 102512723 A) in view of Wong (US Pub. No. 2015/0018765 A1) further in view of Miner (US Pub. No. 2005/0171491 A1). Again, references to Li below are made to the previously provided English translation of CN 102512723 A.
In regard to claim 1,
Li discloses an intravenous infusion set (see all of figure 1) to administer delivery of intravenous fluid to a patient (see figure 1), the intravenous infusion set comprising: a drip chamber (figure 1, item 4); a flexible infusion line (line coupled to outlet in figure 1) of sufficient length for fluid delivery to the patient and connected the drip chamber (see figure 1); a flow path adapter (figure 1 item 5, see also figure 2-5 and paragraph [0019]); a roller clamp (figure 1, item 6) arranged movably along the length of the flexible infusion line (see figure 1); an air vent (see air vent labeled in annotated figure 1 above) with a cap (see cap labeled in annotated figure 1 above) arranged at a distal end of the drip chamber for management of air in the infusion system (see annotated Fig. 1; i.e., since the identified vent is an opening, it is capable of being used for venting air. The claim does not require additional structures for this limitation that differentiate the interpreted structures of Li from the claimed limitation); the drip chamber has a spike (figure 1, item 3) on a distal end and an infusion fluid outlet (outlet labeled above in annotated figure 1) at a proximal end of the drip chamber; and wherein the infusion fluid outlet defines a housing (see figure 1 and 2, housing portion in identified lower part in receiving base 16 in annotated figure 1 above) that receives the flow path adapter (figure 1, item 5) which facilitates in administering continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid to patients under gravitational pull (paragraph [0021]; since exhaust device 5 provide a mechanism for exhausting gas in the liquid in funnel 4 below the transfusion pipeline flow through vein transfusion needle 11 injection into a patient, the exhaust device 5 is also capable of facilitating in the administering continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid to patients under gravitational pull), wherein the flow path adapter comprises an upper portion (figure 2, item 15), a lower portion (figure 2, item 16) and a through hole (figure 2, item 14) therethrough forming a passage for fluid flow (paragraph [0019] and [0021]; inlet gap 14 forming part of the passage for fluid flow), and wherein the lower portion of the flow path adapter is connected to the flexible infusion line in a leak proof arrangement (see fig. 1; base 16 is coupled to infusion line in a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle, see paragraph [0021]) and the upper portion of the flow path adapter is received in the infusion fluid outlet in a leak proof arrangement (see fig. 1; cap 15 is received within identified outlet in a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle, see paragraph [0021]).
Li fails to disclose a fluid flow regulating member sealed within the drip chamber and sealed over the infusion fluid outlet at the proximal end of the drip chamber.
Wong teaches an intravenous infusion set to administer delivery of intravenous fluid to a patient, the intravenous infusion set comprising a drip chamber (figure 1, item 20); a flexible infusion line (figure 1, item 40) of sufficient length for fluid delivery to the patient and connected to the drip chamber (see Fig. 1); a roller clamp (figure 1, item 60) arranged movably along the length of the flexible infusion line (paragraph [0020]; Fig. 1); the drip chamber has a spike (figure 1, item 30) on a distal end an infusion fluid outlet (figure 1, item 22) on a proximal end of the drip chamber; a fluid flow regulating member (figure 1, item 21) sealed within the drip chamber and sealed over the infusion fluid outlet at the proximal end of the drip chamber (Fig. 2; paragraph [0020]) to administer continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid to patients under gravitational pull (see abstract). Wong further teaches that the hydrophilic membrane being provided to provide a defined bubble pressure point under gravitational pull to permit continuous air free infusion liquid flow therethrough (paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, since both Li and Wong are drawn to intravenous infusion set to administer delivery of intravenous fluid to a patient, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Li with the feature of a fluid flow regulating member sealed within the drip chamber and sealed over the infusion fluid outlet at the proximal end of the drip chamber, as taught by Wong, for separating air from the fluid and preventing the air from being delivered to the patient (paragraph [0037] of Wong).
Alternatively, even if the identified air vent and cap of Li cannot be interpreted anticipate the claimed air vent with a cap arranged at the distal end of the drip chamber for management of air in the infusion system, it is noted that Miner also teaches an intravenous infusion set with an air vent (opening covered by check valve 34 and air filter 35) with a cap (item 35) arranged at the distal end of a drip chamber (item 16) for management of air in the infusion system (Fig. 1; paragraph [0029]).
Therefore, since both Li in view of Wong and Miner are drawn to intravenous infusion sets, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li in view of Wong to include the feature of an air vent with a cap arranged at the distal end of the drip chamber for management of air in the infusion system, as taught by Miner, so as to allow for venting air from the fluid container to which the spike is coupled (paragraph [0029] of Miner).
In regard to claim 4,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein Li further discloses that the drip chamber comprising an upper part (“upper part” identified in annotated figure 1 of Li above) and a lower part (“lower part” identified in annotated figure 1 of Li above) connected by a joining member (“joining member” identified in annotated figure 1 of Li above) in a leak proof arrangement (paragraph [0021] of Li; a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle to the patient).
In regard to claim 5,
Li in view of Wong or Li in view of Wong and Miner teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid flow regulating member is a hydrophilic membrane being permeable to fluid and impermeable to air (see paragraph [0020] and [0037] of Wong).
In regard to claim 6,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1.
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner is silent as to wherein the fluid flow regulating member sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber.
Wong teaches wherein the fluid flow regulating member sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber (see hydrophilic membrane 21 sealed over the infusion fluid outlet at the proximal end of the drip chamber via a sealing ring 24; paragraph [0030]; see Fig. 2 wherein sealing ring 24 is a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall (i.e., inner wall of drip chamber 20) adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet (22) in the lower part of the drip chamber; Fig. 2; paragraph [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the infusion set of Li in view of Wong or Li in view of Wong and Miner to include the feature of a sealing ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber, as taught by Wong, therefore resulting in wherein the fluid flow regulating member sealed on a sealing leg or ring which extends within the circumference of an inner wall adjacent to the infusion fluid outlet in the lower part of the drip chamber, for the purpose of securely fixing the fluid flow regulating member to drip chamber (paragraph [0030] of Wong) of modified Li in view of Wong or Li in view of Wong and Miner.
In regard to claim 7,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 6, wherein the sealing leg or ring circularly arranged being distanced from the inner wall of the lower part of the drip chamber (see figure 2 of Wong; the sealing leg or ring of Li in view of Wong is circularly arranged and being distanced from the inner wall of the lower part of the drip chamber (i.e., inner wall of identified outlet) similar to how sealing ring 24 is positioned in Fig. 2 of Wong).
In regard to claim 8,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 6, a circular rim (“rim” of annotated Fig. 1 above of Li) adjoining circumferentially the inner wall provided below the sealing leg or ring in an inner area (i.e., identified rim adjoins circumferentially the identified inner wall in an inner area and since the sealing leg or ring of modified Li in view of Wong is positioned adjacent identified inner wall in a similar manner as disclosed in Fig. 2 of Wong, the identified rim is also positioned below the sealing leg or ring).
In regard to claim 9,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 6, wherein the fluid flow regulating member has a proximal face (i.e., face of the fluid flow regulating member of Wong facing exhaust 5 of Li) and a distal face (i.e., face of the fluid flow regulating member of Wong facing identified upper part of Li) and the proximal face of the member includes a sealing area (i.e., area of the fluid flow regulating member of Wong engaging with exhaust 5 of Li).
In regard to claim 10,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in respective claims 6, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed to the sealing leg or ring by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (i.e., hydrophilic membrane of Wong is fitted to an annular ring with groove fitment via sealing ring similar to how hydrophilic membrane 21 of Wong is fitted via sealing ring 24 of Wong).
In regard to claim 11,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow path adapter facilitates in administering continuous air free delivery of intravenous fluid without bubbles or air trap to patients under gravitational pull (see analysis of claim 1 above), and wherein the flow path adapter has an upper portion (figure 2, item 15 of Li) having a distal extension (Fig. 4 of Li), a middle portion (figure 2, item 17 of Li) and a lower portion (figure 2, item 16 of Li) and a through hole (figure 2, item 14 of Li) therethrough for fluid flow (paragraph [0019] and [0021] of Li; i.e., inlet gap 14 forming part of the passage for fluid flow).
In regard to claim 13,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the flow path adapter adjusted and housed in the infusion fluid outlet of the drip chamber that the fluid flow regulating member rests over the flow path adapter (see analysis of claim 1 above wherein a skilled artisan would have modified Li with the feature of the fluid flow regulating member sealed over exhaust device 5 so as to provide hydrophilic membrane 21 at a position in the drip chamber to form a sealing zone over the outlet paragraph [00304]; and exhaust device 5 forms a part of the outlet of Li in view of Wong).
In regard to claim 14,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the flow path adapter, in the distal extension in the upper portion of the flow path adapter comprises one or more slits (figure 4, item 18 of Li), wherein for the one or more slits comprising two or more slits (Fig. 2 of Li), the two or more slits periodically being placed in an axial direction (Fig. 2 of Li; i.e., opposite axial directions).
In regard to claim 15,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the through hole at the top in the flow path adapter sealed with a knob (i.e., uppermost surface of core 13 of Li) in a leak proof arrangement (Figs. 2 and 5 of Li; paragraph [0021] of Li; i.e., a leak proof arrangement for injection of liquid from the transfusion medicine bottle to the patient).
In regard to claim 16,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 11, the distal extension has one or more projection(s) and one or more ridge(s)/depression(s) (Fig. 4 of Li; i.e., wider extension of cap 15 is a projection).
In regard to claim 17,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 14, the distal extension of the flow path adapter at its proximal end has a circular fitment (i.e., the portion of cap 15 of Li where the wider and narrower diameters meet) which acts as a reservoir (Fig. 2 of Li; i.e., since cap 15 has a hollow interior) for the fluid to pass smoothly through the slits (item 18 of Li) and further into the through hole and into the infusion line (Figs. 2 and 3 of Li).
In regard to claim 18,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, discloses the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (i.e., hydrophilic membrane is fitted to an annular ring with groove fitment via sealing ring similar to how hydrophilic membrane 21 is fitted via sealing ring 24 of Wong).
In regard to claim 19,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in respective claims 1, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed to a sealing leg or ring by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (Examiner notes the sealing leg or ring is not positively required by the claim due to the language “can be sealed”. The flow regulating member is fully capable of being sealed to sealing leg or ring as supported by figure 1 and 2 of Wong; Examiner notes if the sealing leg or ring was positively required claim 19 would be rejected similarity as claim 6 and 10).
In regard to claim 20,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in respective claims 4, wherein the flow regulating member can be sealed to a sealing leg or ring by heat sealing, adhesive sealing, ultrasonic welding, heated die, radio frequency, mechanical seal, insert molding, laser welding, press/snap fit, or annular ring with groove fitment (Examiner notes the sealing leg or ring is not positively required by the claim due to the language “can be sealed”. The flow regulating member is fully capable of being sealed to sealing leg or ring as supported by figure 1 and 2 of Wong; Examiner notes if the sealing leg or ring was positively required claim 19 would be rejected similarity as claim 6 and 10).
In regard to claim 21,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drip chamber comprises a plurality of components (i.e., exhaust device 5 and identified “upper portion” and “lower portion” of Li) and wherein the plurality of components are constructed and manufactured separately and assembled as one device (Fig. 1 of Li).
In regard to claim 23,
Li in view of Wong, or alternatively Li in view of Wong and Miner, teaches the improved intravenous infusion set as claimed in claim 16, wherein the flow path adapter has a longitudinal axis (i.e., axis of exhaust device 5 of Li extending along the length of exhaust device 5 of Li) extending in the direction of flow of the intravenous fluid (Fig. 1 of Li) and wherein the one or more projection(s) and one or more ridge(s)/depression(s) extend circumferentially around the flow path adapter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Figs. 3 and 4 of Li; i.e., since the wider extension of cap 15 of Li forming the projection extends perpendicularly to the axial length exhaust device 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to the rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112, Applicant argues they have amended claim 17 to be dependent on claim 14 to provide antecedent basis for “the slits”. As noted in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 above, claim 14 introduces one or more slits and two or more slits. It is unclear which slits “the slits” of claim 17 refer to. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 of claim 17 remains.
In regard to claim 22, Applicant argues that the sealing leg or ring and the inner wall are not formed as a unitary single piece in Li. Applicant argues that seat 16 and the cap 15 are separate components, and the cap is not even in direct contact with the walls of the drip chamber when assembled. It is noted that the cap is in indirect contact with the walls of the drip chamber via other components when assembled/formed. Claim 22 does not require the sealing leg or ring to be in direct contact with the inner wall. The term “unitary” as defined by Merriam Webster Dictionary means “of or relating to a unit”. As detailed in the rejection of claim 22 above, the sealing leg or ring and inner wall are formed as a unitary single piece when assembled/formed as shown in figure 1 of Li in which one unitary single piece is present/has been formed. Due to the fact that the components are formed/attached to one another, a unitary single piece is formed. The phrase “a unitary single piece” is different from the phrase “monolithically formed”. The claim language does not currently require the sealing leg or ring to be continuous with the inner wall or monolithically formed with the inner wall. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that the flexible infusion line of Li is coupled to a cylindrical extension at the bottom of the drip chamber 4 of Li, not to the exhaust device 5 and therefore the lower portion of the flow path adapter is not connected to the flexible infusion line. It is noted that claim 1 does not require the lower portion of the flow path adapter to be directed connected to the flexible infusion line. The lower portion of the flow path adapter is connected to the flexible infusion line in a leak proof arrangement via another structure. Applicant arguments are therefore not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ding fails to disclose the infusion fluid outlet defines a housing that receives the flow path adapter. It is noted that Ding is not cited as teaching a housing that receives the flow path adapter in claim 1. Ding is cited as teaching a fluid flow regulating member. Applicant arguments are therefore not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that the flow path adapter 5 and the flow path adapter 11-15 of Ding are structurally different and not interchangeable. This argument is not found to be persuasive as the rejection above does not rely on substituting the flow path adapter of Ding in place of the flow path adapter 5 of Li.
Applicant argues that Miner and Wong do not cure the deficiencies of Li and Ding. See response to arguments above in regard to Li and Ding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783