DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicants are informed that the rejections of the previous Office action not stated below have been withdrawn from consideration in view of the Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention in the reply filed on 10/10/2023 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Richardson does not teach the special technical feature of a “heterogenous virus-like particles (VLPs) obtain from the gastrointestinal tract of a subject” because Richardson teaches recombinantly producing norovirus VLPs. This is not found persuasive because the obtaining the VLPs from the gastrointestinal tract of a subject are not structurally different from those of Richardson et al since those VLPs are of a virus found in the gastrointestinal tract.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4, 6-10, 12, 16-19, 21, 29, 33 and 36-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/10/2023.
Claims 1-3 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(New Rejection) Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Deaton et al. (US PGPub 2015/0297648).
The claimed invention is drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising: a preparation of heterogeneous gastrointestinal virus-like particles (VLPs) capable of infecting a broad spectrum of resident, non-pathogenic bacteria of the human microbiome, fungi of the human gut microbiome, or archaea of the human gut microbiome; and a pharmaceutically-acceptable carrier. The composition also comprises an adjuvant. The composition comprises at least 10^9 VLPs/ml.
*Of note, the specification states that harmless resident gut bacteria become pathogenic when exposed to genes for shiga toxin [see page 16, lines 4-5]. In addition, the claims nor the specification provide specific examples of bacteria of the human gut microbiome that are “resident, non-pathogenic”. The specification at pages 19-20 state that VLPs from feces of one mouse were able to restore bacterial populations of the gut of a mouse that was induced to have dysbiosis of the gastrointestinal tract. This process relied on VLPs targeting bacterial overgrowth of what appears to be resident, non-pathogenic bacteria of the murine gut microbome. This information from the specification is being used to help interpret the claimed invention, which would appear to include bacteriophages specific for resident bacteria of a human gut that under normal, healthy conditions are non-pathogenic, but when exposed to a toxin or environmental stress may become pathogenic.
Deaton et al. teach the formulation of bacteriophages for promoting the growth of beneficial bacteria and decreasing the harmful bacteria in the gastrointestinal system. [see abstract] These bacteriophages would function as a prebiotic in the human gut and would ultimately change the bacterial microbiome to help those afflicted with gastrointestinal inflammation. [see abstract and paragraphs 8 and 9] Similar to applicants intent of creating their invention, Deaton et al. teach in paragraphs 25-27, the gut microbiota is important to human health, and novel interventions to selectively modulate the microbiota are actively being sought. Bacteriophages (bacterial viruses) have the potential to selectively eliminate specific detrimental microbes while enhancing beneficial microbe populations. Examples of the bacteriophage to be formulated for oral consumption and delivery to a human patient can target E. coli or Helicobacter presented in the gastrointestinal tract of humans. [see paragraphs 29 and 34] Deaton et al. also teach the use of adjuvants, carriers or diluents with their pharmaceutical compositions. [see paragraph 46 and 47] Deaton et al. also teach that the amount of bacteriophage to be administered can be up to 10^13 plaque forming unites/dose, which would meet the limitation “at least 10^9 VLPs/ml” of claim 1. [see paragraph 56] Therefore, Deaton et al. anticipate the instant invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/BENJAMIN P BLUMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671