DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 16-17, and 22, the cancellation of claims 19-21 and 23, and the addition of claims 24-27 filed 08/20/2025 are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 12-13 and 18 remains cancelled.
Claims 1-11, 14-17, 22, and 24-27 are currently pending.
Claims 1-11, 14-15, 17, 22, and 24-27 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the office action has been updated, and Quintanar is no longer disclosed in this office action, and a teaching reference is disclosed. See updated office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 14-15, 17, 22, 24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duesterhoft et al. (referred to as “Duesterhoft”) (US 2014/0298928 A1) in view of Rovaniemi (US 2016/0166438 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Duesterhoft discloses a method, performed in an accessory device (940) (see Fig. 9, 11 and [0093]; local unit 940 can be a handheld device, such as a cell phone), for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing (125) comprising an absorbent core layer (see Figs. 1, 5B, 9, 11, and [0073]; wound dressing 115+appurtenance 120=appurtenance combination unit 125 and thus makes up a wound dressing, which is depicted in Fig. 5B and includes a dressing layer 520, which may be a gauze, foam, or sponge, and thus is an absorbent core as these materials are known to be absorbent, and dressing layer 520 is a central foundational part of wound dressing 115, and local unit 940 is in communication with combination unit 125 via transmit signals 910 about an operating state of the wound dressing, see [0097] and [0032]), wherein the accessory device (940) comprises an interface (920) configured to communicate with one or more devices (120) of a wound dressing system (see Fig. 9, 11, and [0095], [0097]; the local unit 940 may be a handheld device such as a cell phone and comprises an interface such as display unit 920 configured to communicate with appurtenance 120 of the appurtenance combination unit 125, which is the wound dressing 115 + appurtenance 120 thus making it a wound dressing system, via signals 910), the one or more devices (120) comprising a monitor device connected to a wound dressing (115) (see Figs. 2 and 5B; the appurtenance 120 is a monitor device as the appurtenance 120 is configured to monitor conditions within the wound dressing, see [0032], and is connected to wound dressing 115), wherein the wound dressing (115) is placed on a skin surface of a user (see Figs. 1 and 9; the appurtenance combination unit 125, which is made up of wound dressing 115 + appurtenance 120, is placed on a skin surface of a user, as seen in Figs. 1 and 9), the method comprising:
obtaining monitor data from the monitor device (120), the monitor data being indicative of a condition of the wound dressing (125) (see [0032]-[0034], [0038], [0057], [0059], [0128]; appurtenance 120 which is the monitor device includes a sensor unit to obtain data or information, as the senor unit can obtain information about fluid saturation or fluid level within the interior of the wound dressing, and thus obtains monitor data indicative of a condition of the wound dressing);
determining an operating state of the wound dressing (125) from a set of operating states for the wound dressing (125) based on the monitor data (see [0032], [0125], [0128], [0130]; the sensor unit of the appurtenance 120 used by a caregiver or patient can obtain information about fluid saturation of the wound dressing, which can indicate that the wound dressing needs to be changed by displaying a message like “dressing change indicated” or “dressing change not indicated,” which are two different operating states of the wound dressing, and thus determines an operating state of the wound dressing from a set of operating states based on the monitor data), wherein each operating state of the set of operating states is indicative of a wetting pattern of the absorbent core layer (520) representing a degree of wetting for each sensing part of a plurality of sensing parts of the absorbent core layer (520) (see Fig. 6B which shows a first sensor unit 220 and a second sensor unit 300, and thus the operating state of the set of operating states is indicative of a wetting pattern of the dressing layer 520 which may be gauze or sponge material and thus is an absorbent core, see [0133], representing a degree of wetting (big or small wetting pattern) for each sensing part via the first sensor unit 220 or the second sensor unit 300 of the dressing layer 520 and determines if the dressing needs to be changed/checked or not based off the degree of wetting of the wound dressing, see [0078], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0092], and [0067]); and
displaying, on a visual interface (920) of the accessory device (940), a user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing (125) (see Fig. 9, 11, and [0095], [0128]; if a comparison indicates that some data from a sensor unit is over a maximum value, then a corresponding message can be initiated on a display unit 920 of the local unit 940, which is a visual interface, as the corresponding message is displayed to read “check dressing” or “dressing change required” which is representative of the operating state of the wound dressing), wherein the user interface object comprises a plurality of visual indicators (see Figs. 9, 11, and [0095], [0108], [0128]; the displayed message “check dressing” or “dressing change required” or “no dressing change indicated” are a plurality of visual indicators that lets a person know a dressing change may or may not be necessary).
Duesterhoft is silent on the plurality of visual indicators each being shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts, and wherein the plurality of visual indicators are displayed in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts in the wound dressing.
However, Rovaniemi teaches an analogous wound dressing (1) (see Fig. 7), and an analogous plurality of visual indicators (see Fig. 7 and [0129] which discusses how display 8 provides a color changing segment for each sensor 5 and thus there are four visual indicators shown in Fig. 7), and the plurality of visual indicators are each shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts (see Fig. 7 and [0129]; each of the color changing segments for each sensor 5 are shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts which are the four strip-like sensors 5 shown in Fig. 7), and wherein the plurality of visual indicators are displayed in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts in the wound dressing (1) (see Fig. 7 and [0129]; the plurality of visual indicators which are the four color changing segments for each sensor 5 in Fig. 7 are displayed in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts in the wound dressing 1, as the four color changing segments are each in line and in the order with the four straight strip-like sensors 5 shown in Fig. 7), providing a better visual arrangement that provides for better understanding of when the dressing is filled up (see [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of visual indicators in the device of Duesterhoft to be a plurality of visual indicators that are each shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts, and wherein the plurality of visual indicators are displayed in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts in the wound dressing as taught by Rovaniemi to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides a better visual arrangement that provides for better understanding of when the dressing is filled up (see [0129]).
Regarding claim 2, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein the monitor data are indicative of wetting of a distal surface of the absorbent core layer (520 of Duesterhoft) (see Fig. 3 of Duesterhoft; appurtenance 120 of Duesterhoft includes a sensor unit 220 of Duesterhoft and 300 of Duesterhoft as seen in Fig. 3 of Duesterhoft, also see [0044] and [0066] of Duesterhoft, to obtain data or information about fluid saturation or wetting of the wound dressing, and sensor units 220 of Duesterhoft and 300 of Duesterhoft are located at distal areas or away from the center as seen in Fig. 3 of Duesterhoft, and thus are indicative of wetting of a distal surface of the dressing layer 520 of Duesterhoft).
Regarding claim 3, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1.
However, Rovaniemi further teaches an analogous wound dressing (1) (see Figs. 4B and 5), wherein the wound dressing (1) comprises an electrode assembly (5) comprising a plurality of sensor points (15, 16) configured to measure electrical properties of the absorbent core layer (2) (see Figs. 5, 4B, and [0127], and [0119]; sensor 5 is an electrode assembly as it comprises electrodes 15, 16 which are a plurality of sensor points as when wound fluid spreads from absorbent core 2 within the wound dressing, the electrodes 15, 16 sense the wound fluid and establish an electric contract between them, activating a galvanic element, which results in a voltage signal, and thus the electrodes 15, 16 are configured to measure electrical properties of the absorbent core 2, as the wound fluid from the absorbent core 2 is measured) and wherein obtaining monitor data comprises obtaining data representative of the measurement of the electrical properties of the absorbent core layer (2) (see Fig. 4B, 9A-9B, and [0127], and [0119]; obtaining monitor data comprises obtaining data representative of the measurement of the electrical properties of the absorbent core 2, as the wound fluid from absorbent core 2 exits and is sensed by the electrodes 15, 16 of sensor 5, which then results in a corresponding potential to be generated resulting in a voltage signal, which are electrical properties, to update display 8), providing more accurate sensors that display different degrees of saturation so that a medical professional or user is able to know exactly how saturated a wound dressing is without touching/prematurely changing the wound dressing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors (220, 300) of the wound dressing of Dueusterhoft in view of Rovaniemi with an electrode assembly (5) comprising a plurality of sensor points (15, 16) configured to measure electrical properties of the absorbent core layer and wherein obtaining monitor data comprises obtaining data representative of the measurement of the electrical properties of the absorbent core layer as taught by Rovaniemi to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides more accurate sensors that display different degrees of saturation so that a medical professional or user is able to know exactly how saturated a wound dressing is without touching/prematurely changing the wound dressing.
Regarding claim 4, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein obtaining the monitor data comprises obtaining the monitor data comprising wound data and/or parameter data based on the wound data (see [0032]-[0034], [0038], [0057], [0059], [0128] of Duesterhoft; obtaining the monitor data comprises wound data and parameter data, as the sensors of appurtenance 120 of Duesterhoft may obtain information about the wound dressing, such as fluid saturation, which results in obtaining data about the wound as a user will know if the wound is exuding any fluids, and can include parameters or standards for data that will lead to a user being notified to check the wound dressing).
Regarding claim 6, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein the monitor data comprises localized monitor data with respect to a location and/or zone on the absorbent core layer (520 of Duesterhoft) (see [0067] of Duesterhoft; the monitor data comprises localized monitor data with respect to a location on the dressing layer 520 of Duesterhoft, as the sensor units of the appurtenances 120 of Duesterhoft may be strategically placed on the wound dressing based off the type of data that is being collected, for example, the wetness sensors of the appurtenance 120 of Duesterhoft may be positioned at one or more locations on a substrate that are intended to be positioned on a wound dressing over a region of skin adjacent to a wound that are of particular interest in monitoring).
Regarding claim 7, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses on wherein determining the operating state of the wound dressing based on the monitor data comprises determining a wetting pattern of the absorbent core layer (520 of Duesterhoft) and determining a wetting pattern type of the wetting pattern from a plurality of wetting pattern types (see [0032], [0128], [0130] of Duesterhoft; determining the operating state of the wound dressing based on the monitor data comprises determining a wetting pattern of the dressing layer 520 of Duesterhoft, as the sensor unit 220 of Duesterhoft of the appurtenance 120 of Duesterhoft can detect the fluid saturation of the wound dressing, and thus two or more subsets of the received data about the saturation of the wound dressing may be compared, and then a wetting pattern or how much the wound dressing is saturated may be determined by prioritizing results from the comparisons into a binary output which will result in a notification to change the wound dressing or not to change the wound dressing, thus the wetting pattern type, the wound dressing being saturated enough that the wound dressing needs to be changed or the wound dressing not being saturated enough that it does not need to be changed, is determined from a plurality of wetting pattern types, wound dressing being saturated enough or not being saturated enough).
Regarding claim 8, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 7. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein determining the wetting pattern type based on the monitor data comprises comparing first parameter data and second parameter data and identifying the wetting pattern type based on the comparison (see [0032], [0128], [0130], and Table 1 of Duesterhoft; determining the wetting pattern type based on the monitor data comprises comparing a first parameter data and a second parameter data as two or more subsets of data may be received and a look-up table for data from a sensor unit of an appurtenance can include parameters or standards for data that will lead to a “check dressing” or “dressing change required” or “no dressing change indicated” graphic to be initiated on the local unit display, which will then lead to identifying a wetting pattern type based on the comparison).
Regarding claim 9, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 8. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein comparing the first parameter data and/or the second parameter data comprises determining whether the first parameter data and/or the second parameter data satisfy one or more criteria and identifying the wetting pattern type based on the determination (see [0032], [0128], [0130] of Duesterhoft; comparing the first parameter data of the fluid sensor comprises determining whether the first parameter data satisfies the criteria of whether or not the wound dressing is saturated, and thus results in identifying the wetting pattern type, of whether to change the wound dressing or not, based on the determination).
Regarding claim 10, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 7. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein determining the operating state of the wound dressing based on the monitor data comprises deriving the operating state based on one or more wetting pattern types (see [0032], [0128], [0130] of Duesterhoft; determining the operating state of the wound dressing based on the monitor data comprises deriving the operating state based on one or more wetting pattern types, as the one or more wetting pattern types is whether the wound dressing is saturated enough that the wound dressing needs to be changed or the wound dressing not being saturated enough that it does not need to be changed, and thus based off of the wetting pattern type, the operating state is derived on whether or not to change the dressing or to keep the dressing as is).
Regarding claim 11, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein the interface (920) comprises an audio interface, a visual interface, and/or a transceiver module (see Figs. 9, 11, and [0095], [0128] of Duesterhoft; display unit 920 of Duesterhoft is a visual interface, as display unit 920 of Duesterhoft is a screen which can visually show a message for a user).
Regarding claim 14, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein communicating the operating state of the wound dressing (125 of Duesterhoft) comprises notifying the user via the interface (920) (see Fig. 9, 11, [0095], [0125], and [0128] of Duesterhoft; communicating the operating state of the wound dressing comprises notifying the user via the display unit 920 of Duesterhoft of the local unit 940 of Duesterhoft by displaying a message for the user to see).
Regarding claim 15, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein the wound dressing system comprises a server device (1105 of Duesterhoft) (see Fig. 11 and [0113] of Duesterhoft; the wound dressing system shown in Fig. 11 of Duesterhoft comprises a server device, which is interpreted as the central assembly 1105 of Duesterhoft as the central assembly 1105 is disclosed to be located in one more computer servers, see [0113] of Duesterhoft), and wherein communicating the operating state of the wound dressing (125 of Duesterhoft) comprises communicating the operating state of the wound dressing to the server device (1105 of Duesterhoft) (see Fig. 11 and [0110]-[0113] of Duesterhoft; communicating the operating state of the wound dressing comprises communicating the operating state of the wound dressing to the server device, which is the central assembly 1105 of Duesterhoft which is located in one or more computer servers, as the central assembly 1105 of Duesterhoft includes an antenna 1130 of Duesterhoft to receive signals 1110 of Duesterhoft from local unit 940 about the appurtenance 120 of Duesterhoft of the wound dressing).
Regarding claim 17, Duesterhoft discloses a wound dressing system (see Fig. 1) comprising a wound dressing (125), an accessory device (940) and a monitor device (120) (see Fig. 11; the wound dressing system shown in Fig. 11 comprises an appurtenance 120 + wound dressing 115 which makes up appurtenance combination unit 125 which is the wound dressing, and comprises a local unit 940, which is an accessory device as it may be a handheld device such as a cell phone, see [0093], and appurtenance 120 is a monitor device as appurtenance 120 includes a sensor unit to obtain data or information about the wound dressing, see [0032]-[0034], [0128]), the wound dressing (125) comprising an absorbent core layer (520) (see Figs. 1, 5B, and 11, and [0073]; wound dressing 115 + appurtenance 120 = appurtenance combination unit 125 and makes up a wound dressing as it is placed over a wound as seen in Figs. 1 and 11, and is better shown in Fig. 5C, and includes a dressing layer 520 which may be a gauze, foam, or sponge, and thus is an absorbent core as these materials are known to be absorbent and dressing layer 520 is a central foundational part of wound dressing 115), wherein the accessory device (940) is configured to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising:
obtaining monitor data from the monitor device (120), the monitor data being indicative of a condition of the wound dressing (125) (see Fig. 9 and [0097], [0125], [0128]; the local unit 940 may be a handheld device as shown in Fig. 9, and is in communication with the appurtenance 120 indicated by signals 910 in Fig. 9, and thus the local unit 940 is configured to perform a set of operations, including obtaining monitor data from the appurtenance 120 which is indicative of a condition of the wound dressing 125 such as whether the dressing needs to be changed or not via a wetness sensor of the appurtenance 120);
determining an operating state of the wound dressing (125) from a set of operating states for the wound dressing (125) based on the monitor data (see [0032], [0125], [0128], and [0130]; the sensor unit of the appurtenance 120 used by a caregiver or patient can obtain data about fluid saturation/wetness of the wound dressing which then indicates that the wound dressing needs to either be changed or not changed, which are two different operating states of the wound dressing 125, and is displayed by the local unit 940 as “dressing change indicated” or “dressing change not indicated,” thus the local unit 940 determines the operating state of the wound dressing 125 from a set of operating states based on the data of fluid saturation), wherein each operating state of the set of operating states is indicative of a wetting pattern that represents a degree of wetting for each sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts of the absorbent core layer (520) (see Figs. 3 and 6B which shows a first sensor unit 220 and a second sensor unit 300, and thus the operating state of the set of operating states is indicative of a wetting pattern of the dressing layer 520 which may be gauze or sponge material and thus is an absorbent core, see [0133], representing a degree of wetting (big or small wetting pattern) for each sensing part via the first sensor unit 220 or the second sensor unit 300 of the dressing layer 520 and determines if the dressing needs to be changed/checked or not based off the degree of wetting of the wound dressing, see [0078], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0092], and [0067]);
displaying, on a visual interface (920) of the accessory device (940), a user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing (125) (see Figs. 9, 11, and [0095], [0128]; if a comparison indicates that some data from a sensor unit is over a maximum value, then a corresponding message can be initiated on a display unit 920 of the local unit 940, which is a visual interface, as the corresponding message is displayed to read “check dressing” or “dressing change required” which is representative of the operating state of the wound dressing), wherein the user interface object comprises a plurality of visual indicators (see Figs. 9, 11, and [0095], [0108], [0128]; the displayed message “check dressing” or “dressing change required” or “no dressing change indicated” are a plurality of visual indicators that lets a person know a dressing change may or may not be necessary).
Duesterhoft is silent on the plurality of visual indicators each being shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts, and wherein the plurality of visual indicators are arranged within the user interface object in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts of the wound dressing.
However, Rovaniemi teaches an analogous wound dressing (1) (see Fig. 7), and an analogous plurality of visual indicators (see Fig. 7 and [0129] which discusses how display 8 provides a color changing segment for each sensor 5 and thus there are four visual indicators shown in Fig. 7), and the plurality of visual indicators are each shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts (see Fig. 7 and [0129]; each of the color changing segments for each sensor 5 are shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts which are the four strip-like sensors 5 shown in Fig. 7), and wherein the plurality of visual indicators are arranged within the user interface object (8) in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts in the wound dressing (1) (see Fig. 7 and [0129]; the plurality of visual indicators which are the four color changing segments for each sensor 5 in Fig. 7 are arranged within display 8 in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts in the wound dressing 1, as the four color changing segments are each in line and in the order with the four straight strip-like sensors 5 shown in Fig. 7), providing a better visual arrangement that provides for better understanding of when the dressing is filled up (see [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of visual indicators in the device of Duesterhoft to be a plurality of visual indicators that are each shaped according to a sensing part of the plurality of sensing parts, and wherein the plurality of visual indicators are displayed in an arrangement corresponding to a physical arrangement of the plurality of sensing parts in the wound dressing as taught by Rovaniemi to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides a better visual arrangement that provides for better understanding of when the dressing is filled up (see [0129]).
Regarding claim 22, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein at least one of a color, shape, blur level, or animation of each visual indicator is dependent on a corresponding degree of wetness (as previously modified above, see claim 1, the color of the plurality of indicators of Rovaniemi is dependent on a corresponding degree of wetness and changes with the degree of wetness, see Fig. 7 and [0129] of Rovaniemi).
Regarding claim 24, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Rovaniemi further teaches an analogous wound dressing (1) and displaying, in addition to the user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing, a summary user interface element corresponding to an overall degree of wetting for the plurality of sensing parts (see [0130] which discusses how the sensor arrangements shown in Figs. 5-7 may all be combined with each other, and thus when combined, a summary user interface element corresponding to an overall degree of wetting for the plurality of sensing parts is displayed on display 8, as Fig. 5 shows a percentage value of the saturation degree of dressing 1 based off sensor 5, see [0127], and thus providing a summary user interface in addition to the user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing via the plurality of visual indicators shown in Fig. 7), providing a user with more information regarding when it is time to change the wound dressing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the visual interface of the accessory device of Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi with a summary user interface element corresponding to an overall degree of wetting for the plurality of sensing parts in addition to the user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing as taught by Rovaniemi to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides a user with more information regarding when it is time to change the wound dressing.
Regarding claim 26, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Rovaniemi further teaches an analogous wound dressing (1) and wherein the set of operations further comprises displaying, in addition to the user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing, a summary user interface element corresponding to an overall degree of wetting for the plurality of sensing parts (see [0130] which discusses how the sensor arrangements shown in Figs. 5-7 may all be combined with each other, and thus when combined, a summary user interface element corresponding to an overall degree of wetting for the plurality of sensing parts is displayed on display 8, as Fig. 5 shows a percentage value of the saturation degree of dressing 1 based off sensor 5, see [0127], and thus providing a summary user interface in addition to the user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing via the plurality of visual indicators shown in Fig. 7), providing a user with more information regarding when it is time to change the wound dressing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the visual interface of the accessory device of Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi with a summary user interface element corresponding to an overall degree of wetting for the plurality of sensing parts in addition to the user interface object representative of the operating state of the wound dressing as taught by Rovaniemi to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides a user with more information regarding when it is time to change the wound dressing.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further in view of Euliano et al. (referred to as “Euliano”) (US 2014/0200538 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the method as discussed in claim 1.
Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi is silent on wherein the wound data and/or parameter data are indicative of resistance between electrodes, capacitance and/or inductance between electrodes and/or any change thereof.
However, Euliano teaches an analogous wound dressing (410) (see Fig. 24), wherein the wound data and/or parameter data are indicative of resistance between electrodes, capacitance and/or inductance between electrodes and/or any changes thereof (see [0162] and Fig. 24; one or more of the wetness sensors 10a,b may be embedded or attached to wound dressing 410, and thus wound data, which is the amount of fluid saturation that has occurred as the fluid saturation determines whether the wound is exuding any fluids, is indicative of resistance between electrodes, as the wetness sensor 10a,b includes galvanic cell 24 equipped with first conductive lead 26 and a second conductive lead 28 which are electrodes, see [0055] and [0062], and the galvanic cell 24 creates a measurable analog output such as resistance of the conductive leads 26, 28, see [0061], [0065], and [0067], and may be used to gauge the amount of wetness in the vicinity of sensors 10a,b), providing a wetness sensor system that requires no input energy (see [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors (220, 300) of the wound dressing of Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi to be a galvanic cell 24 with electrodes 26, 28 as taught by Euliano such that the wound data and/or parameter data are indicative of resistance between electrodes capacitance and/or inductance between electrodes and/or any changes thereof to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides a wetness sensor system that requires no input energy (see [0071]).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further in view of HANSEN et al. (referred to as “HANSEN”) (US 2019/0192332 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator do not overlap in the physical arrangement (see Fig. 7 and [0129] of Rovaniemi; display 8 of Rovaniemi shows four color changing segments for each sensor 5 of Rovaniemi and thus the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator do not overlap in physical arrangement on display 8 of Rovaniemi, see Annotated Fig. 7 of Rovaniemi).
Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi is silent on wherein: a first visual indicator of the plurality of visual indicators has a different shape than a second visual indicator of the plurality of visual indiactors.
However, HANSEN teaches an analogous plurality of visual indicators (502,504,506,508) (see Fig. 13a), and wherein a first visual indicator (502) of the plurality of visual indicators (502,504,506,508) has a different shape than a second visual indicator (504) of the plurality of visual indicators (502,504,506,508) (see Fig. 13a and [0214]-[0215] which discusses how any of the visual indicators 502,504,506,508 may change in terms of shape or form, and thus the first visual indicator 502 and second visual indicator 504 may be different in shape), providing a more distinct visual indicator for the different indicators making it easier for a user to differentiate and remember.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first visual indicator of the plurality of visual indicators in the device of Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi to have a different shape than a second visual indicator of the plurality of visual indicators as taught by HANSEN to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides a more distinct visual indicator for the different indicators making it easier for a user to differentiate and remember.
Annotated Fig. 7 of Rovaniemi.
Regarding claim 27, Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi discloses the invention as discussed in claim 17. Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi further discloses wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator do not overlap in the physical arrangement (see Fig. 7 and [0129] of Rovaniemi; display 8 of Rovaniemi shows four color changing segments for each sensor 5 of Rovaniemi and thus the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator do not overlap in physical arrangement on display 8 of Rovaniemi, see Annotated Fig. 7 of Rovaniemi).
Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi is silent on wherein: a first visual indicator of the plurality of visual indicators has a different shape than a second visual indicator of the plurality of visual indiactors.
However, HANSEN teaches an analogous plurality of visual indicators (502,504,506,508) (see Fig. 13a), and wherein a first visual indicator (502) of the plurality of visual indicators (502,504,506,508) has a different shape than a second visual indicator (504) of the plurality of visual indicators (502,504,506,508) (see Fig. 13a and [0214]-[0215] which discusses how any of the visual indicators 502,504,506,508 may change in terms of shape or form, and thus the first visual indicator 502 and second visual indicator 504 may be different in shape), providing a more distinct visual indicator for the different indicators making it easier for a user to differentiate and remember.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first visual indicator of the plurality of visual indicators in the device of Duesterhoft in view of Rovaniemi to have a different shape than a second visual indicator of the plurality of visual indicators as taught by HANSEN to have provided an improved method for communicating an operating state of a wound dressing that provides a more distinct visual indicator for the different indicators making it easier for a user to differentiate and remember.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786