DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are subject to examination.
Claims 17-20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES 20180046560 in view of Pirko, 9866470, KONG et al., KR 101862284 B1, and LEABMAN, 20180241255.
Referring to claim(s) 1, GILLIES substantially discloses a device, comprising: a memory; a network access device having a plurality of hardware device addresses including a first address of the network device and a second address of the network device and being configured to wirelessly communicate with a mobile device;
[0015] generating, at the first or the second user computing device, a second UUID for the accessory based on the unique accessory code; and instructing, by the first or the second user computing device, the server to associate the accessory with the connected hardware device based at least on the UUID and the second UUID.
[0055] According to some embodiments, a connected device can be any physical or hardware device that a user can connect using a user computing device. Examples of connected devices can include a robot, a toy robot, a medical device, a fitness tracker, a smart home device, a heart rate monitor, a connected toy, a connected smart toy, a wireless webcam, a Bluetooth beacon, and/or any other suitable device that can connect to a user computing device. Connections with connected devices can be established via a wireless and/or wired network. Examples of user computing devices can include a mobile phone, a tablet, a personal computer, or any other suitable user computing device.
and a processor coupled to the memory and the network access device and configured to execute instructions stored in the memory and perform operations comprising: establishing a first secure communication channel between the medical device and an application that is on the network access device using the first address, and
[0060] According to some embodiments, a connection 110 can be established between the connected device 101 and the user computing device 102. The connection 110 can enable the two devices to communicate unidirectionally or bidirectionally. The connection 110 can be established by using a communication network. The communication network can be the internet and/or intranet; secured; wired and/or wireless; and compatible with any type of protocols, including industry standard protocols, open source protocols, and/or proprietary protocols. In some embodiments, the connected device 101 and the user computing device 102 can connect, communicate, and transmit data amongst themselves by using a network, such as a wireless personal area network (WPAN) using, for example, Bluetooth LE.
transmitting data to the application using the second address (para 23).
GILLIES does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Pirko discloses, wherein the first address of the network access device and the second address of the network access device are different addresses of a same network access device (
(13) NICs 130-142 provide a hardware interface between the computing device 100 and a network. NICs may support wired standards, wireless standards, or both. The NICs 130-142 may be Ethernet controllers, Wi-Fi controllers, Token Rings, InfiniBand, and so forth. The NICs 130-142 provide functionality to communicate over a network using specific physical layer (OSI layer 1) and data link layer (OSI layer 2) standards (e.g., Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Token Ring, InfiniBand, etc.). Ethernet NICs typically support 10 Megabits per second (Mbits/s), 100 Mbits/s, 1000 Mbits/s, 10 Gigabits per second (Gbits/s) or 40 Gbits/s. Wi-Fi NICs typically support between 54 Mbits/s and 866 Mbits/s. Each NIC 130-142 includes a unique media access control (MAC) address, which may be stored in a read only memory of the NIC 130-142 (col., 3, lines 1-10)
A method comprising: identifying a plurality of network interface controllers (NICs) of a computing device that are available for link aggregation; establishing a first link aggregator for a first set of the plurality of NICs, wherein the first link aggregator handles incoming and outgoing network communications; establishing a second link aggregator for a second set of the plurality of NICs; activating, by a processing device, the first link aggregator; activating, by the processing device, the second link aggregator while maintaining the first link aggregator active; associating a first medium access control (MAC) address with the first link aggregator; associating a second MAC address with the second link aggregator; receiving a first incoming data packet and a second incoming data packet; selecting, using the first MAC address, the first link aggregator to process the first incoming data packet; and selecting, using the second MAC address, the second link aggregator to process the second incoming data packet, wherein the second incoming data packet and the first incoming data packet are processed at a same time. (claim 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing hardware addresses such as MAC addresses. Using different number of MAC addresses for different links for incoming and/or outgoing data based on type of data is a design choice. This would enable multiple different incoming data or outgoing data processed at a same time (claim 1).
GILLIES, Pirko and KONG do not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which LEABMAN discloses, medical device (
[0180] In a first step 201, a transmitter 102 (TX) establishes a connection or otherwise associates with a receiver 120 (RX). That is, in some embodiments, transmitters and receivers may communicate with one another over a wireless communication protocol capable of transmitting information between two processors of electrical devices (e.g., BLUETOOTH, BLUETOOTH Low Energy (BLE), WI-FI, NFC, ZIGBEE). For example, in embodiments implementing BLUETOOTH or BLUETOOTH variants, the transmitter may scan for receivers broadcasting advertisement signals or a receiver may transmit an advertisement signal to the transmitter. The advertisement signal may announce the receiver's presence to the transmitter, and may trigger an association between the transmitter and the receiver. As described herein, in some embodiments, the advertisement signal may communicate information that may be used by various devices (e.g., transmitters, client devices, server computers, other receivers) to execute and manage pocket-forming procedures. Information contained within the advertisement signal may include a device identifier (e.g., MAC address, IP address, UUID), the voltage of electrical energy received, client device power consumption, and other types of data related to power transmission. The transmitter may use the advertisement signal transmitted to identify the receiver and, in some cases, locate the receiver in a two-dimensional space or in a three-dimensional space. Once the transmitter identifies the receiver, the transmitter may establish the connection associated in the transmitter with the receiver, allowing the transmitter and receiver to communicate control signals over a second channel. The advertising signal is an example of the communication signal.
[0494] In some embodiments, multiple transmitters 102 attached to or embedded in medical devices 1824 may provide controlled RF waves 116 .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing a medical device. The medical device would enable using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), an advertising packet is a small wireless data packet sent by a BLE device to broadcast its presence and capabilities to nearby devices. It is the primary way that other devices (like smartphones or scanners) can discover and connect to a BLE peripheral or broadcaster. This would enable other devices to discover and connect to the broadcasting device, para 180.
Claim(s) 4, 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES in view of Pirko, KONG, LEABMAN, and BAR et al., EP 1564943 B1.
Referring to claim(s) 4, Pirko discloses wherein the network access device includes both the first address and the second address (claim 1). KONG discloses, wherein the second address is an alternate address and remains unknown to the mobile device but discoverable to the application running on the mobile device. (
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation;
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation; An advertising packet transmission step of transmitting an advertising packet to a terminal device through the selected channel, last two para, page 2, Wherein when the first device address is different from the second device address, an advertisement packet transmission is repeatedly performed after a predetermined waiting time, claim 4, page 12
GILLIES in view of Pirko, KONG, LEABMAN do not disclose, which and BAR discloses an RF transceiver having a same RF carrier (para 4, 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing an RF transceiver having a same RF carrier. Using different RF carrier or a same RF carrier is a design choice. This would enable transmitting and receiving of data from multiple links using a single carrier (para 4, 10).
Referring to claim(s) 7, KONG discloses, wherein transmitting, using the second address, the advertising packets to remain discoverable by the application includes: periodically transmitting, using the second address, the advertising packets; and limiting the communication to periodic low priority communications including status updates between the medical device and the application (
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation;
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation; An advertising packet transmission step of transmitting an advertising packet to a terminal device through the selected channel, last two para, page 2, Wherein when the first device address is different from the second device address, an advertisement packet transmission is repeatedly performed after a predetermined waiting time, claim 4, page 12
BAR discloses the first secure communication channel and using the first address is rejected in claim 1
by the RF transceiver and on a same RF carrier (para 4, 10).
Claim(s) 2, 3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES in view of KONG, Pirko, LEABMAN and NOBUKI JP 2017085449 A.
Referring to claim(s) 2, GILLIES in view of KONG, Pirko, LEABMAN do not disclose, which NOBUKI discloses, wherein the application is running in a foreground environment of the mobile device when the secure communication channel is established using the first address, wherein the first address is a pairing address (
a technology for supporting the use of a mobile device connected to the information processing device in the information processing device, it is acquired from the mobile device by NFC communication with a mobile device connected by NFC (Near Field Communication) communication. In the information processing device that automatically establishes Bluetooth pairing using the information obtained, the function provided by the application that is executed in the foreground in the mobile device when communication by NFC is connected), last para, page 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing pairing with foreground application. In advertising, Bluetooth pairing refers to the process of establishing a secure, two-way connection between a mobile device (like a smartphone or smartwatch) and a Bluetooth-enabled advertiser or broadcaster so that they can exchange data or deliver targeted content. The foreground application would enable interacting with the application for making the connection. Last para, page 1.
Referring to claim(s) 3, NOBUKI discloses, communicating to a plurality of applications running on a plurality of mobile devices including a first application of the plurality of applications running on a first mobile device of the plurality of mobile devices and a second application of the plurality of applications running on a second mobile device of the plurality of mobile devices using the first address, wherein the application running on the mobile device is the first application and the mobile device is the first mobile device (
As shown in FIG. 3, the mobile device information table has entries (each row in the figure) provided corresponding to each mobile device paired with the device 1, and each entry has a corresponding mobile device 2. A mobile device ID that is an identification name of the mobile device, BT connection information that is information for establishing a Bluetooth communication connection with the corresponding mobile device 2 such as a Bluetooth address, and an device among the services of the corresponding mobile device 2 1 is registered with the default service indicating the service used last.) 7th para, page 3.
Claim(s) 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES in view of KONG, Pirko, LEABMAN, ZHANG et al., WO 2016041112 A1 and AKAMA et al., CN 105519083 A.
Referring to claim(s) 5, GILLIES in view of KONG, Pirko, LEABMAN do not disclose, which ZHANG discloses, disconnecting the secure communication channel; and when the application discovers the medical device transmitting the second address. (
The first Bluetooth connection has been disconnected, the user equipment discovers a Bluetooth signal of the wearable device, establishes a second Bluetooth connection with the wearable device, and the user device passes the second Bluetooth Connecting to send the first information to the wearable device; last para, page 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing disconnecting the channel. This would enable ensuring that the devices are no longer allowed to communicate using the channel and the associated resources are freed, last para, page 5.
GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, ZHANG do not disclose, which AKAMA discloses, causing the application on the mobile device to run in a background environment of the mobile device (
the following information is sent to the mobile terminal, the information includes information indicating whether the mobile terminal is information of execution of the application program for causing the mobile terminal to be switched before switching the application program in the foreground running state is background running state, and the to switch was in the background running state of application is switched to the foreground running state, second last para, page 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing an application to run in background environment.
An application that runs in a background environment is one that operates continuously or periodically without requiring direct user interaction. It can perform tasks, monitor systems, or maintain services even when the user is not actively using the app or the device. This would enable performing services by the application when the user is using another application in the foreground, 2nd last para, page 3.
Referring to claim(s) 13, GILLIES discloses wherein the plurality of identifiers are a plurality of universally unique identifiers (UUIDs), wherein the first identifier is a first UUID and the second identifier is a second UUID, para 15.
Referring to claim(s) 9, KONG discloses, transmitting, using the second address, the advertising packets to remain discoverable by the application includes: periodically transmitting, using the second address, the advertising packets; and limiting the communication to periodic low priority communications including status updates between the embedded device and the application that runs in the background using the second address (
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation;
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation; An advertising packet transmission step of transmitting an advertising packet to a terminal device through the selected channel, last two para, page 2, Wherein when the first device address is different from the second device address, an advertisement packet transmission is repeatedly performed after a predetermined waiting time, claim 4, page 12
Referring to claim(s) 10, ZHANG discloses, establishing the secure communication channel between the embedded device and a second application on the first mobile device using the first identifier or a third application on the second mobile device using the first identifier, last para, page 5.
Referring to claim(s) 8, GILLIES substantially discloses a device, comprising: a memory; a network access device having a plurality of identifiers including a first identifier and a second identifier and being configured to wirelessly communicate with a first mobile device and a second mobile device; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and the network access device and configured to execute instructions stored in the memory and perform operations comprising:
a memory; a network access device having a plurality of identifiers including a first identifiers and a second identifier and being configured to wirelessly communicate with a first mobile device and a second mobile device; and a processor coupled to the memory and the network access device and configured to execute instructions stored in the memory and perform operations comprising: [0015] generating, at the first or the second user computing device, a second UUID for the accessory based on the unique accessory code; and instructing, by the first or the second user computing device, the server to associate the accessory with the connected hardware device based at least on the UUID and the second UUID.
[0055] According to some embodiments, a connected device can be any physical or hardware device that a user can connect using a user computing device. Examples of connected devices can include a robot, a toy robot, a medical device, a fitness tracker, a smart home device, a heart rate monitor, a connected toy, a connected smart toy, a wireless webcam, a Bluetooth beacon, and/or any other suitable device that can connect to a user computing device. Connections with connected devices can be established via a wireless and/or wired network. Examples of user computing devices can include a mobile phone, a tablet, a personal computer, or any other suitable user computing device.
establishing a secure communication channel between the embedded device and an application on the first mobile device using the first identifier,
[0060] According to some embodiments, a connection 110 can be established between the connected device 101 and the user computing device 102. The connection 110 can enable the two devices to communicate unidirectionally or bidirectionally. The connection 110 can be established by using a communication network. The communication network can be the internet and/or intranet; secured; wired and/or wireless; and compatible with any type of protocols, including industry standard protocols, open source protocols, and/or proprietary protocols. In some embodiments, the connected device 101 and the user computing device 102 can connect, communicate, and transmit data amongst themselves by using a network, such as a wireless personal area network (WPAN) using, for example, Bluetooth LE.
transmitting data using the second identifier (para 23).
GILLIES does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Pirko discloses, wherein the first address of the network access device and the second address of the network access device are different addresses of a same network access device (
(13) NICs 130-142 provide a hardware interface between the computing device 100 and a network. NICs may support wired standards, wireless standards, or both. The NICs 130-142 may be Ethernet controllers, Wi-Fi controllers, Token Rings, InfiniBand, and so forth. The NICs 130-142 provide functionality to communicate over a network using specific physical layer (OSI layer 1) and data link layer (OSI layer 2) standards (e.g., Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Token Ring, InfiniBand, etc.). Ethernet NICs typically support 10 Megabits per second (Mbits/s), 100 Mbits/s, 1000 Mbits/s, 10 Gigabits per second (Gbits/s) or 40 Gbits/s. Wi-Fi NICs typically support between 54 Mbits/s and 866 Mbits/s. Each NIC 130-142 includes a unique media access control (MAC) address, which may be stored in a read only memory of the NIC 130-142 (col., 3, lines 1-10)
A method comprising: identifying a plurality of network interface controllers (NICs) of a computing device that are available for link aggregation; establishing a first link aggregator for a first set of the plurality of NICs, wherein the first link aggregator handles incoming and outgoing network communications; establishing a second link aggregator for a second set of the plurality of NICs; activating, by a processing device, the first link aggregator; activating, by the processing device, the second link aggregator while maintaining the first link aggregator active; associating a first medium access control (MAC) address with the first link aggregator; associating a second MAC address with the second link aggregator; receiving a first incoming data packet and a second incoming data packet; selecting, using the first MAC address, the first link aggregator to process the first incoming data packet; and selecting, using the second MAC address, the second link aggregator to process the second incoming data packet, wherein the second incoming data packet and the first incoming data packet are processed at a same time. (claim 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing hardware addresses such as MAC addresses. Using different number of MAC addresses for different links for incoming and/or outgoing data based on type of data is a design choice. This would enable multiple different incoming data or outgoing data processed at a same time (claim 1).
GILLIES and Pirko does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which KONG discloses, transmitting advertising packets to remain discoverable by the application on the first mobile device (
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation; An advertising packet transmission step of transmitting an advertising packet to a terminal device through the selected channel, last two para, page 2,
Wherein when the first device address is different from the second device address, an advertisement packet transmission is repeatedly performed after a predetermined waiting time.
Claim 4, page 12
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing advertising packets. In Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), an advertising packet is a small wireless data packet sent by a BLE device to broadcast its presence and capabilities to nearby devices. It is the primary way that other devices (like smartphones or scanners) can discover and connect to a BLE peripheral or broadcaster. This would enable other devices to discover and connect to the broadcasting device, para 60.
GILLIES, Pirko and KONG do not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which LEABMAN discloses, embedded device / medical device (
[0180] In a first step 201, a transmitter 102 (TX) establishes a connection or otherwise associates with a receiver 120 (RX). That is, in some embodiments, transmitters and receivers may communicate with one another over a wireless communication protocol capable of transmitting information between two processors of electrical devices (e.g., BLUETOOTH, BLUETOOTH Low Energy (BLE), WI-FI, NFC, ZIGBEE). For example, in embodiments implementing BLUETOOTH or BLUETOOTH variants, the transmitter may scan for receivers broadcasting advertisement signals or a receiver may transmit an advertisement signal to the transmitter. The advertisement signal may announce the receiver's presence to the transmitter, and may trigger an association between the transmitter and the receiver. As described herein, in some embodiments, the advertisement signal may communicate information that may be used by various devices (e.g., transmitters, client devices, server computers, other receivers) to execute and manage pocket-forming procedures. Information contained within the advertisement signal may include a device identifier (e.g., MAC address, IP address, UUID), the voltage of electrical energy received, client device power consumption, and other types of data related to power transmission. The transmitter may use the advertisement signal transmitted to identify the receiver and, in some cases, locate the receiver in a two-dimensional space or in a three-dimensional space. Once the transmitter identifies the receiver, the transmitter may establish the connection associated in the transmitter with the receiver, allowing the transmitter and receiver to communicate control signals over a second channel. The advertising signal is an example of the communication signal.
[0494] In some embodiments, multiple transmitters 102 attached to or embedded in medical devices 1824 may provide controlled RF waves 116 .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing a medical device. The medical device would enable using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), an advertising packet is a small wireless data packet sent by a BLE device to broadcast its presence and capabilities to nearby devices. It is the primary way that other devices (like smartphones or scanners) can discover and connect to a BLE peripheral or broadcaster. This would enable other devices to discover and connect to the broadcasting device, para 180.
GILLIES in view of KONG, Pirko, LEABMAN do not disclose, which ZHANG discloses, disconnecting the secure communication channel and when the application discovers the embedded device using the second identifier (
The first Bluetooth connection has been disconnected, the user equipment discovers a Bluetooth signal of the wearable device, establishes a second Bluetooth connection with the wearable device, and the user device passes the second Bluetooth Connecting to send the first information to the wearable device; last para, page 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing disconnecting the channel. This would enable ensuring that the devices are no longer allowed to communicate using the channel and the associated resources are freed, last para, page 5.
GILLIES in view of KONG, Pirko, LEABMAN, ZHANG do not disclose, which AKAMA discloses, causing the application on the mobile device to run in a background environment of the mobile device (
the following information is sent to the mobile terminal, the information includes information indicating whether the mobile terminal is information of execution of the application program for causing the mobile terminal to be switched before switching the application program in the foreground running state is background running state, and the to switch was in the background running state of application is switched to the foreground running state, second last para, page 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing an application to run in background environment.
An application that runs in a background environment is one that operates continuously or periodically without requiring direct user interaction. It can perform tasks, monitor systems, or maintain services even when the user is not actively using the app or the device. This would enable performing services by the application when the user is using another application in the foreground, 2nd last para, page 3.
Referring to claim(s) 11, KONG discloses, transmitting, using the second identifier, advertising packets to remain discoverable by a second application on the first mobile device and a third application on a second mobile device (
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation;
An advertising channel selecting step of selecting a channel to be used for an advertising operation; An advertising packet transmission step of transmitting an advertising packet to a terminal device through the selected channel, last two para, page 2, Wherein when the first device address is different from the second device address, an advertisement packet transmission is repeatedly performed after a predetermined waiting time, claim 4, page 12
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, Pirko, ZHANG, AKAMA and 20190132873 Patwardhan et al.
Referring to claim(s) 12, GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, Pirko, ZHANG, AKAMA do not disclose, which Patwardhan discloses, sending a known pattern recognized by the application on the first mobile device to establish the secure communication between the device and the application (para 17, 18)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing known pattern recognized by the application. This would enable implementing communication based on how the BLE signal would behave on a particular channel and/or among a plurality of channels, last para, page 5.
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, Pirko, ZHANG, AKAMA and 20160050037 Webb et al..
Referring to claim(s) 14, GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, Pirko, ZHANG, AKAMA do not disclose, which Webb discloses, obtaining an activation request; and transmitting using the first identifier or the second identifier in response to obtaining the activation request (
[0091] To determine who or which device initiated an alert (e.g. by pressing the alert button), the UUID from the particular device is used to determine the User ID.
[0078] BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy proximity sensing which can transmit the UUID which is picked up by nearby device or server and is turned into a physical location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing activation request. This would enable implementing communication based on who or which device initiated an alert. Using the BLE transmission of the UUID would enable necessary action to address the alert, last para, page 91, 78.
Referring to claim(s) 15, Webb discloses, wherein the activation request is at least one of user input including a user selection of a button, a proximity trigger that indicates that a near-field communication field (NFC) is within a threshold distance of the embedded device or a wakeup signal from a real time clock (RTC) after a pre-programmed period of time ( para 91, 78).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, ZHANG, Pirko, AKAMA and Spencer et al., 9980140.
Referring to claim(s) 16, GILLIES in view of KONG, Pirko, LEABMAN, ZHANG, AKAMA do not disclose, which Spencer discloses, deriving a unique shared secret during a pairing process; and computing a message authentication code using the derived unique shared secret to secure a communication channel (
(51) The communication pathways over the networks 228 and 258 can be encrypted and authenticated by the sender, and also authenticated and decrypted by the receiver. The computer system 202, the controller 204, and the device 206 can be programmed to implement these encryption and authentication techniques when acting as senders and receivers, which can use message authentication codes and/or signatures to insure the integrity of all data and the identity of the senders on top of data transport supplied integrity checks. Using these security policies, the system 200 can prevent against a random software bug as well as an attacker modifying/observing cleartext traffic or initiating/responding to any commands issued by the computer system 202, the controller 204, and/or the device 206. Col., 12, lines 48-58
(81) With the device information, the controller 304 and/or the device 306 can initiate a pairing process (e.g., the user can select the device 306 from a list of authorized or nearby devices on the app), such as a secure BLE pairing process that requires a shared secret between the devices being paired. In this example, the device 306 may not have a user interface, so the shared secret can be one or more portions of the device information, such as a public key for the device, a public certificate, a device identifier, and/or a value determined based on one of those portions of information. For instance, the controller 304 can transmit a challenge that includes a value (e.g., random value) and, using a technique known to the controller 304 and the device 306, can determine an appropriate response (e.g., RESPONSE A) based on the value and the shared secret (e.g., public key for the device 306) (518). The device 306 can receive the challenge (520), and can determine and transmit the appropriate response based on, for example, the device's public key and the value (e.g., VALUE A) (522). In some cases, the device 306 can also sign the response using, for example, the public device certificate, which is also known to the controller 304. The controller 304 can receive the response and determine whether it matches the response that the controller 304 independently determined (524). If the values match, the controller 304 can verify that it is communicating with the proper device 306 (526), col., 22, lines 1 – 18.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing message authentication code.
A Message Authentication Code (MAC) is a cryptographic checksum used to verify both the integrity and authenticity of a message. It ensures that the message has not been altered during transmission and that it originates from a legitimate sender who shares a secret key with the receiver.
A MAC works by having the sender and receiver share the same secret key. The sender generates a fixed-size MAC value using the message, the key, and a MAC algorithm, then appends it to the message. The receiver recalculates the MAC from the received message and key, and compares it to the attached MAC. If they match, the message is authentic and unaltered.
Why MACs are important:
Integrity Verification – Detects any modification to the message caused by attackers or transmission errors.
Authentication – Confirms that the message was sent by someone possessing the shared secret key.
Protection Against Replay Attacks – When combined with sequence numbers or timestamps, MACs help prevent reuse of old messages.
Efficiency – MACs are computationally faster than digital signatures for symmetric key systems, col., 12, lines 48-58.
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, ZHANG, Pirko, AKAMA and Matthieu et al., 9094407.
Referring to claim(s) 6, ZHANG discloses, wherein the plurality of hardware device addresses includes a third address, establishing a second secure communication channel with a second application using the third address, last para, page 5. GILLIES in view of KONG, LEABMAN, ZHANG, AKAMA do not disclose, which Matthieu discloses, wherein establishing the first secure communication channel and establishing the second communication channel is further based on a whitelist or a blacklist of acceptable or unacceptable addresses, respectively. (
The use of whitelists and blacklists ensures that devices, systems, and users only have access to those UUIDs of devices, systems, and users for which permission has been granted. A user may designate the permissions record for the user, a device, or a system when the user, device, or system is registered with a messaging system 402, 412, 420. In some embodiments, a user may modify a list of a permissions record at any time, assuming the user has the appropriate access permission to configure the particular permissions record. Col., 28, lines 55-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by GILLIES to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing whitelist and blacklist addresses. Whitelisting and blacklisting are two core access control methods used in cybersecurity to manage who or what can interact with a system, network, or resource.
Whitelisting is a trust-centric approach where only pre-approved, known good entities are allowed access. You explicitly define a list of approved users, IP addresses, applications, domains, or other entities. The system only grants access if the request comes from something on this list. This would enable ensuring that the devices are no longer allowed to communicate when the addresses are blacklisted in order to protect the system for the authorized users, Col., 28, lines 55-64.
Conclusion
The claim amendments contain:
However, using multiple different hardware addresses in a device and using RF transceiver with same or different RF carrier is a mere design choice. Such things (of the shelf) had been in use for long and the use of items that were well-known in the art is expected in the art. Please see the prior arts used for the rejections.
Pertinent prior arts: Agerstam et al., 20180176009
[0041] reduce an output transmission power of the network connected computing device of a first wireless connection of a first wireless connection type; advertise a configuration service; establish a secure short range wireless session with a configuring computing device, the secure session established without a user input specifying security parameters of the secure short range wireless session; receive configuration information of the network connected computing device; apply the configuration information to the network connected computing device, the configuration specifying one or more parameters of a second wireless connection type; and establish a second wireless connection of the second wireless connection type according to the one or more parameters.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496