DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 10-12 in the response filed on 2/12/2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 10-12 are still pending in the application and are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see page 5, filed 2/12/2025, with respect to the objections of claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 10-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant' s arguments, see page 5, filed 2/12/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 2/12/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below.
Applicant argues “Amended claim 1 recites, inter alia, ‘a pair of fabric actuators incorporated into the textile layer making up the textile body, the fabric actuators having one or more electrically conductive actuator threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with the other threads making up the textile layer, wherein the pair of fabric actuators includes a first actuator configured to be positioned in the intermediate zone on one side of the joint and a second actuator positioned opposite the first actuator in an opposed section of the intermediate zone, the first actuator configured to be positioned on the one side of the joint being positioned closer to the position retainer adjacent to the first zone’. The Applicant submits that the above-noted subject matter of claim is neither disclosed nor suggested by any of Cheatham, Obma, Marikkar, or Inglis”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Cheatham does in fact disclose a pair of fabric actuators (110A/110B - see annotated figure 1 below, there are one or more actuators that are positioned relative to the textile body [102 - figure 2C, a flexible compression garment made from synthetic rubber, nylon, or any other synthetic or natural fabric or polymeric material: paragraph 0026]: paragraph 0029/0053) incorporated into the textile layer making up the textile body (102) (figure 2C, the fabric actuator [110] may be embedded within the textile body [102]: paragraph 0029), wherein the pair of fabric actuators (110A/110B) includes a first actuator (110A - see annotated figure 1 below, an actuator: paragraph 0029) configured to be positioned in the intermediate zone (C - see annotated figure 1 below, the intermediate zone of the textile body [102]) on one side of the joint (see annotated figure 1 below, the first actuator [110A] is on the left side of the joint in the intermediate zone [C] that is positioned over the knee joint) and a second actuator (110B - see annotated figure 1 below, an actuator: paragraph 0029) positioned opposite the first actuator (110A) in an opposed section of the intermediate zone (C) (see annotated figure 1 below, the first [110A] and second actuators [110B] are positioned in opposite sections of each other in the intermediate zone [C]; additionally, the first [110A] and second actuators [110B] can be positioned in a number of configurations: paragraph 0053). Obma was then brought in to teach the position retainer (22/24 - figure 1, circumferential bands of fixed lengths that encircles a user’s limb and is retained on the user by its elasticity; the stretch sensors [28] measures the distance between the circumferential band ends when the entire circumferential band is pulled by tissue expansion: paragraph 0078). With the combination of Cheatham et al. and Obma, it discloses the first actuator (Cheatham et al.: 110A) configured to be positioned on the one side of the joint being positioned closer to the position retainer (Obma: 22/24) adjacent to the first zone (Cheatham et al.: A - see annotated figure 1 below, a first zone of the textile body [102]) (the position retainer [Obma: 22] is in the first zone [Cheatham et al.: A]; since the first actuator [Cheatham: 110A] of Cheatham et al. can be positioned in a number of configurations, it is implied that it is possible to position the first actuator [Cheatham: 110] to be closer to the position retainer [Obma: 22] in the first zone [Cheatham et al.: A]). Lastly, Marikkar et al. and Inglis et al. was used to teach an analogous fabric actuators (Marikkar et al.: 16 - figure 1, feedback actuators: paragraph 0054) having one or more electrically conductive actuator threads (Marikkar et al.: 14 - figure 1, the actuators [16] are connected via data transmission paths; the conductive mechanism is a conductive stainless steel yarn: paragraph 0076/0103) incorporated into an analogous textile layer (Inglis et al.: 104 - figure 1, a textile that can be made of cloth or polymer material: paragraph 0092) by at least one of knitting or weaving with the other threads making up the analogous textile layer (Inglis et al.: 104) (Inglis et al.: the electrically conductive threads [115] are integrated into the textile layer [104] via weaving; it can also be woven through the textile layer [104]: paragraph 0097). Therefore, the combination of art mentioned above still reads on the claim limitations and amendments.
Applicant argues “For example, FIG. 2C of Cheatham clearly depicts a single coil-type actuator (as described at paragraph [0058] of Cheatham in relation to FIGs. 2A-2C) “extending circumferentially along the exterior 120 ... in a substantially helical path”. As such, the coil-type actuator in FIG. 2C would be wrapping around both on both sides — there is no indication or motivation for adding a second actuator to an opposite section of the intermediate zone when the single coil-type actuator would be wrapping around and touching both sections. The Applicant submits that a person skilled in the art would need to substantially deviate from the configurations described in Cheatham in order to arrive at the claimed subject matter of amended claim 1, and that the skilled person would not have any motivation for doing so”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. The single coil-type actuator was used as an example for figures 2A and 2B, which is an embodiment of the flexible compression garment for the arm. Figure 2C is the embodiment for the leg that was used for the claim rejections. In addition, it was disclosed in the Cheatham et al. that the one or more actuators (110 - figure 2C) in the embodiments can include at least one of one or more electroactive polymer actuators, one or more electroactive metallic actuators, one or more motors, or one or more hydraulic actuators (paragraph 0053).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “the fabric actuators” should be “the pair of fabric actuators” in line 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: “the fabric actuators” should be “the pair of fabric actuators” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheatham et al. (U.S. 20160058644A1) in view of Obma (US 20160242646 A1) in view of Marikkar et al. (US 20180242654 A1) and in further view of Inglis et al. (US 20160346608 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheatham et al. discloses a textile-based computing platform (100 - figure 1, a garment system that includes a control system [112 - figure 1] with control electrical circuitry [114 - figure 1]: paragraph 0025/0031) for wearing by a wearer on both sides of a joint of a body of the wearer (figure 2C, the textile-based computing platform [100] is worn around the user’s joint: paragraph 0025/0027), the textile-based computing platform (100) comprising: a textile body (102 - figure 2C, a flexible compression garment made from synthetic rubber, nylon, or any other synthetic or natural fabric or polymeric material: paragraph 0026) shaped as a sleeve (the textile body [102] is substantially tubular and conforms to at least one body part when worn: paragraph 0025) including a first zone (A - see annotated figure 1 below, a first zone of the textile body [102]) for positioning adjacent to the joint (see annotated figure 1 below, the first zone [A] is adjacent to the knee joint), a second zone (B - see annotated figure 1 below, the second zone of the textile body [102]) opposite the first zone (A) for positioning on another side of the joint (see annotated figure 1 below, the second zone [B] is on the opposite side of the knee joint), and an intermediate zone (C - see annotated figure 1 below, the intermediate zone of the textile body [102]) for positioning over the joint (see annotated figure 1 below, the intermediate zone [C] is positioned over the knee joint), a fabric sensor (108 - figure 2C, there are one or more activity sensors: paragraph 0028) incorporated into a textile layer making up the textile body (102) (figure 2C, the fabric sensor [108] may be embedded within the textile body [102]: paragraph 0028); a pair of fabric actuators (110A/110B - see annotated figure 1 below, there are one or more actuators that are positioned relative to the textile body [102]: paragraph 0029) incorporated into the textile layer making up the textile body (102) (figure 2C, the pair of fabric actuators [110A/110B] may be embedded within the textile body [102]: paragraph 0029/0053), wherein the pair of fabric actuators (110A/110B) includes a first actuator (110A - see annotated figure 1 below, an actuator: paragraph 0029) configured to be positioned in the intermediate zone (C) on one side of the joint (see annotated figure 1 below, the first actuator [110A] is on the left side of the joint in the intermediate zone [C] that is positioned over the knee joint) and a second actuator (110B - see annotated figure 1 below, an actuator: paragraph 0029) positioned opposite the first actuator (110A) in an opposed section of the intermediate zone (C) (see annotated figure 1 below, the first [110A] and second actuators [110B] are positioned in opposite sections of each other in the intermediate zone [C]; additionally, the first [110A] and second actuators [110B] can be positioned in a number of configurations: paragraph 0053); an electronic circuit (114 - figure 1, an electrical circuitry that receives sensing signals [109 - figure 1] from fabric sensors [108] and fabric actuators [110] via actuation signals [116 - figure 1]: paragraph 0031-0032), wherein the electronic circuit (114) is configured to communicate electrical signals representing at least one of: heating, cooling, compression, support, swelling, and temperature (the electrical circuit [114] receives one of more sensing signals [109] from fabric sensors [108] and directs fabric actuators [110] via one or more actuation signals [116] to cause textile body [102] to selectively compress against or selectively relieve compression against the body. The fabric sensors [108] can also include passive infrared thermal sensors which can be correlated with increased or decreased muscle temperature where the electrical circuitry [114] then responds by directing fabric actuators [110] to cause compression; thus, the electronic circuitry [114] is configured to communicate electrical signals from the fabric sensor [108] representing temperature and changes thereof which is heating or cooling of the muscle: paragraph 0031-0033/0040).
Annotated Figure 1: compression garment of Cheatham et al.
However, Cheatham et al. fails to disclose a diameter of the first zone being larger than a diameter of the second zone, the sleeve having a pair of position retainers respectively adjacent to the first zone and the second zone, a diameter of the position retainer adjacent to the first zone being larger than a diameter of the position retainer adjacent to the second zone, the intermediate zone being configured to be positioned and retained by the position retainers over the joint; the fabric sensor having one or more electrically conductive sensor threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with other threads making up the textile layer; the fabric actuator having one or more electrically conductive actuator threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with the other threads making up the textile layer; the first actuator configured to be positioned on the one side of the joint being positioned closer to the position retainer adjacent to the first zone; an electrical connector mounted on the textile body for connecting to a controller computing device; an electrical circuit coupling the electrical connector to the fabric sensor and the fabric actuator, by way of circuit electrically conductive threads connected to the one or more electrically conductive actuator threads and the one or more electrically conductive sensor threads, the circuit electrically conductive threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with the other threads making up the textile layer; wherein the controller computing device when connected to the electrical connector bidirectionally communicates the electrical signals via the electronic circuit with respect to at least one of the fabric sensor and the fabric actuator.
Obma teaches a diameter of an analogous first zone (D - see annotated figure 2 below, a first zone of the textile body [12/14 - figure 1]) being larger than a diameter of an analogous second zone (E - see annotated figure 2 below, the second zone of the textile body [12/14]) (the diameter of the first zone [D] comprising the upper portion {12}] is greater than the second zone [E] comprising the lower portion {14}]: paragraph 0077), an analogous sleeve (10) having a pair of position retainers (22/24 - figure 1, circumferential bands of fixed lengths that encircles a user’s limb and is retained on the user by its elasticity; the stretch sensors [28] measures the distance between the circumferential band ends when the entire circumferential band is pulled by tissue expansion: paragraph 0078) respectively adjacent to the analogous first zone (D) and the analogous second zone (E) (see annotated figure 2 below, the circumferential band [22] is adjacent to the first zone [D] while the other circumferential band [24] is adjacent to the second zone [E]), a diameter of the position retainer (22) adjacent to the analogous first zone (D) being larger than a diameter of the position retainer (24) adjacent to the analogous second zone (E) (see annotated figure 2 below, since the first zone [D] has a larger diameter compared to the second zone [E], the diameter of the position retainer [22] that is adjacent to the first zone [D] is inherently larger than the diameter of the position retainer [24] that is adjacent to the second zone [E]), an analogous intermediate zone (F - see annotated figure 2 below, the intermediate zone of the textile body [12/14]) configured to be being positioned and retained by the position retainers (22/24) over the joint (the intermediate zone [C] is positioned over the joint via the position retainers [22/24]; the position retainers [22/24] are of fixed lengths and stretches to retain the sleeve [10] comprising the intermediate zone [C]: paragraph 0078).
Annotated Figure 2: compression garment of Obma
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second zone of Cheatham et al. in which the first zone’s diameter is greater than the second zone as taught by Obma in order to provide a textile-based computing platform that has an improved first and second zone to allow a better fit of the textile-based computing platform around the thigh, knee, and calf (paragraph 0077, Obma). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the first and second zone of Cheatham et al. with position retainers as taught by Obma in order to provide a textile-based computing platform that has an improved first and second zone to better secure the textile-based computing platform to the user’s leg (paragraph 0078, Obma).
Although Cheatham et al. in view of Obma discloses the first actuator (Cheatham: 110) configured to be positioned on the one side of the joint being positioned closer to the position retainer (Obma: 22) adjacent to the first zone (Cheatham et al.: A) (in view of this combination, the position retainer [Obma: 22] is in the first zone [Cheatham et al.: A]; since the first actuator [Cheatham: 110] of Cheatham can be positioned in a number of configurations, it is implied that it is possible to position the first actuator [Cheatham: 110] to be closer to the position retainer [Obma: 22] in the first zone [Cheatham et al.: A]), Cheatham et al. in view of Obma fails to disclose the fabric sensor having one or more electrically conductive sensor threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with other threads making up the textile layer; the fabric actuator having one or more electrically conductive actuator threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with the other threads making up the textile layer; an electrical connector mounted on the textile body for connecting to a controller computing device; an electrical circuit coupling the electrical connector to the fabric sensor and the fabric actuator, by way of circuit electrically conductive threads connected to the one or more electrically conductive actuator threads and the one or more electrically conductive sensor threads, the circuit electrically conductive threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with the other threads making up the textile layer; wherein the controller computing device when connected to the electrical connector bidirectionally communicates the electrical signals via the electronic circuit with respect to at least one of the fabric sensor and the fabric actuator.
Marikkar et al. teaches an analogous fabric sensor (12 - figure 1, sensors: paragraph 0054) having one or more electrically conductive sensor threads (14 - figure 1, the sensors [12] are connected via data transmission paths; the conductive mechanism is a conductive yarn: paragraph 0070/0103); an analogous fabric actuator (16 - figure 1, feedback actuators: paragraph 0054) having one or more electrically conductive actuator threads (14 - figure 1, the actuators [16] are connected via data transmission paths; the conductive mechanism is a conductive stainless steel yarn: paragraph 0076/0103); an electrical connector (410 - figure 4, a flexible dock which allows a process to connect to the garment: paragraph 0065) mounted on an analogous textile body (100 - figure 1, garment body: paragraph 0054) (figure 4, the electrical connector [410] is in the waist band of the textile body [100]: paragraph 0065/0068) for connecting to a controller computing device (200 - figure 2, processing module: paragraph 0055) (the controller computing device [200] is received within the electrical connector [410]: paragraph 0065); an electrical circuit (the circuit formed by the one or more electrically conductive threads [14] and interconnections [450 - figure 5]: paragraph 0070/0081) coupling the electrical connector (410) to the fabric sensor (12) and the fabric actuator (16) (the circuit connects interconnections [450] to each electrically conductive thread [14] that is connected to the fabric sensor [12] and actuators [16]: paragraph 0081), by way of circuit electrically conductive threads (interconnections [450] are made of conductive yarn and the conductive mechanism of the sensors and actuators are conductive yarn and conductive stainless steel yarn, respectively: paragraph 0082/0103) connected to the one or more electrically conductive actuator threads (14) and the one or more electrically conductive sensor threads (14) (the interconnections [450] are connected to each electrically conductive thread [14]: paragraph 0070/0081), wherein the controller computing device (200) when connected to the electrical connector (410) bidirectionally communicates electrical signals via the electronic circuit with respect to at least one of the fabric sensor (12)and the fabric actuator (16) (when received in the electrical connector [410], the controller computing device [200] is connected to the fabric sensors and actuators, wherein the electrically conductive threads [14] send signals back and forth: paragraph 0026/0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the fabric sensor and fabric actuator of Cheatham et al. in view of Obma with the fabric sensor having one or more electrically conductive sensor threads incorporated into the textile layer; the fabric actuator having one or more electrically conductive actuator threads incorporated into the textile layer; an electrical connector mounted on the textile body for connecting to a controller computing device; an electronic circuit coupling the electrical connector to the fabric sensor and the fabric actuator, the electronic circuit is connected by way of circuit electrically conductive threads connected to the one or more electrically conductive actuator threads and the one or more electrically conductive sensor threads, the circuit electrically conductive threads incorporated into the textile layer; an electronic circuit coupling the electrical connector to the fabric sensor and the fabric actuator; wherein the controller computing device when connected to the electrical connector bidirectionally communicates electrical signals via the electronic circuit with respect to at least one of the fabric sensor and the fabric actuator as taught by Marikkar et al. in order to provide a textile-based computing platform that has an improved fabric sensor and actuator capable of processing data about an electrically conductive circuit via conductive threads and an incorporated processor in order to allow the device to be portable and usable under various physical conditions, such as during movement (paragraph 0060, Marikkar et al.).
However, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma and in further view of Marikkar et al. fails to disclose the electrically conductive threads incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with other threads making up the textile layer.
Inglis et al. teaches an analogous electrically conductive threads (115 - figure 1, signal-transfer lines that can be conductive yarn, wires, fibers, or the like: paragraph 0093/0096) incorporated into an analogous textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with other threads making up the analogous textile layer (104 - figure 1, a textile that can be made of cloth or polymer material: paragraph 0092) (the electrically conductive threads [115] are integrated into the textile layer [104] via weaving; it can also be woven through the textile layer [104]: paragraph 0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrically conductive threads of Cheatham et al. in view of Obma and in further view of Marikkar et al. to be incorporated into the textile layer by at least one of knitting or weaving with other threads making up the textile layer as taught by Inglis et al. in order to provide a textile-based computing platform that has an improved electrically conductive threads to allow the electrically conductive threads to straighten out to accommodate stretching of the textile (paragraph 0097, Inglis et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Obma further teaches wherein an analogous fabric sensor (42/44 - figure 1/2, wearable sensing device: paragraph 0079) is provided as a pair of sensors (there are two wearable sensing device: an upper wearable sensing device [42] and a lower wearable sensing device [44]: paragraph 0079) positioned in an analogous first zone (D) and an analogous second zone (E) while being absent from an analogous intermediate zone (F) (see annotated figure 2 above, the upper wearable sensing device [42] is in the first zone [D] while the lower wearable sensing device [42] is in the second zone [E]); there are no sensors in the intermediate zone [F]).
Regarding claim 4, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Cheatham et al. further discloses wherein the fabric sensor (108) is provided as a sensor positioned in the first zone (A) and the intermediate zone (C) while being absent from the second zone (B) (the sensors [108] can be positioned on at least one muscle of which activity is desired to be monitored; this implies that the sensor [108] can be positioned in the first zone [A] and intermediate zone [C], while being absent from the second zone [B] depending on the user’s need [see examiner further notes below]: paragraph 0028).
Examiner further notes: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second zone of the garment of Cheatham such that the fabric sensor is absent from the second zone as taught by Cheatham in order to provide a textile-based computing platform that more efficiently allows selective detection of muscle activity in the targeted zones above and adjacent to the joint of the user’s body part; also since it has been held that rearrangement of parts (such as that of the sensors) would not have modified the operation of Cheatham’s garment, see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), and that the particular deletion of the sensors from the second zone or placement of the sensors only in the first and intermediate zones is an obvious expedient and/or matter of design choice, see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (MPEP 2144.04 II A and 2144.04 IV CC). As such, the modification would not provide unusual, unobvious, or unexpected results and is therefore deemed to fall within the purview of ordinary engineering technique absent a showing of unexpected results. Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed layout of the fabric sensors or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen layout or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen layout is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a had a reasonable expectation to achieve a layout of fabric sensors focused solely above and adjacent to the joint of the user’s body part to reduce the manufacturing costs of developing a product solely based on detecting the muscle activity of the muscles isolated to above and adjacent the joint of the user’s body part to specifically detect the muscle activity in these areas in order to solely base actuator feedback on these muscle groups (paragraph 0004/0028/0048/0083, Cheatham et al.).
Regarding claim 5, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Cheatham et al. further discloses wherein the fabric sensor (108) is provided as a sensor positioned in the first zone (A), the second zone (B) and the intermediate zone (C) (see annotated figure 1 above, there are fabric sensors [108] in each zone [A/B/C]).
Regarding claim 7, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Cheatham et al. further discloses wherein the fabric sensor (108) is selected from the group consisting of: a bio impedance sensor positioned to measure fluid buildup in the body; a respiration sensor to measure an amount of perspiration of the body; a BIA/GRS sensor to measure skin conductivity; an ECG sensor to measure electro cardiograph readings; an EMG sensor for measuring electrical activity produced by skeletal muscles; a pressure sensor for measuring pressure with respect to the body; a chemical sensor for measuring chemicals/medicines with respect to the body; and an EEG sensor for electrophysiological monitoring; a temperature sensor for measuring temperature of the body (the fabric sensor [108] can be a temperature sensor to measure temperature of one muscle or joint of the body part; an electromyography sensors, chemical sensors, or biosensors: paragraph 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 8, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Cheatham et al. further discloses wherein the fabric actuator (110A/110B) is selected from the group consisting of: a shape shifting/adapting actuator for applying a haptic sensation to the body via changes in shape/form of the fabric of the fabric actuator; a pressure actuator for applying pressure with respect to the body; a chemical actuator for applying chemicals/medicines with respect to the body; and a heat actuator for applying heat to the body (the pair of actuators [110A/110B] can perform compression in response to activation by the control electrical circuitry [114], thus applying pressure against the body part: paragraph 0029/0031).
Regarding claim 10, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Cheatham further discloses wherein the sleeve is configured for a knee joint (figure 2C, the textile body [102] is substantially tubular and conforms to at least one body part when worn; it can be disposed around the knee joint: paragraph 0025/0060).
Regarding claim 11, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Cheatham further discloses wherein the sleeve is configured for an elbow joint (figure 2A, the textile body [102] is substantially tubular and conforms to at least one body part when worn; it can be disposed around the elbow joint: paragraph 0025/0058).
Regarding claim 12, Cheatham et al. in view of Obma in view of Marikkar et al. and in further view of Inglis et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Obma teaches wherein an analogous sleeve is configured for an ankle joint (the sleeve [10 - figure 1/2] may be adapted for an ankle: paragraph 0026/0029/0093).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW JUN-WAI MOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786