DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-9 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedlander (US 8,236,256).
Regarding claim 8, Note: A fluid dispenser 1 is adapted to transferring liquid of reagents and samples, see Field of Invention. Friedlander also states that it is well-known in the art that pipetting system is widely used in the pharmaceutical industries as well as in industries dealing in food and beverage production, see Background of the Invention. The fluid dispenser or container 1 is one type of pipetting system (e.g. cartridge 4 or tubing 11). The fluid dispenser or container 1 is capable of using for travel drinking and that considered as intended use purpose.
Friedlander discloses a travel drinking container 1 with
A drinking vessel 4 (or tubing 11) and
Dosing device (a whole unit inside the device 1) on the drinking vessel 4/11 for dispensing a liquid from the drinking vessel 4/11 according to an intake schedule (e.g., the time of dispensation is programmable to start or end at certain time or time intervals, col. 5, lines 12-15 & lines 25-27) for administration of the liquid, the dosing device comprising:
A pump 14 or valve 15 adapted to release (by the pump) or interrupt (by the valve 15) the flow of liquid from the drinking vessel 4/11, and
A control device 5 including an evaluation unit (e.g., the length 11 to be extruded is calculated by the memory component 6 based on the preselected/registered volume and the inner diameter of tubing being extruded, col. 5, lines 46-49 & lines 60-65. Note: the length 11 to be extruded is calculated by the memory component 6, therefore, the control unit 5 is inherently/obviously including an evaluation unit) and programmed (in the memory 6) with the intake schedule (preset time of dispensing a liquid) and via which:
a) a volume of dispensed liquid is detected (via programming and automated system for transferring liquid) and the detected volume is registered (preselected volume of liquid) in the control device (via key 9 in the control device),
b) the registered volume of dispensed liquid is compared in the evaluation unit to a schedule intake volume of liquid (e.g., the actuator is enabled to automatically extrude part of the tubing so as to accommodate a preselected/registered volume of liquid and dispense the liquid through the extrude tubing, col. 2, lines 8-11; after transferring the liquid, the cut-off portion of the extruded tubing is disconnected from the device by component 15/17/37, col. 3, lines 63-65, col. 4, lines 8-16, col. 6, lines 2-5. The length 11 to be extruded is calculated by the memory component 6 based on the preselected/registered volume and the inner diameter of tubing being extruded, col. 5, lines 46-49 & lines 60-65. Having said above, in order to disconnected when the amount of the preselected/registered volume has been dispensed, the registered volume of dispensed liquid is inherently compared and calculated by the memory component to automatically dispense right amount of liquid);
c) wherein the control device controls the pump or the valve operatively connected to the control device to (i) allow release liquid if the registered volume of dispensed liquid is less than the schedule intake volume of liquid or (ii) interrupt/disconnect the flow of liquid (via component 15/17/37) if the registered volume of dispensed liquid is equivalent to the schedule intake volume of liquid in accordance with the intake schedule, col. 5, line 39-col. 6, line 5.
Regarding claim 2, Friedlander discloses that the dosing device is programmed to dispense the liquid at a predetermined time intervals via the control device, col. 5, lines 11-15.
Regarding claim 3, Friedlander discloses that the control device is designed to generate a visual signal 8.
Regarding claim 5, Friedlander discloses that the control device has a storage chamber 4 or 12 which is provided for portioning the liquid and which can be filled by a pumping process (or aspirating process).
Regarding claim 7, Friedlander discloses that the dosing device is associated with a control panel 9 via which a volume and time parameters for the liquid to be dispensed can be set.
Regarding claim 9, Friedlander discloses that the control device is located in a closing device 2 of the drinking container.
Regarding claim 12, Friedlander discloses that wherein the drinking container further comprises a closing device 2, wherein the dosing device is located inside the closing device 2 of the drinking container 1, and wherein the dosing device has a storage chamber 4 which is provided for portioning the liquid and which can be filled by the pump (via aspiration process)
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bylsma et al. (US 8,224,481) in view of DE202017003569 (called DE’569, cited from IDS 11/23/20).
Regarding claim 8, Note: A fluid dispenser 20 is adapted to use in vitamins, supplements and flavors in water to create a consumable beverage or food supplement, col. 3, lines 42-45. Therefore, the fluid dispenser 20 is capable use for drinking.
Bylsma discloses a drinking container 20, in Figs. 1A-13, comprising:
a drinking vessel 32a-d; and
dosing device 28 seated on the drinking vessel 32a-d for dispensing a liquid from the drinking vessel, the dosing device comprising:
a pump 24 (in Fig. 6) or valve 112a-d (Fig. 7) or check valve (col. 9, lines 21-22) adapted to release or interrupt the flow of liquid from the drinking vessel.
a control device 30 including an evaluation unit (e.g., metered by the control system 30, col. 8, lines 48-51) and programmed (pre-set, programming a quantity of the dispensed fluid, col. 8, lines 29-32)
Note: with aspect to the limitation, i.e., evaluation unit, Hoyt discloses that positive pressure from the pump chambers 94 motivates the fluids through the valve assemblies 112a-d while metered by the control system 30, col. 8, lines 48-51. In order to meter/measure the amount of fluid through the valve assemblies, the control system must be included an evaluation unit. In addition, Hoyt states that:
US. 6 986,442 to Engel et al. which is hereby incorporated by reference in their entirety, col. 8, lines 32-34. Now, turn into the reference US’442, it states that: measuring the quantity of dispensed fluid is not achieved by using a flow meter. Rather, in a preferred embodiment, metering relies on a calculation of the volume of the chamber in relation to the number of times it is struck by the momentum transferring device, col. 7, lines 8-12. In other words, the control device including an evaluation unit to calculation the volume of transferring/dispensing fluids
And via which:
a) a volume of dispensed liquid is detected and the detected volume is registered in the control device (e.g., the control system 30 regulates the quantity and composition of the dispensed fluid according to user-supplied data or a pre-set formula, col. 8, lines 29-32. Note: a user-supplied data or pre-set formula is understood that pre-programming an amount of volume to be dispensed or a registered volume of dispensed liquid);
b) the registered volume (the user-supplied data or the pre-set formula is to be dispensed) is compared in the evaluation unit to an intake volume of liquid (e.g., positive pressure from the pump chambers 94 motivates the fluids through the valve assemblies 112a-d while metered/evaluated by the control system, ... when the desired quantity of dispensed composition is achieved, the control system 30 returns each valve 170a-d to a closed or re-circulate position and stops operations of the motor 26, col. 8, lines 44-59. In other words, the metering/evaluation unit in the control system compares the registered volume of dispensed fluid and the intake volume of the liquid to bring the result that when the desired quantity of disposed composition is achieved at the registered volume, it will stop operation of the motor);
c) wherein the control device 30 controls the pump or valve operatively connected to the control device 30 to allow release liquid if the registered volume of dispensed liquid is less than the intake volume of liquid or interrupt the flow of liquid if the registered volume of dispensed liquid is equivalent to the intake volume of liquid (e.g., the control system 30 regulates the quantity and composition of the dispensed fluid according to user-supplied data or a pre-set formula, col. 8, lines 29-32; the control system 30 controls the flow of each of four fluids through corresponding valve assemblies 112a-d, col. 8, lines 44-46; when the desired quantity of dispensed composition is achieved, the control system 39 returns each valve 170a-d to a closed or re-circulate position and stops operation of the motor 26, col 8, lines 56-59. In other words, the control system 30 is configured to stop operation or interrupt the flow of liquid by closing the vales or stop operation of the motor when the registered volume of dispensed fluid, i.e., desired quantity of disposed composition is achieved).
Bylsma does not disclose that a dosing device includes an intake schedule for administration of the liquid; wherein a control device programmed with the intake schedule.
DE’569 discloses a dosing device in Fig. 3 comprising: a control device 1 (or a programmer) programmed with an intake schedule and via which a volume of dispensed liquid can be detected (e.g., a correct time and quantity of fluid intake. Time intervals are used as a basis for the programs, see paras [0007 & 0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the dosing device or the control device of Bylsma with including a programmer or software being programmed with an intake schedule when dispensing a volume of liquid, as taught by DE’569, in order to remind a user to take the fluid on time.
Regarding claim 2, Bylsma in view of DE’569 discloses all claimed subject matter. Bylsma discloses that the dosing device is programmed to dispense the liquid at predetermined time (e.g., the control system 30 can increase/decrease the time interval for actuation of a given valve assembly, col. 9, lines 39-43; dispense parameter based on motor run times, col. 12, lines 11-13. In addition, DE’569also discloses that the dose device is programmed to dispense the liquid at predetermined time intervals via the control device, paras [0007 & 0020]
Regarding claim 3, Bylsma in view of DE’569 discloses all claimed subject matter. Bylsma discloses that the control device is designed to generate a visual signal via display 222. DE’569 discloses control device 1 is designed to generate a visual signal (a display 3, an LED array) or acoustic signal (acoustic signal sounds), para [0017].
Regarding claim 5, Bylsma in view of DE’569 discloses that claimed subject matter, as required in the claim 1. Bylsma discloses that the dosing device has a storage chamber 66 or/and 114 (or channel 128, 130, 132 in Figs. 12A-12D) which is provided for portioning the liquid and which can be filled by a pumping process.
Regarding claim 7, Bylsma in view of DE’569 discloses all claimed subject matter, as required in the claim 1. Bylsma discloses that the control system 30 containing one or more pre-programmed formulas for a given range of fluids. The control system 30 can be crated a regimen of dispensed composition via a user interface 208 or other method of communication, col. 10, lines 31-46. Therefore, Bylsma discloses the control device is associated with a control panel (user interface 208) via which regime/volume for liquid to be dispensed can be set. In addition, DE’569 discloses that the control device is associated with a control panel (display 3) via which a volume and time parameters for the liquid to be dispensed can be set.
Regarding claim 9, Bylsma in view of DE’569 discloses all claimed subject matter. Bylsma discloses that the dosing device, as shown in Fig. 2, is located in a closing device 192 & 194 of the drinking container 20.
Regarding claim 12, Bylsma in view of DE’569 discloses all claimed subject matter as required. Bylsma discloses that a closing device 192 & 194, wherein the dosing device is located in the closing device 192 & 194 of the drinking container, wherein the dosing device has a storage chamber 66 or/and 114 (or channel 128, 130, 132 in Figs. 12A-12D) which is provided for portioning the liquid and which can be filled by means of the pump.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bylsma et al. (US 8,224,481) in view of DE202017003569 (called DE’569, cited from IDS 11/23/20) and further in view of Aliberti et al. (US 9,301,648).
Bylsma in view of DE’569 discloses all claimed subject matter as required except for the limitation of the drinking vessel has an agitator.
Aliberti discloses a drinking vessel 2 has an agitator 17 for mixing a liquid and powder to form a homogeneous consumable, see Summary of the Invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bylsma in view of DE’569 with providing an agitator located within a drinking vessel, as taught by Aliberti, in order to mix a liquid and powder to form a homogeneous consumable.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bylsma et al. (US 8,224,481) in view of Friedlander (US 8,236,256).
Regarding claim 8, Note: A fluid dispenser 20 is adapted to use in vitamins, supplements and flavors in water to create a consumable beverage or food supplement, col. 3, lines 42-45. Therefore, the fluid dispenser 20 is capable use for drinking.
Bylsma discloses a drinking container 20, in Figs. 1A-13, comprising:
a drinking vessel 32a-d; and
dosing device 28 seated on the drinking vessel 32a-d for dispensing a liquid from the drinking vessel, the dosing device comprising:
a pump 24 (in Fig. 6) or valve 112a-d (Fig. 7) or check valve (col. 9, lines 21-22) adapted to release or interrupt the flow of liquid from the drinking vessel.
a control device 30 including an evaluation unit (e.g., metered by the control system 30, col. 8, lines 48-51) and programmed (pre-set, programming a quantity of the dispensed fluid, col. 8, lines 29-32)
Note: with aspect to the limitation, i.e., evaluation unit, Hoyt discloses that positive pressure from the pump chambers 94 motivates the fluids through the valve assemblies 112a-d while metered by the control system 30, col. 8, lines 48-51. In order to meter/measure the amount of fluid through the valve assemblies, the control system must be included an evaluation unit. In addition, Hoyt states that:
US. 6 986,442 to Engel et al. which is hereby incorporated by reference in their entirety, col. 8, lines 32-34. Now, turn into the reference US’442, it states that: measuring the quantity of dispensed fluid is not achieved by using a flow meter. Rather, in a preferred embodiment, metering relies on a calculation of the volume of the chamber in relation to the number of times it is struck by the momentum transferring device, col. 7, lines 8-12. In other words, the control device including an evaluation unit to calculation the volume of transferring/dispensing fluids
And via which:
a) a volume of dispensed liquid is detected and the detected volume is registered in the control device (e.g., the control system 30 regulates the quantity and composition of the dispensed fluid according to user-supplied data or a pre-set formula, col. 8, lines 29-32. Note: a user-supplied data or pre-set formula is understood that pre-programming an amount of volume to be dispensed or a registered volume of dispensed liquid);
b) the registered volume (the user-supplied data or the pre-set formula is to be dispensed) is compared in the evaluation unit to an intake volume of liquid (e.g., positive pressure from the pump chambers 94 motivates the fluids through the valve assemblies 112a-d while metered/evaluated by the control system, ... when the desired quantity of dispensed composition is achieved, the control system 30 returns each valve 170a-d to a closed or re-circulate position and stops operations of the motor 26, col. 8, lines 44-59. In other words, the metering/evaluation unit in the control system compares the registered volume of dispensed fluid and the intake volume of the liquid to bring the result that when the desired quantity of disposed composition is achieved at the registered volume, it will stop operation of the motor);
c) wherein the control device 30 controls the pump or valve operatively connected to the control device 30 to allow release liquid if the registered volume of dispensed liquid is less than the intake volume of liquid or interrupt the flow of liquid if the registered volume of dispensed liquid is equivalent to the intake volume of liquid (e.g., the control system 30 regulates the quantity and composition of the dispensed fluid according to user-supplied data or a pre-set formula, col. 8, lines 29-32; the control system 30 controls the flow of each of four fluids through corresponding valve assemblies 112a-d, col. 8, lines 44-46; when the desired quantity of dispensed composition is achieved, the control system 39 returns each valve 170a-d to a closed or re-circulate position and stops operation of the motor 26, col 8, lines 56-59. In other words, the control system 30 is configured to stop operation or interrupt the flow of liquid by closing the vales or stop operation of the motor when the registered volume of dispensed fluid, i.e., desired quantity of disposed composition is achieved).
Bylsma does not disclose that a dosing device includes an intake schedule for administration of the liquid; wherein a control device programmed with the intake schedule.
Friedlander discloses a dosing device 1 comprising: a control device 5 (or a programmer) programmed with an intake schedule and via which a volume of dispensed liquid can be detected (e.g., a time of dispensations or intervals between the dispensations can be programmable to start or end at certain designated time or time intervals, col. 5, lines 12-15, see col. 5, lines 20-30, also see claim 10 in Friedlander.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the dosing device or the control device of Bylsma with including a programmer or software being programmed with an intake schedule when dispensing a volume of liquid, as taught by Friedlander, in order to remind a user to take the fluid on time.
Regarding claim 2, Bylsma in view of Friedlander discloses all claimed subject matter. Bylsma discloses that the dosing device is programmed to dispense the liquid at predetermined time (e.g., the control system 30 can increase/decrease the time interval for actuation of a given valve assembly, col. 9, lines 39-43; dispense parameter based on motor run times, col. 12, lines 11-13. In addition, Friedlander also discloses that the dose device is programmed to dispense the liquid at predetermined time intervals via the control device, col. 5, lines 12-15.
Regarding claim 3, Bylsma in view of Friedlander discloses all claimed subject matter. Bylsma discloses that the control device is designed to generate a visual signal via display 222. Friedlander discloses that a display 8 shows user-input commands and selections, or the status of the operation, col. 5, lines 15-18; the display 8 allows a user to monitor the status of each operation and to also look up operating parameters for previous operations, col. 5, lines 54-56. Therefore, Friedlander firmly discloses that the control device is designed to generate a visual signal.
Regarding claim 5, Bylsma in view of Friedlander discloses that claimed subject matter, as required in the claim 1. Bylsma discloses that the dosing device has a storage chamber 66 or/and 114 (or channel 128, 130, 132 in Figs. 12A-12D) which is provided for portioning the liquid and which can be filled by a pumping process.
Regarding claim 7, Bylsma in view of Friedlander discloses all claimed subject matter, as required in the claim 1. Bylsma discloses that the control system 30 containing one or more pre-programmed formulas for a given range of fluids. The control system 30 can be crated a regimen of dispensed composition via a user interface 208 or other method of communication, col. 10, lines 31-46. Therefore, Bylsma discloses the control device is associated with a control panel (user interface 208) via which regime/volume for liquid to be dispensed can be set. In addition, Friedlander discloses that the control device is associated with a control panel 9 via which a volume and time parameters for the liquid to be dispensed can be set.
Regarding claim 9, Bylsma in view of Friedlander discloses all claimed subject matter. Bylsma discloses that the dosing device, as shown in Fig. 2, is located in a closing device 192 & 194 of the drinking container 20.
Regarding claim 12, Bylsma in view of Friedlander discloses all claimed subject matter as required. Bylsma discloses that a closing device 192 & 194, wherein the dosing device is located in the closing device 192 & 194 of the drinking container, wherein the dosing device has a storage chamber 66 or/and 114 (or channel 128, 130, 132 in Figs. 12A-12D) which is provided for portioning the liquid and which can be filled by means of the pump.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bylsma et al. (US 8,224,481) in view of Friedlander (US 8,236,256) and further in view of Aliberti et al. (US 9,301,648).
Bylsma in view of Friedlander discloses all claimed subject matter as required except for the limitation of the drinking vessel has an agitator.
Aliberti discloses a drinking vessel 2 has an agitator 17 for mixing a liquid and powder to form a homogeneous consumable, see Summary of the Invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bylsma in view of Friedlander with providing an agitator located within a drinking vessel, as taught by Aliberti, in order to mix a liquid and powder to form a homogeneous consumable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1) Applicant argues that Bylsma fails to teach a travel drinking device with a metering device with the aid of which precisely defined amount so liquid can be withdrawn from a drinking vessel at specific time according to an intake schedule, and liquids beyond the scheduled amount is prevented from being dispensed. Applicant further states that nowhere does DE’569 provide teaching sufficient to modify Bylsma to reach the present invention.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., a metering device) is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As best as understood, the Examiner guesses that the Applicant means the claimed “an evaluation unit” is equivalent to a metering device. In this case, Bylsma discloses that positive pressure from the pump chambers 94 motivates the fluids through the valve assemblies 112a-d while metered/evaluated by the control system, ... when the desired quantity of dispensed composition is achieved, the control system 30 returns each valve 170a-d to a closed or re-circulate position and stops operations of the motor 26, col. 8, lines 44-59. In other words, the metering/evaluation unit in the control system compares the registered volume of dispensed fluid and the intake volume of the liquid to bring the result that when the desired quantity of disposed composition is achieved at the registered volume, it will stop operation of the motor. Therefore, Bylsma clearly discloses that the drinking device 20 is capable of using for travelling with a metering/evaluation device, as required in the claimed invention.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, as discussed above, Bylsma discloses the travel drinking device with a metering device, i.e., evaluation unit. Bylsma further discloses that: … When the desired quantity of dispensed composition is achieved (Note from Examiner: it is understood that: the precisely amount of liquid dispensed/withdrawn from the drinking vessel), the control system 30 returns each valve 170a-d to a closed or re-circulate position and stops operation of the motor 26 (Note from Examiner: it is understood that: the control device is configured to close the valves 170a-d and stop operation (via stopping the motor) to interrupt the flow of liquid that dispensing from the vessel).
Although Bylsma does not disclose that the control device is programmed with a schedule or time of intaking the liquid; however, this limitation has been disclosed in De’569. DE’569 discloses a dosing device in Fig. 3 comprising: a control device 1 (or a programmer) programmed with an intake schedule and via which a volume of dispensed liquid can be detected (e.g., a correct time and quantity of fluid intake. Time intervals are used as a basis for the programs, see paras [0007 & 0020]. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would recognize that modifying the dosing device or the control device of Bylsma with including a programmer or software being programmed with an intake schedule when dispensing a volume of liquid, as taught by DE’569, in order to remind a user to take the fluid on time.
2) Applicant states on page 7 in the Remarks 09/22/25 that the dispensing system is not a “drinking container with a drinking vessel”. Applicant states on page 10 in the Remarks 09/22/25 that Bylsma teaches a liquid dispenser but not a drinking container with a drinking vessel and a dosing device on the drinking vessel.
In response, Bylsma clearly discloses that the dispenser 20 is used to generate medical, nutritional fluid, vitamins, supplements, consumable beverage or food supplement… col. 3, lines 34-45. If the dispensing system in Bylsma is not a drinking container with a drinking vessel, as Applicant indicated above. In this case, how or where is the fluid being dispensed to? In addition, Bylsma also discloses that the nozzle 116 is exit nozzle for dispensing fluid. The reservoirs 32a-d are equivalent to the claimed drinking vessel. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the nozzle 116 can be dispensed directly to mouth of a patient for drinking or intaking beverage, food supplement purpose.
3) Applicant states on page 10 in the Remarks 09/22/25 that: Bylsma teaches a liquid dispenser but not a drinking container with a drinking vessel and a dosing device on the drinking vessel. Setting the dispenser of Bylsma on a table top next to the pipette for transfer of very small volumes of liquid of Friedlander. Applicant further states that a person skilled would not find any reason or motivation to modify or combine these two very different pieces of equipment, much less to make a travel drinking container.
In response, the Examiner does not rely on the teaching of using pipette for transfer of small volume of liquid in Friedlander. Instead of that Examiner relies on the teaching of using the schedule to set up time of taking/dispensing the liquid in Friedlander in order to remind a user to take the fluid on time or prevent forget to take the fluid on time.
Conclusion
/Quynh-Nhu H. Vu/
Quynh-Nhu H Vu
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783