DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Amendment to Application # 17/055,228 filed on May 18, 2026 in which claims 1, 7, 20, 31, 32, 42, 46, and 50 were amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on May 18, 2026 has been entered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 20-24, and 31-51 are pending, of which claims 1-3, 5-9, 11, 12, 35, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and claims 10, 20-24, 31-34, and 36-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein locking operation of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator comprises not operating the at least one non-backdriveable actuator to prevent movement of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator.” (Emphasis added). The statement that not operating the actuator is “to prevent movement of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator” appears to be a statement of intended use.
“An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim 20 recites the limitation “limiting operation of the active seat suspension to reduce the temperature of the at least one actuator.” (Emphasis added). The statement that the limiting operation is “to reduce the temperature of the at least one actuator” appears to be a statement of intended use of the limiting operation.
“An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim 35 recites the limitation “wherein locking operation of the at least one of the one or more actuators comprises actuating a lock to prevent movement of the at least one of the one or more actuators.” (Emphasis added). The statement that the locking operation is “to prevent movement of the at least one of the one or more actuators” appears to be a statement of intended use.
“An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11, 12, 35, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koutsky et al., DE 19720012 A1 (hereinafter Koutsky), as evidenced by the attached translation.1
Regarding claim 1, Koutsky discloses a method of operating an active seat suspension to control movement of a seat in a vehicle, the method comprising “detecting a failure state of the active seat suspension” (Koutsky 20) where the suspension system may be programmed to “turn off” when the cylinder fails. Koutsky discloses that the suspension system is part of an active seat suspension system. (Koutsky 19). Additionally, Koutsky discloses “limiting operation of one or more actuators of the active seat suspension in response to the detected failure state wherein limiting operation of the one or more actuators includes: locking operation of at least one of the one or more actuators, wherein locking operation of at least one of the one or more actuators prevents relative movement between the seat and a body of the vehicle” (Koutsky 20) where the system “stops the movement of the seat adjuster” in cases of extreme movement.
Regarding claim 7, Koutsky discloses an active seat suspension of a vehicle comprising “at least one actuator constructed to be operatively coupled to a seat to control movement of the seat in at least one direction relative to an underlying portion of the vehicle” (Koutsky 18) where each cylinder may operate along at least one of the x, y, and z axis. Additionally, Koutsky discloses “a controller operatively coupled to the at least one actuator, wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to detect a failure state of the active seat suspension” (Koutsky 20) where the suspension system may be programmed to “turn off” when the cylinder fails. Koutsky discloses that the suspension system is part of an active seat suspension system. (Koutsky 19). Finally, Koutsky discloses “wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to limit operation of the at least one actuator in response to the detected failure state; wherein the controller is configured to lock operation of the at least one actuator to limit operation of the at least one actuator, and wherein the at least one actuator is configured to prevent movement of the seat relative to a body of the vehicle when operation of the at least one actuator is locked” (Koutsky 20) where the system “stops the movement of the seat adjuster” in cases of extreme movement.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “wherein the active seat suspension includes at least a first actuator and a second actuator, and wherein limiting operation of the one or more actuators includes limiting operation of the first actuator (Koutsky 16, 20) where the system includes six cylinders (i.e., six actuators, Koutsky 16) and at least one cylinder may be locked as discussed above. (Koutsky 20).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 2 and 8 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “operating the second actuator to control motion of a seat connected to the active seat suspension in at least one direction” (Koutsky 18) where each cylinder may operate along at least one of the x, y, and z axis.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “wherein the failure state is at least one of an actuator failure, a sensor failure, vehicle rollover, and an obstruction of the active seat suspension” (Koutsky 20) where the failure state may be a cylinder (i.e., actuator) failure.
Regarding claim 6, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “wherein detecting the failure state is based at least partly on at least one or more of an actuator temperature, an actuator current, a seat acceleration, a vehicle acceleration, and an actuator position” (Koutsky 20) where the failure state can be based on the cylinder hitting the cushioned end stop, which is a cylinder position.
Regarding claim 10, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “wherein each actuator of the at least one actuator includes a lock configured to lock operation of the at least one actuator the lock is included on, and wherein the controller is operatively coupled to the lock of each actuator of the at least one actuator to selectively move the lock between a locked and unlocked configuration” (Koutsky 20) where the lock stops the movement of the seat.
Regarding claim 12, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “one or more sensors operatively coupled to the controller, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect one or more of an actuator temperature, an actuator current, a seat acceleration, a vehicle acceleration, and an actuator position” (Koutsky 16) where the sensors are accelerometers attached to the seat, meaning they detect seat acceleration. Further, Koutsky discloses “wherein the controller detects the failure state based at least partly on information received from the one or more sensors” (Koutsky 20) where the failure state can be based on the cylinder hitting the cushioned end stop, which is a cylinder position.
Regarding claim 35, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “wherein locking operation of the at least one of the one or more actuators comprises actuating a lock to prevent movement of the at least one of the one or more actuators” (Koutsky 20) where the lock stops the movement of the seat.
Regarding claims 37 and 38, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky discloses “wherein the at least one of the one or more actuators is a non-backdriveable actuator, and wherein locking operation of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator comprises not operating the at least one non-backdriveable actuator to prevent movement of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator” (Koutsky 19-20) where the actuator may be a drive worm, which is known in the art to be “non-backdriveable” and the system is “turned off,” indicating that it is “not operated.”
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vandermolen, US Patent 6,082,715 (hereinafter Vandermolen).
Regarding claim 1, Vandermolen discloses a method of operating an active seat suspension to control movement of a seat in a vehicle, the method comprising “detecting a failure state of the active seat suspension” (Vandermolen col. 2, ll. 12-29, see also col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) by detecting that the active seat suspension is performing in an unsafe manner, which is a form of failure state. Additionally, Vandermolen discloses “limiting operation of one or more actuators of the active seat suspension in response to the detected failure state wherein limiting operation of the one or more actuators includes: locking operation of at least one of the one or more actuators, wherein locking operation of at least one of the one or more actuators prevents relative movement between the seat and a body of the vehicle” Vandermolen col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) by “freezing damping device 30 responsive to the control signal from suspension controller 26 exceeding a threshold level” that causes the seat “to be held in a constant position relative to the cabin.”
Regarding claim 7, Vandermolen discloses an active seat suspension of a vehicle comprising “at least one actuator constructed to be operatively coupled to a seat to control movement of the seat in at least one direction relative to an underlying portion of the vehicle” (Vandermolen col. 3, ll. 29-53) where damper 30 controls vertical movement of the seat. Additionally, Vandermolen discloses “a controller operatively coupled to the at least one actuator, wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to detect a failure state of the active seat suspension” (Vandermolen col. 2, ll. 12-29, see also col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) by detecting that the active seat suspension is performing in an unsafe manner, which is a form of failure state. Finally, Vandermolen discloses “wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to limit operation of the at least one actuator in response to the detected failure state; wherein the controller is configured to lock operation of the at least one actuator to limit operation of the at least one actuator, and wherein the at least one actuator is configured to prevent movement of the seat relative to a body of the vehicle when operation of the at least one actuator is locked” Vandermolen col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) by “freezing damping device 30 responsive to the control signal from suspension controller 26 exceeding a threshold level” that causes the seat “to be held in a constant position relative to the cabin.”
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen discloses “wherein the active seat suspension includes at least a first actuator and a second actuator, and wherein limiting operation of the one or more actuators includes limiting operation of the first actuator” (Vandermolen col. 4, ll. 30-43) where damper 30 is shown in Fig. 1 to the first actuator and air spring 28 is known to those of ordinary skill in the art to be a pneumatic actuator, making it the second actuator. As discussed above, it is damper 30 (i.e., the first actuator) that is frozen.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 2 and 8 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen discloses “operating the second actuator to control motion of a seat connected to the active seat suspension in at least one direction” (Vandermolen col. 3, ll. 39-53) where the air spring 28 (i.e., the second actuator) controls the height of the spring, which is motion in the vertical direction.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen discloses “wherein the failure state is at least one of an actuator failure, a sensor failure, vehicle rollover, and an obstruction of the active seat suspension” (Vandermolen col. 4, ll. 30-43) where the failure state is at least a vehicle rollover.
Regarding claim 6, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen discloses “wherein detecting the failure state is based at least partly on at least one or more of an actuator temperature, an actuator current, a seat acceleration, a vehicle acceleration, and an actuator position” (Vandermolen col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) where the failure state is at least based on negative seat acceleration.
Regarding claim 10, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen discloses “wherein each actuator of the at least one actuator includes a lock configured to lock operation of the at least one actuator the lock is included on, and wherein the controller is operatively coupled to the lock of each actuator of the at least one actuator to selectively move the lock between a locked and unlocked configuration” (Vandermolen col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) where freezing the damper locks the damper.
Regarding claim 12, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen discloses “one or more sensors operatively coupled to the controller, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect one or more of an actuator temperature, an actuator current, a seat acceleration, a vehicle acceleration, and an actuator position” (Vandermolen col. 3, ll. 54-65) where the sensors include an accelerometer 22 attached to the seat, meaning that it measures at least seat acceleration. Further, Vandermolen discloses “wherein the controller detects the failure state based at least partly on information received from the one or more sensors” (Vandermolen col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) where the failure state is at least based on negative seat acceleration.
Regarding claim 35, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen discloses “wherein locking operation of the at least one of the one or more actuators comprises actuating a lock to prevent movement of the at least one of the one or more actuators” (Vandermolen col. 3, l. 66-col. 4, l. 29) where freezing the damper locks the damper.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Koutsky in view of Clark, US Publication 2009/0198419 (hereinafter Clark).
Regarding claims 36 and 39, Koutsky discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 35 and 10 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Koutsky does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the lock comprises at least one selected from: a solenoid including an interlocking pin and groove arrangement, or a friction brake.”
However, Clark discloses an active seat suspension including a locking mechanism “wherein the lock comprises at least one selected from: a solenoid including an interlocking pin and groove arrangement, or a friction brake” (Clark ¶ 18) where the lock comprises a friction brake 152.
Koutsky and Clark are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of active seat suspension systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Koutsky and Clark before him or her to modify the lock of Koutsky to include the friction brake of Clark.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of simple substitution. See KSR Int’l Co v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Koutsky differs from the claimed invention by including a generic lock in place of the claimed friction brake. Further, Clark teaches that the use of friction brakes to lock an active seat suspension system was well known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have predictably substituted the friction brake of Clark for the generic brake of Koutsky because both merely lock the seat in place and friction brakes are well-understood and widely available.
Claims 37 and 38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Vandermolen in view of Koutsky.
Regarding claims 37 and 38, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the at least one of the one or more actuators is a non-backdriveable actuator, and wherein locking operation of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator comprises not operating the at least one non-backdriveable actuator to prevent movement of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator.”
However, Koutsky discloses “wherein the at least one of the one or more actuators is a non-backdriveable actuator, and wherein locking operation of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator comprises not operating the at least one non-backdriveable actuator to prevent movement of the at least one non-backdriveable actuator” (Koutsky 19-20) where the actuator may be a drive worm, which is known in the art to be “non-backdriveable” and the system is “turned off,” indicating that it is “not operated.”
Vandermolen and Koutsky are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of active seat suspension systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Vandermolen and Koutsky before him or her to modify the actuator of Vandermolen to include the driver worm of Koutsky.
The motivation for doing so would have been that a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have recognized that non-backdriveable actuators, such as drive worms, provide the known benefits of consuming no power when active and providing high load security.
Claims 36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Vandermolen in view of Clark.
Regarding claims 36 and 39, Vandermolen discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 35 and 10 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Vandermolen does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the lock comprises at least one selected from: a solenoid including an interlocking pin and groove arrangement, or a friction brake.”
However, Clark discloses an active seat suspension including a locking mechanism “wherein the lock comprises at least one selected from: a solenoid including an interlocking pin and groove arrangement, or a friction brake” (Clark ¶ 18) where the lock comprises a friction brake 152.
Vandermolen and Clark are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of active seat suspension systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Vandermolen and Clark before him or her to modify the lock of Vandermolen to include the friction brake of Clark.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of simple substitution. See KSR Int’l Co v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Vandermolen differs from the claimed invention by including a generic lock in place of the claimed friction brake. Further, Clark teaches that the use of friction brakes to lock an active seat suspension system was well known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have predictably substituted the friction brake of Clark for the generic brake of Vandermolen because both merely lock the seat in place and friction brakes are well-understood and widely available.
Claims 20, 22, 24, 31-35, and 40-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed et al., US Publication 2016/0159188 (hereinafter Mohamed) in view of Howard, US Publication 2016/0059755 (hereinafter Howard), as cited on the Notice of References cited dated February 13, 2025.
Regarding claim 20, Mohamed discloses a method of operating an active … suspension in a vehicle, the method comprising “sensing a temperature of at least one actuator of the active … suspension” (Mohamed ¶ 18) where the ambient temperature sensor detects the temperature of the vehicle damper (i.e., one actuator of the active suspension). Additionally, Mohamed discloses “detecting that a rate of change and/or a magnitude of the temperature is greater than a first threshold” (Mohamed ¶ 52, see also Fig. 4) where the estimated damper temperature (i.e., the magnitude of the temperature) is compared to a threshold and if the temperature is below or within less than 5°C of the threshold, it is flagged as suspicious and if it is greater than the threshold, it treated as valid. Further, Mohamed discloses “limiting operation of the active … suspension to reduce the temperature of the at least one actuator; wherein limiting operation of the at least one actuator comprises outputting commanded forces and/or movements to the at least one actuator within a limited force and/or movement range that is less than a normal force and/or movement range of the at least one actuator” (Mohamed ¶ 54) by indicating that the hotter the temperature, the higher the damping forces applied. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that by increasing the damping force, the resistance of the actuator is increased, thereby limiting the force of the actuator to less than the “normal” force. Finally, Mohamed discloses “wherein the at least one actuator remains under active control when the rate of change and/or magnitude of the temperature is greater than the first threshold” (Mohamed ¶ 54) where each damper is always under active control, including “when the rate of change and/or magnitude of the temperature is greater than the first threshold.”
Mohamed does not appear to disclose that the suspension system is a “seat suspension” system and, therefore, does not appear to explicitly disclose a “method of operating an active seat suspension in a vehicle, the method comprising: sensing a temperature of at least one actuator of the active seat suspension;” or “limiting operation of the active seat suspension to reduce the temperature of the at least one actuator.”
However, Howard discloses a method of operating an active seat suspension in a vehicle. (Howard ¶ 23). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that when Howard was combined with Mohamed, the suspension system of Mohamed would be applied to a seat, according to Howard. Therefore, the combination of Mohamed and Howard at least teach and/or suggest the limitations “sensing a temperature of at least one actuator of the active seat suspension” and “limiting operation of the active seat suspension to reduce the temperature of the at least one actuator,” rendering them obvious.
Mohamed and Howard are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of suspension systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohamed and Howard before him or her to modify the suspension system of Mohamed to include the application of the suspension system to a seat suspension system of Howard.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). Mohamed teaches the “base device” of a suspension system. Further, Howard teaches the “known technique” of using suspension systems on vehicle seats that is applicable to the base device of Mohamed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein the first threshold is a first temperature threshold, and wherein the temperature is greater than the first temperature threshold.” (Mohamed ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “locking operation of the at least one actuator of the active seat suspension if the temperature is greater than a second threshold temperature that is greater than the first threshold” (Mohamed ¶ 54) by including a series of advancing thresholds used to modify operation of the damper.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein the first threshold is a first threshold temperature” (Mohamed ¶ 54) by giving examples of each threshold including a temperature range. Further, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “further comprising continuously changing a gain of a current commanded for the at least one actuator at temperatures greater than the first threshold temperature” (Mohamed ¶¶ 21, 26, 54) where the process is performed continuously (Mohamed ¶ 21) and controls the damping by changing a gain of the command (Mohamed ¶ 54), which is performed by changing a current applied to the damper. (Mohamed ¶ 26).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein limiting operation of the at least one actuator further comprises changing a control parameter used to determine the output commanded force and/or movement range” (Mohamed ¶ 64) by adjusting the temperature dependency gain used to determine the output commanded force to the damper.
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein limiting operation of the at least one actuator further comprises reducing a gain used to determine the output commanded force and/or movement range” (Mohamed ¶¶ 21, 54) where the process controls the damping by increasing or reducing, as appropriate, a gain of the command (Mohamed ¶ 54), which is performed by changing a current applied to the damper. (Mohamed ¶ 26).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein limiting operation of the at least one actuator further comprises applying a preset adjustment to a control parameter to reduce the output commanded force and/or movement range” (Mohamed ¶ 25) by using a predetermined temperature compensation table to map the determined temperature state to the necessary temperature compensation gain.
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein outputting the commanded forces and/or movement comprises outputting a commanded current.” (Mohamed ¶ 26).
Regarding claim 31, Mohamed discloses a method of operating an active ... suspension in a vehicle, the method comprising “detecting a failure state of the active ... suspension” (Mohamed ¶ 54, see also ¶ 45) by detecting that the dampers are in a degraded (i.e., failure) state. Additionally, Mohamed discloses “limiting operation of one or more actuators of the active ... suspension in response to the detected failure state; wherein limiting operation of the one or more actuators comprises outputting commanded forces and/or movements to at least one actuator of the active ... suspension within a limited force and/or movement range that is less than a normal force and/or movement range of the at least one actuator” (Mohamed ¶ 54) by indicating that when a degraded state is detected, the temperature state is set to a “warm” state and further indicating that the hotter the temperature, the higher the damping forces applied. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that by increasing the damping force, the resistance of the actuator is increased, thereby limiting the force of the actuator. Finally, Mohamed discloses “wherein the at least one actuator remains under active control when the failure state is detected” (Mohamed ¶ 54) where each damper is always under active control, including “when the rate of change and/or magnitude of the temperature is greater than the first threshold.”
Mohamed does not appear to disclose that the suspension system is a “seat suspension” system and, therefore, does not appear to explicitly disclose a “method of operating an active seat suspension in a vehicle, the method comprising: detecting a failure state of the active seat suspension; and limiting operation of one or more actuators of the active seat suspension in response to the detected failure state; wherein limiting operation of the one or more actuators comprises outputting commanded forces and/or movements to at least one actuator of the active seat suspension within a limited force and/or movement range that is less than a normal force and/or movement range of the at least one actuator.”
However, Howard discloses a method of operating an active seat suspension in a vehicle. (Howard ¶ 23). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that when Howard was combined with Mohamed, the suspension system of Mohamed would be applied to a seat, according to Howard. Therefore, the combination of Mohamed and Howard at least teach and/or suggest the limitations “detecting a failure state of the active seat suspension; and limiting operation of one or more actuators of the active seat suspension in response to the detected failure state; wherein limiting operation of the one or more actuators comprises outputting commanded forces and/or movements to at least one actuator of the active seat suspension within a limited force and/or movement range that is less than a normal force and/or movement range of the at least one actuator,” rendering them obvious.
Mohamed and Howard are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of suspension systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohamed and Howard before him or her to modify the suspension system of Mohamed to include the application of the suspension system to a seat suspension system of Howard.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). Mohamed teaches the “base device” of a suspension system. Further, Howard teaches the “known technique” of using suspension systems on vehicle seats that is applicable to the base device of Mohamed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claim 32, Mohamed discloses an active ... suspension of a vehicle comprising “at least one actuator constructed to be operatively coupled to a ... to control movement ... in at least one direction relative to an underlying portion of the vehicle.” (Mohamed ¶ 18). Additionally, Mohamed discloses “a controller operatively coupled to the at least one actuator and configured to output commanded forces and/or movements to the at least one actuator.” (Mohamed ¶ 21). Further, Mohamed discloses “wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to detect a failure state of the active ... suspension” (Mohamed ¶ 54, see also ¶ 45) by detecting that the dampers are in a degraded (i.e., failure) state. Moreover, Mohamed discloses “wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to limit operation of the at least one actuator by reducing the commanded forces and/or movements to be within a limited force and/or movement range that is less than a normal force and/or movement range of the at least one actuator in response to the detected failure state” (Mohamed ¶ 54) by indicating that when a degraded state is detected, the temperature state is set to a “warm” state and further indicating that the hotter the temperature, the higher the damping forces applied. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that by increasing the damping force, the resistance of the actuator is increased, thereby limiting the force of the actuator. Finally, Mohamed discloses “wherein the at least one actuator remains under active control when the failure state is detected. ” (Mohamed ¶ 54) where each damper is always under active control, including “when the rate of change and/or magnitude of the temperature is greater than the first threshold.”
Mohamed does not appear to disclose that the suspension system is a “seat suspension” system and, therefore, does not appear to explicitly disclose an “active seat suspension of a vehicle comprising: at least one actuator constructed to be operatively coupled to a seat to control movement of the seat in at least one direction relative to an underlying portion of the vehicle” or “wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to detect a failure state of the active seat suspension.”
However, Howard discloses a method of operating an active seat suspension in a vehicle. (Howard ¶ 23). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that when Howard was combined with Mohamed, the suspension system of Mohamed would be applied to a seat, according to Howard. Therefore, the combination of Mohamed and Howard at least teach and/or suggest the limitations “at least one actuator constructed to be operatively coupled to a seat to control movement of the seat in at least one direction relative to an underlying portion of the vehicle” and “wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to detect a failure state of the active seat suspension,” rendering them obvious.
Mohamed and Howard are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of suspension systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohamed and Howard before him or her to modify the suspension system of Mohamed to include the application of the suspension system to a seat suspension system of Howard.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). Mohamed teaches the “base device” of a suspension system. Further, Howard teaches the “known technique” of using suspension systems on vehicle seats that is applicable to the base device of Mohamed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claims 33 and 34, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 31 and 32 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein the movement range of the one or more actuators is a controlled motion range” (Howard ¶ 48) where the movement range of the actuators is controlled to apply downward linear force, thereby limiting the movement range to “downward” movement.
Regarding claims 44 and 48, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 31 and 32 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein limiting operation of the at least one actuator further comprises changing a control parameter used to determine the output commanded force and/or movement range during the detected failure state” (Mohamed ¶ 64) by adjusting the temperature dependency gain used to determine the output commanded force to the damper.
Regarding claims 45 and 49, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 31 and 32 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein limiting operation of the at least one actuator further comprises reducing a gain used to determine the output commanded force and/or movement range during the detected failure state” (Mohamed ¶¶ 21, 54) where the process controls the damping by increasing or reducing, as appropriate, a gain of the command (Mohamed ¶ 54), which is performed by changing a current applied to the damper. (Mohamed ¶ 26).
Regarding claims 46 and 50, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 31 and 32 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein limiting operation of the at least one actuator further comprises applying a preset adjustment to a control parameter to reduce the output commanded force and/or movement range during the detected failure state” (Mohamed ¶ 25) by using a predetermined temperature compensation table to map the determined temperature state to the necessary temperature compensation gain.
Regarding claims 47 and 51, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 31 and 32 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses “wherein outputting commanded forces and/or movement comprises outputting a commanded current.” (Mohamed ¶ 26).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Howard, as applied to claim20 above, and in further view of Benson et al., US Publication 2014/0306628 (hereinafter Benson), as cited on the Notice of References Cited dated January 19, 2024.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Mohamed and Howard discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 20 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Mohamed and Howard does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the first threshold is a first rate of temperature change threshold, and wherein the rate of change of the temperature is greater than the first rate of temperature change threshold.”
However, Benson discloses that it is well-known in the art motor control to control a motor based on a temperature rate of change “wherein the first threshold is a first rate of temperature change threshold, and wherein the rate of change of the temperature is greater than the first rate of temperature change threshold” (Benson ¶¶ 60, 62) by indicating that the motor may be controlled by comparing a controller temperature rate of change to a maximum temperature rate of change.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have recognized that when Benson was combined with Mohamed and Howard, the damping motor of Mohamed and Howard would be controlled according to the temperature rate of change based method of Benson. Therefore, the combination of Mohamed, Howard, and Benson at least teaches and/or suggests the claim limitation “wherein the first threshold is a first rate of temperature change threshold, and wherein the rate of change of the temperature is greater than the first rate of temperature change threshold,” rendering it obvious.
Mohamed, Howard, and Benson are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of motor control methods.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohamed, Howard, and Benson before him or her to modify the damper motor control of Mohamed and Howard to include the temperature rate of change based motor control method of Benson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the operating conditions of the motors. (Benson ¶ 58).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 18, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 42, 46, and 50 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (Remarks 10) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 42, 46, and 50 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed May 18, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-12, 20-24, and 31-51 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(1) and 103 (Remarks 11-15) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Parison et al., US Publication 2006/0200287, System and method for controlling an active seat suspension system.
Inoue et al., US Publication 2010/0025946, System and method for controlling an active seat suspension system.
Contratto et al., US Publication 2010/0161182, System and method for controlling an active seat suspension system.
Van Gerpen, US Patent 4,363,377, System and method for controlling an active seat suspension system.
Hall, US Patent 11,173,766, System and method for controlling an active seat suspension system.
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662
1 All citations are to the page numbers of the combined document.