Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 61 and 63-71 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim language is inconsistent, switching back and forth between referring to “the ladder frame” and “the ladder”.
Claims 63-71 are objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble of claims 63-71 does not match that of independent claim 61.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 61 and 63-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shuch et al. (US 2016/0047167).
Shuch et al. discloses:
61. A fall control ladder (75, figure 1, see below), comprising:
a ladder frame having two stiles (75a, 75b; figure 12) and a plurality of rungs or steps (figure 1);
a tensioner (210, figure 3B) detachably mounted to the ladder towards a bottom end of the ladder frame (tensioner 210 is stored in bag 202, as seen in figure 3A, of assembly 200 which is mounted to the ladder toward a bottom end of the ladder as seen in figure 24 below) at a height accessible from the ground on which the ladder is supported (figures 26 & 32);
a mount (406; figure 13) mounted to the ladder (by straps 402,404; figure 13) towards a top end of the ladder (figure 13);
a cable (50, figure 1) that extends from the tensioner (stored in 200; figure 1) and over the mount (figure 38) in a looped configuration (figures 1 and 39); and
an arrestor (170, figure 34) movably engaged with the cable (function/operation of rope grab) for coupling a user to the cable (figure 34),
wherein the tensioner (210) has a locked configuration (figure 3B) for holding tension on the cable to support a weight of the user and an open configuration (figure 3C) for allowing the cable (50) to pass through the tensioner (figure 3C; when handle 210b is grasped, [0054]);
wherein in the event of a fall (figure 40) an operator (155, figure 41) on the ground (figure 41) can release the cable (50) in a controlled manner through the tensioner (210) to bring the user via the arrestor back towards the ground ([0054] and figure 45); and
wherein the cable (50) comprises (i) a fixed end (in lifeline supply assembly 120) securable to at least one selected from the group consisting of the tensioner and the ladder (figure 24 & see below) and (ii) a free end that passes through the tensioner (210) to vary the length of cable in the fall control system (fig 3C).
(see additional images on following page)
63. wherein the arrestor (170) is couplable with a safety harness (160; fig 34) for securing the user therein (figure 34).
64. wherein the arrestor (170) provides an active configuration where the arrestor locks onto the cable and thereby holds the user at a fixed point on the cable (figure 41), and an inactive configuration (figure 35) where the arrestor can slide freely along the cable (figure 35).
65. wherein the tensioner (210) is configured to receive and capture a mid-section of the cable (50) between an inlet and an outlet of the tensioner (figure 3B).
66. wherein the ladder is an extendable ladder (figure 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 67-71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuch et al. as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Phillips (GB 2069579).
While Shuch et al. discloses a tethering system (300, figure 1) for tethering to an anchor (80, figure 1), they do not disclose a tether system comprising a brake mounted towards an upper end of the ladder, a coupling mounted towards an end of the ladder, and a cord extending from the coupling to the brake via the anchor.
However, Phillips teaches:
67. further comprising a tether system (fig 1) for tethering to an anchor (location points on the walls that the snap hooks attach to), comprising:
a brake (rope jamb block with vee shaped jaw with toothing; fig 1) mounted towards an upper end of the ladder (while shown in figure 1 as near the bottom of the ladder, this is merely a matter of orientation and one could simple use the assembly shown in figure 1 in an inverted position as there are no feet or headers on the ladder that would prevent such use; see below);
a coupling (metal eye top fixing; fig 1) mounted towards a bottom end of the ladder (see explanation above regarding orientation and image below); and
a cord (rope; fig 1) extending from the coupling to the brake via the anchor (fig 1; snap hooks attach to wall anchors),
wherein the brake has an operative configuration for holding tension on the cord against the anchor (when locking assembly jaw is in locked configuration) and an inoperative configuration allowing the cord to pass through the brake (when locking assembly jaw is not locked).
(image inserted on next page)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to provide the ladder of Shuch et al. with the tether system for tethering to an anchor, as taught by Phillips, so as to provide greater versatility to the ladder system, allowing it to connect to multiple anchor points on the supporting structure, or on a structure nearby the supporting structure (adjacent trees/posts, buildings etc. ) allowing connection to any anchor point between the ground and top end of the ladder (as the snap hook of Phillips can be positioned anywhere along the rope for connecting to an anchor point), offering users greater versatility and therefore added security by offering stabilization in a number of different environments where multiple anchor points may be needed.
With respect to the tethering system, Phillips also teaches:
68. wherein the brake in the operative configuration tensions the cord against the anchor (fig 1), such that a first force is applied by the cord pulling the ladder toward the anchor (upper stretch of rope) and a second force is applied pulling the ladder toward the ground on which the ladder is supported (lower stretch of rope; note also that this is entirely dependent upon the position of the anchor, which is not actually positively claimed, and the position of the brake and coupling along the ladder).
69. The ladder of claim 68, wherein the first force acts in a substantially horizontal direction and the second force acts in a substantially vertical direction (again, this is dependent upon the position of the anchor, which is not actually positively claimed, and the position of the brake and coupling along the ladder).
70. The ladder of claim 67, wherein the brake (rope jamb) provides an inlet (top rope guide of rope jamb; fig 1) for receiving the cord and an outlet (lower rope guide; fig 1) by which a free end of the cord exits the brake (fig 1), such that a force applied to the free end of the cord tensions the cord against the anchor, the tension on the cord being maintained by the brake (operation of rope jamb with vee shaped jaw with toothing).
71. The ladder of claim 67, wherein the brake (rope jamb) comprises an actuator (jaw) for selecting between the operative configuration (locked/closed jaw) and the inoperative (unlocked/opened jaw) configuration of the brake.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Following a Notice of Allowance mailed April 7th,2026, the applicant filed an RCE with amendments to the claims on July 2, 2026. The amendments significantly broadened the independent claim (i.e. changing “rigidly fixed” to “detachably mounted” and broadening the language with respect to the fixed end of the cable), returning the claims to form that was previously rejected. As a result, the claims are no longer in allowable condition and have been rejection by prior art as advanced above.
Conclusion
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634