Response to Amendment
The amendment received 02/02/2025 (“Amendment”) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO 2018/066797 wherein US 2019/0001838 as submitted by the Applicant in the IDS forms is the English Publication of the WO document, hereinafter Choi) further in view of English translation of KR20170081901A (Song).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a battery module (Abstract, Fig. 2, 3) comprising: a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells is stacked (Fig 2, para. 41, 42 wherein the plurality of battery cells is stacked “100”); first and second busbar frames formed respectively on front and rear surfaces of the battery cell stack (Fig. 2, 3, and para. 44-47, 54, wherein a first busbar frame 210 is formed on the front surface of the battery cell stack and the second busbar frame 230 is formed on the rear surface of the battery cell stack); and a flexible printed circuit board connecting the first and second busbar frames (Fig. 2, 3, para. 56-59 where the “sensing bus bar” 250 is a flexible printed circuit board that connects the front and rear frames 210 and 230 via their respective busbars 220 and 240 respectively). Choi is silent with respect to wherein the flexible printed circuit board includes a first flexible printed circuit board part and a second flexible printed circuit board part which is separate from the first flexible printed circuit board part, and the first flexible printed circuit board part and the second flexible printed circuit board part are connected to each other via a connector. Song teaches a battery pack having an improved structure so that a connection state of a communication wire connected to a BMS is stably maintained, while the communication wire is safely protected from external physical and chemical factors [abs]. Song teaches various configurations of the claim flexible circuit board, i.e. BMS (Figs. 1-9). Song teaches wherein the flexible printed circuit board includes a first flexible printed circuit board part [#200 i.e slave BMS is considered to be the flexible circuit board; 0044; ] and a second flexible printed circuit board part [#200; 0044-0047; The slave communication wire 300 may be included in a plurality of battery packs. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, two slave BMSs 200 may be interconnected via two or more slave communication wires 300. One slave BMS 200 is connected to a slave communication wire 300 to be connected to any one slave BMS 200 and a slave communication wire 300 to be connected to another slave BMS 200 separately] which is separate from the first flexible printed circuit board part, and the first flexible printed circuit board part and the second flexible printed circuit board part are connected to each other via a connector [#300, i.e. communication wire; 0046]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Song as both teach a battery pack configured to connected to one another and Song further teaches a multi-slave structure is widely used in order to improve the efficiency of monitoring and control. The multi-slave structure is configured such that a plurality of slave BMSs respectively take charge of a plurality of battery modules constituting the battery pack [0006].
Regarding claim 2, modified Choi discloses the battery module of claim 1, as shown above, and Song further discloses wherein the connector is formed at a center of the flexible printed circuit board to connect the first flexible printed circuit board part and the second flexible printed circuit board part (fig. 7, #200 (BMSs); 0046-0047) are connected via the connector #300, i.e. communication wire and is connected to center portions of both first and second flexible printed circuit board parts to connect them together, see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 3, modified Choi discloses the battery module of claim 1, as shown above, and Song further discloses wherein the connector is formed at one end of both the first flexible printed circuit board part and the second flexible printed circuit board part. (Fig. 2 and para. 0046-0047 where the connector 300 is connected end points of both first and second flexible printed circuit board parts to connect them together, see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the battery module of claim 1, as shown above, and Choi further discloses wherein the battery cell stack includes a battery cell fixing part for fixing the plurality of battery cells in a vertical direction at a center and both ends of the battery cell stack. (Fig. 2-4 and para. 64-66 wherein the reinforcing plate 300 is considered to be a “battery cell fixing part” since it connects the front and rear busbar frames 210 and 230 respectively and by connecting the two parts together provides a buffer/support for fixing the battery cells in the vertical direction at a center (the directional plane with both of the front and rear frames) which is perpendicular to the battery cell stacking direction).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the battery module of claim 4, as shown above, and Song further discloses wherein the connector (as described in claim 1 and 2), Choi teaches the battery cell fixing part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Song and place the connector on the battery cell fixing part as this is a known configuration in this field of endeavor, as noted, Choi teaches the “fixing part” as it connects the front and rear busbar frames 210 and 230 respectively and by connecting the two parts together provides a buffer/support for fixing the battery cells in the vertical direction at a center. Choi further teaches that there is a connector (i.e. in Choi the #255], however as noted in claim 1, Choi doesn’t teach the connector is connected to the first/second flexible circuit board as required by claim 1. Song teaches the first and second flexible printed circuit and the connector as required by claim 1. Therefore, Choi in view Song teach the connector is located on the battery cell fixing part (Fig. 2 para. 0046 where the connector 300 (Song) is located on a section of the reinforcing plate 300 (Choi), as this is just considered to be modifying Choi’s flexible circuit board and connector with Song’s flexible circuit board and connector with no change in how the battery module will function and one would have a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Regarding claim 6, modified Choi discloses the battery module of claim 1, as shown above, and Song further discloses wherein the connector is formed on opposite ends of each of the first and second flexible printed circuit board parts to connect the first and second flexible printed circuit board parts. (Fig. 2 and para. 0046-0047 where the connector 300 is connected end points of both first and second flexible printed circuit board parts (the rear most portion of the first printed circuit board part and the front most portion of the second flexible printed circuit board part) to connect them together, see claim 1 rejection above)
Regarding claim 10, modified Choi discloses the battery module of claim 1, as shown above, and Choi further discloses a battery pack comprising the battery module according to claim 1 (Abstract, para. 12 where the battery module of Choi is included in a battery pack).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729