DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ansorge et al. US 2010/0224553.
Claim 1, Ansorge teaches a hydrophilic, integrally asymmetric, semi-permeable hollow fiber membrane made from a hydrophobic aromatic sulfone polymer and at least one hydrophilic polymer (abstract), the membrane comprising an inner surface facing towards its lumen, an outer surface facing outward and an intermediate wall having a wall thickness, and comprising an open-pore separating layer having a minimum pore size and a supporting layer having an asymmetric, sponge like structure without finger pores, the hollow fiber membrane comprises an essentially isotropic area adjoining to a wall of the inner surface (the separating layer), after which the membrane comprises an area wherein the pore size abruptly increases up to a maximum pore size, after which the membrane comprises an area wherein the pore size decreases, after which the membrane comprises an essentially isotropic supporting layer (the outer layer) which then is adjoined by the outer surface, wherein the pore sizes of the essentially isotropic supporting layer remain constant, the separating layer has a cut off of greater than 300,000 Daltons (Ansorge teaches a cutoff of larger than 200,000 Daltons which will inherently also cutoff anything larger than 300,000 Daltons), the membrane exhibits a nominal pore size in the separating layer of 10-100 nm and therefore incorporates the recited 45-150 nm, and the size of the pores in a zone with maximum pore sizes is in the range of from 15-50 microns (par 1-2, 13, 29).
Claims 3-6, 9, Ansorge further teaches the essentially isotropic area adjoining the wall of the inner surface comprises the separating layer and has a proportion in the range of less than 10% of the total thickness of the membrane and thus incorporates the 1-8% recited range (par 13); the wall thickness is in the range of 150-350 microns which falls within the recited 140-400 micron range (par 36); the inner diameter of the membrane is 500-1500 micron which significantly overlaps with the recited range of 700-2000 micron (par 36); the area where the pore size abruptly increases up to a maximum pore size is located at a distance from the inner surface in the range between 15-40% of the wall thickness (par 29);
Claims 11-13 recite operating parameters of the membrane and certain mechanical characteristics of the membrane. Ansorge teaches all of the claimed structural characteristics of the membrane of claim 1, namely, the same material having the recited layers and cutoff. Therefore, the operating parameters and mechanical characteristics are considered inherent to the membrane meeting the structural requirements of the membrane of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansorge et al. US 2010/0224553.
Claim 7, Ansorge teaches the membrane of claim 1 and teaches the mean pore size of the outer surface is larger than the separating layer (0.01 micron) and less than the mean pore size of the supporting layer (5 micron) (par 13), but does not teach the maximum diameters being less than 1.5 micron. Ansorge teaches that a significant influence can be exerted on the permeability of the membrane by modifying the pore size of the outer layer (par 27). Thus, Ansorge recognized the pore size of the outer layer as a result effective variable. The recitation of a maximum diameter of the pore size of the outer surface being less than 1.5 micron falls within the range taught by Ansorge and it would have been obvious to adjust the sizes of the pores to achieve a desired permeability. [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
Claim 8, Ansorge does not teach the recited range of maximum pores sizes of less than 3 micron for the inner surface. Ansorge teaches the mean pore size would be 10-100 nm or 0.01-0.1 micron which is orders of magnitude smaller than 3 microns. While it is possible to have a mean pore size within the range taught by Ansorge and have maximum pores be larger than 3 microns, such conditions would require a very large distribution of pores which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as undesirable as larger pores would not be able to achieve the desired cutoff. Therefore, it would have been obvious to optimize the maximum diameters of the pores of the inner surface to ensure the membrane is capable of meeting the desired cutoff. [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ansorge does not teach a cut off of greater than 300,000 Daltons. The cut off is a property of the membrane that is determined by the pore sizes of the separating layer, i.e. a smaller pore size will have a smaller cut off. Smaller pores will also be able to cut off larger molecules as the smaller pore size will be able to retain anything that is larger than the pore size. The cut off of larger than 200,000 of Ansorge will likewise also cut off anything 300,000 Daltons or larger.
Applicant pointed out the previous office action had a typo and should have said that Ansorge teaches a pore size in the range of 10-100 nm. In paragraph 1 Ansorge teaches that ultrafiltration membranes cover the size range of pores of 10-100nm. Ansorge paragraph 13, then states the invention is a membrane for ultrafiltration. Ansorge teaches the definition of what pore sizes are included for ultrafiltration and then says the invention is an ultrafiltration membrane. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the pore sizes of the invention of Ansorge would have pore sizes in the range of 10-100 nm.
Applicant argues Ansorge does not teach the recited pore size of the maximum pores. Ansorge teaches a range of 5-15 microns and the claimed invention is 15-50 microns and the claimed invention share the size of 15 microns and therefore the prior art meets the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1778